The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

zcrugby

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby zcrugby » June 24th, 2010, 10:26 am

Bezman wrote:i think something like a total shield will fix this easily (hopefully) or I will wait for round two of the iPhone 4 and get a HTC in the meanwhile, cause my 3G about to DEAD! ahaha

but I have been watching the antenna problem on the iPhone 4 on youtube vids and I must say I only hold the phone with my index and thumb in my right hand (mostly) with my palm near the bottom of the phone.. so it may not be that bad..

but everyone has stated that the bumper or other cases solve the problem easily.

and although a case may seem to fix it.. its just not a solution to it.. more of a workaround.. sum ppl rather not use a case.. and that bein one of invisibleSHIELD major selling points this is guna cause sum drauma.. apple cant expect ppl to buy a case for there iphone if they dont want one.. there guna have major reprocussions with this.. and wen ur holding ur fone to ur ear to talk u hold ur phone with 2 fingers? this being wen u need service the most (and for ppl like me who are extra carefull with there stuff, and after seein only 2 drops was enuff to make an iphone 4 not turn back on and 4 made the glass shatter) im guna be makin sure i hold this fone with all my 6 fingers..

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 24th, 2010, 10:31 am

Bezman wrote:there are breaks yes, but the part you are holding will be covered by the silicone/plastic which should insulate you/the iphone 4 from any interference

the invisivleSHILED is neither silicone nor plastic.. its marely a film.. and the mare thin(nes) of it will mean that ur fingers will beable to make contact with the antenna through these gaps once u have ur skin pressed againtst them..

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 24th, 2010, 10:32 am

infact in this image here http://richimage.carphonewarehouse.com/ ... MEDIUM.jpg u can see that the bottom antenna isnt even covered by the invisible shield making contact even easier..

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 24th, 2010, 10:35 am

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 24th, 2010, 2:29 pm

well i give up lol, everyone is fubard

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 24th, 2010, 3:36 pm

If the title of this post isn't enough to entice you, we don't know what else to say. We've gone and run some sunlit comparisons between Apple's brand spanking new phone's Retina Display and Samsung's equally fresh and exclusive Super AMOLED panel on the Galaxy S. We don't know if we'll be able to settle the argument, but we're certainly going to subject both superphones to an expansive visual inspection.

First thing's first: all the images in our gallery are left entirely untouched, with the first four being 100 percent crops of the original camera output, altered only to insert our watermark and phone notation. The quickest thing to stand out to us when putting this set of photos together was the iPhone's brightness. The Super AMOLED display on the Galaxy S remains pretty much a standard-setting screen, and yet it looked almost gray when sat next to Apple's latest (with both handsets rocking a 100 percent brightness setting).

Viewing angles are pretty much impossible to split, though we're inclined to give the iPhone the thinnest of edges here as it seemed to give us that bit more definition from tight viewpoints. But consider that a nuanced draw rather than any sort of win.

When we brought the pair outside for some time in the sunshine, we were immediately disappointed by a typical turn for the worse by the British weather, but there was enough light to challenge both displays. Should you ever have the somewhat unusual circumstances of having light beaming directly down onto the screen without your noggin casting a helpful shadow, neither display will give you any great usability. But cast that shadow, turn away from the sunlight, do anything to avoid the direct rays, and you'll get some pretty sweet utility out of both. Once again, it's a pretty impossible task to differentiate between the output of the Retina Display and Super AMOLED, though if we have to choose, Samsung will get the nod. This really is a territory where personal preference will determine which the better screen will be, the differences are that minuscule.

The one standout differentiator between the two will have been apparent by gazing upon our gallery: the Retina Display really whoops on the Super AMOLED on the pixel level. Definition still looks ridiculous on the iPhone 4, and Samsung simply can't match it there. You should be mindful, however, that the delta between the two when you stick them right next to your eye is nowhere near as pronounced in real world use. In fact, checking out our giraffe picture comparison, the Super AMOLED seems to exhibit stronger color saturation and sharper definition, in spite of looking pixelated sat next to Apple's smoother curvatures. Stick both at a normal distance away from the user, and it will likely come down to personal preference again. Some of our own staff have found the Galaxy S' display to be oversaturated, whereas this editor felt it was just about spot on. Maybe this is an artifact of us looking at different handsets, but we're inclined to think it's indicative of the role user preference has to play in the final conclusions reached when looking at these screens.

