"Pulling Bull" To be LEGALISED

Re: "Pulling Bull" To be LEGALISED

Postby RASC » July 9th, 2010, 11:12 am

Taken from the EXPRESS comments:

if you want to use your car as a "taxi" go the whole hog and get a taxi badge. The claim is that 'H' cars dont work after hours because of crime. What makes the 'PH' driver who is known by residents any less susceptible to criminal elements? In his quest for being the ONLY Minister to solve ALL of T&T's problems, Jack better be careful he's not putting plasters on wounds without cleaning them first. Legalising 'PH' will bring with it a host of other problems that may prove to be more destructive and costly that simply thinking this through. Someone suggested letting PTSC buses run later to rural areas...that could work. REDUCE crime and that will surely work as well.

Postby bushwakka » July 9th, 2010, 2:57 pm

RASC wrote:
noshownogo wrote:Unfortunately once this initiative is an additional cost to the PH drivers, they will avoid it as much as possible.

Insurance Coverage for commuters could only mean higher premiums for the PH taxis.

Instead of making it easier...say a 3 month grace period where a campaign is launched to get all PH drivers off the road and become regularised H drivers, with fees discounted-after which a strict program to clamp down on illegals is executed.

No they go the other route and legalise PH drivers... BRILLIANT!

Legalised H drivers have paid their dues and did it the legal and correct way, yet those who break the law are given "ah bligh" and allowed to continue. Great Job Jack :?

sum ppl don't like the 'stigma' of havin their car as an 'H' car.......

for instance....ah gyal parents might say 'buh wdmc, my daughter goin out wit a taxi driver!!

ESS

Postby ESS » July 9th, 2010, 3:09 pm

:| It's a living. I see your point though, girls would quicker run down a bandit than a taxi driver who is making an honest dollar.

Postby bushwakka » July 9th, 2010, 3:55 pm

^the sad truth aint it....girls like the bad boys....not the poor boy taxi jiver

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 9th, 2010, 4:19 pm

I strongly do not agree with this idea of regularising ph drivers!!!! for many of the reasons already stated!

Postby Trini Hookah » July 9th, 2010, 6:40 pm

pioneer wrote:murder should be legal once you kill the person for good reason and between the hours 10pm-6am...noone supposed to be out between those hours so most likely you deserved it

my lime > murder 0X

Postby sMASH » July 10th, 2010, 10:09 am

vrampersad14 wrote:
Stephon. wrote:It's up to THE PEOPLE to choose to jump in an H or a PH car though. All those cars that took women into the woods to rape them, and situations where the driver turned around to rob the passengers were all PH. I personally wouldn't get in a PH car, legal or illegal, I would rather jump in an H car, at least I know he went through the proper process and I know that he isn't a criminal.

^ really? their licenses don't have criminal on it? I'd have never thought. Just because he went through proper legislation, doesn't mean you can't commit a crime. I know of several people, who were robbed in H cars and many attempted rapes.

same crap could happen in an h car as well, h does not automatically imply safe.
also, u dont get h cars after 6pm if u live where i live, but u dont have to wait long for a ph in the night either. so is either wait till 7 am to get a h car or travel any time u want in a ph

Postby janfar » July 10th, 2010, 10:28 am

Uhhhhh....

Legalising PH taxis a PNM plan—Imbert

Former works and transport minister Colm Imbert is supporting the Government’s move to regularise PH drivers, saying it was the PNM’s intention to do so, five months ago. In an interview yesterday, Imbert said this idea was brought to Parliament on February 24, 2010, some five months before it was announced by acting Prime Minister Jack Warner. Imbert denied that the PNM had contemplated a crackdown on PH drivers, after the deaths of some passengers sometime ago.“It seems you have short memories because we intended to regularise PH drivers,” he said. The former minister that said on February 24, 2010, he took to Parliament a bill to amend the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act. “When it came to the question of PH drivers, I acknowledged that they make a very valuable contribution, while on the other hand, what they were doing was not safe because passengers cannot get insurance,” Imbert said.

