W.T.K.. Opening a New Business

smokeyjoe

W.T.K.. Opening a New Business

Postby smokeyjoe » August 13th, 2010, 12:11 pm

Good day
I am thinking about opening a full car customizing shop in Arima Industrial Estate. It will comprise of

(1) Full Auto Straightening and Painting Shop
(2) Auto Upholstery
(3) Audio install
(4) Rims
(5) Tires
(6) Service Centre
(7) Wrecking Services

I am asking you all if it’s a good idea, if it’s a good location and if it will be profitable.

Thanks in advance

Re: W.T.K.. Opening a New Business

Postby MG Man » August 13th, 2010, 12:21 pm

who is your target market?

Postby sharkman121 » August 13th, 2010, 12:22 pm

*steals idea an runs to bank*

Postby Trini Hookah » August 13th, 2010, 12:23 pm

hommuch allyuh go charge tuh crimz dong meh lansa?

Postby buzz » August 13th, 2010, 12:24 pm

Sounds like a pretty large organization, to start all those services at once IMO may not be a good idea

Postby Trini Hookah » August 13th, 2010, 12:53 pm

Soundwave wrote:
buzz wrote:Sounds like a pretty large organization, to start all those services at once IMO may not be a good idea

that's because you're a pansy, he should also add in an ice cream shop...

maybe even a small shop that sells Ramsaran's..

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 13th, 2010, 12:55 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
Soundwave wrote:
buzz wrote:Sounds like a pretty large organization, to start all those services at once IMO may not be a good idea

that's because you're a pansy, he should also add in an ice cream shop...

maybe even a small shop that sells Ramsaran's..

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :(

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 13th, 2010, 12:56 pm

As with any business, once the prices can compete and your service is satisfactory, you're gonna do well. There's no reason why it won't.

Postby buzz » August 13th, 2010, 12:58 pm

not always eh

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 13th, 2010, 1:02 pm

buzz wrote:not always eh

true, but from what he's proposing, it's gonna be an all-in-one centre, which is gonna be a big investment, but if marketed well enough should do well

Postby AllTrac » August 13th, 2010, 1:03 pm

i see your point, but sometimes it could be a good thing incase other areas are not performing well, the other services could pick up the slack and keep the cash flow running to cover expenses. Kindda like not putting yuh eggs in one basket so to speak. I guess its all a risk, but risk is opportunity

Postby SMc » August 13th, 2010, 1:06 pm

Why not have a GOOD body shop, outsorce crims, tires, upholstry etc and have a one stop shop for people looking to drop off and collect vs doing everything yourself/themselves.

Let each supplier advertise in-house (one or two of each, get them to do a portfolio which is kept on site) and let the customer make a decision...you charge for that then make it happen

Postby buzz » August 13th, 2010, 1:08 pm

AllTrac wrote:

i see your point, but sometimes it could be a good thing incase other areas are not performing well, the other services could pick up the slack and keep the cash flow running to cover expenses. Kindda like not putting yuh eggs in one basket so to speak. I guess its all a risk, but risk is opportunity

true, i suppose as long as his workforce is small and dynamic enough to perform more than one duty, the overhead can be compensated.

silver

Postby silver » August 13th, 2010, 1:17 pm

I am thinking about opening a full car customizing shop in Arima Industrial Estate. It will comprise of

(1) Full Auto Straightening and Painting Shop
(2) Auto Upholstery
(3) Audio install
(4) Rims
(5) Tires
(6) Service Centre
(7) Wrecking Services

throw een a doughnut boys and rituals and yuh have a hit

Postby bluesteel29 » August 13th, 2010, 1:18 pm

Soundwave wrote:fish hadoken iymc..

so no machine shop n dyno?
Last edited by bluesteel29 on August 13th, 2010, 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby buzz » August 13th, 2010, 1:22 pm

nope, rent part of your property to JAPs

smokeyjoe

Postby smokeyjoe » August 13th, 2010, 1:33 pm

thanks for your feed back. my target the man of the street and insurance companies once i can get in

Postby MG Man » August 13th, 2010, 1:47 pm

smokeyjoe wrote:thats for your feed back. my target the man of the street and insurance companies once i can get in

the man on the street is too broad a target
You need to do a proper business analysis and a SWOT analysis based on who you are going after.
What are your price structures for different services?
Who are your competitors?
Do you plan to feed off your competitors' existing clinets?
If so, what us your unique proposition?
How do you plan on attracting people to your business?
Are there small man businesses offering one or two of your services very cheaply?
Do you have qualified technicians to base a reputation or image on?
Have you prepared for retalliation / aggressive marketing moves by existing businesses?

Insurance companies tend to list garages that they have a relationship with. If you do not know anybody, they will likely ask to see examples of your work / pricing / track record / testemonials before they consider you.....whic means you not gettin in anytime soon unless you do in fact have links

If you need help writing a proper business plan, I charge $500 / hour and 2% of all revenues for the 1st 5 years

Postby buzz » August 13th, 2010, 1:55 pm

^^ as we on cut throat tactics

i'll charge $200 an hour and a box of Japs every month for 2 years

seriously though, thats good advice

Postby MG Man » August 13th, 2010, 2:03 pm

I agree
Japs is ALWAYS good advice
ah feel fo ah box now............and some Japs too

smokeyjoe

Postby smokeyjoe » August 13th, 2010, 2:36 pm

all good questions from 2NRholic
will have to think about some of them and let you all know.
thanks buddy

Postby Trini Hookah » August 13th, 2010, 2:58 pm

smokeyjoe wrote:all good questions from 2NRholic
will have to think about some of them and let you all know.
thanks buddy

:| :| :|

Postby MG Man » August 13th, 2010, 3:09 pm

lol ah din wah say nuttin

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 13th, 2010, 3:14 pm

SMc wrote:Why not have a GOOD body shop, outsorce crims, tires, upholstry etc and have a one stop shop for people looking to drop off and collect vs doing everything yourself/themselves.

Let each supplier advertise in-house (one or two of each, get them to do a portfolio which is kept on site) and let the customer make a decision...you charge for that then make it happen

with a bar/roti/cutters shop on d side for those just coming for quick services.'

Cant lose

smokeyjoe

Postby smokeyjoe » August 13th, 2010, 3:16 pm

no its good questions.
i thought about some but the aspect of how other companies will take it... well???.. i ant to sure..
i have run a Straightening and Painting Shop before for about two years. it was a friend of mine business which he was giving up on and i took it and not its a money making business. i have now moved on to bigger and better.
so i am not no new in this business...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 13th, 2010, 3:18 pm

overcome the previous shortcomings... BTW what were they?

smokeyjoe

Postby smokeyjoe » August 16th, 2010, 8:22 am

bump!!

rxforever

Postby rxforever » August 16th, 2010, 2:50 pm

i say give it a try man!!!