The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » September 22nd, 2010, 5:16 pm

A fake Greenpois0n jailbreak tool for iOS 4.1 claiming to be from the Chronic Dev Team has appeared online.

This "tool" contains a trojan which could steal passwords and other private data from infected systems. It does not jailbreak your device and is not an official release.

------

A video comparison of iOS 4 and Windows Phone 7 that concentrates on the interface differences has been posted by PocketNow.

This is a comparison of iPhone with Windows Phone 7. We talk about the interfaces of both and how they differ. Windows Phone 7 uses a Start screen as its launcher where you can place a variety of live tiles. The iPhone is very application-centric. We also talk about how Windows Phone 7 doesn't do fast app switching, while the iPhone does.

------

Apple is expected to build its first 3 million Verizon-compatible CDMA iPhones in December 2010, contacts in the company's overseas supply chain reportedly indicated.

Analyst Jeffrey Fidacaro with Susquehanna Financial Group said in a note to investors on Wednesday that checks with overseas suppliers indicated Apple is prepared to build 3 million CDMA iPhones in December, keeping the device on track for an early 2011 launch. That would put total GSM and CDMA iPhone production for the quarter at between 21 million and 22 million.

For the current quarter, suppliers reportedly said that Apple is set to build between 18.2 million and 18.4 million GSM-only iPhones. Fidacaro noted those numbers are "well above investor expectations," because display panel constraints with LG Display have been resolved.

Fidacaro expects Apple to sell a record 11.6 million iPhones in the fourth quarter of the company's fiscal 2010. That would be a 39 percent increase from the 8.4 million handsets the company sold in the third quarter of fiscal 2010.

"We expect the September 25 launch of iPhone in China and Apple's target of making the iPhone available in 88 countries by month end to aid results in 4QFY10," he wrote. "Our checks show that Apple is still struggling with yields on the mass production of the white iPhone 4."

As for the iPad, suppliers were said to have plans to build 7 million units for the current quarter, a 56 percent increase from the previous three-month frame. Fidacaro expects Apple to ship 4.75 million units int he current quarter, which would be 45 percent growth from last quarter, to reach a total of 13.4 million units in calendar 2010.

In addition, MacBook build rates are said to be at more than 3 million for the quarter, while production forecasts for the newly refreshed iPod lineup are at 12 million. Fidacaro also expects a "modest" start for the new Apple TV, with several hundred thousand units built at launch, ramping up to about a million units in December.

"While the lower price point, Netflix integration, and better streaming (AirPlay) functionality makes the product more compelling than the original device, expectations remain low, in our view," he said.

Susquehanna Financial Group has a positive rating for AAPL stock, and has maintained its $365 price target.

Earlier this year, before the iPad was announced, Fidacaro conducted an assumed component breakdown on the then-mythical device, projecting it to include a 4200RPM spinning hard drive and an Intel Atom mobile processor.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 23rd, 2010, 1:09 am

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg is now richer than Apple CEO Steve Jobs, according to the latest Forbes 400 rankings.

This year, Zuckerberg, 26, added $4.9 billion to his fortune–vaulting to #35 on the Forbes 400 with an estimated fortune of $6.9 billion. Why the jump? Recent private equity investments in Facebook valued the firm at around $23 billion–more than triple its 2009 value of $7 billion. Illiquid private shares in secondary markets point to an even richer valuation.

Steve Jobs ranks #42 on the list with a net worth of $6.1 billion; $1 billion higher than last year.

------

Apple has a surprising ally in its campaign of apathy against Sony's Blu-ray disc format. Microsoft, of all companies, has also stepped out with a passive-aggressive stance against the standard, as UK head of Xbox gaming head Steven McGill says that "Blu-ray is going to be passed by as a format." He says that Microsoft was right to stick with the older DVD format for its game consoles, and that with the rise of streaming content and the infrastructure to deliver it, there's no more need for a disc-based format any longer.

Apple would probably agree, given the recent introduction of the Apple TV and its streaming content possibilities. Apple and Jobs alike have never been interested in Blu-ray as a format -- originally, the reason was given that they just wanted to see whether HD-DVD or Blu-ray would become the preferred standard, but at this point, with iTunes moving more and more away from physical media entirely, it seems unlikely that Apple will court Sony and its proprietary format at all. So on this issue, at least, Apple and Microsoft appear to have found some common ground.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 23rd, 2010, 7:49 am

iH8sn0w has just released Sn0wbreeze, which is the Windows version of the PwnageTool - for iPhone 3GS, iPhone 3G and iPod Touch users to update and jailbreak iOS 4.1.