He said the PNM government delayed the introduction of increased penalties for PH drivers by six months. “We put into the act that new penalties for unregistered drivers will not come into effect until September 2010 and that period of time would be used to allow discussion and research on how to regularise PH drivers,” Imbert said. He said former Tabaquite MP Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj had suggested that the Government introduce a system used in England where private taxis could operate without the rigours of licensing associated with route taxis. “That means that they would operate off the main road...We indicated then that we would introduce this within the six-month period,” Imbert said.

He said he had no problems with the new Government implementing a plan to regularise PH drivers, as long as it was done with standards. “What Warner is doing is simply following through with the statement of policy of the PNM that we made in February this year,” he said. “I have no objection to this as long as it was done properly and there is some minimum standards to ensure that the PH drivers are not competing with regular taxis.” On Warner’s plan to have contractors work at nights to complete the Godineau Bridge, Imbert said this was already happening in the PNM days, but only on weekends. He said the bridge was a complex project and from time to time night work would have been required.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 10th, 2010, 11:33 am

sMASH wrote:
vrampersad14 wrote:
Stephon. wrote:It's up to THE PEOPLE to choose to jump in an H or a PH car though. All those cars that took women into the woods to rape them, and situations where the driver turned around to rob the passengers were all PH. I personally wouldn't get in a PH car, legal or illegal, I would rather jump in an H car, at least I know he went through the proper process and I know that he isn't a criminal.

^ really? their licenses don't have criminal on it? I'd have never thought. Just because he went through proper legislation, doesn't mean you can't commit a crime. I know of several people, who were robbed in H cars and many attempted rapes.

same crap could happen in an h car as well, h does not automatically imply safe.
also, u dont get h cars after 6pm if u live where i live, but u dont have to wait long for a ph in the night either. so is either wait till 7 am to get a h car or travel any time u want in a ph

for the past week, in broad daylight i can honestly say that i've seen 8x more PH cars on the Chaguanas Main road than H cars...

Postby Chimera » July 10th, 2010, 11:45 am

same thing at st marys junction

5 ph cars for every h car

Postby Stephon. » July 10th, 2010, 2:20 pm

Thanks janfar, explains why the idea is so stupid.

Postby Rooki3 » July 10th, 2010, 3:14 pm

janfar wrote:Uhhhhh....

Legalising PH taxis a PNM plan—Imbert

Former works and transport minister Colm Imbert is supporting the Government’s move to regularise PH drivers, saying it was the PNM’s intention to do so, five months ago. In an interview yesterday, Imbert said this idea was brought to Parliament on February 24, 2010, some five months before it was announced by acting Prime Minister Jack Warner. Imbert denied that the PNM had contemplated a crackdown on PH drivers, after the deaths of some passengers sometime ago.“It seems you have short memories because we intended to regularise PH drivers,” he said. The former minister that said on February 24, 2010, he took to Parliament a bill to amend the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act. “When it came to the question of PH drivers, I acknowledged that they make a very valuable contribution, while on the other hand, what they were doing was not safe because passengers cannot get insurance,” Imbert said.

He said the PNM government delayed the introduction of increased penalties for PH drivers by six months. “We put into the act that new penalties for unregistered drivers will not come into effect until September 2010 and that period of time would be used to allow discussion and research on how to regularise PH drivers,” Imbert said. He said former Tabaquite MP Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj had suggested that the Government introduce a system used in England where private taxis could operate without the rigours of licensing associated with route taxis. “That means that they would operate off the main road...We indicated then that we would introduce this within the six-month period,” Imbert said.

He said he had no problems with the new Government implementing a plan to regularise PH drivers, as long as it was done with standards. “What Warner is doing is simply following through with the statement of policy of the PNM that we made in February this year,” he said. “I have no objection to this as long as it was done properly and there is some minimum standards to ensure that the PH drivers are not competing with regular taxis.” On Warner’s plan to have contractors work at nights to complete the Godineau Bridge, Imbert said this was already happening in the PNM days, but only on weekends. He said the bridge was a complex project and from time to time night work would have been required.

awaits RASC 1back!

legalise PH..........................RUBISH

Postby SR » August 26th, 2010, 1:05 pm

if yuh want to ply a "ph" in rural areas why cant you apply for your taxi badge like everyone else

cant get a certificate of character............should have thought of that before doing the crime
why should citizens be subject to transportation provided by known criminals

why bother having an "h" that has to be inspected every year when ah "ph" man could pull bull tax free

Re: legalise PH..........................RUBISH

Postby sharkman121 » August 26th, 2010, 1:09 pm

also, watch and see how that will cause all private cars insurance to skyrocket as well.

