The | US Embassy | Thread

Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby zoom rader » August 7th, 2010, 10:35 am

Why do u all continue to beg to go US? and dont give me that B.S that u want to see your family.The US is right to blank trinis. There are far better places to visit that the US. Hell u dont even need a visa for the uk. Ever noticed that people who really want a visa get blank and those that dont give a dam and apply for kicks ending getting 10yrs. I know alot of broke ass, no job,no house/car pp that have visas but dont really give a s**t to travel US. Lets face it trinis are dishonist, I am sure everyone of you all have a family member that have/are hidding in the US. These US staff are trained to read your eye ball and body movement by the FBI they can tell when u are lying .

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » August 7th, 2010, 12:59 pm

Hearing all these horror stories bout US visas and whatnot is really bad tho..2 of my co- went to the embassay at different times of the year...same job position...relatively same pay (about $200 difference)....and one got thru and the other rejected...the reason being that "according to US law, he don't earn enough money in his job." it is really bad that these are jus pre-fabricated reasons being push down the throat of ppl.

..and i dont see the point of basically throwing more than $1000 at the hope of a chance to get a good interview to go to the US...
its raining money yo

spanish

Postby spanish » August 7th, 2010, 1:41 pm

Yeah, yuh right ... "pre-fabricated" reasons and a bunch a lies. "According to US law" is just a phrase thrown out helter skelter with no truth behind it in a lot of cases.

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2010, 9:52 am

KURMAman wrote:Hearing all these horror stories bout US visas and whatnot is really bad tho..2 of my co- went to the embassay at different times of the year...same job position...relatively same pay (about $200 difference)....and one got thru and the other rejected...the reason being that "according to US law, he don't earn enough money in his job." it is really bad that these are jus pre-fabricated reasons being push down the throat of ppl.

..and i dont see the point of basically throwing more than $1000 at the hope of a chance to get a good interview to go to the US...
its raining money yo

Stop wasting ur money by helping uncle sam to get rich, go visit other places .

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2010, 9:59 am

Just think 100,000 trini apply for visas each yr by $1000 thats $1000,00000TT = $16million US dollars
and that is just for Trinidad. How much u think they make on the world?
Weather you get a visas or not the US still wins. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON A YANK PRODUCT.

richardg1976

Postby richardg1976 » August 20th, 2010, 9:07 pm

zoom rader wrote:Why do u all continue to beg to go US? and dont give me that B.S that u want to see your family.The US is right to blank trinis. There are far better places to visit that the US. Hell u dont even need a visa for the uk. Ever noticed that people who really want a visa get blank and those that dont give a dam and apply for kicks ending getting 10yrs. I know alot of broke ass, no job,no house/car pp that have visas but dont really give a s**t to travel US. Lets face it trinis are dishonist, I am sure everyone of you all have a family member that have/are hidding in the US. These US staff are trained to read your eye ball and body movement by the FBI they can tell when u are lying .

I agree with zoom rader that there are far better places to visit than the US. In fact, our own backyard (the Caribbean) is a good starting place. However, some people want to visit the US and you can't deny them that desire unless they want to go there for a "different reason". In any event, I agree that many of those who really want a visa get blanked while those who don't give a damn, end up getting that "10 years". I can talk because this is what happened to me just last week. I do have a job, but my savings at the beginning of this month was just $69.47 (been under $100 for last 2 months) so I didn't bother to even get a bank statement. Neither did I get a job letter. I have property and car but I didn't carry those documents with me. I just went with my new passport. Only that. I expected, based on that, that I'd be turned down especially after reading of others' experiences. But when I arrived there, they asked what kind of work I did, and what was my intended purpose to visit the US, that was it. Next thing I know, they directed me to go to the TTPost desk. Earlier this week, I got my passport with a 10-year visa. I was really surprised. Thing is, I can't even afford to travel right now and I don't think that I'll be visiting the US for at least a year or more. You could say that I applied "just for kicks".

