2010 and 2011 Tropical weather discussion

evo-STI-k

Re: The official tropical weather thread: image updates on p

Postby evo-STI-k » October 29th, 2010, 7:42 am

they always do that, wait until the last minute and then PANIC IN POS TO GET OUT........

cz4a- ALL YUH FELLAS WITH low CARS BETTER PUT DEM UP PON SOME BLOCKS!

hAHAHAHAHA

Postby hydroep » October 29th, 2010, 8:00 am

They've upgraded the probability of Tropical Cyclone formation to 80%.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2010, 8:07 am

They can't say we under tropical storm watch until the system IS a tropical storm

I dont think there is anything like a tropical wave watch... that is all it is right now

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » October 29th, 2010, 8:28 am

are we going to get flooded again?

my gawd!!
that looks suboneous!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 29th, 2010, 8:31 am

i think flooded is an understatement!

imagine a few HOURS of heavy downpours!

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » October 29th, 2010, 8:37 am

Hey this one might be bad.
They have started evacuating offshore platforms..

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 29th, 2010, 8:38 am

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 29th, 2010, 8:38 am

It looks like alot of rain later

sky in California bright hot sun.

Maksure and have your can food and bottle water.

Postby noshownogo » October 29th, 2010, 8:41 am

I inflate meh rubber ducky life ring since last night 1safe...

Seriously tho people, take precaution and do not wait on local meteorological services for updates, what they doh tell yuh is only when Joey and he parrot say it here, then they go do de same.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » October 29th, 2010, 8:47 am

nothing will happen!
have some faith nah *sigh*

Postby teems1 » October 29th, 2010, 8:49 am

wow, we are fuxed

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » October 29th, 2010, 8:51 am

ah goin n put mih house on some blocks

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 29th, 2010, 8:55 am

allyuh doh forget to tie dong d grong before it blow way

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2010, 9:03 am

models are now putting the center of it north of T&T
however the system is large and covers a very wide area

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 29th, 2010, 9:08 am

^^^ agreed (with the pic's caption)

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 29th, 2010, 9:11 am

Tobago will get a heavy pounding it seems

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » October 29th, 2010, 9:14 am

ent GOD is ah Trini?

Postby Damien » October 29th, 2010, 9:16 am

lawdddddddddddddddddd

15devils

Postby 15devils » October 29th, 2010, 9:16 am

it goh miss we ...doh worry

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » October 29th, 2010, 9:53 am

BG sending home staff from 11am

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » October 29th, 2010, 9:55 am

evo-STI-k wrote:they always do that, wait until the last minute and then PANIC IN POS TO GET OUT........

hAHAHAHAHA

you laughing, but you right!
I actually going to put the GTR on a ramp in my garage :lol:

apple

Postby apple » October 29th, 2010, 10:05 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:models are now putting the center of it north of T&T
however the system is large and covers a very wide area

south ftw? :|
1scared

Postby Hook » October 29th, 2010, 10:11 am

teems1 wrote:Image

wow, we are fuxed

That banding we're seeing there is actually in the upper levels where there's organized outflow. However at the lower levels, there's nothing at this time to suggest circulation, and thus no inflow. No closed isobars = no defined curculation = it does not meet criteria for being called a depression/storm, however, storm-like conditions are expected with heavy showers and thundershowers and gusty winds in bursts exceeding 50km/h in some instances.

There's a 60% chance it could intensify (I'm hearing some saying 80%) over the next 12-24hrs and we're closely monitoring it and talking with the NHC, and the other MET Offices in the Caribbean to be able to give the public the earliest possible warning if it intensifies. You MAY get a just-in-case warning, but this is no indication to panic...just to be prepared.

At this point, it's all protocol. We can't jump the gun...we have to call it like it is.
We cannot advise anyone if to leave early because we simply provide weather imformation and that is not within the scope of our duties. Evacuation, leaving work early etc. is to be decided by you or your employer, however, bear in mind that for your own safety, if everybody leaves at the same time, there's bottlenecking and nobody gets home to secure their property. Be mindful of that.

Be also mindful that we are STILL in the hurricane season, and you all should've been prepared already to reduce the panic buying and the long lines at petrol stations...again, if u on the road, stuck in a line, u can't protect your property.

We're counting on the media to diseminate the information we give them verbatim so as not to spread unnecessary panic. Stay tuned for further updates.

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 29th, 2010, 10:12 am

and i sold my land cruiser. dammmm.!!!!!!

wonders how an x trail will do in floods?

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » October 29th, 2010, 10:17 am

Finally someone saw it prudent to sticky this thread.........

apple

Postby apple » October 29th, 2010, 10:25 am

Hook wrote:
teems1 wrote:Image

wow, we are fuxed

That banding we're seeing there is actually in the upper levels where there's organized outflow. However at the lower levels, there's nothing at this time to suggest circulation, and thus no inflow. No closed isobars = no defined curculation = it does not meet criteria for being called a depression/storm, however, storm-like conditions are expected with heavy showers and thundershowers and gusty winds in bursts exceeding 50km/h in some instances.

There's a 60% chance it could intensify (I'm hearing some saying 80%) over the next 12-24hrs and we're closely monitoring it and talking with the NHC, and the other MET Offices in the Caribbean to be able to give the public the earliest possible warning if it intensifies. You MAY get a just-in-case warning, but this is no indication to panic...just to be prepared.

At this point, it's all protocol. We can't jump the gun...we have to call it like it is.
We cannot advise anyone if to leave early because we simply provide weather imformation and that is not within the scope of our duties. Evacuation, leaving work early etc. is to be decided by you or your employer, however, bear in mind that for your own safety, if everybody leaves at the same time, there's bottlenecking and nobody gets home to secure their property. Be mindful of that.

Be also mindful that we are STILL in the hurricane season, and you all should've been prepared already to reduce the panic buying and the long lines at petrol stations...again, if u on the road, stuck in a line, u can't protect your property.

We're counting on the media to diseminate the information we give them verbatim so as not to spread unnecessary panic. Stay tuned for further updates.

*waits for Hook to say when to panic*

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 29th, 2010, 10:28 am

White CZ4A wrote:
evo-STI-k wrote:they always do that, wait until the last minute and then PANIC IN POS TO GET OUT........

hAHAHAHAHA

you laughing, but you right!
I actually going to put the GTR on a ramp in my garage :lol:

done tell rappapatzzi tuh hide his own away too!

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 29th, 2010, 10:29 am

so the states and pre disaster systems that are activated in the states are realy dumb then? becuase they put evacuation proc. in place many hours before an event....?? because pre disast. prep. is based on effective warning systems.......and at the end of the day if it doesnt hit at least ppl were prepared...
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on October 29th, 2010, 10:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Hook » October 29th, 2010, 10:31 am

Alright folks...not to panic you guys, but the probability percentage of intensification has been increased to 80% and NHC in Miami has dispached a recon plane. We'll see what we get from them and advise accordingly.
Please take the necessary precaution to preserve life and property and do so in an orderly, civilized manner.

Our phones are ringing non-stop so PLEASE refrain from using our resources for answering questions that can already be addressed by simply reading our information bulletins.

http://metoffice.gov.tt/bulletins/default.aspx" target="_blank

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 29th, 2010, 10:32 am

is real pressure this weekend :)