------

Steve Jobs gave Russian President Dmitry Medvedev a gift of a new iPhone 4 during his visit to Apple headquarters in Cupertino, California.

Medvedev became the first Russian to get the handset that thousands are desperately trying purchase today.

According to the Russian mobile operator Beeline, the brand new device may appear on the Russian market no earlier than September.

During his speech at Stanford University, Medvedev read from an Apple iPad and said, "I wanted to see with my own eyes the origin of success. I'm inspired with what I saw here in Silicon Valley and at Stanford. In a very good way, I am kind of jealous of all you here."

------

iPhone 4, Droid Incredible, Evo 4G, and Nexus One hardware all cost about the same. But this chart shows exactly how much each will put you out of pocket—data/voice included—over the course of a two year contract.

The iPhone 4 fares well here, particularly in the Minimum Plan Total Cost category, but it's important to remember that AT&T is the only carrier currently offering tiered data. So that $2,000 is maxing you out at 200MB per month—not exactly a fair comparison to the unlimited plans found elsewhere. Even the "unlimited" plan caps you at 2GB, which is probably enough. But if it's not, you'll have to shell out $10 per 1GB per month extra.

Fine print aside, it's also impressive how closely all the phones spec out. And for those of you who have to wait a bit for iPhone 4 availability, it's a good chance to do some cost-benefit analysis in the interim. [BillShrink via The Next Web]

Postby RASC » June 24th, 2010, 3:48 pm

Postby Sky » June 24th, 2010, 4:57 pm

Hey I wonder if someone can help me here. Someone asked me if i can unlock an iphone 3G for them. I said I'll have a go. A friend told me to sync it to itunes and run something called spirit. I did that, got the older version of itunes and everything. Now spirit jailbreak and put on an app called cedia, and i found a link that said just go to this url with cedia and it'll be unlocked. No scene.

But iphone's biggest flaw popped up. No wifi. I picked up my router once and joined, but no internet.
I went back to the wifi settings screens and could no longer see my router. I turned off and on wifi, nothing. I reset network settings, nothing, I erased all content and settings and it bricked lol.
I put it in revovery mode and itunes restored it to 3.1.3.

Now thats the cycle. Any suggestions?Oh yea, its been waiting for activation since the 1st brick. bricked it 3 times. Another thing. I have an at&t sim in it.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 24th, 2010, 6:21 pm

There has been lots of talk on the reception issue of the newly released iPhone 4. Early iPhone 4 customers are not too happy with their purchase as the device is said to be dropping signals when you hold it in your hand. While there is still no official word or acknowledgement from Apple on the issue yet, it was earlier being suggested that this was an hardware issue and Apple might have to recall all these devices for a replacement.

But now according to this new video posted on YouTube, it now looks looks like there is a bug in the current build of iOS 4 which causes this issue on iPhone 3GS and iPhone 3G too, running iOS 4.

Since this never happened on any iOS 3.x.x (formerly iPhone OS 3.x.x) device, this suggests a bug in the software rather than hardware. Apple must be investigating the issue right now. If it is confirmed as a bug in OS, they will definitely release a minor iOS 4.0.1 or iOS 4.1 update to fix this issue for iPhone 4 users.

[thanks zscrugby]

Postby M_2NR » June 24th, 2010, 6:33 pm

Sky wrote:Hey I wonder if someone can help me here. Someone asked me if i can unlock an iphone 3G for them. I said I'll have a go. A friend told me to sync it to itunes and run something called spirit. I did that, got the older version of itunes and everything. Now spirit jailbreak and put on an app called cedia, and i found a link that said just go to this url with cedia and it'll be unlocked. No scene.