Sn0wbreeze allows users to create custom iOS 4.1 firmware so that they can update and jailbreak their iPhone and iPod Touch with iOS 4.1.

Sn0wbreeze will help iPhone users to preserve the baseband so that it does not get updated while updating your iPhone with the custom iOS 4.1 firmware. This is important for iPhone unlockers as 05.14 baseband that comes bundled with iOS 4.1 cannot been unlocked.

Please note Sn0wbreeze does not unlock your iPhone, after using Sn0wbreeze you need to use Ultrasn0w to unlock it.

Sn0wbreeze v2.0.1 supports the following devices:

iPhone 2G — Works out the box.

iPhone 3G — Works out the box.

iPhone 3GS (old bootrom) — Requires you to be already jailbroken. (If you are the old bootrom on Spirit or Jailbreakbme use Spirit2Pwn)

iPhone 3GS (new bootrom) — Requires you to be on 3.1.2.

iPhone 4 (When SHAtter exploit is released.)

iPod Touch 1G — Works out the box

iPod Touch 2G (MB) — Works Out the Box

iPod Touch 2G (MC) — Requires you to be on 3.1.2

iPod Touch 3G — Requires you to be on 3.1.2

iPod Touch 4 — (When SHAtter exploit is released.)

iPad — (When SHAtter exploit is released.)

iPhone 3G users can enable the multitasking and custom homescreen wallpaper features using Sn0wbreeze, which are officially not available in iOS 4 for the device.

Please take a backup of your iPhone or iPod Touch before you use Sn0wbreeze to jailbreak. Please note that jailbreaking your iPhone could void it's warranty so please proceed with caution and at your own risk.

You can download the latest version of Sn0wbreeze from this link.

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 23rd, 2010, 7:53 am

ok so has anyone tried it? lol

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 23rd, 2010, 8:03 am

is the ultrasn0w unlock available?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 23rd, 2010, 8:05 am

streetlifestyle wrote:is the ultrasn0w unlock available?

Please note Sn0wbreeze does not unlock your iPhone, after using Sn0wbreeze you need to use Ultrasn0w to unlock it.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 23rd, 2010, 9:08 am

sweet!!!!!!!!

going into DFU in a while

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 23rd, 2010, 11:23 am

stuck... error 1601

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 23rd, 2010, 11:52 am

now error 1602

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 23rd, 2010, 11:53 am

steups......... 1604 now...

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 23rd, 2010, 12:49 pm

hmmm and here i was going to update mine this weekend

Postby M_2NR » September 23rd, 2010, 1:52 pm

this was expected.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 23rd, 2010, 5:22 pm

so my 3g is finally uploading 4.1 custom fw

DO NOT go into DFU!!!!!!!!
When u finished creating custom IPSW, unplug ur phone, click on DFU at the bottom left and put the phone into RECOVERY MODE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Will show u a screen saying please load custom firmware.
THEN open itunes and shift + restore with custom firmware...

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 23rd, 2010, 5:40 pm

ok so.... it done.... but it aint activated....

Gonna try a few tweaks

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 23rd, 2010, 6:16 pm

Apple constantly invents and reinvents, files patents and attempts to weave its advances into new generations of device to amuse and amaze the Apple faithful, today in AAPL Patent watch we present you with a new technology which could spearhead Apple’s move to take a big slice out of the digital photography market and another which basically just makes iPod nanos even more nano.

Patently Apple tells us about the next wave of digital camera technologies, tiny Apple-invented camera unit with an advanced flash system and amazing built-in intelligent features which can make the system incredibly effective in so many different situations.

Think scene detectors, flash redirectors and more. This also means you’ll be able to choose telephoto settings, wide-angle settings and detail shots. These technologies could also end up inside your Macs, the patent explains. The great thing is that as well as being extremely advanced they are also extremely frugal in terms of power.

The second report tells us Apple is working on a new Audio Jack using pogo pins to provide conductive contacts in an effort to meet the needs of ever shrinking devices.

