BlueIce wrote:vigilante group?
TriniVdub wrote:it was really sad to see, but whats even sadder is the fact that all of you could talk about killing and torturing people like its nothing. This just all adds to the sad state that trinidad has become.
Ah like d "planarse" group name, call me "Cut-Lash"
TriniVdub wrote:it was really sad to see, but whats even sadder is the fact that all of you could talk about killing and torturing people like its nothing. This just all adds to the sad state that trinidad has become.
Ah like d "planarse" group name, call me "Cut-Lash"
UML wrote:crazybalhead wrote:If you guys read what the candidate for COP said:
READY TO ROLL
Should he be chosen as the next CoP, Canadian Gibbs says he is...
Akile Simon akile.simon@trinidadexpress.com
Tuesday, June 29th 2010
DWAYNE DOUGLAS GIBBS, the Canadian national likely to be approved by Parliament on Friday to become the country’s next Commissioner of Police, has promised, once he’s given the nod, that he’s going to put his best foot forward and get the job done.
Gibbs said yesterday he is very excited about the job and is looks forward to bringing his expertise and professionalism to lead the Police Service.
He was speaking with the Express from Canada via cellphone.
Gibbs said, ’Certainly I would be very excited to be part of the Trinidad and Tobago National Police Service, and to work with the different police members along with the political powers, to look at any improvement within in the Service, and any improvement throughout the country as far as the crime rate is concerned.
’I looked at it as a challenge, a new opportunity to again work with people that require more help, in terms of dealing with the (crime) issues that affect their country, and I look forward to the challenge, personally, and the opportunity for Trinidad to leverage any of my skills and knowledge in any way I can help.’
BEST FOOT FORWARD: Canadian Dwayne Gibbs
Gibbs, 54, is a retired Chief Superintendent of Police at the Edmonton Police Service in Alberta, Canada. When he retired, he was in charge of the Human Resource Division.
Fellow Canadian Neal Parker, who is a Deputy Commissioner of Police in Antigua and Barbuda, was rejected for the top cop post last Friday by Parliament, after it was disclosed that he was an assessor during the 2008 selection process.
Gibbs said this was the first time he applied for the job in an independent capacity. ’I thought the process was quite thorough with the type of questions, background checks they had,’ Gibbs said.
Sources have revealed that Gibbs’s resume was the most impressive among all the applicants for the top cop post. He was second on the Order of Merit list for the post of CoP in the selection process, which was recently submitted by the Justice and Safety Institute of the Pennsylvania State University to the Police Service Commission.
Gibbs has a 30-year career in law enforcement and is the holder of four university degrees in that field. He is the president and interim CEO of a non-profit organisation, has been married for the past 33 years and is the father of three grown children.
He said he was aware of the objections regarding a foreigner leading the Police Service, but noted that the important issue was that everyone had a common goal. ’Everybody is working towards the same end. Everybody wants to see the crime rate come down and everybody wants to see the solving rate improved. So, it’s just being a matter of everybody working together and trying to affect those ends,’ Gibbs said.
He added, ’Certainly, any leader that comes into the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service has to have the competency and the character and be able to fit into the organisation, and I hold all of those three things. I have been very successful throughout my career and I intend to bring those qualities to Trinidad and Tobago and assist in whatever way I can.’
When asked what crime fighting measures could he bring to the Police Service, Gibbs said those were issues he preferred to discuss with the Police Service Commission and the Minister of National Security.
Between 1999 and 2001, Gibbs was a director in charge of the Criminal Intelligence Service of Alberta, Canada, an agency responsible for arranging joint force operations to deal with crime, including gang violence. The agency’s objective was to collect, analyse and disseminate criminal intelligence.
He is also a recipient of the Alberta Centennial Medal. Persons chosen for this honour are selected by all members of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, representatives of other levels of Government, post-secondary institutions, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the Military and a number of other provincial and national organisations.
"everybody wants to see the solving rate improved"
This quoted line is KEY.
now compare this educated response/interview with that of our current CoP?!!
"duh...ahmmm....we go.....well we..."
RIGHTTTTTTT..........NO COMPARISON!!!!
pioneer wrote:what's our legislature really doin?
too busy buying new cars and goin on shopping sprees instead of attending to things that NEED FIXING in this country?
we voted for change...different side of the same coin actually
pioneer wrote:RASC wrote:pioneer wrote:what's our legislature really doin?
too busy buying new cars and goin on shopping sprees instead of attending to things that NEED FIXING in this country?
we voted for change...different side of the same coin actually
"IT TAKES TIME"
"TOO EARLY YET"
"7 YEARS OF PNM HARD TO ERASE"
They'll be saying that 'till thy kingdom come. Good Luck!
The biggest thing on their minds right now is; S Class, Prado or X5, MAC or Chanel?
decisions decisions
UML wrote:this ting have meh really bothered.....thinking about it whole day and hoping that Ian solves it soon
BTW ah think Ian know who it is already...cause I remember him mentioning that this group of fellas were threatening the life of a eye witness of a crime last week....imagine they threatening eye witnesses and STILL outside
pioneer wrote:"lots of work has to be done"
"it will take years to reverse this system"
"we have to work together"
You have the effin constitutional majority...all this ole talk bout changing legislation but noone dare do a damn ting, instead busy fullin dey pocket
Kamala done showing her weakness, feeding frenzy has begun and indo-cartels cashing in on their investments, but she dare compares herself to Obama. From day ONE Obama started changing sh1t, dismantling guanatanamo was a prime example.
Kamala come make one speech, pull ah backhoe and quickly vanish into the sunset.
But yet, we voted for "change"
Trinidad needs epic civil bloodshed for people to appreciate freedom and democracy.
pioneer wrote:shogun wrote:It's funny but i remember watching many sittings of parliament,and every time the crime bill or any crime related item was being discussed,then opposition members would say, quite vociferously that they "already had a "plan for tackling crime"and that once they were voted into office it would immediately be implemented" what a croc!.
There's no easy fix here,i admit that,but to all that voted for this band of jokers..Tim Gopeesingh?..Jack Warner? ..really?.... if you all think these people are sincere in anything they say,then you are in serious trouble. And believe me the last administration needed to go,but what i'm seeing of this government,get ready for some spectacular smoke and mirror shows....hopefully it teaches us to not put so much faith in politicians,and showering them with praise for merely getting into office before they've done a fcuking thing.
Damn straight
Many die-hard supporters here can't even tell us the difference between government and governance without googling it
120-day crime plan my foot, crime doesn't affect politicians cuz they have maxed security - they not in touch with the man on the street
And this elitist ideology these younger folk now seem to share is most disgusting, if this is "new politics" then damn we doomed and set for social stratification more than ever. Then again some some of them already telling people they "low class" etc etc etc cuz dey skin dark and does drink beer.
You stand on a platform bawlin we are all equal, now you lift your nose at people cuz you feel you "better than them" because "your people" in power.
This delusional class-war amongst indo-trinis is EXACTLY what gonna destroy this government, if they last two years they did well.
Indians are simply greedy crabs in a barrel, who vex wid me...well too bad.
STOP TOTING
SOUR GRAPES