Postby teems1 » August 20th, 2010, 9:15 pm

zoom rader wrote:Just think 100,000 trini apply for visas each yr by $1000 thats $1000,00000TT = $16million US dollars
and that is just for Trinidad. How much u think they make on the world?
Weather you get a visas or not the US still wins. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON A YANK PRODUCT.

seriously dude?

You dun just randomly throw a comma in there. The standard is every 3 places to the left of the decimal.

100,000,000 TT

Postby Damien » August 20th, 2010, 9:17 pm

Just goes to show how they dont investigate persons properly, its more like what mood they in or how you look or even making there quota

richardg1976

Postby richardg1976 » August 21st, 2010, 12:54 am

Damien wrote:Just goes to show how they dont investigate persons properly, its more like what mood they in or how you look or even making there quota

You're certainly right, Damien. I mean, what if I was unemployed and lied on my application that I did in fact have a job. They didn't verify that by asking for a job letter. And I read somewhere on here that a visa officer told some people that they didn't have enough finances for a visit, they didn't even ask me for a bank statement! Interestingly, just by observing people who walked right past the TTPost desk, it seemed that perhaps they were possibly judged by how they looked. The system isn't perfect, yes.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 21st, 2010, 12:53 pm

richardg1976, judging by your user name, I'm assuming that you fall out of the 20-29 age bracket, which seems to be the age group that provides the majority of these horror stories we've been reading/ hearing about. If that's not your case, perhaps you can tell us exactly how you responded to what was asked.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 21st, 2010, 2:00 pm

tourniquet wrote:richardg1976, judging by your user name, I'm assuming that you fall out of the 20-29age bracket, which seems to be the age group that provides the majority of these horror stories we've been reading/ hearing about. If that's not your case, perhaps you can tell us exactly how you responded to what was asked.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :| :| :| :| :|

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 21st, 2010, 2:15 pm

Hey guys, anyone ever apply for an australian and a thai visa?

i need them both and want some info.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 30th, 2010, 8:30 am

Trinidad Express | No US Visa for gospel singer wrote:ALTERNATIVE gospel singer and songwriter, Lyndon Lai Tan, was excited when he received an invitation to perform at a benefit concert in New York City in aid of earthquake victims of Haiti.
The concert, scheduled for Thursday, is being organised by the West Indian/American Day Carnival Association Inc (WIADCA) and is being hosted by Haitian/American artiste Wyclef Jean.
His plans were thwarted, however, when he visited the United States Embassy in Port of Spain on August 20 for a scheduled visa appointment.
Lai Tan, 25, who staged a sold-out concert at Naparima Bowl, San Fernando, on August 14, was armed with several documents from various agencies, including the Copyright Organisation of Trinidad and Tobago (COTT) and the Trinidad and Tobago Entertainment Company, confirming him as an established artiste. Also in his cache of documents was a letter from WIADCA confirming his anticipated appearance at the concert, a bank statement and a job letter confirming his continued employment for the past two and a half years.
Within five minutes of meeting the visa official, however, Lai Tan had his application denied on the ground that he did not have sufficient ties to this country. None of his supporting documents were reviewed, he told the Express over the weekend.
"The US visa officers did not even enquire into the benefit concert which was the main reason behind my application,'' Lai Tan said.
"This was explicitly stated in the email requesting the expedition of my appointment date. But I was denied any opportunity of explaining my circumstance or producing my documents. Within a couple words escaping from my mouth, the officer shouted the name of the next person waiting in queue to enter the room.''
He said he was granted a visa in 2008 for a performance, following which he returned to Trinidad.

