Anyone know how to remove rain x

JD......

Anyone know how to remove rain x

Postby JD...... » June 21st, 2010, 10:04 am

wipes are now skipping across the windshield.

list possible solutions

Re: Anyone know how to remove rain x

Postby Hook » June 21st, 2010, 10:28 am

Replace wipers.

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » June 21st, 2010, 10:41 am

well if you want to remove the rain X (which i think is the liquid dat does help the water run off) .....wash windscreen with soap and keroscene ......it wil cum off but why you wanna do dat :S ....

as hook said .....change wipers :)

Postby Hook » June 21st, 2010, 12:01 pm

Old, worn wipers will skip on glass whether or not you've applied Rain-X, so I'd replace wipers as a first option. Costs $30 and can be done in 2mins to do.

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » June 21st, 2010, 3:24 pm

Dish washing liquid...removes grease and stains, try it on your wipers too!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 21st, 2010, 6:48 pm

this reminds me that I need to apply product on windshield!!!

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 22nd, 2010, 10:38 am

Once properly applied and using wipers in good condition, youd have no problems.
AFAIK, at the beginning of the rainy season, new wifers and the application of rainX is a must.

Postby MG Man » June 22nd, 2010, 10:48 am

Hook wrote:Old, worn wipers will skip on glass whether or not you've applied Rain-X, so I'd replace wipers as a first option. Costs $30 and can be done in 2mins to do.

Hook, I actually know what the OP is talking about
RainX actually does cause some types of wipers to skip
I had the experience of brand new Michelin wipers skipping after I applied RainX
To whoever said use KEROSENE on the windshield, WTF dude
mild detergent should be sufficient

oxidation

Postby oxidation » June 22nd, 2010, 11:23 am

Hook wrote:Old, worn wipers will skip on glass whether or not you've applied Rain-X, so I'd replace wipers as a first option. Costs $30 and can be done in 2mins to do.

Hook, I actually know what the OP is talking about
RainX actually does cause some types of wipers to skip
I had the experience of brand new Michelin wipers skipping after I applied RainX
To whoever said use KEROSENE on the windshield, WTF dude
mild detergent should be sufficient

yea man dat rain x and new michi does make it skip bad bad

and d kerosene ting is reall tears on yuh windscreen

JD......

Postby JD...... » June 23rd, 2010, 8:55 am

did some searching and some people hate the product, ill try cangeing the wipers.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » June 23rd, 2010, 9:37 am

http://www.aquapel.com/

havnt tried it but really grt reviews

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » June 24th, 2010, 9:21 am

have been using rain x for years and i love it

Postby MG Man » June 24th, 2010, 12:33 pm

me too
not too useful on my MGB tho because I never go fast enough for the wind to blow the water off lol
I think it's partly because the windscreen is old and not exactly smooth...when I do get up to 80kph tho, it's like magic as the wind blows all the water off!
With the MINI, I hardly even use my wipers...the water just flows right off
Only on the corolla did I experience the skipping, and only with the Michelin blades. The MINI only runs OEM blades

Postby foss » June 30th, 2010, 5:49 pm

^ lol..

Postby bushwakka » July 1st, 2010, 11:01 am

wash with some Sun Y.....that shud fix it right up

Postby eliteauto » July 5th, 2010, 2:48 pm

Glass Science Rain Clear FTW never had skipping issues

slow323

Postby slow323 » July 5th, 2010, 9:33 pm

wash your w. shield with car wash the one that has wax in it, removes enough of the rain x so the wipers dont skip but the water will still bead up