But iphone's biggest flaw popped up. No wifi. I picked up my router once and joined, but no internet.
I went back to the wifi settings screens and could no longer see my router. I turned off and on wifi, nothing. I reset network settings, nothing, I erased all content and settings and it bricked lol.
I put it in revovery mode and itunes restored it to 3.1.3.

Now thats the cycle. Any suggestions?Oh yea, its been waiting for activation since the 1st brick. bricked it 3 times. Another thing. I have an at&t sim in it.

apparently spirit doesnt work with the new unlock. I didnt try it directly but my friend did.

Grab a copy of redsn0w 0.95 and use that instead of spirit. Then go into cydia and get ultrasn0w

Wolfie wrote:After seeing the drop test, screen and antenna problems, i'm considering buying your 3GS now lolol.

It gone yes. LOL. But i only worried about the Screen and the discoloration. That appears to be the adhesive and some are saying it will disappear.

WRT to signal... You can use a case on it /if/ the issue is hardware but lets pray it;s software and not hardware.

WRT scratches.. zaggskin FTW. I was not expecting this glass to be strong by any means.
Sully wrote:Did anyone have any success with Sn0wbreeze 1.6.1 and iOS4? I tried this morning without success. I'm back to 3.1.3, and in the process of restoring to the settings that I had before.

I rather rely on Pwnagetool ipsw's which SRASC and I have posted links for already.

GL

bess almera

Postby bess almera » June 24th, 2010, 6:36 pm

for some strange reason i'm unable to access my internet via my bmobile data sim. i typrd in internet in the APN but nothing. i can only use wifi. I have a 3gs running 3.1.3 wit the new baseband. Any help please.
And yes my phone bill is fully paid. :-)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 24th, 2010, 8:04 pm

^ Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings

then go back in and set the APN to "internet"
no username and no password
exit and try again

if not swtich off the phone and try again.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » June 24th, 2010, 8:21 pm

still not connecting

Postby M_2NR » June 24th, 2010, 10:00 pm

By the way. If you all want a great deal on a 3GS again.. my padna has his one on sale...

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=319831

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 24th, 2010, 11:41 pm

So, we just spoke with Apple and got the straight dirt on the reception issues that have been plaguing users today... and it's a little surprising. In essence, Apple cops to the fact there are reception issues with the new iPhone -- namely, that if you cover the bottom-left corner of the phone and bridge the gap between the notch there with your naked flesh, you could see some signal degradation. Yes, you read that right: it's not a software or production issue, simply a matter of the physical location of your hand in regards to the phone's antenna. The company's suggested fix? Move your hand position, or get a case which covers that part of the phone, thus breaking contact. As you can see in the email above which just arrived in our tip box, this is a sentiment which runs pretty high at the company. Here's the official statement:
Gripping any mobile phone will result in some attenuation of its antenna performance, with certain places being worse than others depending on the placement of the antennas. This is a fact of life for every wireless phone. If you ever experience this on your iPhone 4, avoid gripping it in the lower left corner in a way that covers both sides of the black strip in the metal band, or simply use one of many available cases.
We know what you're thinking, and we're thinking it too: this sounds crazy. Essentially, Apple is saying that the problem is how you hold your phone, and that the solution is to change that habit, or buy one of their cases. Admittedly, this isn't a problem that exists only for the iPhone 4 -- we've seen reports of the same behavior on previous generations (the 3G and 3GS), and there is a running thread about this problem with the Nexus One. While it is definitely true that interference is an unavoidable problem, we can't help feeling like this is really a bit of bad design. If the only answer is to move your hand, why didn't Apple just move the antenna position? What we can say without question is that in our testing of the phone, we had improved reception and fewer dropped calls than we experienced with the last generation, and we never noticed this issue. Additionally, when using a bumper we can't recreate the signal loss. So, now we have an answer... all we're wondering is whether or not the company will start handing out bumpers pro-bono to those who are experiencing problems. It certainly seems like the right thing to do.