See, Apple’s quest for minituarization demands the device become ever more discreet. And these days the company can foresee the size of the audio jack is beginnig to dictate the size of the device. So, in essence the new patent means the future of the iPod nano is, well, a whole heap more nano (or less).

------

As noted by Fortune, J.D Power and Associates has ranked the iPhone as the phone with the highest customer satisfaction rate. The iPhone 4 got a score of 800 or out of 1000 beating number 2, LG with their score of 731.

------

South Park is known to mock and parody a range of topics and their latest promotional commercial does just that… to Apple. They took Apple’s new iPad is magical, delicious, musical etc. TV ad, kept the same music, but changed the scenes.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » September 23rd, 2010, 11:26 pm

successfully running on ios4.1 on my iphone 3g.

must install original ios 4.1 before installing custom IPSW.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » September 24th, 2010, 9:10 am

nice stuff streetlifestyle...

hows it running? what OS you had before?

Postby M_2NR » September 24th, 2010, 9:49 am

streetlifestyle, you factory unlocked or had tinyumbrella's TSS Server running in the background and did a restore to the virgin 4.1?

afaik, 4.1 has a new baseband and isnt unlocked with ultrasnow.

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » September 24th, 2010, 10:49 am

hey fellas i'm really new to the iphone... so i unlocked my 3g and it run's 3.1.3.. on my itunes it says ver 4 is available.. i'f i upgrade on itunes will i run into horrors???

Postby M_2NR » September 24th, 2010, 10:52 am

dont update to 4.1 just yet.

you can download a firmware ipsw for 4.0.x and update to that and then use redsn0w to jailbreak it and then ultrasn0w to unlock.

this is only for 3G NOT 3GS eh.

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » September 24th, 2010, 12:16 pm

M_2NR wrote:dont update to 4.1 just yet.

you can download a firmware ipsw for 4.0.x and update to that and then use redsn0w to jailbreak it and then ultrasn0w to unlock.

this is only for 3G NOT 3GS eh.

thanks.. i had no idea that i would have to jailbreak and unlock again...

Postby M_2NR » September 24th, 2010, 2:35 pm

yea unless you use a custom firmware which b!tches a lot with a majority of ppl :)

Postby M_2NR » September 24th, 2010, 8:45 pm

guys... screw Textfree, check out heywire.

it works on digi and bmobile.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 25th, 2010, 12:58 pm

If you are an iPhone 4 user they you may have already tried out the new features in iOS 4.1. However, some of these nifty functionalities are disabled on the older iPhone models.

For instance, Game Center - Apple's new online social gaming network is not available on iPhone 3G while the new HDR capabilities on iOS 4.1 are not available on any of the older iPhone models.

Apple traditionally cites the incapability of the older hardware to handle certain functionalities on the new OS as the reason behind their decision to block such features.

But that hasn't stopped Macusercom in figuring out a way to port the HDR and the Game Center features to iPhone 3G and iPhone 3GS.

HDR/GameCenter Enabler is a new jailbreak app that will enable Game Center on iPhone 3G while providing access to the HDR photography capability on both iPhone 3GS and iPhone 3G.

However, the hack works only on iOS 4.1 and as you might have already guessed, you need to jailbreak your iPhone to install it.

It is worth noting that the necessary jailbreak tools for iOS 4.1 were released only recently. If you are a Mac user, you can check out the latest update of Redsn0w to jailbreak your iPhone. Windows users may alternately use the recently released Sn0wbreeze tool for jailbreaking their device. Also, SHAtter, which should be an easier jailbreaking solution, is already in the works and should be released shortly.

If you have a jailbroken iPhone then you can install HDR/GameCenter Enabler for free from Cydia.

------

iH8sn0w had released Sn0wbreeze, which is the Windows version of the PwnageTool for iPhone 3GS, iPhone 3G and iPod Touch users to update and jailbreak iOS 4.1.

But some users had encountered problems while hacktivating or while restoring custom iPhone firmware in iTunes.

iH8sn0w has just released Sn0wbreeze 2.0.2 to fix some of the hacktivation problems and error 17 and error 14 while restoring iPhone with the custom iPhone firmware created using Sn0wbreeze that were reported by users.

