Lady Young Touge...a discussion on skill set...

Re: Lady Young Touge...a discussion on skill set...

Postby MG Man » October 8th, 2010, 9:43 am

lol ah doubt dey would let me test drive it the way I would want

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 8th, 2010, 9:54 am

^^Well if I still had mine we could have worked out something.

Yunno....yuh cudda hold on on the roof or something. :lol: :lol:

Seriously tho....you would ahve probably hated the exhaust note and clutch tho :lol:

Postby MG Man » October 8th, 2010, 11:01 am

can;t be worse than the cable clutch on the HSR

Postby Monk BANzai » October 9th, 2010, 10:42 am

Car: Subaru Legacy Spec B
Engine: 2.0 Turbo
Drivetrain: 4WD/Tiptronic
Tyres: Goodyear Eagles F1's (215/45/R17. 70%life)
Ambient Temperature: 31 degrees
Time 2:20AM
Extra weight: 1 Sceraming Passenger (120lbs)

Running start from hilton to the lookout: 1:58:15.
Timing: Blackberry stopclock.

The tyre pressures adjusted really made a difference in the run this time. Plus listening to Alpha_Tuner's advice on the LGT I was able to put the car into the corners with more aggressiveness (hence the screaming passenger....sigh). Shaving 1.2 seconds off the time with that and a modification i was reading about on legacygt.com made the car more balanced. I want to make that run again without the passenger though, but with a sack of sand to the weight of 130lbs on the passenger side. Im still thinking that weight distribution on stock cars plays a big factor in how the car handles.

Also last night was more humid (31 degrees) than the first run so the car was taking in warmer air.

anyone has an EVO or Sti that i can haz to make this run?

Postby MG Man » October 9th, 2010, 11:47 am

MINI haz camber plates installed now
up to 2 deg neg

Postby Monk BANzai » October 12th, 2010, 11:08 am

Car: Mitsubishi Evo VII
Engine: 2.0 Turbo
Drivetrain: 4WD/Manual
Tyres: Toyo Proxes (unsure about tyre life) 235/40 r 18
Ambient Temperature: 28 degrees
Time 2:02AM
Extra weight: 1 unmoved Rasta (190lbs)

Running start from hilton to the lookout: 2:05:46.
Dead start from lookout to hilton: 2:00:80.

I wanted to use this as a base run for the Evolutions, but two things prevented me. (1) The owner was not comfortable letting me drive the car and (2) I think that the car was on too much boost for this type of run. The Hiton run....the car got up the hill VERY quickly (though the owner shifts like a granny) and i was thinking that we would be doing a sub 2 minute run. But into the S's and my heart sank....lack of experience showed and the entry speed and technique made for alot of tyre spin and power drifting rather than quick entry and exit....that run i think the car was on 27lbs of boost or some thing so...so it was getting loose quick.....

When he saw his time...his ego was scratched and turn down the boost to about 20lbs....

The return run was a tad bit better....the Proxes are very noisy though and the extra tyre noise again daunted the driver from really pushing the car on the corners...esp teh long sweeping left hander going to the S's.....driver got to about 140kph max where as i was doing about 150kph in the legas....

With practice i think the owner will do better.

So thats that. Might make another run tonight with the LGT again...only change is the front tyres pressures 2 lbs heavier than the rear.....

Postby crazybalhead » October 12th, 2010, 11:16 am

Yuh should do that with somebody like Devi or Crix, and we will all eat humble pie. Sounds like the proxies were way too soft. And that power drifting was more than likely understeer. I'm almost positive the car was lowered and probably riding on the bump stops and understeering badly.

Postby Rooki3 » October 12th, 2010, 12:41 pm

yea bai, crix izza boss bai, see that man put MIshi evo thru the paces in dex for the fun run, fastest time for the day!!!!

Postby Monk BANzai » October 12th, 2010, 5:53 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Yuh should do that with somebody like Devi or Crix, and we will all eat humble pie. Sounds like the proxies were way too soft. And that power drifting was more than likely understeer. I'm almost positive the car was lowered and probably riding on the bump stops and understeering badly.

not sure what i was....didnt have enough time with the car to make any suggestions (my car was parked at the lookout and at 2am i wasnt safe leffin it there for a long time)....

Postby wagonrunner » October 12th, 2010, 6:33 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:(my car was parked at the lookout and at 2am i wasnt safe leffin it there for a long time)....

hilton carpark not an option?

