north coast up blanchicheusse and paria side
yuh hadda know the north good to find the spots
all them tuners wid boat stickin
kingfish season going out now does have the big fellas out

wraith

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby wraith » July 20th, 2010, 8:41 am

For the guys that like deep sea fishing, thought you all might like to know that sunday gone a fisherman from Grenada held a 7+ ft. 500lb. blue fin tuna.

He also mentioned that his lines did sustain some further damage from more than one tuna.

So keep your eyes open cause they may be more out there.

Postby Razkal » July 20th, 2010, 10:11 am

what the deuce!! 500lb is monster!.......contaminant build up might turn me off from keeping a fish like that but WOW! what a battle and a catch that would be....definitely a bragging pic opportunity LOL

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » July 20th, 2010, 10:36 am

check this grouper i saw on facebook..

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1 ... =792830500

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 20th, 2010, 10:48 am

^^ yup seen some BIG groupers before. Ever wonder what's under the rig's eating all the scraps?? took a crane to pull up a grouper. 400+ lbs easy.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 20th, 2010, 11:10 am

Going out in the savannah on Sat.. will take some pics

venomz

Postby venomz » July 20th, 2010, 11:13 am

the biggest grouper i ever caught was 115lbs...i have a paper based picture some where in an album...caught that all the way back in 98 with my dad right off san fernando wharf in the middle wreck

used 3/16 nylon rope and a 6inch stainless steel hook with a live redfish....

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » July 20th, 2010, 5:13 pm

faster the better nice catch...

I have to get some pic from when we go DDI! We hold like 200lbs of king fish and and whole set of yellow fin cavali.

jsali

Postby jsali » July 20th, 2010, 7:13 pm

i'll be in tobago next week saturday for a week. allyuh fellas know of any good spots that safe to go? (at night also) what to use as bait? not too skilled with artificial but if that's what will catch the bigger fish then i'll give it a try...
everytime we go, the fish we catch are measured in inches :|
ah eh askin for much but a lil bigger will be nice :D

faster the better

Postby faster the better » July 21st, 2010, 9:42 am

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:faster the better nice catch...

I have to get some pic from when we go DDI! We hold like 200lbs of king fish and and whole set of yellow fin cavali.

yeah thats how we does do it most we hold for the season was 400 and somein lbs
but the season going out just now is only banking fish to ketch

Postby Razkal » July 21st, 2010, 12:37 pm

what rigs are most successful for bigger predatory fish like the cavalli, kingfish, etc?..

what lures, trawling depth, test line, test leader wire etc you guys use?

i have extremely shitty nokia phone pics of the last two big ones i caught, a 15lb yellow fin cavalli at the back of monos, and a 10lb redfish caught banking in the vicinity of the 2nd bocas...actually, those are the ONLY two 'big' ones i caught....ever! LOL...everything else was under 2lbs :/

the cavalli rig was basically a rapalla lure (with two tri-hooks) connected via 3 feet of 40lb test wire to 30lb test Ande monofilament line..Penn rod and reel, 850ss reel....used the boat to do most of the work tiring the fish, still a nice struggle pulling it in though..

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 21st, 2010, 12:56 pm

Razkal, wat bait yuh use for d reds? livebait? i goin and invest in ah trolling setup dis weekend b4 i head ddi so i guh try ah ting...

Postby Razkal » July 21st, 2010, 1:05 pm

^nope, no live bait, haven't gotten the hang of using artificials or live bait yet so i didn't bother..

used bonito for the redfish, bonito is pretty effective from a science standpoint lol....very fresh and will attract alot of fish quicker than most other 'fish' bait i've used...fillet and cut up the fish for bait, save all scraps and entrails and make a chum bag to hang over the boat...it works!

i used a gallon size ziploc bag i perforated with small holes, threw in all the bait scraps and two 5oz sinkers just to keep it hanging down...started getting bigger bites soon after.

jsali

Postby jsali » July 21st, 2010, 1:27 pm

talk to meh na tobago fishers....Razkal u ever fished in tobago? how was your experience?

I gettin rel charge up just reading about the fish u guys caught lol

venomz

Postby venomz » July 21st, 2010, 3:42 pm

tobago fishing.. is mainly trolling....to catch kingfish barracudas etc... if u wana catch some nice snapper...just off pigeon point there is a place called no man's land...in that cove area i caught some 2lb red snapper/ hog snapper (local tobago name) and a 5lb barracuda...

shrimp for the snappers with a size 3 or 4 stainless steel hook and wire...
and i used a live black cro cro on a floating line for the barracuda...

this was during july vacation...last year

jsali

Postby jsali » July 22nd, 2010, 8:24 am

trolling is out of the question. Inshore fishing is what we'll be doing.

