Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby SR » September 28th, 2010, 7:01 pm

was told to be wary of the ac containers for chemical residue during burn off

Postby SR » September 28th, 2010, 7:04 pm

X_Factor wrote:^ call mih wen yuh done nah
and btw, orchard apple juice is a waste...get the Vibe apple juice...flavour is alot more present in that one

looking at using dole pineapple juice from the tin with slices gonna blend up some slices with it as well to thicken up the liquid and enhance the flavor

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2010, 7:21 pm

definitely downwind esp for the paint burning, even though modern refrigerants supposed to be nontoxic in general

SR wrote:was told to be wary of the ac containers for chemical residue during burn off

Postby pugboy » September 29th, 2010, 5:36 pm

as I suspected the water pressure tank had a double chamber, gonna have to cut that out,
probably easier by a muffler shop and let them use a gas torch
there is also a nylon liner in the bottom which stuck, gonna light a fire in it to burn that off and loosen all the crud as well as burn off the paint

this thing had about 1 inch of wasa silt in it with a black foul bacterial layer over

Chemical

Postby Chemical » September 29th, 2010, 6:29 pm

Hold this...just finished- 20oz Porterhouse USDA..

Yummy !!

Postby pugboy » September 29th, 2010, 7:37 pm

the real money shot is a cut of the flesh

Postby X_Factor » September 29th, 2010, 9:11 pm

i saw tru valu selling lamb neck slices...they looked pretty decent and really cheap
with loads of connective tissue and fair amt of fat. It should be nice for a dry rub and smoked for about 2hrs
will probably try it over the weekend

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2010, 11:45 pm

burnt paint off

Postby Mark! » October 1st, 2010, 12:02 am

shouldnt have come in this ched hungry...

Postby X_Factor » October 2nd, 2010, 8:01 am

anyone knows if the gourmet food store on rushworth street has ne thing making the trip for?

Postby SR » October 2nd, 2010, 11:25 am

how bout a grill master lime next sat to check dem out

Postby pugboy » October 3rd, 2010, 7:50 pm

small progress
old bed frames are usually high quality angle steel.

Postby X_Factor » October 3rd, 2010, 9:28 pm

yuh hav time to do a job like that for me or wha?
thats almost identical to what i wanna build

already got the 2 A/C gas tanks....

Postby pugboy » October 3rd, 2010, 9:53 pm

the a/c tank firebox will be a fair amount of work.
I still have to burn off the paint on the a/c tank
cut doors, put a frame to fit a charcoal basket and air holes

possibly, the work really is in the cutting and prepping
if you have an angle grinder you can cut the tanks yourself if you have a steady hand and I can weld them together.
my arms/legs get enough sting from sparks this weekend

Postby X_Factor » October 3rd, 2010, 9:56 pm

soo i was bored and really wanted to cook something so i did these
i used my ratch up smoker, basically 2 pots one ontop eachother with the grill in the middle

simple dry rub and left to rest for about 2hrs
smoked for about 15-20mins on each side using the wood chunks that i bought at baggs
i believe hickory chunks

mopped with brown sugar and pine juice followed by a simple bbq sauce which was lightly used

final product after baking for aboout 1hr

taste was pretty decent, initial smoke flavour wasnt too harsh
nice flavour all the way till the bone, a bit too peppery though

Postby pugboy » October 5th, 2010, 6:30 pm

little more progress, cut a hatch in the firebox and put wheels on the stand
need to figure out to make hole for air inlets and sliding dampers to cover them
aluminized muffler pipe is not cheap

Postby SR » October 5th, 2010, 10:29 pm

lookin good

x yuh miss out sunday on some sampling

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2010, 9:28 pm

cut sliding air inlet dampers for the firebox and cut hole for a drain nipple in the main chamber.
used a cheap unibit holecutter from harbor freight with some oil
first time and couldnt believe how easy it cuts holes

Postby SR » October 8th, 2010, 10:05 pm

nice

ah feel ah firing back up d grill this weekend yes

feeling for a good old coal pot bun bbq chicken

Postby pugboy » October 9th, 2010, 8:13 pm

Finished air dampers, door and main pipes, the end is near.
Charcoal basket and gas burner tomorrow if I feel like it.