------

Man have these gained importance lately or what?

------

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 25th, 2010, 3:33 pm

Another iPhone, another blending...

& just for fun here's...

The iPhone (2G) getting blended

The iPhone 3G getting blended

------

Looking to test out FaceTime on your new iPhone 4 but don't know anyone else with the latest handset? Apple has provided a toll-free number for users to call and video chat with a company representative.

This week Apple sent out e-mails to customers, letting them know that they could try out FaceTime by calling the toll-free 1-888-FACETIME (322-3846) number. The hotline is available between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. CDT.

"Want to try FaceTime? Give us a call," the note reads. "An Apple representative will show you the basics and a few advanced tips. Before you call, make sure you have a Wi-Fi connection."

A user who calls Apple will talk to a representative who asks questions about the FaceTime configuration and Wi-Fi connectivity. They will then engage in a FaceTime conversation, and explain all of the features of the open standard found in the iPhone 4.

FaceTime is a new open standard announced by Apple earlier this month alongside the introduction of iPhone 4. It requires Wi-Fi to operate, and currently is only available when using two iPhones.

No setup is required, and the feature is enabled while on a call with someone. Either the front or rear camera can be used with FaceTime.

Because it connects solely over Wi-Fi, FaceTime does not use cell minutes, even though it is originated during a cellular call.

Apple has made FaceTime an open standard, in hopes that it will connect with other services and devices beyond the iPhone 4. Major chat services like Skype and Google Talk have said they are paying attention to FaceTime, but currently have no plans to implement it in their own respective chat clients.

Postby M_2NR » June 25th, 2010, 4:39 pm

LOL! hahahaha
120739724.jpg

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 25th, 2010, 6:30 pm

^^^ Steve the magician lol. That is unfortunately funny.

------

Despite well publicized reports of iPhone 4 reception issues, one analyst said he sees Apple, in the "worst case," discounting or giving away protective bumpers with little financial impact on the company.

Analyst Shaw Wu with Kaufman Bros. issued a note to investors Friday in which he discounted the antenna concerns as "overdone." Since the iPhone 4 launched, discussion of dropped calls from holding the device in one's left hand has grown, and Apple even publicly commented on the issue.

"We don't think the antenna issue is that big of a deal where it would warrant a product recall," Wu wrote. "The reason is that most users have a case anyway to protect their iPhone and to customize to their personal preferences. In our view, in the worst case, Apple provides a discount on the $29 iPhone 4 bumper case or includes one for free with an iPhone 4 purchase. Either way, we do not think this would have a material impact impact on our forecasts."

Apple, in a statement, said that gripping any mobile phone will affect its antenna performance. The company suggested that users avoid gripping the device in the lower left corner.

But the problem is also alleviated by using a case, which prevents the metal band around the perimeter of the device from making contact with the user's skin. The issue can reportedly be avoided when using the official "bumper" case sold by Apple.

Wu is particularly bullish on Apple's launch of the iPhone 4, predicting that the company sold between 1.5 million and 2 million units. On the high end, that would double the debut of the iPhone 3GS a year ago.

Wu's prediction of 2 million is higher than other analysts who believe Apple will sell closer to 1.5 million of the iPhone 4 at launch. Last week, after the first day of preorders, Apple revealed that more than 600,000 devices had been sold.

------

Reception issues observed by new iPhone 4 owners, derided as the "Death Grip" by bloggers, appears to actually be a software issue that an iOS update is expected to resolve early next week.

Identifying the problem

Clear observations of mobile signal strength and how they are affected by the placement of users' hands are difficult to perform in part because there are multiple factors involved in receiving a mobile radio link, including outside interference and the conductivity or mass of different people's hands.

Additionally, cellphones in general (and in particular the iPhone) have always only presented a very rough approximation of signal strength in the signal bar display, averaged over time. It appears that iOS 4, more so than previous iPhone software, presents a less accurate signal meter, showing less signal at times than an iPhone 3GS while still being able to achieve the same or better call quality.

