Postby ru$$ell » July 14th, 2010, 4:44 pm

Hundreds of thousands of dollars have been spent on Duane's setup :@
--The Overlord

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 14th, 2010, 4:48 pm

SR wrote:
what about that big gaping hole on the left side affecting your imaging due to lack of reflections
:twisted:

That's where the MCAAC and omnidirectional microphone fine tuning comes in.

The system will calibrate and adjust for that.

Without calibration I was getting bad standing waves and terrible reflection on the right side walls and the a wide gaping hole in the continuance of the surround on the left

Once i ran the calibration, it was able to get rid of the standing wave effect created between the front and back wall, as the room is not very big. The calibration also allowed for setting up precise time delays and per-speaker volume levels, so now the hole on the left is gone and nearly indiscernible, though I'm sure a pro might still pick it up and can fine tune the calibration some more - so when yuh have time nuh :idea:

@sharkman121, I have alot of neatening up and rewiring to do, plus I need to change my sofa set, just can't seem to save up enough $$$ for what I want. I would prefer an ultra modern sofa, but that's not necessarily the most comfortable.

I have a calibrated THX preset on the system that requires that the main seat be moved about 3feet forward. SO I need something that's easy to move too.

the design for the cabinet came from a similar unit from BDI
http://www.bdiusa.com/
Avon Series II

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 14th, 2010, 8:05 pm

^ so i should run the calibration setup with the mic that came with my sony setup?

think it would help me out? my room design and speaker placement is similiar to yours

there isnt any wall to the left

Postby SR » July 15th, 2010, 12:01 am

maybe sunday
lemme go look for meh thx test dvd long time it eh get duss out
also iasca has a new multimedia class so there will be an proper test dvd coming out for both sound and picture quality

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 15th, 2010, 12:07 am

^ Sunday is solodex, how about Saturday?
I went down stairs today and I find that when listening to PCM audio for Dolby TrueHD or DTS Master Audio the sound is more spatial and readily fills the hole to the left. But with regular DVD audio the hole opens back up. So I do need some help!

@copper_shot YES of course, regardless of your setup. Remember adjustments need to be made for the echoic and anechoic effects for the room and it's contents

I can't believe you haven't done that yet!!! LOL

my system is setup up for 5.1 right now with this speaker placement

cenile indian

Postby cenile indian » July 15th, 2010, 12:18 am

A lil noob question here what do you all use to clean your tv screens ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 15th, 2010, 12:22 am

^ a camera lens cloth

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 15th, 2010, 12:30 am

what frequency range does the surrounds and the sub in a usual HT set play at?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 15th, 2010, 12:34 am

^ depends on what each can play

some people have very large floor standing speakers and center channel which can handle low frequencies leaving he sub to handle only the ultra low frequencies and then some have tiny satellite speakers relying on the sub to give mid bass as well. Some dont match their LCR (left, center and right) to their sub very well and end up with a gap in range from how low the satellite can go and how high the sub can play.

The center channel is the single most important speaker in your HT setup. It is the speaker that will play the most amount of audio in a movie. Investing in a great center channel speaker will be the best bang for your setup, but make sure your other speakers can accompany it.

@shogun, here is another view of the cabinet I did

Postby shogun » July 15th, 2010, 12:50 am

Sent some of the drawings to a carpenter friend of mine already.If he's not able or too busy,might have to track down the same guy that built your unit.....was the hardware used also easy to source?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 15th, 2010, 1:10 am

^ yeah its just regular concealed hinges and 1/8" tinted glass

there are soft close dampers and the soft open arms that I bought on amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Rockler-973A0500-01-Blumotion-Hinge-Adapter/dp/B001DT4UL2/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=hi&qid=1279170298&sr=8-3

http://www.amazon.com/Sugatsune-Stay-Degree-Close-Black/dp/B0006L39CO/ref=sr_1_fkmr2_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1279170337&sr=1-3-fkmr2

I never got around to putting door handles on it yet, probably might leave it blank.

The rest was just two 120mm computer fans that I run off the USB port on the Panamax and one off the PS3, So they come on only when the system comes on

though I want to get this eventually
http://www.amazon.com/Cabcool-1201-2-Two-Single-Thermal-Control/dp/B002CMVS6O/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1279170549&sr=8-3

just make sure you get silent fans

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » July 15th, 2010, 4:27 am

that cabinet looks great!
what was the total cost for the finished product?

Postby crazybalhead » July 15th, 2010, 7:14 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:what frequency range does the surrounds and the sub in a usual HT set play at?

The surrounds should ideally play at full range, or at least the same as your front speakers.

Subs run at different frequencies depending on the sub/speaker/amp combo, but the default DD setting is 80Hz and down.

Postby crazybalhead » July 15th, 2010, 7:16 am

:morning:

Duane yuh cooking breakfast Saturday orwhat. I could come and help out SR.

Postby 16 cycles » July 15th, 2010, 7:26 am

nice set-up Duane....

anyone got a review on the polk audio tsi500?