Postby SR » October 12th, 2010, 12:09 pm

experimented with a ne "brine" soak this weekend

1 chicken
jerk seasong
salt
bitters
soy sauce
and one can of coke
mix together and added enough water to let the solution cover the checken pieces
marinated for 48hrs in the fridge

drained chicken pieces and then applied a ligh dry rub

slow cooked on the gas grill with a mesquite wood chunk smoking away in the corner
average temp was around 300 for an hr
then tunred up the heat and applied some bbq sauce

chicken came out moist down to the bone and you could taste the jerk flavour at the bone

no pics
chicken didnt last long

Chemical

Postby Chemical » October 12th, 2010, 1:04 pm

Does Jerk seasoning have salt ? I use the Walkers Woods & you don't need to add salt.

Try using the Zesty Italian salad dressing as a marinade for approx 2 hrs then drain & apply the jerk seasoning SR.

Let me know what you think.

Postby SR » October 12th, 2010, 1:16 pm

it does have salt
i use both walkers wood and grace
but in the brine mix you will need to add additional salt

when doin small amounts the salad dressing works nice but not for the brine mix

the cok was jsut an expiriment on the chicken suppose to really use it on steaks to help break down the meat so it wont be tough

Chemical

Postby Chemical » October 12th, 2010, 2:00 pm

^^ Ok fair enough but USDA steaks are more than tender enough already. Never did local steaks as I don't know where to buy except Hi Lo but the prices range from $85 - $95/ kg and the cuts (T-bone) etc are very small so it doesn't make sense to me, however I'm dying to get my hands on some local beef ribs like what RoTaRyBoYz did.

Do you know where I can get some to buy ?

Postby SR » October 12th, 2010, 2:11 pm

other than a butcher all i can find are the short ribs in pricesmart chag

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2010, 3:49 pm

brining is the way to go, all them fast food joints like pollo tropical do that

anything local will be tough, the meat just doesn't have the marbling and the breeds are probably not best for prime meat
most of the meat shops which sell imported meat will have short ribs
eg arties, malabar
hadco will have but you would have to buy a whole vac pack which would be 15lbs or more

Postby X_Factor » October 12th, 2010, 4:17 pm

Was it too salty cause i did a marinade for about 36hrs already and it had nice flavour but a bit salty...i was told i left it too long soaking

and what kinda flavour profile u got from the chicken?...u tasted the coke or bitters?
and im guessing the coke worked as a meat tenderizer?

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2010, 8:01 pm

brining is usually done by a percentage salt solution,
ie they make the solution with a certain ratio of salt to water
the salt is what drives the liquid into the subject

did some more work today, have to tack on the tank which will house the ring burner
and start the nasty job of rust cleaning
starting to look like a pit finally
I am sick of rotary tools noise now

Postby SR » October 12th, 2010, 10:18 pm

i dont envy who has to sand that before painting

as far as the brining is concerned a true brine solution needs to be rinsed off before seasoning the meat

i dont use as much salt as recomended for a brine jsut to avoid that over salty flavour as usually any dry rub used afterwards always contains salt

gonna do some legs and wings for a house lime this saturday as cutters

will probably go back to the pineapple brine mix
surprisingly i didnt get any coke flavour in the meat but it was tender and juicy

Postby pugboy » October 13th, 2010, 6:12 am

yes, once a brine has done its work the meat can be rinsed as much as you want
most good recipes measure salt by weight to a specific volume of water for best accuracy per time in brine.
if you read the labels Butterball turkeys and Hormel meat products are brined.
they are usually shunned by true afficionados who prefer to brine themselves.