Bezman wrote:i think every child will cherish their laptop like a piece of gold, they understand how valuable it is to them HP is probably custom fitting the software to limit its internet access/OS features etc and surely fit it with tracking via GPS and Wifi (http://h30458.www3.hp.com/us/us/ent/764765.html)
I doubt they will give the students ability to take to laptops home... its not for personal use, and in essence belongs to the gov't/school.
Easily each student can have an account on the laptop with his/her data that can be stored online to be accessed anywhere..
the gov't most def has thought this through and will announce how the plan to handle all issues raised here, dont take on the conspiracy theorist and propaganda spreading, we all know where the motivation for this coming from.
Bezman wrote:RASC wrote:Bezman wrote:i think every child will cherish their laptop like a piece of gold, they understand how valuable it is to them
You have GOTS to be kidding!
no i am not, i have donated computers to the kids in the lil poor area in my neighborhood, the boys laughed and said they will sell them for bikes etc, and years later, guess what, they still used to stop me and ask me for software or extra keyboards etc.. they look like lil bandits and theor older brothers do nothing all day and sell weed and drink stags, but the computers still there
saxman642 wrote:To answer a lot of the questions and issues raised:
9. The 'extra' laptops will be given to staff
Any other issues/questions?
Nigson wrote:saxman642 wrote:To answer a lot of the questions and issues raised:
9. The 'extra' laptops will be given to staff
Any other issues/questions?
So all teachers getting laptops tooo or a selected few?
How they gonna determine who getting and who not getting?
RASC wrote:What they should've done is this:
Allocate enough laptops to accommodate an entire "FORM" of each given school across the land.
i.e. 200 students coming in. 200 Laptops.
Now these laptops will then be secured, maintained, distributed, upgraded, replaced through the ministry and a qualified technician or two on the school compound. Not all students would need laptops within a certain year, at all the same time.
Teachers would then incorporate the use of laptops per class, per subject.
For example: Form2, Period5, Tuesday will have access to the laptops.
And with that system there will STILL be enough for other classes to use them, as there are only approx 40 students per class (even less once you pick your O'Level courses).
Makes alot more sense than giving teenages free reign over laptop use in whichever class they feel like using it in. Or whenever they feel like bringing it in.
"Oh sorry sir my laptop got stolen...couldn't bring it today*snicker*" <---How is a teacher going to curtail that kind of behavior?
This is just an extra burden on alot of these schools...God Forbid your child did not do too well and end up in a gunta school...then what? I wouldn't have brought my laptop to school either if I were those kids.
No serious planning was put into this. It will turn out to cost ALOT more than anticipated, in terms of man hours wasted & most importantly money.
ABA Trading LTD wrote:Parents should be made to sign contracts making them 100% responsible for the laptops.
Laptop lost-pay for it.
apple wrote:ABA Trading LTD wrote:Parents should be made to sign contracts making them 100% responsible for the laptops.
Laptop lost-pay for it.
eh eh, I not paying for nothing I did not ask for
RadeonHD wrote:RASC its clear to me and everyone that your only purpose on this site is to troll and cause mischief.
RadeonHD wrote:....pen!s coming directly at my face......
RASC wrote:apple wrote:ABA Trading LTD wrote:Parents should be made to sign contracts making them 100% responsible for the laptops.
Laptop lost-pay for it.
See![]()
This thing is a complete can of worms...As I've been saying throughout. This was NOT thought out properly at all. Instant headache come September!
apple wrote:ABA Trading LTD wrote:Parents should be made to sign contracts making them 100% responsible for the laptops.
Laptop lost-pay for it.
Bezman wrote:it's clear that they cant let the children take the laptops home, they will be for the schools.. the children would not be targeted by bandits in the schools
but none of us know whats going to take place, this is all conspiracy, speculation and propaganda until an official statement is made.
Chemical wrote:If PP make that promise then the UNC / COP treasuary should pay for this not tx pyers.
RadeonHD wrote:I bet if allyuh had kids writing SEA allyuh would ah be jumping for Joy.
But as typical trinituner mentality goes, Well I have and my parents have money and or I done school and this eh benefiting me so let all of them fack off. Just like the man who finish school and he get GATE or he parents had money now he wishing for GATE to be terminated so he could sh!t on the little man.
The upper class would be very upset because that means dirt poor kids would be on near equal quality of life in terms of technology as the rich kids.
And we can't have that ent? most people who use the internet are upper class thats why we see nasty comments on trinituner and people hating on kids getting to learn to use computers.
Thats how it is ent. Not just trinituner but nearly everywhere you turn nowadays.
RadeonHD wrote:I bet if allyuh had kids writing SEA allyuh would ah be jumping for Joy.
But as typical trinituner mentality goes, Well I have and my parents have money and or I done school and this eh benefiting me so let all of them fack off. Just like the man who finish school and he get GATE or he parents had money now he wishing for GATE to be terminated so he could sh!t on the little man.
The upper class would be very upset because that means dirt poor kids would be on near equal quality of life in terms of technology as the rich kids.
And we can't have that ent? most people who use the internet are middle or upper class thats why we see nasty comments on trinituner and people hating on the poor kids getting to learn to use computers. The ones who cannot afford it. The ego of the rich will be reduced. But doh worry mammy and daddy go buy the rich boys a ASUS Republic of Gamers and that should raise the ego and everybody wins.
Thats how it is ent. Not just trinituner but nearly everywhere you turn nowadays.
apple wrote:Bezman wrote:it's clear that they cant let the children take the laptops home, they will be for the schools.. the children would not be targeted by bandits in the schools
but none of us know whats going to take place, this is all conspiracy, speculation and propaganda until an official statement is made.
*withholds rant & waits for official statement*
And we can't have that ent? most people who use the internet are middle or upper class thats why we see nasty comments on trinituner and people hating on the poor kids getting to learn to use computers. The ones who cannot afford it. The ego of the rich will be reduced. But doh worry mammy and daddy go buy the rich boys a ASUS Republic of Gamers and that should raise the ego and everybody wins.