HP awarded $83Million Contract by KAMLA

W2J

Re: HP awarded $83Million Contract by KAMLA

Postby W2J » September 29th, 2010, 8:44 am

Digidata handing over the notebooks as we speak to much security detail there to take pics

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 29th, 2010, 9:46 am

the laptops have gps and wifi triangulation software/hardware from HP, a bandit would be a fool to steal it, they would be caught so fast

Postby wagonrunner » September 29th, 2010, 9:59 am

Bezman wrote:the laptops have gps and wifi triangulation software/hardware from HP, a bandit would be a fool to steal it, they would be caught so fast

unless they come with independent internet access. , how will that information be relayed?

Postby AllTrac » September 29th, 2010, 10:18 am

Bezman wrote:the laptops have gps and wifi triangulation software/hardware from HP, a bandit would be a fool to steal it, they would be caught so fast

unless they come with independent internet access. , how will that information be relayed?

im guessing they would use some type of GSM sim card, in RHA we use it for vehicle monitoring and baby monitoring.

Postby pete » September 29th, 2010, 10:38 am

y'all put a sim card in the babies? wtf

Postby bushwakka » September 29th, 2010, 10:40 am

unless the GPS is built into the motherboard itself as a failsafe, then the laptops can still be stolen and modded.....nothing is foolproof

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » September 29th, 2010, 10:43 am

W2J wrote:Digidata handing over the notebooks as we speak to much security detail there to take pics

Saw a truck going east this morning with huge cargo covered by a tarpaulin, had a digidata panel van behind following with hazard lights on, no police escort or anything like that tho surprisingly.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 29th, 2010, 11:03 am

HP builds the GPS tracking and Wifi Triangulation into the hardware (there are actually local companies that can set this up for you too), i posted the link about the HP stuff somewhere in this thread..

and them gunta that stealing that aint going to mod anything, they trying to pipe that off for a $500 one time..

Postby AllTrac » September 29th, 2010, 11:06 am

pete wrote:y'all put a sim card in the babies? wtf

on their id bands, if the id band is broken or tampered with it sends a notification also

Postby AllTrac » September 29th, 2010, 11:08 am

bushwakka wrote:unless the GPS is built into the motherboard itself as a failsafe, then the laptops can still be stolen and modded.....nothing is foolproof

:lol: :lol: u think them guntas gonna mod de laptops? :lol: :lol: im sure they have something in place to send a notification even when the case is opened or tampered with

W2J

Postby W2J » September 29th, 2010, 11:20 am

[quote="Bezman"]HP builds the GPS tracking and Wifi Triangulation into the hardware (there are actually local companies that can set this up for you too)quote]

correct the Bios also checks Hardware ID to verify all components are the same since the last good administrative startup.

Postby SR » September 29th, 2010, 2:07 pm

i know one guy who possibly "wipes" stolen laptops and re installs os etc worst case he replaces the hd

he doesnt even look like he knows anything about computers but he does
dont have proof but in just overhearing some convo's u can tell he may actually be doing it

so dont underestimate the gunta some do know how to make money off of this by chargin a fee to "clean up" yuh laptop

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 29th, 2010, 3:57 pm

SR wrote:i know one guy who possibly "wipes" stolen laptops and re installs os etc worst case he replaces the hd

he doesnt even look like he knows anything about computers but he does
dont have proof but in just overhearing some convo's u can tell he may actually be doing it

so dont underestimate the gunta some do know how to make money off of this by chargin a fee to "clean up" yuh laptop

W2J wrote:correct the Bios also checks Hardware ID to verify all components are the same since the last good administrative startup.

your gunta partner may have some skills, but i really doubt he that sick...

Postby wagonrunner » September 29th, 2010, 4:23 pm

Bezman wrote:
W2J wrote:correct the Bios also checks Hardware ID to verify all components are the same since the last good administrative startup.

your gunta partner may have some skills, but i really doubt he that sick...

The BIOS transits that information before, say, It boots from USB right?
roight............ it's software driven, and therefore OS dependant.

we'll see the success in the media. They will be misappropriated / misplaced / etc.
So the countdown is on to see if toyota Prado's or HP Minis, are more recoverable.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 29th, 2010, 4:26 pm

and what stopping them from jus stripping it down and selling the ram and hard drive for some quick $

Postby wagonrunner » September 29th, 2010, 4:29 pm

mitch wrote:and what stopping them from jus stripping it down and selling the ram and hard drive for some quick $

swapping the HDD, or my personal fave. removing drive, dumping a system image, reinserting and restarting.
where's the PP-faithful super valuable tracking software then?
did anything in the BIOS change?

Postby bushwakka » September 29th, 2010, 8:29 pm

AllTrac wrote:
bushwakka wrote:unless the GPS is built into the motherboard itself as a failsafe, then the laptops can still be stolen and modded.....nothing is foolproof

:lol: :lol: u think them guntas gonna mod de laptops? :lol: :lol: im sure they have something in place to send a notification even when the case is opened or tampered with

u wud be surprised eh, but gunta wudnt tief it really....not when they hav a buffet like uwi

W2J

Postby W2J » September 29th, 2010, 8:51 pm

mitch wrote:and what stopping them from jus stripping it down and selling the ram and hard drive for some quick $

swapping the HDD, or my personal fave. removing drive, dumping a system image, reinserting and restarting.

when the notebook is reported loss or not accounted for there will be a kill switch together with GPS detection.

Postby wagonrunner » September 29th, 2010, 10:39 pm

W2J wrote:

when the notebook is reported loss or not accounted for there will be a kill switch together with GPS detection.

