Lady Young Touge...a discussion on skill set...

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2010, 11:47 am

so earleir this week a very spirited conversation erupted at the garage as to who will fare better at a Lady Young Touge (from the look out to the Roundabout and back to the Look out) between a Drift Based Driver and a Precision Based (Solodex/Circuit) based Driver.Both cars set up the same way (we can use Bill's S2000 as the car) with no overtaking taking place....

The argument ened up 50/5 0split with some saying that becuz of the Drifter's Ability to adjust quickly to situations, that he will ultimately be quicker through the corners than a Precision based driver, and others saying that a precision based driver, becuz of he ability to enter a corner (and exit) with a quicker momentum, will triumph over teh Drifter.

of course the Great Drift King was mentioned blah blah blah...and others said that he really just used drifting to compensate for his heavy JGTC experience... Men call up comparisons between Orido and TOmmi M, or Gansan vs. that stupid English driver....

what say you?.....Drifter or Precision Driver?

Re: Lady Young Touge...a discussion on skill set...

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2010, 11:51 am

oh BTW..theres is to a practical part of this discussion eh....mankind want to prove it!!

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 9th, 2010, 11:55 am

Isn't this a repost? Could've sworn I remember you typing the exact same thing before.

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2010, 11:56 am

depends
if it is a closed course, there is only one fastest line. A precision (grip) drive will lay down a faster time
With reference to the Drift King, when he ruled the circuits (Including success at Le mans), it was as a precision driver...........
The ability to adjust quickly to changes in conditions is not limited to the drifter either. Any skilled circuit racer has to deal with other cars, spins, need to go offline and recover etc.........
Ultimately the fastest line around any course is a clean one

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2010, 11:57 am

Conrad wrote:Isn't this a repost? Could've sworn I remember you typing the exact same thing before.

meem kno....i may have...but it makes for good dicussion....men skills wudve improved since...hehehe...

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2010, 11:58 am

MG Man wrote:depends
if it is a closed course, there is only one fastest line. A precision (grip) drive will lay down a faster time
With reference to the Drift King, when he ruled the circuits (Including success at Le mans), it was as a precision driver...........
The ability to adjust quickly to changes in conditions is not limited to the drifter either. Any skilled circuit racer has to deal with other cars, spins, need to go offline and recover etc.........
Ultimately the fastest line around any course is a clean one

yout point?..... :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2010, 11:59 am

precision driver will be faster

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 9th, 2010, 11:59 am

I say the better driver btw.

I would think pro drifters are simply precision drivers that prefer sideways fun (the reason why I fail to understand how people can "judge" a drift comp when no mistakes are made by either driver). In essence they can do both drift and time-attack/precision driving.

...a precision driver may have problems adjusting to a full on drift comp though.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2010, 12:03 pm

Conrad wrote:I say the better driver btw.

I would think pro drifters are simply precision drivers that prefer sideways fun (the reason why I fail to understand how people can "judge" a drift comp when no mistakes are made by either driver). In essence they can do both drift and time-attack/precision driving.

...a precision driver may have problems adjusting to a full on drift comp though.

hehehee and so it begins....hehehehehee.....

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2010, 12:03 pm

to an extent, yes
Keiichi Tsuchiya is a prime example of this, as is Rhys Millen, heck even Tanner Faust
Bit someone who starts off drifting from the get go will not necessarily be a top circuit racer IMO, whereas a circuit or rally driver should be able to drift competitively, since the ability to hold a race line at 20 tenths requires the same level of car control as it does to maintian a controlled drift...............IMHO since I can do neither :mrgreen:

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2010, 12:05 pm

to an extent, yes
Keiichi Tsuchiya is a prime example of this, as is Rhys Millen, heck even Tanner Faust
Bit someone who starts off drifting from the get go will not necessarily be a top circuit racer IMO, whereas a circuit or rally driver should be able to drift competitively, since the ability to hold a race line at 20 tenths requires the same level of car control as it does to maintian a controlled drift...............IMHO since I can do neither :mrgreen:

needa can I....lol....but clearly a man's craft (be it drifting or precision) is being pulled apart here....and the course is still Lady Young eh....

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2010, 12:08 pm

wait.....if that's the case, we need to lay down some parameters
it has to be the same car, same setup etc, and two drivers at the pinnacle of their game
cuz a skilled drifter will destroy a shiddy circuit racer, and vice versa
so are we comparing specific drivers, or the artforms themselves?
But metrobraid, you done know my answer to this debate eh, and is NEITHER

Postby wagonrunner » September 9th, 2010, 12:12 pm

allyuh remember how this ended?

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2010, 12:14 pm

lol hoss u supposed to hold that for page4

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 9th, 2010, 12:22 pm

Rover should remove his post till then.

snowman

Postby snowman » September 9th, 2010, 12:46 pm

I think a precision driver will come out on top.

I would love to see a drift event or even a time attack on the lady young doh. #justsaying

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » September 9th, 2010, 12:51 pm

i ain't go lie nah, this thread is g@y.

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2010, 12:58 pm

lol nah this is one of Banzai's 'wind dem up and watch dem go' cheds
promises to be entertaining

Postby eliteauto » September 9th, 2010, 1:06 pm

there is no skill set discussion wrt to drifters vs grip drivers (precision sheesh steups) on a road course where time is the issue. the answer was right here.......

there is only one fastest line. A precision (grip) drive will lay down a faster time

MG Man ended the thread long time, your garage mates are full of phail if they didn't know that

btw I grip drove the LYR many times in the Trueno and I doubt any local drifter would do that Lo/Rb/LO faster

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » September 9th, 2010, 1:10 pm

in for the drama...

btw I vote precision driver... considering all over variables but driving technique remains the same.
Drifting wastes too much time.

Postby SR » September 9th, 2010, 2:11 pm

precision
gimme back my spoon and i will prove it
did that run sunday morning early with the present ride
time was much slower than the spoon
chalk it up to lack of experience on the handling as well as some other factors which we discussed last week regarding throttle response on the NA

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 9th, 2010, 2:28 pm

*** walks in thread.. looks around.. walk back into garage and gets into Datsun mumbling... ***

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2010, 2:45 pm

lol need ah hand dey Bez?

Postby cinco » September 9th, 2010, 2:47 pm

chuck norris pwns all

the better driver will always win no matter his choice of motorsport

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2010, 3:02 pm

better driving using an inefficent technique would have a wee bit of a challenge with that

Postby Razkal » September 9th, 2010, 5:03 pm

grip anyday.

hard to see how or even when a drift technique would be better in a situation than the correctly applied entry speed/point and exit follow through...

i can see how you can muse over the possibility though, seeing as LYR appears to be more generous in allowing you to keep momentum and have wiggle room with your lines (as opposed to maracas rd for example....i'm fresh off that road actually....mmm...tricky lil bastarad!)....still i find precision alot more exhilarating and rewarding...

i have alot to learn though...most of it actually...so far i'm epic at 2nd gear donuts for no reason

then again,

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 9th, 2010, 5:32 pm

Precision pwnds all=end of story.

BTW how would you class a rally driver MG Man??

Postby wagonrunner » September 9th, 2010, 6:08 pm

trini mk5 wrote:BTW how would you class a rally driver??

precision. even in a 4 wheel slide counter-locked for the next exit. while fighting ruts.
it's still aiming for / hitting the fastest line.

Postby Rooki3 » September 9th, 2010, 7:06 pm

wait wait wait, isn't a drifter classified as a precision driver also?

Postby 16 cycles » September 9th, 2010, 7:12 pm

drift, fall, roll, stop, explode, burn

precision driver unless he/she overshoots a braking point...