Avenir SR20DET not Boosting

NXTREME

Avenir SR20DET not Boosting

Postby NXTREME » June 22nd, 2010, 12:12 am

so i finally got through wit my SR20DET conversion...hooked up my walbro pump, FMIC, wired up, but it keeps breaking up after 2000rpm an not getting any boost. only thing i can think off is that there supposed to be some kind of vacuum hose from the air intake manifold to the MAF....plz help me out...

THE SYNDICATE

Re: Avenir SR20DET not Boosting

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 22nd, 2010, 7:08 am

wastegate working?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 22nd, 2010, 10:17 am

breaking up, you have a leak somewhere, you might not even see it but there is a boost leak somewhere.

Also, what spark plugs are you running and what gapping? Stock boost, i think is 1.1mm and anymore, 0.8mm

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » June 22nd, 2010, 5:11 pm

Leak and/or MAF plug shorting. I have the latter issue cropping its head from time to time...

Scoop

Postby Scoop » June 22nd, 2010, 10:17 pm

check your MAF
btw this is sean bro from the other night
i still hadda pass by you for u to see mine

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 23rd, 2010, 5:53 am

sm wrote:check your MAF
btw this is sean bro from the other night
i still hadda pass by you for u to see mine

kool...i tink the electrician didnt hook up the O2 sensor...cuz the car is just dumping the fuel...no intercoooler leaks...no vacuum lines out...MAF seems to be working...plugs good...hadda be that sensor....dunno why he ent hook it up.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 23rd, 2010, 7:41 am

spoke to my electrician this morning an he says that if the o2 sensor is disconnected it cant cause that problem...he says it could be a fuel issue...to check an see if im get any fuel thru my return line...or it could also be some air leaking out somewhere...

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 23rd, 2010, 9:04 am

O2 wont really cause that. It most likely sounds like a leak somewhere, sometimes there is slices on connectors and you can never see it. Cant be a big leak but it is a leak when boost starts building.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 23rd, 2010, 9:47 am

A-1 Superior Tech wrote:O2 wont really cause that. It most likely sounds like a leak somewhere, sometimes there is slices on connectors and you can never see it. Cant be a big leak but it is a leak when boost starts building.

hmmm i did some research on some forums got a vacuum hose diagram...will double check all the lines this evening...also we change the AAC valve cuz the one on the engine was damaged...do u think this could also be a problem?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 23rd, 2010, 1:14 pm

it might only cause you to idle high or low or up and down.

you checked your fuel pressure? also fuel filter, can also be dirty.

wilddog

Postby wilddog » June 23rd, 2010, 1:39 pm

air flow bad

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 23rd, 2010, 2:02 pm

fuel pressure is good...pulled out the lines to check return...

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 23rd, 2010, 11:23 pm

got a regulator installed...fuel pressure is good...still same problem.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 24th, 2010, 8:07 am

didnt check the maf yet...hadda get another one to try out.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » June 24th, 2010, 9:08 am

What is your vac reading at idle?

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 24th, 2010, 9:41 am

15,16....but as it hits 3k it breaks up...i feel is the MAF... looking for one rite now to try out.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 24th, 2010, 12:30 pm

Is it black smoking plenty by chance?

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 24th, 2010, 12:42 pm

yup...not when its idling tho...only when revved....

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » June 24th, 2010, 2:02 pm

i also have a similar proble to this, my car is boosting but there is a flat spot between 2K rpm and 3k then it revs clean, the car dosent idel when just started but after a little drive it may idel sometimes it searches do you guys think TPS could be the cause ?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 24th, 2010, 3:55 pm

Not really, could be bad plugs or too cold plugs. Will it rev out past 3000rpm?

When revving and getting black smoke, it could be airflow. Yesterday i had a boost hose pop off on me and i was black smoking like WOW.

Scoop

Postby Scoop » June 24th, 2010, 8:57 pm

almost positive is the MAF!!!

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 25th, 2010, 7:37 am

sm wrote:almost positive is the MAF!!!

yeh it was they sold me the wrong one....i going to look for one today....thanks fellas...if u kno anyone wit ah sr20det avenir maf let me kno....i think the number is 54c01....

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 25th, 2010, 12:56 pm

got a MAF to use...working good so far....need some new plugs tho...

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » June 26th, 2010, 1:10 pm

well i dont mean to hijack your thread but i need some help too i made a mistake on the rpm where the car breaks up its from 1k to 2k rpm, like there is a flat spot but the car revs out clean from 2k upwards.
i am useing bkr6 plugs which i know is stock for the sr20det, there is no smoke when i rev out

Postby Sinister_Audio » June 26th, 2010, 5:16 pm

didnt read tru thread.... but theres a difference in 'breakin up' and NOT PASSING 2krpm...

im havin the same problem at times, my car wont pass 2k....but when the car is in 3rd its working and pullin full rpm.... its not breaking up....i believe its the TPS or MAF....

but in your case its prolly the MAF and check the jack....

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 26th, 2010, 6:51 pm

i got through. i had the wrong airflow....not my fault that's what they sold me...got the correct one...car wukkin!!! thanks guys!

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 26th, 2010, 10:25 pm

My problem with TPS was it would'nt rev right out when on wide open throttle, but if i pressed it gradually, it would. MAF usually causes alot of blacksmoking.

Wrong gappings or dirty fuel filter can causing a early rpm breakup/missfire like until after a certain rpm. If not, worst case is ECU

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 27th, 2010, 8:40 am

hmmm i hadda check what are the correct gappings...i still have new plugs to install....

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » June 27th, 2010, 8:50 am

Boneyard wrote:well i dont mean to hijack your thread but i need some help too i made a mistake on the rpm where the car breaks up its from 1k to 2k rpm, like there is a flat spot but the car revs out clean from 2k upwards.
i am useing bkr6 plugs which i know is stock for the sr20det, there is no smoke when i rev out

u could try checking your plugs an plug wires...i was getting a stutter from 2k to 3k an we changed out the plug wires an it work smoothly after.

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » June 28th, 2010, 9:35 am

Sinister_Audio wrote:i believe its the TPS or MAF....

but in your case its prolly the MAF and check the jack....

is there anyway to check the jack to see.

A-1 Superior Tech wrote: but if i pressed it gradually, it would. MAF usually causes alot of blacksmoking.

some how i think its the tps cause i am not having any black smoke, also once the car starts to stutter when cruising up hill for example and i depress the gas pedal all the way down the car works its way out the stutter and gradually increases speed some times it wont and jerks up so i have to clutch and rev to prevent this.

NXTREME wrote:u could try checking your plugs an plug wires...i was getting a stutter from 2k to 3k an we changed out the plug wires an it work smoothly after.

yea i will check to make sure my stutter is from 1k to 2k

so what the cost of a TPS for the avenir sr20det ?