Same s**t, different day

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 30th, 2010, 9:11 am

SRASC wrote:
Trinidad Express | No US Visa for gospel singer wrote:ALTERNATIVE gospel singer and songwriter, Lyndon Lai Tan, was excited when he received an invitation to perform at a benefit concert in New York City in aid of earthquake victims of Haiti.
The concert, scheduled for Thursday, is being organised by the West Indian/American Day Carnival Association Inc (WIADCA) and is being hosted by Haitian/American artiste Wyclef Jean.
His plans were thwarted, however, when he visited the United States Embassy in Port of Spain on August 20 for a scheduled visa appointment.
Lai Tan, 25, who staged a sold-out concert at Naparima Bowl, San Fernando, on August 14, was armed with several documents from various agencies, including the Copyright Organisation of Trinidad and Tobago (COTT) and the Trinidad and Tobago Entertainment Company, confirming him as an established artiste. Also in his cache of documents was a letter from WIADCA confirming his anticipated appearance at the concert, a bank statement and a job letter confirming his continued employment for the past two and a half years.
Within five minutes of meeting the visa official, however, Lai Tan had his application denied on the ground that he did not have sufficient ties to this country. None of his supporting documents were reviewed, he told the Express over the weekend.
"The US visa officers did not even enquire into the benefit concert which was the main reason behind my application,'' Lai Tan said.
"This was explicitly stated in the email requesting the expedition of my appointment date. But I was denied any opportunity of explaining my circumstance or producing my documents. Within a couple words escaping from my mouth, the officer shouted the name of the next person waiting in queue to enter the room.''
He said he was granted a visa in 2008 for a performance, following which he returned to Trinidad.

Same s**t, different day

*sigh*

They should just tell us they don't want us there.....and save ppl the trouble........

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 30th, 2010, 9:38 am

^^^ might as well close it down since they just there to say no.

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 30th, 2010, 10:37 am

exactly........

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » September 2nd, 2010, 9:09 am

apparently they giving you a letter now? stating not enought "ties" :?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 2nd, 2010, 9:40 am

^^^ That's the "reason" they giving you now? Steups. Same generic b.s. that they & the US State Department (after a much lengthier wait) give.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » September 2nd, 2010, 10:02 am

I wanna go Disney World next year, but i feel i will get blanked too :( :( :(
A next thing to, i feel if i ever touch down in the US them immigration officers will brace me on the count i looking like a "taliban". But say what i walking with my bacon and barbecued
pig tail... :D :D :D

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 2nd, 2010, 10:07 am

Same feeling i getting.

My VISA expiring next year......and the way how them moving I going and get blank......

No more Vegas.......*sigh* :cry: :cry:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 2nd, 2010, 10:12 am

You would think since their economy in tatters that what they would want is people to go there & spend money & boost their economy. Hmph. There are reports stating that the number of illegal immigrants in the US going down, but the fact that so many Trinidadians/Tobagonians go & stay screws us who want to go & are coming back.

Postby AllTrac » September 2nd, 2010, 11:49 am

i think it has alot to do with your age and also how much time you used your last visa.
If you under 25 and its your first time, u have a high chance of getting turned down.
Back in the day I got a 10 years, used it a couple times in the earlier and then the last 3 years of it, i didnt use it.
Went to renew and got a one year. They didnt check anything, they just saw that I traveled to England couple years ago they asked me about my purpose there and thats it, i got the one year. I traveled twice to the US in that one year. Went to renew again, carried all my docs, they didnt check anything, all my jobs was contract jobs, they just looked at my travel history, asked me about England again and i got a 5 years, i have 2 years left on it, Ive been trying to use it every year since.

jules10

Postby jules10 » September 2nd, 2010, 1:11 pm

Lately the US Embassy has left me perplexed at their reasons for visa denials.I don't think it has anything to do with lack of ties to the country,it simply is a means of generating money and being successful is up to the mood of the Interviewing officer,how much of the daily quota is left to be filled and often your mannerisms&disposition.Here's a recent family experience:

*Girl cousin,24yrs old,UWI grad,pursuing ACCA,high school teacher,car owner,50k in bank acc & recently acquired Canadian residency got denied.Their reason:She doesn't have enough ties to T&T and that she can easily quit her job.
She didn't take that easily,in a calm but assertive manner she told Mr Interviewing Officer that she didn't dedicate so much time and money to get Canadian residency to quit her job in T'dad and go to the US to live&work illegally at a Taco Bell....LOL