Thanks i'll check there out!

edit: apparently you need a boat to get to Bin Accord Lagoon / No man's land :(

jsali

Postby jsali » July 22nd, 2010, 9:06 am

Postby Razkal » July 22nd, 2010, 9:19 am

jsali, i never fished tobago, save for just entertaining myself in the left corner of store bay!
i have some friends across there that said they'd take me to some spots when next i'm there...but seriously, trollng tobago is where the real game fish are at!

marlin, wahoo, tuna, barracuda, kings!

jsali

Postby jsali » July 22nd, 2010, 9:30 am

I'm excited to learn new techniques and try new things this rounds cuz that's what I always hear - Tobago is where d fish are at!

I generally always use the usual dropper rig....that's it....this works well for but only for small fish.....time to move up d ladder :?
Looking to try some artificial this time and maybe the spoon lure if i can find one before next week....never really used these so am looking up on how to set them up and cast etc..

venomz

Postby venomz » July 22nd, 2010, 10:29 am

u need a boat to go no mans land (price 50tt to and back cover charge) however ppl bbq etc and lime n snorkel nthing there make it a fun day if ur going

.. bon accord lagoon is a lagoon obviously...so one side is no mans land the other side u can walk down pigeon point where the big boats are parked down in the back... kinda lonely by urself after 6pm but thats wen the fish bite soo...go wit a group and thats what i did and i caught some nice reds...

jsali

Postby jsali » July 22nd, 2010, 10:39 am

cool!! will try to make it in daylight at least since my crew is only 3 or 4

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 22nd, 2010, 11:19 am

planning to do sum trolling ddi sunday, any tips or spots? first time i trying trolling...

venomz

Postby venomz » July 22nd, 2010, 11:49 am

tips

NO. 1-....keep rod well secured to boat...barracuda bite and run...
NO. 2- ... no ladies on board.. dey distract...lol
NO 3- ...make fresh- ie- when trolling mash up some herring in the bait well in the water and throw it out as u go along...it works..

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » July 22nd, 2010, 12:05 pm

If you are looking for spots to fish from the shore in Tobago you can check out airports, no mans land and rockly bay by the old beach facility. There is also some good fishing off of plymouth jetty. If you willing to take a drive there are some nice spots going up country starting from studly park go straight up to Charlotteville then to Paralatuvier.

jsali

Postby jsali » July 22nd, 2010, 12:52 pm

33 hertz , thanks....any particular techniques I should consider using? or just try my luck with anything?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 22nd, 2010, 1:00 pm

^^use lure's and spoon's, look for birds, look for fish beating(troll close to those sights). Troll in deeper water (1/2 - 1 mile from shore for bigger fish) troll closer for smaller fish. If yuh on a good day you'll catch. If not well thats fishing.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » July 22nd, 2010, 1:05 pm

I'm not really a fishing expert, Tobago is pretty quiet most of the year so me and the wifey just fish for entertainment. I have a 10ft and she has a 6ft rod, we use flying fish or squid for bait which usually works well. If you fishing near the airport be prepared to loose lots of hooks and sinkers as it's pretty rocky. You also have to pay attention to the tide and be on the lookout for seagulls and pelicans, they usually help you spot where the fish are located. Night time and early morning also tend to be the better times to fish.

When are you going to be in Tobago?

jsali

Postby jsali » July 22nd, 2010, 1:06 pm

thanks but i won't be trolling...but i'll still try some lures

all dis talk...ah hope ah ketch something...but as d man say...that's fishing...

jsali

Postby jsali » July 22nd, 2010, 1:13 pm

33 hertz, I'll be there from July 31st to Aug 6th.
last year i mostly fished by a fort near the airport....Milford I think....had some cavali passing one morning and we blaze dem...but they were small...and there u get stuck ALOT cuz of the coral bed.

once we get a safe spot I hope to do some night fishing

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » July 22nd, 2010, 1:29 pm

Fort Milford is also a good site, but kinda lonely. Tobago is pretty safe so you have nothing to worry bout. But that weekend is Great Race so be careful cuz things are a little different during those times. Supposed to be carrying my nephews fishing that weekend so hit me a PM and we could link up.
Last edited by 33 hertz on July 22nd, 2010, 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.