This has led some to jump to the conclusion that the reception problems noted by some iPhone 4 users are the sign of a hardware design flaw related to its stainless steel band antenna design. Apple's chief executive Steve Jobs stoked a whiplash of blogger frenzy when he reportedly responded that users "were holding it the wrong way," blocking the signal with their hands.

A variety of people have demonstrated identical problems with other phones, from the Android based Nexus One to the iPhone 3GS. Yesterday, my wry tweet, "Blocking iPhone 4 antenna kills reception. Blocking mic kills audio, and covering the screen makes it impossible to see Retina Display" made it to the front page of Twitter and was retweeted more than a hundred times by people following the hullabaloo.

However, the fact that problems observed in the iPhone 3GS are much more pronounced when the device is upgraded to iOS 4 indicate that there is also a software issue involved in the matter. iPhone 4 users can't downgrade to earlier versions of the core software, making it impossible to compare its relative performance.

Software fix in the works

Readers report that Apple's tech support forums originally confirmed that a iOS 4.0.1 software fix addressing the issue would ship early next week (as early as Monday), before the comments were subsequently taken down along with all the other related discussion about the matter.

The fix is expected to address a issue in iOS 4 related to radio frequency calibration of the baseband. Readers who saw the original forum discussions say that the issue is believed to occur when switching frequencies; because the lag is allegedly not calibrated correctly, it results in the device reporting "no service" rather than switching to the frequency with the best signal to noise ratio.

iOS 4 introduced some enhancements to how the baseband selects which frequencies to use, so it makes sense that the error may have crept into those changes. Additionally, this explains why iOS 4 has also caused similar problems for iPhone 3GS users.

Additional readers have shared other related experiences that also corroborate the idea that the issue is related to iOS 4's software control of the baseband, including the fact that the issue seems easily reproducible when connecting to a WWAN 3G network but does not appear when connecting to a Microcell 3G. If the problem were simply hardware related issues of the antenna design, it should only affect iPhone 4 units with that new design and should occur at all times, regardless of the tower type. That is not being observed.

Talk to the hand

The core software problem is likely augmented by hand placement, as Jobs noted in pointing out that holding the new phone (or any mobile device) in such a way that attenuates the signal should simply be avoided.

Yesterday, antenna design expert Spencer Webb posted his early appraisal of the situation, noting that the FCC mandates that cell phone antennas need to be positioned as far away from the user's head as possible, effectively forcing antenna placement in the bottom of the phone, where it is most likely to be covered by the user's hand.

Webb also noted that neither the regulatory tests performed by the FCC during its approval process, nor the antenna efficiency tests performed by the carrier (AT&T) during its own device requirements testing take into account how a user's hand might play into the antenna design and the test results.

The bottom-mounted antenna design "evolved to meet [FCC] requirements," Webb explained. "And efficient transmission and reception while being held by a human hand are simply not design requirements!"

Webb points out that Bluetooth headsets also suffer from attenuation when the phone is positioned in such a way that the user's body absorbs too much of the signal. He assumed that the iPhone 4 design, which "moved the antenna action from the back of the phone to the sides," will likely only improve things when the phone is "suspended magically in air," but may actually make things worse when the phone is placed in the user's pocket.

At the same time, Webb says he voted with his dollars to buy the new iPhone 4 anyway, adding, "sometimes an antenna that's not great, but good enough, is good enough."

------

The DevTeam and others have been checking through the iPhone 4, and have noticed the baseband runs a completely different OS than on previous models. The iPhone 3G and 3G[S] both ran Nucleus OS on the PMB8878 baseband CPU (aka XGold 608), where the iPhone 2G ran the PMB8876 (aka S-Gold 2). iPhone 4 uses the PMB9800, or X-Gold 618 – running a separate OS – ThreadX, an RTOS by ExpressLogic.
What’s all that mean to you?