Postby SR » July 15th, 2010, 8:33 am

crazybalhead wrote::morning:

Duane yuh cooking breakfast Saturday orwhat. I could come and help out SR.

was more looking at bbq for dinner

so we could check out the actual screen response without daylight coming in from the east and north windows

but ah feel d neighbours go want to storm

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 15th, 2010, 8:36 am

Panamax M7500-PRO 11-Outlet Line Power Conditioner

Postby crazybalhead » July 15th, 2010, 8:53 am

Raptor, plice on that?

RapToR

Postby RapToR » July 15th, 2010, 9:04 am

crazybalhead wrote:Raptor, plice on that?

$17000 - $18000

Technical Specifications

# AC Power Line Voltage: 120V, 60Hz
# Total Current Capacity: 15 A
# UL1449 Suppression Rating: 330V
# Protection Modes: L-N, L-G, N-G
# Initial Clamping Level: 200V
# Energy Dissipation: 2670 Joules
# Peak Impulse Current: 162,000 Amps
# Catastrophic Surge Circuit: Yes
# Thermal Fusing: Yes
# Over-voltage shutoff: 142 VAC ± 5 VAC
# Under-voltage shutoff: 90 VAC ± 2 VAC
# EMI/RFI Noise Filtration for Banks 1 - 4: 100 db, 100 KHz - 2 MHz
# EMI/RFI Noise Filtration for Bank 5: 60 db, 100 KHz - 2 MHz

# LAN and USB

LAN Circuit Clamping Level: 8V +/- 2V
# LAN Wires Protected: 4
# USB Power Delivery: 500 mA @ 5VDC

Telephone
# Fuseless/Auto-resetting: Yes
# Clamping Level: 260V
# Capacitance: 30pf (approx.)
# Suppression Modes: Metallic and Longitudinal
# Wires Protected: 2 Wires, Pins 4 and 5 Cable and Satellite
# HD 1080 i/p Ready: Yes
# Bi-directional: Yes
# Shielded: Yes
# Clamping Level: 75V
# Frequency Range: 0MHz - 2.2 GHz
# Insertion Loss: < 0.5 dB

Postby crazybalhead » July 15th, 2010, 9:12 am

Nice nice..

Postby SR » July 15th, 2010, 9:22 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 15th, 2010, 11:25 am

^ that's why I bought the M5400-PM instead of the 7500 PRO

the 5400 is ~US$700
http://www.amazon.com/Panamax-M5400-PM-11-Outlet-Theater-Conditioner/dp/B000SXWGAG/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1279207324&sr=1-1
You can get the 5300 for ~US$450 but the 5300 doesnt have true voltage regulation
http://www.amazon.com/Panamax-M5300-PM-11-Outlet-Theater-Conditioner/dp/B000SXWGAQ/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1279207324&sr=1-3

compare them at http://www.panamax.com/Products/A-V-Components/Default.aspx

this is a good one for ppl with a HTPC setup
[url]http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Panamax+-+Power+Management+and+Battery+Backup+System/9435417.p?id=1218104800310&skuId=9435417&st=panamax&cp=1&lp=3
[/url]
Raptor's price is good considering you have to multiply these things x10 to cater for shipping, duty, VAT etc

it's US$2000 for the 7500PRO

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 15th, 2010, 12:24 pm

since we on voltage regulation, can a normal ups be used to run your hdtv?

Postby crazybalhead » July 15th, 2010, 12:31 pm

nareshseep wrote:since we on voltage regulation, can a normal ups be used to run your hdtv?

No!

The wattage draw may be too high for UPS. And I dunno how much protection you will get anyway.

I run mine off a tripplite line conditioner, but it's not the best solution.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 15th, 2010, 1:29 pm

what kind u recommend? panamax kinda outta my budget right now...

Postby crazybalhead » July 15th, 2010, 1:50 pm

The 1200, 1500 or the 1800. Any one should work.

Postby shogun » July 15th, 2010, 1:58 pm

I'm using the Panamax M8-AV ...less features but basic protection.

RapToR

Home Theater PowerCenter™ HTS 1000 MKIII with Clean Power™ S

Postby RapToR » July 15th, 2010, 4:54 pm

i got these in stock

http://www.monstercable.com/productdisplay.asp?pin=4445

Home Theater PowerCenter™ HTS 1000 MKIII with Clean Power™ Stage 2

$1000.00

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 15th, 2010, 4:59 pm

^ also good stuff

compare them at http://www.panamax.com/Products/A-V-Com ... fault.aspx

you can compare features and decide which one is best for you

a regular UPS can't handle the load that a TV, Reciever, amp and subwoofer might draw and remember a regular UPS does not have a line conditioner or voltage regulator and will only go to battery on power failure

these HT power units are made for home theater setup and offer features such as extra load capacity on the outlets for the sub and amps and extra protection for sensitive HDTVs - they also offer always on for components that stay on stand by while completely powering down others when they are not in use. Power on components in a specific sequence and not at the same time as startup can be the biggest power drain causing components to fry each other

a UPS is for a computer

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 15th, 2010, 5:14 pm

^ :|

i have all my EQ in my room,including PC hooked up to a Forza SL1001 UPS.
Even with everything on,it doesnt go on full load,and works perfect