Got a 2000 ticket for my smoked rear glasses.. need advice

Re: Got a 2000 ticket for my smoked rear glasses.. need advi

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 4th, 2010, 1:32 pm

so police officers can now charge for tint?

I though only Licence officers could do that....

Does the new law allow police officers to do this as it is very subjective....

Postby cinco » August 4th, 2010, 1:34 pm

^^ i could be wrong but the police got that right just before chogm

Postby Damien » August 4th, 2010, 1:52 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
Damien wrote:Is ah evo ten yuh shoulda drag off lol

:roll: :roll: :roll:

take care you eye them fallout, why alyuh aint change this forum from ole talk to serious talk

Postby redmanjp » August 4th, 2010, 2:32 pm

Nigson wrote:so police officers can now charge for tint?

I though only Licence officers could do that....

Does the new law allow police officers to do this as it is very subjective....

yeah they could do that now-i think they added a fine for tint when they increased all the other fines i remember hearing about it on d news

btw, i wonder if putting on yuh cabin light go help when d officer trying to determine if it too dark

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » August 4th, 2010, 3:09 pm

crazybalhead wrote:And to others, next time you are being pulled over, make sure and keep a firm middle finger at your shoulder level. When the officer begins to cuss you about your middle finger AND the tint, then you can say that he saw the middle finger so the tint is obviously not too dark.

By some Absorbine Veterinarian after to treat your various bruises after.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 4th, 2010, 3:13 pm

Mr. Warner must be made aware that testing of tint visibility must be made more scientific and less subjective.....set a standard % and introduce the VLT's.....some 2NR must know him on a personal level to suggest this!!!!

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » August 4th, 2010, 4:56 pm

He eh ha no proof....or mabe he horna man have a evo X an he tryin tuh spite yuh.....

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » August 4th, 2010, 5:00 pm

ooo look at me I have an Evo X woopti do :roll:

[/jealousy]

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » August 4th, 2010, 5:32 pm

this whole tint issue with the police is so backwards..they in cavemen days still

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » August 4th, 2010, 5:59 pm

pioneer wrote:This is like saying you will be charged for speeding...but what is speeding?...speeding is going "too fast"

No set limit, no way to calculate and determine it.

But this is how we like it, but eh allyuh voted for "change"

Not one minister of MP has dare challenged this dumb arse law.

are you retarded?

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » August 4th, 2010, 8:11 pm

good luck in court if u are gonna contest it..hope u get through yes....
but i think when they increased the fine recently, they also said if you challenge the decision (made by d officer who gave u the ticket), and you are proven wrong by the court, the fine is $5000.

this is as far as i cud remember...could be wrong...

Postby brams112 » August 4th, 2010, 8:31 pm

how about changing the fcuking thing completly?put in a new one, tint to the law and go to court,you can't lose the case then,,,

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » August 4th, 2010, 8:31 pm

TriniVdub wrote:
pioneer wrote:This is like saying you will be charged for speeding...but what is speeding?...speeding is going "too fast"

are you retarded?

are you?

well after reading this

I think I may have lost a few brain cells :?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » August 4th, 2010, 8:35 pm

ah ha I feel a tingling sensation of brain cells multiplying once again

Postby Team Loco » August 4th, 2010, 9:04 pm

MG Man wrote:if Licensing office registered your car with that glass, then it means they approved it.......just like that stupid double standard for cars imported with fogs being legal depending on if the car was imported and registered that way

not so! or at least they found some dumb arse excuse again.

today my truck driver got charged $1000 for having an unauthrised swivel amber light on the cab. he explained the truck passed inspection last week with the swivel light intact. the licence officer said the pit inspector just handles the road worthiness of the vehicle. he has nothing to do with tint or unauthorised lights. sounds like BS to me.

if you own a "T' registered vehicle, and have a tow bar, you are required to apply to the commisioner to have a revolving light installed. process could take up to a yr.

richie2428

Postby richie2428 » August 4th, 2010, 9:23 pm

here what going on solider go fight the case i did it a couple times in central the officer never shows up in court and the judge just give me win .. my uncle is a police officer and he say they does just say they go see u in court they does just do that to frighting u to pat the ticket and another thing u will win that case easy ,,,,, no prob

Terran

Postby Terran » August 4th, 2010, 9:37 pm

I have a friend who was also charged the $2,000 fine on the same route, same day, around 9:30 a.m..

But I have a few questions for you, Messi.

They charged you, but did not command you to remove the tint on the spot? That is foolish. You charge someone for breaking the law, but leave them to continue to break the law?? If you waved good-bye as you drove off and they waved back, then "ridiculous" is not strong enough a word I would use to describe this.

In my friend's case, they demanded that she strip the tint, but they kept piece as "evidence" in case she decides to contest it. Simple solution - she can get another piece of tint that is lighter in colour/tone and tell the judge its what she had on her vehicle. Make life confusing to the magistrate.

Next question - if your rear window is smoked and the car was registered with it, how do you prove that the glass was in place at the time of registration and you didn't change it afterwards?

My take on the law concerning tint is that it is not clearly defined and there is nothing stated in the law that measures what is considered to be dark. Furthermore, there is no mention of the right of an officer to command that the tint be removed in the event that he finds it too dark without PROVING that it is.

