The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » September 1st, 2010, 1:02 pm

Hey, the other Steve is there. lol. Woz!

I hope Apple does this from now on.

That glass cylinder Apple Store is cool!

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 1st, 2010, 1:04 pm

SRASC wrote:Hey, the other Steve is there. lol. Woz!

what site u on?

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 1st, 2010, 1:05 pm

11:12 AM:
Steve Jobs says he asked one their favorite music groups to perform. Coldplay.

11:10 AM:
Recap: New iPod shuffle, new iPod nano with multi-touch, new iPod touch with FaceTime, Retina Display, new version of iTunes with Ping music social network, new iOS 4.1 coming next week and iOS 4.2 in November, and new Apple TV with cheaper rentals, lower price.

11:08 AM:
Price of Apple TV is reduced from $229 to $99. Available in 4 weeks. Pre-order today.

11:06 AM:
We talked about AirPlay before. It's coming in November with iOS 4.2. One of the times we can do with AirPlay is stream content from an iOS device to an AppleTV.

Steve is playing Up on the iPad. Right by the volume control there is a new button that when press you can device where to stream it to. Chooses family room Apple TV and it plays on the Apple TV.

"You are going to be able to be watching a movie. Walk into the living room. Push a button and see it on the Apple TV"

10:54 AM:
Apple TV: 1/4 the size. Power built in. HDMI. Ethernet. Wi-Fi. 802.11n. No purchases on Apple TV. All Rentals. No storage management. Streaming No Syncing. Stunning photo slideshows. Silent, cool & tiny.

$4.99 first run HD Movie rentals. $.99 TV Show rentals. Commercial free. No all studios would do it. Only ABC and FOX. Rest of studios will see the light and get on board soon. Netflix Streaming! YouTube. Same user interface. Rotten Tomatoes integration.

10:51 AM:
One more thing! One more hobby :)

Apple TV introduced four years ago. Never been real hit. Number 1 thing people want is Hollywood movies & TV shows. They want everything in HD. They want lower prices for content. They don't want a computer on their TV. They don't want to manage storage. Don't want to sync to computer. They want something silent, cool, and small.

This is what we've heard from our customers and so we have made something new for them.

10:50 AM:
iTunes 10: Hybrid View. More Refined. Ping. Ping is available on your iPhone and iPod touch via iTunes Store app. Available today!

10:44 AM:
Ping: Social music discovery. Follow and be followed. Circle of Friends. Post thoughts and opinion.s Custom song & album charts. Over 17,000 concert listings. 160 million iTunes users in 23 countries. Sign up immediately.

Demo.

10:40 AM:
New Hybrid view auto decides whether to show album art if there is enough room.

In iTunes 10 we are announcing Ping. Ping is a social network for music. Its like Facebook and Twitter meet iTunes. It's a social network all about music and its built right into iTunes.

Follow your favorite artists and friends and discovery music. It's built right into iTunes. There is a wall in iTunes just like Facebook.

Custom top ten chart based on the people you follow.

10:38 AM:
11.7 billion songs downloaded, 450 million TV episodes, 100 million movies, 35 million books, 160 million account for iTunes.

Today iTunes 10 is launched!

New Logo.

10:36 AM:
New Apple Ad for iPod Nano:

New Apple Ad for iPod touch:

10:30 AM:
iPod touch: Number 1 portable game player in the world. iPod touch outsells Nintendo and Sony portable game players combined. Over 1.5 billion game and entertainment titles download to iPod touch from App Store.

Even thinner. Retina Display. 326 ppi 24-bit color. A4 Chip. 3-axis Gyro. iOS 4.1 with Game Center. FaceTime with front camera. HD video recording. 40 hours of music playback. iMovie.

10:24 AM:
iPod Nano: New nano has multi-touch. Its really small. No buttons. It has a clip. 46% smaller. 42% lighter. Volume buttons. VoiceOver. FM radio, Nike+, pedometer, 29 languages. 24 hours battery life.

10:22 AM:
iPod Shuffle: New iPod shuffle has button, voiceover, playlists, and clip. Even smaller then second generation. 5 colors. Genius playlist. $49.

10:21: AM:
275 million iPods sold. One of the secrets to the iPod's success is that even though the iPod has a very high market share we have never rested. This year we have gone wild.

This year we have all new iPod designs for every single model of iPod. It's the biggest change in the iPod lineup ever.

10:20 AM:
iOS 4.2 coming out in November. Free for iPhone, iPod touch, iPad.

10:16 AM:
I got a little surprise for you today. It's a sneak peak at iOS 4.2. It's all about iPad. It's bringing everything to iPad. Multitasking, folders etc to iPad. We're adding wireless printing to iOS and AirPlay.

