Have we lost the meaning of the word "truck"

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 20th, 2009, 12:02 pm

But the man aint answer me yet eh...

I asked if he never stick a van....?

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » April 20th, 2009, 4:42 pm

I came across this post and was thinking twice baout posting but here goes.....

tall757.....automakers all over the world have done a lot of market research and do extensive trending forecasts. They realised that truck owners are no longer limited to the ulititarian class (farmers,construction etc) but now a lot of people are looking at trucks as their daily driver. In foreign markets there is also the added incentive of savings and tax write-offs. Companies now make some of their trucks as plush and luxurious as their SUV's and sports cars!

The aftermarkets sellers have followed suit and make rims and every other conceivable "upgrade" for them....so why not??

What is the difference between the truck owner who buys rims and all the trimmings, compared to the guy who buys a 911 or GT-R??

As for a dropped low SUV or pickup...i agree it is silly...but no more silly than doing it to a car...the automaker make the suspension for a reason...

Just my 42 cents!

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » April 20th, 2009, 4:48 pm

<<< Notice the Bull bar complete with separate skid plate in the avatar...plus ah have 18" chrome rims and I does on meh GPS when ah going in de shop....buh wait nah....I am one of them!!

I am a pavement blinger!

Whyyyyyyyy!!

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby Greypatch » April 20th, 2009, 5:42 pm

pavement blinger

greatbear

Postby greatbear » April 20th, 2009, 6:08 pm

Great Bear I really believe you ,

amm ,glad to noe :? , jus cause you cant do it without mud tires doh mean it eh true an feel u could be bashin ppl who like to have a "niceish" lookin vehicle, i mean i agree some fellas does over do it ,but is there a purpose to your argument????

tall757

Postby tall757 » April 20th, 2009, 8:52 pm

I was talking about the B2500 being the company truck in my family's company, not the deans wheels truck, I'm not affiliated with them in any way; I guess I mixed up the order a bit there lol. And no, I'm not one to showoff, someone was bashing me about my education and that my van had 3 different kinds of wheels (big rims, unneccessary lights=showoff) though I guess I got a bit too into it (new to these post things, I prefer to drive). I just didn't want to say MY truck to look like a lil rich boy (I'm already listed with another car as you could see). And no sir bleedingfreak, I never stick though I have come in a few notable tricky spots. The difference with a car is that they more consumer oriented but I understand your point. Personally I dislike anything not performance oriented (especially on a utalitarian vehichle; something that is advertised as tough) though at the same time I don't mind show cars and SOME trucks (though I dislike seeing good vehicles being watered down); I just don't like 1/4 way jobs or showoffs to the point where it becomes average or overdone as we see with the many new hiluxes and navaras that people have been getting there hands on. Plus anyways, a lot of the guys who chrome out GTR's and 911's but drive them only for show, rarely would u see one take that car to its limits; u may see it at drags yes; but not on a track (though I think we have enough problems with race tracks in trinidad). By the way, a lowered suspension on a car helps with cornering (along with other mods) and its not like trucks are made for on road racing though a hilux may benifit from one as displayed by a moose test. I am not a hilux hater by the way, Jeremy Clarkson is right in saying its invincible. :mrgreen:

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 20th, 2009, 9:06 pm

Vinesh

Postby Vinesh » April 20th, 2009, 9:15 pm

tall757, u still talkin??

Postby 3stagevtec » April 20th, 2009, 9:36 pm

damn, that's too much to read...

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » April 20th, 2009, 10:26 pm

like we need a "Summit of the Trinituners" up in here... :D :D :D

venum

Postby venum » April 20th, 2009, 11:51 pm

JoeZwalez wrote:like we need a "Summit of the Trinituners" up in here... :D :D :D

who yuh think sounding like Chavex :?: and who sounding like Manning and who sounding like Obama :?:

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » April 21st, 2009, 5:58 am

venum wrote:
JoeZwalez wrote:like we need a "Summit of the Trinituners" up in here... :D :D :D

who yuh think sounding like Chavex :?: and who sounding like Manning and who sounding like Obama :?:

Just doh let Tall write the declaration

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » April 21st, 2009, 10:40 am

JoeZwalez wrote:I came across this post and was thinking twice baout posting but here goes.....

tall757.....automakers all over the world have done a lot of market research and do extensive trending forecasts. They realised that truck owners are no longer limited to the ulititarian class (farmers,construction etc) but now a lot of people are looking at trucks as their daily driver. In foreign markets there is also the added incentive of savings and tax write-offs. Companies now make some of their trucks as plush and luxurious as their SUV's and sports cars!

The aftermarkets sellers have followed suit and make rims and every other conceivable "upgrade" for them....so why not??

What is the difference between the truck owner who buys rims and all the trimmings, compared to the guy who buys a 911 or GT-R??

As for a dropped low SUV or pickup...i agree it is silly...but no more silly than doing it to a car...the automaker make the suspension for a reason...

Just my 42 cents!

excuse me, you posting sense in a nonsense ched? :x

:out:

greatbear

Postby greatbear » April 22nd, 2009, 2:29 pm

lol, yuh startin to mek ah lil sense, but my question iz, if yuh doh think big rims an lookin good mean ur vehicle is not a real 4x4, wah iz ah range rover???? :?

