Wood or other material to build top of pergola

jsr

Wood or other material to build top of pergola

Postby jsr » November 3rd, 2010, 5:52 am

I am looking to build a pergola as shown in the picture below. what is the best type of wood to use that would not rot, get termite,and last for quite a while.

Additionally is there a substitute material i can use ?

Rahtid

Re: Wood or other material to build top of pergola

Postby Rahtid » November 3rd, 2010, 8:46 am

greenheart or purpleheart.

Postby crazybalhead » November 3rd, 2010, 8:48 am

Where de MC yuh gettin that Rahtid???? Seriously????? I'm also interested.

jsr

Postby jsr » November 3rd, 2010, 8:48 am

any special place to get greenheart or purpleheart?

Postby cinco » November 3rd, 2010, 9:31 am

guyana

Postby MG Man » November 3rd, 2010, 9:34 am

plastic wood
easy to work, lasts forever, and it's made from recycled junk
and Rahtif
WTF MAN????????????????????????????????????

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 3rd, 2010, 9:37 am

Mora should last about 10-15 years or so.

Postby 3stagevtec » November 3rd, 2010, 9:37 am

Dansteel / Bhagwansingh's supposed to have a resin you can use to protect / preserve the wood against weather damage..

jsr

Postby jsr » November 3rd, 2010, 9:46 am

where can i get plastic wood?

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 3rd, 2010, 9:47 am

guyana, cbh, you need?

mg man? wha i do jed?

dry

Postby dry » November 3rd, 2010, 9:52 am

Postby MG Man » November 3rd, 2010, 10:06 am

Rahtid wrote:guyana, cbh, you need?

mg man? wha i do jed?

lolz ah still waitin on de call jed

Postby MG Man » November 3rd, 2010, 10:17 am

jsr wrote:where can i get plastic wood?

hang on a sec, tyrin to find the flier

Postby crazybalhead » November 3rd, 2010, 10:20 am

dry wrote:check unique doors
http://www.uniquedoors-tt.com/

Thanks!!! :mrgreen:

jsr

Postby jsr » November 3rd, 2010, 10:28 am

the wood at unique doors seems be be for interior use

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » November 3rd, 2010, 10:40 am

i'm interested in this too...

dry

Postby dry » November 3rd, 2010, 10:48 am

they supplied (and installed) the greenheart for some wood flooring. greenheart, teak, and other hard woods are naturally termite resistant, but for external you'll need to use a sealer. there's no external and internal wood per se.

i plan to check them again to do some outdoor wooden decking and a pergola as well.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 3rd, 2010, 10:49 am

I built one using greenheart
Paul 684-5350

This is what I did in Google SketchUp

this is the final product (waiting for the grass and plants to grow)

will check unique doors cause I really want to change the front door and get rid of the burglar proofing.

jsr

Postby jsr » November 3rd, 2010, 10:57 am

duane

i looking for something like that
also link me up with the source for the stone pavers with lights

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 3rd, 2010, 11:09 am

^ the limestone coral (tiles) I got from Rafmon Marketing, SeaLots http://www.rafmon.com

the lights for the pavers are LED brick lights that I got at Nova Lighting in Woodbrook http://nova.hadcoltd.com

I cut a square hole in the middle of the tiles to fit the brick lights and then I set then in concrete to make the pavers. When the paver lights are off its hard to tell thereis a light there as its very similar to the limestone coral.

the sconces and pendant lights i got at Agostini Interiors, Pasea Rd.
http://www.agostinislimited.com/home/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=45&Itemid=56

The step lights on the step-up I got at The Home Store in Barataria

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 3rd, 2010, 11:18 am

from what i see on cable shows in foreign they use pressure treated lumber for these types of projects ....

Postby foss » November 3rd, 2010, 11:19 am

Duane, yuh house lookin real West Side - westmoorings, cascade...

I jealous :oops:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 3rd, 2010, 11:31 am

Both green-heart and purple-heart are available locally , use you phone book and call a sawmill , for a base for a raised tank, purple-heart lasted unsealed for 30 years, the new application use purple-heart again , coated three times with valspar sealer , some notes:

this wood is very hard , i used a hacksaw and yeah, although very hard it can splinter easily if not cut or worked right,

the valaspar brought out a deep red in the wood very attractive, but also very slippery

PS. very nice there uncle Duane

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 3rd, 2010, 11:33 am

^ thanks

Foss but I living on the west side... of Cunupia :oops:

(...Rovin...), the greenheart is pre-treated lumber and then coated with a spar urethane deck sealant (I used Helmsman MinWax Spar Urethane)

green heart and purple heart are used on jetties and last years

In the US they call them Brazillian Hard Wood and it's considerably cheaper here than in the US as we can import it from Guyana

Postby foss » November 3rd, 2010, 11:40 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ but I living on the west side... of Cunupia :oops:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 3rd, 2010, 11:49 am

i never knew pergolas existed in hot sun T&T i tort it was foreign white ppl ting only .... :oops:

nicely done duane - u cud go up for a episode of HG tv .... :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 3rd, 2010, 12:04 pm

^ I watch enough of it.
lots of people have pergolas and trellises in T&T

I would highly advise that everyone download Google SketchUp (I am sure you will find it very useful to design speaker boxes) - its free software and when you draw your idea you can give it to the joiner or contractor and you end up with exactly what you want - no guess work and misinterpretation

plus you get to see what it looks like before and there will be no unwanted surprises.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 3rd, 2010, 12:06 pm

Duane,, very nice bro

very nice

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 3rd, 2010, 12:41 pm

^ thanks

I just realised that when I took the pics I hadn't installed the pendant light that now hangs in the middle of the pergola, its just a pendant version to the sconce

a lil pre-planning for the electrical and getting the right materials made alot of difference

this was the house before I got it

this was after a lil dedication, hard work and planning

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 3rd, 2010, 1:52 pm

very nice duane .....