Let me give you a little feel of printing. When selecting print from Tools in iPages. You can select new Print option. New Print Center app that lets you examine jobs that are printing.

Now what is AirPlay. Stream audio, video & photos over Wi-Fi to other devices.

Demo of iOS 4.2 on iPad.

10:15 AM:
Steve Jobs: "It's on a phone. That's pretty remarkable". iOS 4.1 will be available next week. It's for iPhone and iPod touch.10:12 AM:
Mike Capps President of Epic Games is demonstrating a new game in development code named "Project Sword".

10:10 AM:
Game Center is all about multiplayer games. You can compare scores. Discover games your friends are playing.

10:09 AM:
High Dynamic Range photos. When you turn on HDR it actually takes three photos in rapid succession. It takes one normal, one over exposed, and one underexposed photo. It then combines the three to produce high possible quality photo.

10:08 AM:
First of all alot of bugs have been fixed. Proximity, Bluetooth, iPhone 3G bugs fixed.

New High Dynamic Range photos feature. HD video upload over WiFi is built in. TV show rentals in addition to purchases. Game Center is now making its debut for end users.

10:08 AM: Now I want to talk about iOS. It's been a revolution in both touch and apps. Mobile applications were completely different before. 120 million iOS devices shipped.

We are activating a little over 230,000 iOS devices per day. These are new applications and do not include updates.

Over 6.5 billion downloads from the app store. 200 apps are downloaded every second.

250,000 apps on the App Store. 25,000 iPad apps. "Today we are introducing iOS 4.1"

10:00 AM:
Steve Jobs: Good morning. Thanks for coming this morning. Thank you. Thank you.

Thank you very much. My partner in crime is here today. Steve Wozniak. Stand up! Thank you for coming. We've got some real cool stuff to show you this morning.
Last edited by streetlifestyle on September 1st, 2010, 2:14 pm, edited 20 times in total.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 1st, 2010, 1:06 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:
SRASC wrote:Hey, the other Steve is there. lol. Woz!

what site u on?

Streaming it from Apple.com on my iPhone 4. (but it went down seconds ago) (Came back up but audio only :( )

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 1st, 2010, 1:08 pm

^^^ u got an i4 too?????????????? I WANT ONE!!!!! :(

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 1st, 2010, 1:09 pm

iOS 4.1 announced. Fixes iPhone 3G/iPod touch 2G issues, bluetooth, prox. sensor & more!

New photo tool. HDR (I think). Takes a photo over exposes it, under exposes it & combines the 2. Nice.

Available next week.

iOS 4.2 for iPad (sneak peak)

AirTunes becomes AirPlay

Coming out in November (for iPhone, iPod touch, iPad)

The iDevice lineup (for now anyway... :D)

All iPods get a refresh, iPod classic, shuffle, nano & touch.

iPod shuffle 1G to 3G

iPod shuffle 4G (new)

The new iPod shuffle

iPod nano generations

The new iPod nano

Various screens of the new iPod nano

Colours of the new iPod nano

Pricing of the new nano

The new iPod touch (thinner than ever)

The new specs (new FaceTime device... yay!)

All available next week. One problem Steve, you said all models, where's the classic?

Next up, iTunes (iTunes X?)

iTunes 10 (X, 10, same thing lol)

New iTunes logo (might as well get rid of the CD right?)

iTunes 10

Ping (not Bing lol) Basically a social network for iTunes. Coincidently Steve's talking about Discovery & there is a possible standoff at Discovery Channel HQ. Hmmm
Find out what your friends are listening to, what they are buying, & what you favorite artists are doing (Tweets)

Ping for iTunes features

Hey look, Jessica by The Allman Brothers Band

The Honda Civic Tour (another feature of Ping)

Its also going into the iTunes app on the iPhone, iPod touch & iPad as well. iTunes 10 is available today.

One more thin... hobby...

AppleTV

The new AppleTV (damn that's small). Matte black. Around back it's got HDMI, USB, optical audio and Ethernet

AppleTV remote

ABC & FOX shows for 99c commercial free

Stream content

& your media

The AppleTV UI. Sorta reminds me of Blink Entertainment (Both are IPTV based if I am not wrong)

User reviews

So that gives you an overview of Apple TV. Now let me show you something else that's really cool. We talked about AirPlay before. One of the things we can do with AirPlay is stream content from an iPad to an Apple TV

$229 (same price as an 8GB 3G or 4G? iPod touch) (Oh wait, that's the old price. The new? $99!)