Sn0wbreeze 2.0.2 fixes the following problems:

Error 17 when restoring with custom firmware
Error 40 when restoring with custom firmware
Hacktivation problems
To recap, Sn0wbreeze v2.0.2 supports the following devices:

iPhone 2G

iPhone 3G

iPhone 3GS (old bootrom) — Requires you to be already jailbroken. (If you are the old bootrom on Spirit or Jailbreakbme use Spirit2Pwn)

iPhone 3GS (new bootrom) — Requires you to be on 3.1.2.

iPod Touch 2G (MB)

iPod Touch 2G (MC) — Requires you to be on 3.1.2

iPod Touch 3G — Requires you to be on 3.1.2

Sn0wbreeze 2.0.2 cannot jailbreak iPhone 4, iPod Touch 4G and iPad currently. iH8sn0w hopes to add support as soon as the details of the SHAtter exploit are released.

You can download the latest version of Sn0wbreeze from this link. iPhone 3G, and iPod touch 2G (MB) users should use iREB (download link) also developed by iH8sn0w to bypass the errors while restoring custom firmware in iTunes.

------

Apple has just dropped its first update to iTunes 10 with iTunes 10.0.1 and it brings Ping Sidebar to life along with some critical bug fixes.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 26th, 2010, 12:12 pm

It's been well over three years since we saw OS X hacked onto Sony's VAIO UX, meaning that it's just about time for yet another of yesteryear's best tablets to receive the OS that Apple refuses to place on its own tablet. Thanks to dedicated code junkies over at xda developers, HTC's ill-fated Shift is getting a new lease on life by proving its ability to run OS X 10.5.6. Sadly, it looks as if an upgrade to Snow Leopard is out of the question due to some file changes between 10.5 and 10.6, but the biggest killer is the current build's inability to provide WiFi and Bluetooth support.

------

Apple launched iPhone 4 in China yesterday - the world's largest mobile phone market with nearly 800 million subscribers.

Computerworld reports that over 1,000 customers lined up outside Xidan Joy City shopping mall to get their hands on the latest iPhone and one customer was waiting in the line for 2 days.

According to China Unicom, Apple’s exclusive carrier partner in China has reported that they have received pre-orders for 200,000 iPhone 4s.

Computerworld reports:

More than 1,000 people lined up outside Xidan Joy City shopping mall, where one of two new Apple stores opened in China Saturday. Some customers waited as long as two days to get their hands on one of the phones.

Those who waited the longest were allowed to sleep overnight in the shopping mall's hallway. While they waited in line Saturday morning, a few draped blankets around their bodies as others played cards or took photos of the large crowd with their cell phones. But those in line said it was well worth it.

Sun Jian Kuan, a 26 year old system engineer told a Computerworld reporter:

"It's like waiting in line to see a movie star. No phone can best the iPhone”

This is amazing if you compare it with the launch of iPhone 3GS last year. China Unicom had reported that they had sold a disappointing 5000 iPhones in the opening weekend.

But the following factors would have helped Apple pull off a successful iPhone 4 launch:

The Chinese government has eased regulations that restricted Wi-Fi access from handsets and instead encouraged the use of a homegrown wireless standard called WAPI. The iPhone 4 launched yesterday comes with Wi-Fi.
iPhone 4 is 10% cheaper. Last year, a contract-free 32GB iPhone 3GS sold for $1,033. This year's 32GB iPhone 4 is sold for 5,999 yuan ($905) without a contract. The 16GB model goes for 4,999 yuan ($754).
You can checkout the video of the long lines outside one of its new retail store in Beijing:

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 26th, 2010, 1:34 pm

when more ppl say they gettin thru wiht the upgrade without problems, id do mine

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 26th, 2010, 3:59 pm

so i decided to bite the bullet and try it...keep getting error 021 when im trying to install the custom firmware

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 26th, 2010, 4:43 pm

resorting 3.1.3

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 26th, 2010, 8:17 pm

so after trying to fix it since lunch time today...my baseband was updated and no way to roll it back...i successfully installed 3.1.3, jail breaked and unlocked but because of the baseband, its not detecting my network....sighhh

Postby bushwakka » September 26th, 2010, 8:27 pm

firetruck apple an firetruck steve handjobs!