Postby Monk BANzai » October 12th, 2010, 8:03 pm

didnt think about that as the rolling start for the Hilton to lookout run really starts at the base of teh hill by the school (bulling carpark..)

Postby wagonrunner » October 12th, 2010, 8:23 pm

Is not two cars, one cant park, and the other carries both of you to the start? or in theis trying economy, the wanton wastage of gas.......................... *oh look. incredibles is on*

Postby crazybalhead » October 13th, 2010, 7:17 am

I umm, had a bit of a jaunt through the neighbourhood yesterday (11PMish). Not no solodex speed by any means, but I see the attraction. Unfortunately didn't have a co-pilot to time, but it was more than two minutes.

Plus there were other cars there, so caution had to be maintained. Some of those bends are really straights. And some bends are bends, lol.

BTW, I love these tyres.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 13th, 2010, 9:03 am

^^^ hehehe...yes its really straights...What tyres yu wearing though?

Postby crazybalhead » October 13th, 2010, 9:23 am

Postby Monk BANzai » October 13th, 2010, 9:44 am

good read...

not wanting to sound like a knob...but what hancook is that exactly? cudnt get that from the bantering...

Postby crazybalhead » October 13th, 2010, 10:07 am

*takes deep breath* Hankook Ventus K110 V12 Evo. *exhales*

Postby Monk BANzai » October 13th, 2010, 10:09 am

hahahhahahahaha thanks man....hahhhahahahahahahahahah

Postby SR » October 13th, 2010, 11:10 am

ah lookin for some 18's soon

225 40

Bacon

Postby Bacon » October 13th, 2010, 12:43 pm

I am VERY interested in seeing a your time......

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2010, 2:38 pm

Bacon wrote:^^^

why? :lol: when it's bettered by something "unusual", he'll just say he was playing around, and having some fun. :poke:

Bacon

Postby Bacon » October 13th, 2010, 2:57 pm

nah man.......the car should do well...

Banzai,

I know you have just begun and probably the mod bug has not bit you yet.....but have you considered getting a a set of STI Pinks for your new GT....

I found them to be a very simple yet VERY effective upgrade to the Legacy's suspension (you done have the yellow stuff)....would add some value, especially for this kinda run.....
D stance doh look to bad either......
pinks2.JPG
Pinks.JPG

Postby SR » October 13th, 2010, 3:15 pm

Bacon wrote:^^^

who me???

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 14th, 2010, 6:32 am

Bacon wrote:nah man.......the car should do well...

Banzai,

I know you have just begun and probably the mod bug has not bit you yet.....but have you considered getting a a set of STI Pinks for your new GT....

I found them to be a very simple yet VERY effective upgrade to the Legacy's suspension (you done have the yellow stuff)....would add some value, especially for this kinda run.....
D stance doh look to bad either......

Wait wait wait....is suspension mods yuh talking here.......on Nexens to boot?

Jus' sayin' eh.....whey MG? :lol:

<go ahead - flame>

Bacon

Postby Bacon » October 14th, 2010, 9:51 am

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

dem tires came on the car after I sold it......just I never took a picture of the spring set up when I had it and thought the visual might assist.....

My adventures were on BF's (g-force profiles),which were the best tires I have ever used......

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 14th, 2010, 10:17 am

^^W3rd......a discerning buyer indeed. 8)

Postby Monk BANzai » October 14th, 2010, 3:37 pm

I'll go Sti Pinks towards the end of the year...i;m getting another set fo spring via Dubai at the end of this month...comes highly recommended....

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 15th, 2010, 6:39 am

^^King Springs? Eibach? Ohlins? RCE? Swift Springs? H&R? Tanabe? Zerosports? Intrax? WRX/.STi lowering springs?

Since you make it sound "unique", I'm assuming it's not Tein S-Techs or H-Techs (those are almost as popular as cut springs these days :lol: )

Glitch

Postby Glitch » October 15th, 2010, 8:24 am

I using the swift springs on my car and they work great....

I still have a good ride...I from south and u know the roads bad down here...lol

Postby wagonrunner » October 15th, 2010, 10:40 am

Glitch wrote:I using the swift springs on my car and they work great....

I still have a good ride...I from south and u know the roads bad down here...lol

with that avatar, yuh sure they know which car yuh mean?