...in 4 weeks (pre-order from today)

Steve Jobs wrote:So here's what we talked about today. New iPods. New Shuffle. New Nano... so small and compact that it's wearable. New iPod touch. The strongest iPod lineup we've ever had. And a new iTunes, with iTunes Ping. We think this is going to be very popular, very fast. And, it's on your iPhone and iPod touch.
iOS 4.2, HDR photos, Game Center. And Apple TV -- a phenomenal way to watch movies and TV. So those are the products we have to launch today. They're all rolling out, some today, most within 4 weeks.
Now, we started doing this music stuff because we love music. Whenever we have these events, we like to remind ourselves of why we do this, and there's no better way to do that than to ask one of our favorite artists to perform. We did that and he accepted.
We asked Chris Martin if he had the time to come out and perform for us at this event -- and he graciously accepted. Please welcome Chris Martin.

Well that should be it. Another impressive showing by Apple. Itching to press that download button for iTunes 10.

The HTTP streaming, not working too well. Repeats sometimes & the video drops reverting to audio only (but that could be blamed on the amount of people watching right now).

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 1st, 2010, 2:18 pm

itunes 10 is prob to screw with the jbers like myself.........

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 1st, 2010, 2:38 pm

If you were afraid that the iPod Classic may have bit the dust at today's music event, well, rest assured, it's still alive. While we awaited word on just that question from Apple, our good friend Michael Gartenberg confirmed with the company that it lives on to see another day.. and a beautiful performance by Chris Martin.
via Engadget

------

Apple announced Wednesday that iOS 4.1 will add a new feature, allowing users to take high dynamic range photographs that produce stunning pictures, and will ship next week for the iPhone and iPod touch.

Apple Chief Executive Steve Jobs showed off the HDR photo capability at Wednesday's keynote in San Francisco, Calif.

He revealed that the new feature will take three rapid photos -- one regular, one underexposed and one overexposed. When the pictures are combined, it creates an HDR photo.

"It's pretty amazing," Jobs said. When taking an HDR photo, both it and the normal photograph will show up in the user's Photos application, so they can compare the two and choose which one they prefer.

Also Wednesday, Apple highlighted GameCenter, showing how easy the application will make it for users to join a friend's game. One title running Epic Games' latest Unreal Engine was demonstrated -- Project Sword -- with a fully interactive 3D environment.

"That's on a phone," Jobs quipped after the title was shown off. "That's pretty remarkable.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 1st, 2010, 2:57 pm

Hey! I'm not dead!

The new iPod nano

The new iPod shuffle

The new iPod touch (not like the last set where they kept the 2nd gen in the market, all are 4th gen)

The new AppleTV

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » September 1st, 2010, 4:46 pm

The new nano is really nice, although it may get lost easier hehe.

Apple tv will surely have a geo ip filter on it to prevent people outside of the US from viewing content (Like PSN).

Nothing that a quick encryptionless(for speed) vpn wouldn't fix though.

JWT

Postby JWT » September 1st, 2010, 6:14 pm

i waiting to see when we getting ios4.2 lolol

good to see apple changing the ipod line especially with the nano that puts comeditors in the dust.

so i have to wait till quiet 4.2 to get meh bluetooth fixed ah well.

Postby M_2NR » September 1st, 2010, 6:49 pm

u meant 4.1. That has your fixes,

Also, any news on whether HDR will be coming to 3GS' as well?

4.2 brings AirPlay to iDevices :oops:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 1st, 2010, 8:04 pm

Hmmm hours later & still no iTunes 10 download... :|

------

Apple is going to update its Remote app with touch gestures

Remote uses the same easy-to-use interface you already use to browse music and video on your Multi-Touch device. So right away, you know how to navigate. If you want to find something specific, use your device’s QWERTY keyboard to quickly tap out the title instead of clicking letters on the Apple TV screen. Then keep tapping to play, fast-forward, rewind, and pause to your finger’s content.

------

Gizmodo has posted a gallery of photos taken with the new iOS 4.1 HDR feature.

HDR stands for High Dynamic Range. When you turn on HDR your iPhone will take three photos in rapid succession. It takes one normal, one over exposed, and one underexposed photo. It then combines the three to produce highest possible quality photo.

You can choose to save the normal photo along with the HDR just in case you aren't happy with its results.