Basically, once the iPhone 4 is jailbroken, the unlock won’t be an immediate release. iOS4 is already un-lockable using ultrasn0w 0.93 on the earlier iPhone models, but the payload will need to be rewritten for iPhone 4 once an exploit is discovered in the new baseband OS. Hopefully the port itself will have introduced some. No way to estimate any sort of timeline until further investigating is done

------

MacWorld has done an analysis of the iPhone 4's camera comparing it to popular smart phones, entry level digital cameras, and the Flip.

The iPhone 4's 5MP camera performed very well in their tests beating out all the other smartphones in photo quality.

Video quality was also very high with only the Flip performing better due to its far superior audio.

Apple said the quality of the camera parts is more important to capturing good photos than a high megapixel count. Our lab's test results support that theory, showing that a 5-megapixel camera can shoot higher quality images than an 8-megapixel camera.

For casual photographers who mostly post their images online, the iPhone 4’s bump in image quality might be enough to make them think twice before packing an additional gadget. Quality wise, it still isn’t quite on par with entry-level point-and-shoot cameras, but the iPhone's convenience (it’s already in your pocket), low-light capabilities, and access to a large amount of editing and sharing apps, could mean trouble for the inexpensive digital camera market.

You can find some sample pictures and rankings below. Hit the link for their full analysis.

------

A source tells HardMac that Apple is planning on a completely new branding for the Mac OS X software, similarly to what has been done with the iPhone. Current rumors include using iOS as a default branding of Apple OS, resulting in iOS desktop, iOS server and iOS mobile versions. The source also notes that this decision is not final, but it is supported by 'high management'

One of our sources told us that Apple might be deciding about a totally new branding for its OS, similarly to what has been done with the iPhone. They are currently thinking of using iOS as the default naming/branding of Apple OS. We would then have iOS desktop, iOS server and iOS mobile. The final decision is not taken yet, however, the proposal seems to be well supported by the high management, it would give a better exposure and unity to Apple OS platforms while making communication easier.

------

We know that prototype iPhone 4 units were disguised to look like older generation units using some clever cases. Now the NYT is speculating that this clever iPhone 4 testing disguise may have actually prevented Apple from noticing the odd antenna performance when the phone is held directly.

The theory sounds reasonable enough because cases like the one used prevent individuals from actually coming into direct contact with the iPhone 4 antenna points and in turn would prevent some of the recently reported reception issues.

thesnake11

Postby thesnake11 » June 26th, 2010, 9:43 am

Hey anyone can tell me where is the most affordable, reliable place in T&T to replace my iphone 3g screen?

Postby M_2NR » June 26th, 2010, 10:29 pm

uh.. yourself ;)

get the lcd and digitizer off even amazon and follow a guide online. it VERY easy. you just have to be careful.

I think i am decided. Until we get reports from zscrugby, i will NOT be getting a new iPhone 4.

thesnake11

Postby thesnake11 » June 26th, 2010, 11:03 pm

Okay thanks, anyone else has other solutions? I would really like to get this fixed same day.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 26th, 2010, 11:16 pm

so anyone wants to believe me now about wen i said this man viewtopic.php?f=11&t=217542 can never have the iphone 4 as he describes bein software unlocked and jailbroken by tomoro?

Postby M_2NR » June 27th, 2010, 1:15 am

wah about the other one?
btw, is all up to what u think about the iPhone 4 that will have me deciding eh, so... keep us updated :P

----------------

How Cydia looks on iPhone 4

http://twitter.com/MuscleNerd/status/17138566540

>>>Congrats to @comex for another userland JB http://is.gd/d5N6I <-- hi-res Cydia via @planetbeing & @chpwn iPhone4s<<<

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 27th, 2010, 1:38 am

lol.. well its the 27th so we go see man... planetbein has said this jailbreak is nowhere near ready so we have a wait still.. an we have to wait till apple release the 4.0.1 to fix the cell receptions... getinn my iphone 4 nex sat... my sis said it luks amazin... she thought it was heavy tho...

Postby M_2NR » June 27th, 2010, 1:56 am

*awaits the 3rd to hear from you*
:P

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 27th, 2010, 2:08 am

M_2nr wrote:*awaits the 3rd to hear from you*
:P

------

A MacRumors forum member claims to have heard from Steve Jobs who says there is no reception issue and to 'stay tuned'.

