Oil+Water Rad mixin

Dragsta

Oil+Water Rad mixin

Postby Dragsta » October 23rd, 2010, 9:49 am

Hav a B14 Ga16De

ther is an oily substance in Radiator when i open the cap..

i drained and flushed with water after a week...same ting..repeat again... same ting a week after...

it feels oily...

Car didnt over heat at any time... Normal half mark on the Guage.. Thermo stat was changed abt a year ago... also changed Rad Cap recently...the Overflow lvl remains normal

it looks like the Oil is Mixin IN the Water...but NOT the Water IN the Oil... as the engine oil normel normel..

some of the oily substance gathered on the cap

what could this be? BLown Gasket?

i trow in a Nalprep 2001 rad Flush an monitor it...

also Noticed when flushing the Rad while Engine running.. it bubbles and pushes back out the water..

Re: Oil+Water Rad mixin

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 23rd, 2010, 9:52 am

classic symptom of a blown head gasket.
fix it before the head warps.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » October 23rd, 2010, 1:40 pm

cheaper with a head and block. if yuh intend on keeping teh car you could rebuild. if you want head an block call meh. 4952320

Postby bushwakka » October 27th, 2010, 11:01 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:classic symptom of a blown head gasket.

no, not necessarily, there is a common problem with the b14 engines where the plate separating the water and oil develops a hole, thus allowing the oil and water to mix

sorry to be so vague, all i know, is its on the left hand side of the engine block if u facing the engine bay......don't want to call a wrong name for the part and mislead u

happened with our car already, and mechanics will quickly tell u that ur head gasket blown and to throw away ur engine......investigate what i talkin abt first

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 28th, 2010, 8:22 am

my apologies, I should have mentioned to do a leakdown test to check cylinder compression. That will identify a BHG right away

Postby bushwakka » October 28th, 2010, 10:52 am

^whats a BHG?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 28th, 2010, 11:20 am

bushwakka wrote:^whats a BHG?

Blown Head Gasket

Postby bushwakka » October 29th, 2010, 11:23 pm

ôhorr lol scene

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 1st, 2010, 3:11 pm

thx for response fellas....

Since i Added that NalPrep 2001... i hav not seen any signs of the Oily substance building up anywher so far... the cap remain clean...

i'll run it for a while again and flush it and see from there...

the directions say to flush after abt 10-12000Km's

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 18th, 2010, 9:55 am

ok fellas....from what ive seen...the Oil is Mixin IN the Water....ther is NO Water in the Oil...

ive chked all oils.. Engine, Tranny, Pwrsteering and NO signs of water...

but some wher the oil is leakin and mixin with the water...Its showing up In the Coolant bottle settling on top and is Brown in colour..

CAn a Blown Head gasket cause this?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 18th, 2010, 2:30 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:my apologies, I should have mentioned to do a leakdown test to check cylinder compression. That will identify a BHG right away

try this
will take all the guesswork out.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 18th, 2010, 4:22 pm

^ How to do that test hoss?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 18th, 2010, 7:33 pm

carry it by a mechanic.
He will disconnect the ignition coil or equivalent and remove spark plugs one at a time and connect a pressure guage to each cylinder. He will then crank the car so that the engine overturns and checks the required pressure holding capacity against OEM figures.
Usually a BHG will manifest itself by lower compression in one or more cylinders.

Postby bushwakka » November 18th, 2010, 8:28 pm

^what if the engine was rebuilt, won't that lead to a lower compression? but it shouldn't be as low as if there is a blown gasket right?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 18th, 2010, 11:44 pm

ok cool vexxxd.. i knw what ur talkin bout....if ther is a Blwn head Gask. the compression pressure will show up as the lowest PSI on the guage and that will tell which cyl is defective..

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 23rd, 2011, 8:27 am

ok ppl... lil update...

so i went by for advice by multiple mechanics... that ALL Recommended i changed the engine... as they were not sure wher exactly oil is coming from... Most of them say its the head crack...
couldnt get a head, bcz its a Local Ga16de.. so better change the entire engine...

really wanted to keep the car ORIGINAL so, 1mech decided to pull it down and open it up...
i bought OEM head gasket, front and rear seals, front cover seals.. and changed it out...flushed out system...
head was good, as well as gasket..

Same Problem... oil was still showing up in the rad...

So i decided to change the Radiator and No more oil!!!!!

the Tranny Oil cooler in the Radiator had a crack and oil was seeping into the water...

ALTHOUGH we Pressure tested the radiator and resulted in No leaks... there seemed to be a hairline crack, that only expands as it gets hot...

now although it was Tranny oil... it LOOKED like Engine oil in the Rad.. hence we were concentrating on the engine as the fault!

so ppl.... jus sharing my bad experience with u all although it costed me like $3500 then to realize the Radiator was teh Problem.. + $1600 for a 2core Brass rad..

thank god, cuz i would hav changed 5 engines and would hav gotten the same problem...

so let this be a lesson to all...

Postby Hook » May 23rd, 2011, 9:51 am

LOL...yuh know I reading the thread and looking at the pics with that red gel on the cap and thinking to ask you if the car was manual or automatic! I doh know how this thread miss mih nuh!

Oil and water gelling will look muddy and frothy like melted chocolate ice cream.

I take it you did a transmission flush as well, right?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 23rd, 2011, 10:03 am

5 engines you?????? my larddddddd

Postby 3stagevtec » May 24th, 2011, 4:34 pm

That must have hurt! lol

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 26th, 2011, 1:02 am

good info there Dragsta!!!!

wilddog

Postby wilddog » May 26th, 2011, 8:26 am

now seeing this could have told u
sorry to hear........

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » May 30th, 2011, 8:31 am

bushwakka wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:classic symptom of a blown head gasket.

no, not necessarily, there is a common problem with the b14 engines where the plate separating the water and oil develops a hole, thus allowing the oil and water to mix

sorry to be so vague, all i know, is its on the left hand side of the engine block if u facing the engine bay......don't want to call a wrong name for the part and mislead u

happened with our car already, and mechanics will quickly tell u that ur head gasket blown and to throw away ur engine......investigate what i talkin abt first

is that plate a easy fix?