*My Grandma,pensioner,house&over 15 acres of land,small bank account due to renovations and medical attention,visits two sons and their families(US citizens) once a year during the summer and spends no more than 6 weeks,also visits her five children(Canadian citizens) around that time,therefore a regular traveller.....got denied.Their reason:Not enough money in the bank & that most aged persons tend to go to the US to use their medical facilities....Real BS

*My 'rents,brother & I.
My dad was close to retiring as a Prisons Officer & not in possession of a substantial bank account,no house and land& have no intentions of going anywhere.Mom's a housewife who would possibly go visit her two brothers if the opportunity arises but is busy tending to my dad who's a heart patient with other medical complications.Visited the US and Canada twice.My brother & I were both secondary school students at the time but we've been to Canada >10 times.Although we've got two uncles and cousins in the US,we never cared to go there 'cause they visit Trinidad&comes across to Canada whenever we're there............My 'rents got 10 years and my brother&I got 5 years.Still baffles us to this day.

Chill_Factor

Postby Chill_Factor » September 2nd, 2010, 10:56 pm

Yes so I got denied today.

MY specs are age 22, doing my second degree part time in UWI, working for 1 year now and on a 3 year contract, about 40k in the bank. Had 3 US 5 year visa before with no problems and traveled maybe once every 2 years to various locations in the world. They tell me now that I have not enough working experience and my bank account does have enough to convince them that Ill go work in the US. I mean come on, where they expect me to get a load of money? Should I win the lotto to convince them?

Bareback

Postby Bareback » September 3rd, 2010, 7:30 am

*Girl cousin,24yrs old,UWI grad,pursuing ACCA,high school teacher,car owner,50k in bank acc & recently acquired Canadian residency got denied.Their reason:She doesn't have enough ties to T&T and that she can easily quit her job.
She didn't take that easily,in a calm but assertive manner she told Mr Interviewing Officer that she didn't dedicate so much time and money to get Canadian residency to quit her job in T'dad and go to the US to live&work illegally at a Taco Bell....LOL

Don't need a a US visa if you have Canadian Residency!! Tell her to check the Cdn Immigration website.

Postby Chimera » September 3rd, 2010, 9:03 am

Bareback wrote:She didn't take that easily,in a calm but assertive manner she told Mr Interviewing Officer that she didn't dedicate so much time and money to get Canadian residency to quit her job in T'dad and go to the US to live&work illegally at a Taco Bell....LOL

But, she still get blank right? :lol:

jules10

Postby jules10 » September 3rd, 2010, 1:16 pm

Bareback- What I meant by Canadian residency was permanent residency..sorry.Permanent residents do require a non-immigrant visa if they wish to enter the US.

ABA- LOL Nah she tell the man that AFTER she got denied.Poor chick just wanted to go across to shop.

Postby Chimera » September 3rd, 2010, 1:22 pm

hmm....on a 10 year US visa,i mus be only use it twice

i feel i guh get a dred blank when i reapply lol

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 4th, 2010, 4:00 pm

Unfortunately, proving an intention is quite hard to do when you are young (20s) and from a country where the living conditions or opportunities are limited. Tourist visa applicants have to appear for the personal interview so the consular officer can gauge whether the person has overcome the legal presumption of immigrant intent, and they are trained to detect an applicant's eligibility from the documentary evidence submitted and the responses to questions asked at the visa interview. Many cases are denied for good reasons while others are not and it's hard to say that all cases with certain factors are denied, because by law they do assess the cases on a case by case basis.

It is not a perfect system by far, and most definitely not fair, but such is the bureaucracy of the federal immigration system.

Re: Young (18-25) US Tourist Visa applicants

Postby Gem_in_i » October 6th, 2010, 7:58 am

Friend and her husband and baby went for Visa. They both in mid20's. They got 10yrs. The wife was asked to show job letter, bank statement and answer couple ques.