Postby Greypatch » April 22nd, 2009, 6:52 pm

leave the kakaholes alone nah....

peeps now have rim envy ....

Postby brams112 » April 24th, 2009, 10:02 pm

so if a man want a 4x4 with bling, without having to transport anything except coolers,food and the set ah fishing rods with a tackle box and two surfboards on his blinged out lux, what is your true query with that ? :P :P

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 26th, 2009, 9:07 am

at the end of the day who name on the certified copy OP?

nos_specialist

Re: Have we lost the meaning of the word "truck"

Postby nos_specialist » July 21st, 2010, 10:54 am

POST REVIVAL....... in allyuh crevice

CRIMS IT DONG, AIR SUSPENSION, 12 dvd screeennnnnsssss......strobeeesssssss, LAMBO DOORSSSS.....YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

so dem ppl who does drive with they lambo doors up in d air, i wonder if they goh do dat off road, thru d bush and wat not..

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » July 21st, 2010, 8:15 pm

Oh lord...

I sorry I miss out on this one boy.. where I was?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » July 22nd, 2010, 2:16 am

oh yes this made my night/morning.. thank you tuners.. gudnight...

bt50

Postby bt50 » July 22nd, 2010, 7:08 am

yeah bleedingfreak...i dont remember seeing this thread before

Postby Greypatch » July 22nd, 2010, 6:09 pm

can I use the trem rectal hair in this thread ?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 26th, 2010, 6:43 am

i mean i understand where he is coming from but i wont go as far as he did - everyone have a choice in their selection and to each his own. Case in point - my bro owns a rimz place and the majority of his customers that buy big chrome rimz is Navara and Hilux men - so i have no probs with that - i will just overtake them when they driving slow to avoid the potholes...lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 26th, 2010, 8:40 am

Old-school = work-horse, minimalistic, functional, rugged, reliable, easy to maintain, goes anywhere.

New-school = reliable, comfortable, easy to maintain, masculine looks, pretty, blinged

IMHO:
Best-school = a reliable, comfortable workhorse that gets the job done and looks good while doing it.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 26th, 2010, 9:15 am

civic minded wrote:the majority of his customers that buy big chrome rimz is Navara and Hilux men - so i have no probs with that - i will just overtake them when they driving slow to avoid the potholes...lol

try dat with me next time nah :twisted:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 26th, 2010, 9:18 am

ok time to hijack this thread...

So biggy, how does the Algae-X system work? Is it a set-it-and-forget it kinda thing or do you have to use a fuel additive too? Any problems or difference in performance since you installed it?

SEVin

Re:

Postby SEVin » July 26th, 2010, 8:12 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
biggy82 wrote:and Mr tall757, i think you on the wrong website. if yuh like to showoff dat yuh studyin in foreign and yuh famalee have paper, see below:

www.triniscene.com
www.attentionwhores.com
www.likeigiveashit.com

kthanxbai 8-)

:rofl: @ the last 2 sites...

bwahahahhahhaa...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 27th, 2010, 2:32 am

lighthammer wrote:So biggy, how does the Algae-X system work? Is it a set-it-and-forget it kinda thing or do you have to use a fuel additive too? Any problems or difference in performance since you installed it?

no problems since installation. you can use additives if you like, but not necessary. and remember:
biggy82 wrote:more advice for Nav owners who have the Algae-X inline fuel conditioner installed. add cleaning of the conditioner to your every 10K services. the gunk builds up in it after a time and causes the van to smoke and lose power.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 27th, 2010, 5:56 am

biggy82 wrote:
lighthammer wrote:So biggy, how does the Algae-X system work? Is it a set-it-and-forget it kinda thing or do you have to use a fuel additive too? Any problems or difference in performance since you installed it?

no problems since installation. you can use additives if you like, but not necessary. and remember:
biggy82 wrote:more advice for Nav owners who have the Algae-X inline fuel conditioner installed. add cleaning of the conditioner to your every 10K services. the gunk builds up in it after a time and causes the van to smoke and lose power.

Ah ok, I see. But is the conditioner really necessary if the Algae-X system conditions the fuel on its own?

And I wonder if the benefits aren't limited to only common-rail diesels, what about older diesels such as these:

Perhaps the OP would like to weigh in on the benefits of a modern fuel conditioner like Algae-X on all types of diesel motors.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » July 27th, 2010, 6:11 am

lighthammer wrote:But is the conditioner really necessary if the Algae-X system conditions the fuel on its own?

the algae-X works similar to a centrifuge. it breaks up fuel agglomeration and disperses water. this are the things that can foul filters and the CR and cause uneven fuel distribution.

fuel conditioners (like Amsoil Diesel Concentrate and CBA) compensate for the variances in quality of different fuels (including biodiesel) and the deficiencies of today’s ultra-low-sulfur diesel fuel (ULSD) for better engine operation. Both improve diesel fuel quality to exceed today’s stringent performance requirements.

Algae-X is like a fuel protection system. the fuel conditioners increase performance ane efficiency

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”