JWT

Postby JWT » September 1st, 2010, 9:28 pm

M_2NR wrote:u meant 4.1. That has your fixes,

yeah but in keynote address unkle steve said that the fixes for bluetooth will be in 4.2 not 4.1

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 1st, 2010, 9:48 pm

is it safe to update to itunes 10?????

for jailbreaking exploits. (jus curious)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 1st, 2010, 11:56 pm

yes

"MuscleNerd: iTunes 10 is safe for JBers+unlockers: DFU mode, syncing, selecting IPSW, all okay (Stay away from 4.1 next week though!)"
--http://www.twitter.com/MuscleNerd/status/22762830722

Postby M_2NR » September 2nd, 2010, 12:00 am

JWT wrote:
M_2NR wrote:u meant 4.1. That has your fixes,

yeah but in keynote address unkle steve said that the fixes for bluetooth will be in 4.2 not 4.1

WTMC! hard luck there palos :(

Maybe that's why iBluenova not updating all this time.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 2nd, 2010, 1:26 am

Took a while longer, but iTunes 10 finally available for download. Now finished did it on mine

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 2nd, 2010, 8:22 am

Last edited by streetlifestyle on September 2nd, 2010, 8:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 2nd, 2010, 8:23 am

^^^^^ somebody fix that for me plz

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » September 2nd, 2010, 9:54 am

guys...by chance is there a jailbreak,unlock available for the iphone 4?

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 2nd, 2010, 9:56 am

You can buy it unlocked here in Canada, got one for my friend and saw it work last week in Trinidad.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 2nd, 2010, 10:06 am

I got my factory unlocked 1 week ago from Canada. Works great. As far as an unlock/jailbreak, yes but only if it is running iOS 4.0 or 4.0.1. Unfortunately anyone who buys one new will get iOS 4.0.2 which is not able to be jailbroken/unlocked (as I did).

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 2nd, 2010, 4:46 pm

I know, I know. Flash on mobile devices isn’t what it is on desktops, which frankly isn’t that great either (as I try to write this on a Macbook Pro with memory and processor all but consumed by a Hulu video).

That being said, the Skyfire browser, which was submitted to the app store today, teases us with the ability to watch shows like the Daily Show and the Colbert Report for free using Apple-approved HTTP streaming. The Skyfire browser can only do Flash video, not interactive games, ads and such.

Skyfire is a proxy browser like Opera Mini (which made it through the App Store gauntlet) so it isn’t an automatic fail.

Skyfire’s famed cloud-computing technology translates Flash video on the fly from millions of web sites into HTML5 formats, and supports iOS devices via Apple’s HTTP live streaming standard. Skyfire also avoids the concerns raised in Steve Jobs’ recent essay regarding Flash on mobile devices. By optimizing Flash for iPhones and network conditions in the Cloud, Skyfire improves performance and maximizes battery life while playing video.

------

One hotly anticipated feature rolling out in next week's iOS 4.1 update is the new HDR (high dynamic range) option in the iPhone's built-in Camera app. The results are subtly improved and realistic looking photos, as opposed to the fake, over-processed look that is often the hallmark of HDR.

A high dynamic range image combines a series of photographs, each shot at a different exposure: underexposed where everything is darker, overexposed where it's lighter, and properly exposed in the middle. The best parts of these images are put together into one shot that brings out details in both the shadows and the highlights—information that would normally be lost in a single exposure though visible to the human eye.

For example, an HDR image of a cityscape with a bright sky and dark foreground will combine an underexposed sky with an overexposed foreground to show more details across the board.

Apple's version of HDR combines three images taken with the iPhone's back camera in quick succession. When iOS 4 is installed, a new HDR button appears to the right of the camera's flash button. Tapping it turns HDR on or off. In the iPhone's settings under Photos, there is a new HDR setting below the Slideshow controls. Turning it on means your camera will save a copy of the regular photo in addition to the HDR image in your camera roll. Turn it off if you only want the HDR images saved. There aren't any adjustment options for HDR images beyond on or off.

There are a number third-party of HDR apps already available in the App store, but they typically only combine two photos together, not three. Some only take one photo and then add a filter to mimic the HDR look. If you can't wait until the iOS update is released, check out the Pro HDR, TrueHDR, and HDR Camera apps (all $1.99), which combine two photos with varying results.

HDR photography isn't loved by everyone. The final products can be garish, and when everything in an image is perfectly exposed the scene can look fake. Apple's HDR appears to avoid this pitfall by dialing down the overall effect. It's so mild that some iPhone photographers might choose to leave the setting on all the time.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 2nd, 2010, 9:09 pm

that Project Sword by EPIC games really does look epic!!!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 2nd, 2010, 9:12 pm

Duane like you read my mind...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 2nd, 2010, 10:26 pm

SRASC wrote:Duane like you read my mind...
Yup, there's an app for that.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 2nd, 2010, 11:26 pm

^^^^ ass… lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 3rd, 2010, 12:39 am

kes_vtec wrote:^^^^ ass… lol
I havenn't seen an app for that, but then again I wasn't looking.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 3rd, 2010, 8:22 am

Guys i just realized I lost the ability to edit my APN and MMS when I went 4.0.2

Can anyone help?>