Tinman

Postby Tinman » August 4th, 2010, 9:43 pm

I purchased my wingroad rider with all my back glass smoked,and was stopped in a road block for "Illegal" Tint when the officer told me to strip it off I agreed and told him if he find tint i will remove it,after 3 mins of "Investigating" the idiot then told me my fog light are "Illegal" and I should not drive with it on mind you it was 6pm I said the vehicle was registered this way and if they authorize it like that it is road worthy. Idiot said his did not come like that I told him there is a BIG difference in "WINGRAOD and AD" and he probably had boot leg man get vex and say look boy just go yuh lucky I in a good mood, idiot even say I did the back glass like that and did not do the front so I would get away, and license officers does say one thing and is a different thing out here.

Terran

Postby Terran » August 4th, 2010, 9:52 pm

"no motor vehicle the windscreen or any other window of which is fitted with glass so tinted, treated or darkened as to obscure the view of the inside of the vehicle from the outside shall be used upon any road" is all that is stated in the law.

http://www.ird.gov.tt/uploadedfiles/Mot ... 049-50.pdf

Section 23, part 1d.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 5th, 2010, 2:22 am

SO they making you strip tint on the spot and giving you a ticket also ????

Thats madness...If they make you strip it then the car has no tint so how could they give you a ticket afterwards?????

If you refuse to strip it well then the ticket should be issued........

We live in a tropical country ...no tint -- man you gonna die with that heat

Saw in a previous post someone contested tint saying that he needed it for health skin reasons and had a medical to prove it.......

Also we passing through beetham, enterprise, lavantille, we must have tint////or gorm....

the govt doesnt realise that because they fail we must have we lil tint,,,,,

steups,,,.....

TK!

Postby TK! » August 5th, 2010, 3:11 am

Nigson wrote:SO they making you strip tint on the spot and giving you a ticket also ????

Thats madness...If they make you strip it then the car has no tint so how could they give you a ticket afterwards?????

same reason as if u teif something and when yuh get catch yuh offer to return it.

de man should contact a real lawyer for some proper advice. if that pdf link is accurate, then messi will lose in court.

ah only hope no pnm ppl complaining. thanks patos.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 5th, 2010, 8:56 am

the 20% tint is what landed you in trouble.
I have 35% and my rear windows are also factory smoked, no tint at all on the windscreen, yet I have passed thru several roadblocks no issue.

Realistically speaking, 20% with black interior is asking for trouble, given the current state of affairs WRT tint.

Messi

Postby Messi » August 5th, 2010, 1:09 pm

Sounds like i am fcked.. i have a lawyer partner looking at the act for me. Dont want to be a scapegoat here. I dont mind challenging in court only on the basis that the magistrate isnt in a bad mood and hits me with a 5000 fine!!!

TK!

Postby TK! » August 5th, 2010, 1:26 pm

^^ yeah, i wont risk that either. 2000 < 5000 + 1 day in court.

rossi

Postby rossi » August 5th, 2010, 2:21 pm

crazybalhead wrote:And to others, next time you are being pulled over, make sure and keep a firm middle finger at your shoulder level. When the officer begins to cuss you about your middle finger AND the tint, then you can say that he saw the middle finger so the tint is obviously not too dark.

By some Absorbine Veterinarian after to treat your various bruises after.

heheh....reading this and actually thinking about doing it cause it makes sense :wink:

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 5th, 2010, 3:11 pm

although the law does not provide for a specific allowable tint visibility rating, the general industry standard is that anything below 30/35% is usually considered dark enough to warrant a ticket.

smoked rear glass or not, the tint on your driver and passenger windows is too dark.

hope that helps.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » August 6th, 2010, 12:37 am

Permit me to offer a comment or two.

No case is so good that it cannot be lost or so bad that it cannot be won.

You need to go to court prepared with what you are going to argue and prepared with what the other side is likely to argue. You job is to emphasize the strengths of your case and highlight the weakness of the other side's case. That is how you win in court.

I would not pay the ticket and go to court and argue.

If you pay, you are guaranteed to be out of pocket $2,000 plus the cost of replacing all of the smoked glass. Calculate the cost of that and weigh the cost of going to court and winning. So that is best case vs worse case, then consider absolute worse case, paying a higher fine and still having the cost of replacing all of the smoked glass and absolute best case of being able to approach any road block knowing that you are forever immune.

Do not get the service of a friend that is a lawyer, go to an independent attorney and get unbiased proper advice but still argue the case in court yourself without a lawyer being present. Let the lawyer tell you what to ask and how to answer questions and address the court and the Magistrate. I personally recommend Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj as I have used him before, got excellent advice and won my case. Now I drive around with a stuck on number plate, immune from prosecution.

You will have the EVO X for some time and you don't want to be in jeopardy every single day so either you challenge it and go for a win or take the loser pose, pay the fine and change all of the smoked glass. Check Teknet for new glass.

TK!

Postby TK! » August 6th, 2010, 12:51 am

^^ de master speaks :-D

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 6th, 2010, 1:01 am

Go to court and put an end to this facking sheit......... get someone from the press to cover the case, so it will be highlighted.... Maybe someone will show Jack the news clipping...

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » August 6th, 2010, 11:13 am

Purchased a brand new lancer from diamond motors back in 2001, was registered with 35% titanium tint and so far when police ask, i tell them we got the car like that from the firm, alot of officers claim that ALL titanium tint illegal but then again is if the police in a mood i guess... I will never understand the reasoning, btw, 4 windows, full back windscreen and a 7" band on the top of the front windscreen> This is legal as far as i know.