Great. and how is that signal communicated / triggered? software?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 30th, 2010, 6:03 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Lap ... 56283.html
Laptops jump from $4,000 to $15,000
161 handed over

By Aabida Allaham
Story Created: Sep 30, 2010 at 12:45 AM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 30, 2010 at 12:45 AM ECT
ONE hundred and sixty-one first formers were yesterday presented with laptops that cost some $15,000 apiece, Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh said yesterday.
Initially, Gopeesingh had said that each laptop amounted to $4,000; however with security and specially enhanced features the real cost goes far beyond that.
"It's between $12,000 to $15,000 by virtue of the signature applications infused in it alone," he said while speaking to more than 100 form one pupils at the Lakshmi Girls' Hindu College in St Augustine during the formal laptop distribution ceremony.
The People's Partnership Government has entered into an $83 million contract with Hewlett Packard (HP) for the provision of laptops for more than 17,000 form one students in keeping with their campaign promise to give each successful SEA pupil a laptop.
The contract has been clouded in controversy as the provider HP is under investigation in the US and Russia for bribery and corruption allegations, but Gopeesingh has said that this contract was above board.
Prime Minister Kamla Persad Bissessar, who was also on hand to formally distribute the first set of laptops, was welcomed with rock star applause by the pupils at all three schools: Success Laventille Secondary, South East Secondary in Port of Spain and Lakshmi Girls Hindu College.
She advised the pupils to take good care of them and use them to their advantage and called on parents to ensure that their child used it correctly as it was the child's "ticket to a better life" because with a touch of a button the whole world could be before them.
At Success, the first school on the distribution tour, she told the 204 first formers that they were chosen to be the first because of the first word in their school's name and because "success" is what they expected out of them.
All 204 first formers were not given the laptops as parents needed to sign a contract accepting liability for the laptop as the children have been allowed to take them home.
Over at South East, all 136 pupils got theirs yesterday while 20 of the 100 first formers at Lakshmi received theirs with the rest to follow during the week.
The Prime Minister also said that she intended to continue with the programme so that in five years, every child in form one to form five would have a laptop.
However, while responding to questions by members of the media with regard to the laptop continuation over the next five years, Gopeesingh said HP would not remain as the preferred provider.
In fact, he said from as early as January next year they intended to put out tenders in order to get a better price.
"It will be going under an open invitation to tender every year because thereby things may change," he said.
"This year was $83 million, and we hope that as laptops continue to be built, the cost would be cheaper".
When asked about the programmes installed in the laptops, Gopeesingh said they included applications for mathematics, science and Spanish.
"It has about seven applications from Microsoft as well in it and we will continue to infuse more and more curriculum into it. And remember we are working with the Commonwealth of Learning and IDA Singapore, who is going to assist us as well, because they themselves have a lot of curriculum infused into their laptops," he said.
Meanwhile, both parents and pupils, who received their laptops yesterday, were elated, but for one little girl at Lakshmi, getting it on her birthday meant so much more.
"It was very exciting to hear that we were getting the laptops on my birthday, so I actually felt really good about that," said Maya Harripersad.
As for the security concerns, her mother Camille Harripersad said besides all the tracking and safety features installed in the laptop, she feels confident that the children would be alright.
"As the minister (Gopeesingh) said, if they could look after their cell phones and their $1,000 shoes as it is, they could certainly look after their laptops because they are responsible, they understand that it is an expensive piece of equipment and they just need to know that since they have to use it they have to look after it," she said.

Postby RASC » September 30th, 2010, 6:39 am

The price per-laptop is now $15,000TT

...as a result of my security software implemented. Now I think the gov't would've been much wiser to equip every student with their own personal security guard and pay them $10,000 a month!

Crime outta hand and you have kids walking around with $15,000 worth of equipment in their backpack...BRILLIANT!

W2J

Postby W2J » September 30th, 2010, 7:40 am

W2J wrote:

Great. and how is that signal communicated / triggered? software?

If the office of the prime minster were to make his/her daily schedule public do you think extremist would have a better attempt at assassination? or better yet if NLCB let the masses know what the lotto results would be prior to the drawing I am sure everybody would be $1+ richer.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 30th, 2010, 8:25 am

So they setting up a laptop tracking station as well I take it?

Postby wagonrunner » September 30th, 2010, 9:06 am

hahha.

take comfort in that boy W2J.
we've reached the stage of wireless communication @ the BIOS level.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 30th, 2010, 10:04 am

RASC wrote:The price per-laptop is now $15,000TT

...as a result of my security software implemented. Now I think the gov't would've been much wiser to equip every student with their own personal security guard and pay them $10,000 a month!

Crime outta hand and you have kids walking around with $15,000 worth of equipment in their backpack...BRILLIANT!

the value is 15,000 per laptop with bundled software and features, they paid much less...

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » September 30th, 2010, 10:29 am

Bezman wrote:

the value is 15,000 per laptop with bundled software and features, they paid much less...

if this is so how much is the "much less"

where is the transparency?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 1st, 2010, 9:35 am

yeah 5onDfloor let me hear ya now ;)

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,128398.html

nismoid

Postby nismoid » October 1st, 2010, 9:44 am

quoted to throw back in your face sometime soon

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 1st, 2010, 9:49 am

yeah but the man groupies worship him.. they go block it.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » October 1st, 2010, 10:00 am

ah see like 5onDfloor trying to beat out cjracist for second in command among rasc's groupies