MY SOUND SYSTEM

5forward

MY SOUND SYSTEM

Postby 5forward » September 10th, 2010, 12:03 am

Jus thougth id show some before,during and after pics of the sound system in my room...which is finally finished after lots of saving and hard work.It comprises of: a N.A 27amp dc regulated power supply,a pioneer 1200mp,a pwm 20,a soundstream 620.4,a pair of dls 8" coaxials(model 428),a pioneer 10" sub in a ported enclosure tuned to 35hz and wires galore! This simple setup is worth roughly $6600.Any negative comments will most likely be ignored because at this point,i dont intend to make any changes to the system and it sounds very pleasing to me...and thats all that matters.

Last edited by 5forward on December 9th, 2010, 6:08 pm, edited 4 times in total.

5forward

Re: MY SOUND SYSTEM

Postby 5forward » September 10th, 2010, 8:51 am

^True that...thanks.All boxes were built by DYNAMIX SOUNDS(big up 2 shastri for some excellent work)

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 10th, 2010, 11:24 am

How does it sound?
Give a little review.

clutchkick

Postby clutchkick » September 10th, 2010, 11:43 am

good stuff.......good stuff.......

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 10th, 2010, 12:10 pm

thanks dude

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 10th, 2010, 12:10 pm

It sounds pretty good,to me..especially since i was accustom to hearing a logitech z5300e everyday.The dls gives great mids,heights and strong midbass.I do have to to adjust the balance to the right by '4' when im playing it since the right speaker is a bit further from me as compared to the left one.By the way,i have a "sweet spot" in my room(on my bed) where everything(mids and bass) sounds the best.I can also control the deck from that spot as well.However i do think that i'm loosing out a bit since power wires are run right next to speaker wires and rca cables(couldn't really avoid it) for great distances.I hope i'm not damaging anything by doing that.The sub bass is also to my liking an plays more on the low freq side rather than loud which most people would do with pioneer subs.In conclusion,everything sounds very good to my ears..muzik sounds clean and accurate..even when im feeling happy and really turn it up.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 10th, 2010, 2:41 pm

wrong forum...should be moved to I.H.E.......no wait....lol....

good stuff man, you have more "pongs" in your room than my car.....I sad :cry:

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 10th, 2010, 6:19 pm

lol @ ~Vēġó~

And yes pioneer,its completely open at the back.I might have taken a pic of the back if a million wires weren't goin out of there

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 10th, 2010, 6:26 pm

By the way,from my "sweet spot",the low frequency sounds pretty darn amazing for what it is...

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 10th, 2010, 6:56 pm

looks like a swell system yo

but for the power supply section I'd do 3 Power Supplies and a battery (2 big PSUs and a small one)
I made a circuit with a relay and a Diode so that when the power supplies turn on, then and only then would the Battery be connected to the rest of the system, I will draw and label a diagram when I get time

I wud use a small hacked computer PSU to run the deck and pre amp too, less devices on the big arse PSU=more current available to amp

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 10th, 2010, 7:28 pm

Thanks man,but i dont wana include any battery in the system.And i dont think i need another PSU either...at least not with this sub.But good advice tho...by the way,pops ent want me to spend any more $ on d system..at least not for a while...

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 11th, 2010, 12:01 am

i just use a small 10AH battery I 'found'
the small computer PSU i salvaged from an old computer
and the other small 5A Nippon America PSU I bought for $30

just hadda know how to move spranga-ish

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 11th, 2010, 7:59 am

lol...wrd

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 13th, 2010, 7:54 am

very nice.. although you should ifind something more sturdy to put the dls on... why not put the wider box on the bottom...

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 13th, 2010, 1:45 pm

Gona knock up some pieces a wood for that sometime soon

DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM

Postby DYNAMIX SOUND SYSTEM » September 13th, 2010, 5:54 pm

I see some constructive thinking went into this system...
nice work keep it up.

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 13th, 2010, 7:43 pm

Thanks man

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » September 20th, 2010, 3:20 pm

very nice, i also have a bedroom system, i use everything car audio xcept the amps, but take the advice on the "hacked Computer PSU", i use 1 PSu to power the Deck[Pioneer 3900],Pre[Clarion], EQ[Soundstream PQ7], and cross[Clarion 360]. and it works fine to me, just need to build a box for them =/

also, the Soundstream PQ7 is a nice eq to have esp as u seem to be more on the "SQ" side than loudness.

Postby crazybalhead » September 20th, 2010, 3:55 pm

Advice,

You have a good start there to a potentially sweet sounding system. Do some reading on staging and imaging.

You need to mount the two DLS boxes on something sturdy and make sure they are symetrically placed so that your "Sweet spot" is between the two speakers, so that you ant the two speakers make an equilateral triangle.

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 20th, 2010, 10:04 pm

Thanks Mr_Carz and crazybalhead...i will take those things into consideration.

And to pioneer,i dont do that with my speakers...

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 20th, 2010, 10:26 pm

Nice system dude, System looks very neat. I myself also built a make shift system to listen to my ipod at home. Setup consists of:

Source = Ipod
Audiosource home amp -> a pair of dls rs6a's
Same ps like yours (27A) -> Phoenix Gold 2 channel (bridged) -> oz audio 250l

What I am looking for is a house preamp that is not expensive cause I have to turn up the volume on the ipod to get decent output. Anyone with options?

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 20th, 2010, 11:19 pm

Thanks dude

Firewall

Postby Firewall » September 21st, 2010, 12:33 am

nice work man,

just an option move around the sub a little, try loading it against a wall, if you don't like how it sounds you could always move it back

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 21st, 2010, 7:44 am

Thanks Firewall...already tried that..the bass sounds really 'boomy' that way

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » September 21st, 2010, 10:04 am

@nareshseep a car pre-amp would work

Postby SR » September 21st, 2010, 12:30 pm

a bit of advice
enclosures for the 8's seem to be too "square" and can cause standing waves on the internal reflections causing cancelation and reducing the mid bass and some midrange output
suggest using a 1/2 lb of polyfill per enclosure and see if your midbass accuracy improves

5forward

Postby 5forward » September 21st, 2010, 8:26 pm

Thanks SR...mite try it some time

Postby SR » September 21st, 2010, 9:34 pm

i belive its $20 a lb at radica trading easy cheap upgrade

Firewall