WTK

kal el

WTK

Postby kal el » August 24th, 2010, 4:33 pm

hey good day tuners, i wanna find out about a matter in UTT (University Of Trinidad And Tobago). The matter is, my nephew applied at the institute for the mechanical engineering course. When he applied, the requirements was 5 o' level passes including Physics and Chemistry, but he didn't have chemistry and physics at the time( which he then went to do it for GCE for 1 year, so he applied with his 5 cxc passes at the time. Later on UTT gave him a call and told him he was accepted into the program (didn't get his results yet for physics and chemistry), told him as soon as he gets it to bring it in the school, he went for his results today and sadly he didn't pass his exams due to his parents job allowing him to move constantly in and out of the country, my question is, will he be accepted now?

Or if anyone could supply a link for me to get him in for that program if they don't accept him, it'll be greatly appreciated.

Re: WTK

Postby rollingstock » August 24th, 2010, 4:46 pm

why didn't you ask these guys?

But seriously if he failed these subjects then he would not be able to do the course as they are essential to the curriculum.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 24th, 2010, 5:23 pm

^ yup even passes with 2's i think he would've gotten in still. But UWI > UTT :wink:

In any case, he should really consider doing A'Levels or a Preliminary course such as Pre-Science in UWI: Open Campus.

kal el

Postby kal el » August 24th, 2010, 5:37 pm

^^ right now the subjects he have are: maths, inti-sci, P.E, English and Social Studies. He really wants to do something in the mechanical or chemical field. What are his best options right about now?

btw
the pre-science course in UWI, after doing that course, can you apply for the mechanical engineering course at UWI also?

Postby Trini Hookah » August 24th, 2010, 5:44 pm

Not too sure about those subjects he has, he can consider repeating O'Levels and doing Chemistry and Physics over.

And yes, once he has gotten substantial grades (A's preferably, competition is intense) in the Pre-Science and Agriculture course in UWI, he can apply to the Faculty of Engineering in UWI to any of the various courses.

kal el

Postby kal el » August 24th, 2010, 6:09 pm

well he has the potential to do his work, but due to him missing alot of classes he failed, it's kinda hard to see this, if anyone have a link to get him into UTT or UWI please pm me,

kal el

Postby kal el » August 25th, 2010, 7:14 am

bumpo

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » August 25th, 2010, 8:21 am

kal el wrote:well he has the potential to do his work, but due to him missing alot of classes he failed, it's kinda hard to see this, if anyone have a link to get him into UTT or UWI please pm me,

urm....whut?

Postby Trini Hookah » August 25th, 2010, 8:33 am

He doesn't have a proper transcript and you want him go into University? He'll just struggle if he doesn't have O'Level passes, in the case of not having them, they'll make him do the Preliminary course WHILE doing his BSc and that'll be the equivalent of A'Level Chemistry and/or Physics.

Postby crazybalhead » August 25th, 2010, 8:35 am

I would suggest he take another year, buckle down and pass his exams this time. Go to lessons as well.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 25th, 2010, 8:39 am

P.E is a subject? Unless this now means something else.. :|

Postby Trini Hookah » August 25th, 2010, 8:45 am

just as CBH said, he can take another year to get proper passes in O'Level Chem & Phys, and then apply to UTT, before he takes the year to do this check with UTT to ensure that's all he need to do the course.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 25th, 2010, 9:22 am

why would u want to get into university at 16?

wats the rush?

kal el

Postby kal el » August 25th, 2010, 9:26 am

^^ actually he'll be 18 this year.....well i talked to him an he said he'll do the physics and chemistry subjects over, does any government school offer it for free?

Postby UML » August 25th, 2010, 9:30 am

UTT standards done so lowwww and u wah more corruption!!!...much less UWI

dem PNM days gone bro!!!

u real boldface oui.

btw everything has its time....let him pass before he go uwi and commit suicide!!!

kal el

Postby kal el » August 25th, 2010, 9:34 am

^^ haha, well bro i just trying to help out the situation a bit, he'll do the subject over, but does any government skl offer it for free?? i mean lessons

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » August 25th, 2010, 1:11 pm

PUP ....no I not callin him a pup but is a pre-university ting @utt..from wat I gather is for ppl like him.....jus for a year an gives a better shot at getting thru nex time...

Also have he considered M.E.E.E.T. (City an guilds) ....any "madman" off d road getting thru to do da!

Postby Trini Hookah » August 25th, 2010, 1:48 pm

^ That's a combination of Mech & Elec?

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » August 25th, 2010, 1:51 pm

UWI ftw

kal el

Postby kal el » August 25th, 2010, 2:05 pm

mitsuboi wrote:PUP ....no I not callin him a pup but is a pre-university ting @utt..from wat I gather is for ppl like him.....jus for a year an gives a better shot at getting thru nex time...

Also have he considered M.E.E.E.T. (City an guilds) ....any "madman" off d road getting thru to do da!

the pup program requires physic or chemistry to be one of the subjects where mechanical engineering requires both,

turbotommy

Postby turbotommy » August 25th, 2010, 2:07 pm

mitsuboi wrote: Also have he considered M.E.E.E.T. (City an guilds) ....any "madman" off d road getting thru to do da!

True dat... looks like its easier than CXC too... have some real dotish padnas of mine get tru that with flyin colors !!!

Gettin a job with that is a lil tough doh... I dont think sensible company accepting city and guilds....

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » August 25th, 2010, 3:32 pm

yea it is mech and electrical.......City an Guilds helps though if u dont really have good cxc or A's (as far as d ppl i no da dun it) helps to get thru wid a contractor an u can move ur way up wit experience an lil more studies afta....

Postby SUPAstarr » August 25th, 2010, 3:51 pm

Postby MG Man » August 25th, 2010, 4:01 pm

kal el wrote:hey good day tuners, i wanna find out about a matter in UTT (University Of Trinidad And Tobago). The matter is, my nephew applied at the institute for the mechanical engineering course. When he applied, the requirements was 5 o' level passes including Physics and Chemistry, but he didn't have chemistry and physics at the time( which he then went to do it for GCE for 1 year, so he applied with his 5 cxc passes at the time. Later on UTT gave him a call and told him he was accepted into the program (didn't get his results yet for physics and chemistry), told him as soon as he gets it to bring it in the school, he went for his results today and sadly he didn't pass his exams due to his parents job allowing him to move constantly in and out of the country, my question is, will he be accepted now?

Or if anyone could supply a link for me to get him in for that program if they don't accept him, it'll be greatly appreciated.

what thefuck!!!

5 O-levels to do mech eng??????

Postby Trini Hookah » August 25th, 2010, 4:13 pm

is UTT :|

kal el

Postby kal el » August 25th, 2010, 6:34 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:Image