Postby SR » August 26th, 2010, 1:12 pm

doh get me started on private car insurance nah

one of the biggest rippoffs in this country to have full comp insurance then be told cost of replacment of new parts has to be devalued as the car is not "new" so they not paying the full value of the cost of a replacment part

Postby RBphoto » August 26th, 2010, 1:13 pm

Dat is pulling bull... Oh wait...yes it is.

brakefluid

Postby brakefluid » August 26th, 2010, 1:57 pm

During rush hour they breaking their style. Who do you turn to? The PH driver of course. There are two sides to every coin...at least in moral terms.

at 10 in the night or later when you finish work late, you tired and exhausted, there is no "H" cars to be found. Who do you turn to? Oops you forgot, you have a car so you don't need to travel so to hell with the ones that do.

I know that when I used to work night shift and I did not have a car, H cars were nowhere to be found, but the PH was there to get me home. I am not saying that they are all good but most H cars work the taxi stand and enjoy 9-5 working hours.

Postby nervewrecker » August 26th, 2010, 2:04 pm

this arguement again?

OP, here what, I lending you $20.00. Park your car home by me, I dropping you off in sando 10:00pm tonight, come back & get your car.
lets see if you change your thinking after that.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 26th, 2010, 2:10 pm

he not saying to stop the available service they providing, just to make them follow the same procedure as LEGAL taxi's as per inspection, fees (are there any fees), licensing, character assessment etc etc

Postby pete » August 26th, 2010, 2:17 pm

SR wrote:cant get a certificate of character............should have thought of that before doing the crime

I disagree with this. If someone has done a crime, been convicted and served their time they shouldn't be allowed to get a job as a taxi driver? Would you rather they go back to crime to make a living or earn an honest day's pay?

People make mistakes and they shouldn't have to pay for them for the rest of their lives.

Postby RBphoto » August 26th, 2010, 2:33 pm

SR wrote:doh get me started on private car insurance nah

one of the biggest rippoffs in this country to have full comp insurance then be told cost of replacment of new parts has to be devalued as the car is not "new" so they not paying the full value of the cost of a replacment part

And it don't stop there. I have a clause in my insurance...new parts for old (to avoiid the above headache in event of crash), and for a lil mash up fender, they saying the value of the repair with new parts is higher than a certain percentage value of car, so they writing off normal normal. The money I pay for the aded new parts for old aint mean squat.....but let me not blight myself...have to hear from insurance this evening.

Postby nervewrecker » August 26th, 2010, 2:34 pm

well then it wont be ph now would it?

why must you have to pay the same taxes as a regular taximan if you making a lil 2 trip every so often? that dont make sense IMO, is better you park up the car home, you might be paying more in taxes than you make from making a 2 trip every so often.

as for certificate of character, how much of them have a taxi badge because they bribe someone? what about those? how much taxi men have certificate of character & running drugs & raping people gyul chiren?

Postby hydroep » August 26th, 2010, 2:59 pm

These people want the right to do the wrong thing. It's as simple as that.

As regards them insurance companies, a little bird told me that some of them may soon go the way of Motor and General, especially those guilty of what can only be described as capital offenses.

Postby SR » August 26th, 2010, 2:59 pm

point taken pete

slacker jack why cant "ph" regularise to "h"

there is no clause anywhere stating an "h" car only works up to a certain time at night and people need to understand that transport is a 24hr job
"h" cars have insurance polices to cover its passengers
"ph" insurance policy states it will not cover if vehicle is used for "hire"

Postby wagonrunner » August 26th, 2010, 3:36 pm

slacker_jack wrote:as for certificate of character, how much of them have a taxi badge because they bribe someone? what about those? how much taxi men have certificate of character & running drugs & raping people gyul chiren?

how about an H driver, that asking somebody to "read that out for me there", or "write that down for me there"?
To me the fella illeterate, but holds a driving permit (what's the requirement for that again?) and a taxi badge.
Regularisation is just a means of generating funds for goverment.
Permit renewal is now $500. allyuh getting any value for the extra $300?