Mark wrote:Earlier today I tried calling in to Apple Care to see if I could get a bumper case to help with my reception issues. Nobody I spoke with could help me out. So I decided to send the boss man an email, kiss ass a little bit and see what the result would be. He emailed me back in literally 2 minutes! Here's the email:

Mark (email) wrote:Just wanted to drop you a line and let you know that this is the most amazing phone I've ever owned. Facetime is incredible! Everything is fantastic except the reception issues I've been having. My buddy has the same issue and he called AppleCare and was shipped a free bumper case. I called too, 2 hours and 3 dropped calls later, I was told that nobody is getting free bumpers. Which is strange because I saw my friends email confirmation showing he was getting a free one. I tried to get one on launch day but the store was sold out. Is there anything you or one of your executive escalations people can do? I love everything about the phone except my signal issues. I hope to hear back with good news.

Thanks

Mark

Steve Jobs wrote:There is no reception issue. Stay tuned.

If this correspondence is authentic then perhaps there may be a software issue involved after all...

---

Now if only I could get him to reply to the emails I've sent him since the iPhone 4 announcement...

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » June 27th, 2010, 2:14 am

wait...so you all are still buying this phone even though you may get spotty screens, inverted volume rocker issues and the antenna reception issue? Plus on top of all that you need to count on an unstable jailbreak to allow basic features that a superphone is supposed to have in the first place?

And even WITH the jailbreak, you still don't get the features of an open source platform...

The only logical reason I see someone buying this over a top android phone is to show off, like an accessory or something.

And I'm honestly not trolling, I can admit iphone 2g to iphone 3gs were decent products I could at least respect for their ease of use. This 4th edition however is full of fail imo...I can seriously see a mass recall on this product in the near future.

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » June 27th, 2010, 2:20 am

SRASC wrote:[quote="M_2nr]If this correspondence is authentic then perhaps there may be a software issue involved after all...
[/quote]

This could never be a software issue.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 27th, 2010, 8:46 am

N3M3SIS wrote:wait...so you all are still buying this phone even though you may get spotty screens, inverted volume rocker issues and the antenna reception issue? Plus on top of all that you need to count on an unstable jailbreak to allow basic features that a superphone is supposed to have in the first place?

And even WITH the jailbreak, you still don't get the features of an open source platform...

The only logical reason I see someone buying this over a top android phone is to show off, like an accessory or something.

And I'm honestly not trolling, I can admit iphone 2g to iphone 3gs were decent products I could at least respect for their ease of use. This 4th edition however is full of fail imo...I can seriously see a mass recall on this product in the near future.

well the spotty screens fixes itself...and im pretty sure the maker of Activator in cydia can fix the volume rocker issue... and the antenna issue is bein fixed... and everyone loves the thrill of jailbreakin... even android usres do it.. they call it being rooted... andriods app market can never come close to competing with the app store.. and an android fone although it may look better on paper than an iphone 4... its just simply not... look at the all new evo 4g... the camera lens is offsetted from the back...the battery life is hilarious.. the screen is soo big but yet has less pixels than an iphone 4.. the iphone 4 is definately the sexiest slimmest fone on the market.. its demonstarted in many videos that the 8mp cameras on some androids is nothing compared to the 5mp camera on the iphone 4.... there is no fone that can compete right now with the iphone 4 and once the kinks get ironed out then itll be even harder to beat... BUY AN IPHONE 4...

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » June 27th, 2010, 8:52 am

N3M3SIS wrote:
SRASC wrote:[quote="M_2nr]If this correspondence is authentic then perhaps there may be a software issue involved after all...
[/quote][/quote]

This could never be a software issue.[/quote]

it has been unoficially confirmed by most of the big name reviewerss...and apple is makin an ios 4.0.1 to fix it... there are vids of ppl experiencing the same thing on iphone 3g an 3gs....