Postby RBphoto » August 26th, 2010, 3:52 pm

I don't understand what is the barrier to getting a taxi badge? Do these people pay taxes, or just for the inspection yearly, permit renewal and association fees?

What is the actual cost to get a taxi badge/ operate a taxi over a PH car? Why are PH drivers unwilling to do this?

I think the route system is balls though, you telling me a man on the marabella stand seeing a four people who want to go Laromaine and can't make a trip? (again, I am not versed in these things, just asking for my information...please enlighten me someone).

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2010, 3:54 pm

its funny that the main issue they talk about is they can't get a bonafide taxi badge

Postby Team Loco » August 26th, 2010, 4:07 pm

SR wrote:if yuh want to ply a "ph" in rural areas why cant you apply for your taxi badge like everyone else

cant get a certificate of character............should have thought of that before doing the crime

why bother having an "h" that has to be inspected every year when ah "ph" man could pull bull tax free

i couldnt have said it better.

Postby Sky » August 26th, 2010, 4:13 pm

No problem in getting the H badge. they don't get it because THEY BREAK THE LAW!!
Taxi stand right there and they skip lines, stay in the road, lime between the main road and bus route etc. Trincity travellers know what i talking about. Same thing in most small hubs on the east west corridoor. They cheat the legit taxis and if they get caught they'll get a ticket, while the H men could have their badge revoked.

Postby nervewrecker » August 26th, 2010, 8:17 pm

SR wrote:point taken pete

slacker jack why cant "ph" regularise to "h"

there is no clause anywhere stating an "h" car only works up to a certain time at night and people need to understand that transport is a 24hr job
"h" cars have insurance polices to cover its passengers
"ph" insurance policy states it will not cover if vehicle is used for "hire"

whats the resale value for a taxi as opposed to a private vehicle? why will one want to decrease the resale value of their car for? (I not talking bout ph man who working right through, I talking bout the few whom pull a 2 trip late in the night on their way home).
Refer to my first post in this thread, when you stranded in the night & you stand the chances of getting raped, robbed or killed you pretty much better off taking the chance traveling with a ph car. If you get in an accident in a ph car you have nothing to get, its a risk you took in the first place (everything has risk associated with it). If you stood alone in the middle of the night & get robbed, raped or killed you still have nothing to get & you loosing more. If you get in an accident in a taxi & dead what you have to get? This morning's accident with the white b15 (licensed 'H') & other 3 vehicles do you think it will matter if it was a 'H' or a 'P' car if the passengers dead? they still dont get squat.
With respect to the certificate of character, come nah, common sense will tell you dont get into a car with a heap of shady characters, wait with a group of people traveling to the same destination as you & board an empty car. when you are a regular late in the night you will become familiar with other regular faces & you can commute together.
Taxi man dont get hard time from police, they work whole day, make thier quota & not risking themselves, their $$$, life or car to run in the night (taxi man getting robbed too). Its not stated anywhere that taxi supposed to work from x time to y time. Ph man want to 'eat ah food' too, they come out late in the night & 'try a ting'.
It works both ways sr & something tells me a lot of people who are commenting in this thread including yourself have never had to travel late in the night & / or be exposed to the risks that people like me have been exposed to. All allyuh does talk about is getting robbed on the beetham.

Sky wrote:No problem in getting the H badge. they don't get it because THEY BREAK THE LAW!!
Taxi stand right there and they skip lines, stay in the road, lime between the main road and bus route etc. Trincity travellers know what i talking about. Same thing in most small hubs on the east west corridoor. They cheat the legit taxis and if they get caught they'll get a ticket, while the H men could have their badge revoked.

op said rural eh, dont let pioneer hear you classifying trinshitty as rural.