OFFICIAL CLICO THREAD

djaggs

Re: OFFICIAL CLICO THREAD

Postby djaggs » October 26th, 2010, 12:06 am

CLICO investors money was used to purchase/build the assets of CLICO, including build those methanol plants. NOT TAXPAYERS DOLLARS. CLICO investors have a right to make a claim against those assets to recover their money. The govt has no right to introduce legislation to infringe our rights to take action to recover our money. CLICO investors have more rights to those assets than the so called taxpayers whose money was not used to build those assets. What u are saying is that all the people who put their money into those assets have no rights and can have their money forfeited just so because somebody wants to control those assets. You dont have to be a lawyer to see the illegality of this thing. If this goes to court the policy holders will win.

There are powerful people in the background who have their eyes on CLICO's assets, people who are behind this govt. People talking a lot of sheit on the radio about policyholders. Is not rich bigshot people, is ordinary people who put all their savings into this investment because they trying to live.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » October 26th, 2010, 7:57 am

djaggs wrote:CLICO investors money was used to purchase/build the assets of CLICO, including build those methanol plants. NOT TAXPAYERS DOLLARS. CLICO investors have a right to make a claim against those assets to recover their money. The govt has no right to introduce legislation to infringe our rights to take action to recover our money. CLICO investors have more rights to those assets than the so called taxpayers whose money was not used to build those assets. What u are saying is that all the people who put their money into those assets have no rights and can have their money forfeited just so because somebody wants to control those assets. You dont have to be a lawyer to see the illegality of this thing. If this goes to court the policy holders will win.

There are powerful people in the background who have their eyes on CLICO's assets, people who are behind this govt. People talking a lot of sheit on the radio about policyholders. Is not rich bigshot people, is ordinary people who put all their savings into this investment because they trying to live.

+1, especially to the bolded.

I definitely prefer one of the two proposals presented. Let's see what government has to say on the matter.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 26th, 2010, 7:59 am

awaits the downfall of all credit unions in trinidad and the start of civil unrest!

Postby Monk BANzai » October 26th, 2010, 9:26 am

the hell is this statement about?

The COP YOUth Congress wishes to come out in strong support of Finance Minister Dookeran on his leadership thus far on the CLICO bailout issue. Our statement of support comes in light of what is the recent, obvious politicking of the CLICO bailout issue by persons seeking to introduce their own agendas in what should be a ‘people-centred, future-driven’ approach.

It is most unfortunate that we note recent statements linking the government’s delivery on the CLICO issue to the political sustainability of the People’s Partnership. We believe that select parties and persons, in their attempt to maneuver through their own agendas, have regrettably attempted to divert attention from the required solution-oriented approach. It is imperative that all parties - government, the shareholders, and taxpayers at large - work together and maintain focus on the solutions required. Certain statements implying that Minister Dookeran is responsible for any collapse of the People’s Partnership are indeed utterly unwarranted, most unfortunate, and serve to divert focus away from finding a solution to the CLICO issue.

Since the first day of assuming office, Finance Minister Dookeran and the Finance Ministry have applied thorough investigation, the economic acumen and strong delivery of proposals, all in a very short time. This government has remained true to its commitment to working on a solution for the CLICO policyholders, and Finance Minister Dookeran has delivered the relevant foundation upon which dialogue can occur between the government and CLICO shareholders. In four short months, Minister Dookeran has evaluated the country’s financial state and the practicality of the approach used by the previous administration. All of this was done noting that our nation is now in different economic times, and that the country’s finances are different from when the PNM administration was in power. The Finance Minister, the Prime Minister, and the members of the People’s Partnership government have collectively delivered a National Budget that sought to bring relief for all persons affected by the CLICO fallout.

The COP YOUth Congress views the CLICO bailout as a sensitive issue. We must focus on finding a solution that balances the careful use of taxpayers’ dollars with the need to honor the government’s commitment to CLICO shareholders. We wish to pledge our strong confidence and unwavering support to the Finance Minister, the Prime Minister and her Cabinet in the ongoing resolution of this issue. More so, we are uncompromisingly committed to a resolution for all CLICO policyholders. The COP YOUth Congress would like for all parties to respect the sensitive, onerous nature of the CLICO Bailout issue, and to give the government, the shareholders and the taxpayers of this country the ‘breathing space’ required work together and resolve this issue.

To this end, The COP Youth Congress wishes to commend all stakeholders involved for their patience and teamwork thus far, and to urge all to focus on the delivery of an amicable solution.

We believe that the way forward must include:

1) Ongoing consultation and teamwork between the Government, the CLICO Shareholders, and the taxpayers of this nation.

2) The increased involvement of the Central Bank in the said discussions.

3) The full use of the Cabinet-appointed inter-ministerial committee to meet with stakeholders across the country on a timed, organized basis, so as to get more suggestions in solving this issue.

4) The use of the ‘special cases hotline’ set up by the Minister of Finance, so that persons with emergency and dyer cases can have their needs addressed urgently.

5) The introduction of sixty day timeline within which the government, the CLICO shareholders and other relevant authorities shall collectively work on a solution. After this period, they shall present their consensus to the nation for public input and begin implementation where necessary.

The COP YOUth Congress hopes that the proposals recommended herein are duly considered, and will continue to monitor the issue on behalf of CLICO shareholders and taxpayers everywhere.

Kieron Joseph Samaroo

Chairman, COP YOUth Congress.

National Executive Member, Congress of the People.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 26th, 2010, 11:11 am

Why is it that whenever a govt doing sheit and the affected people complain about it they does say is politically motivated ? De PNM used to do the same nonsense.

I am a COP member and supporter. However, if somebody doing sheit, i will say dey doin sheit, I not covering up for nobody.

I am still a COP supporter regardless, but if more sheit take place that cud change.

Postby bushwakka » October 26th, 2010, 11:26 am

djaggs wrote:CLICO investors money was used to purchase/build the assets of CLICO, including build those methanol plants. NOT TAXPAYERS DOLLARS. CLICO investors have a right to make a claim against those assets to recover their money. The govt has no right to introduce legislation to infringe our rights to take action to recover our money. CLICO investors have more rights to those assets than the so called taxpayers whose money was not used to build those assets. What u are saying is that all the people who put their money into those assets have no rights and can have their money forfeited just so because somebody wants to control those assets. You dont have to be a lawyer to see the illegality of this thing. If this goes to court the policy holders will win.

exactly, when the shiet hit the fan with the CL financial fiasco, Methanol, Ammonia & Urea prices were at an all time low, so low that it caused the M5000 plant to go on shutdown. At todays prices, these commodities have more than tripled in price......the profits generated by the new AUM complex, AX and MX plants will go a long way to paying off depositors......not this firesale sheit our backside PM was talkin abt

djaggs wrote:Why is it that whenever a govt doing sheit and the affected people complain about it they does say is politically motivated ? De PNM used to do the same nonsense.

I am a COP member and supporter. However, if somebody doing sheit, i will say dey doin sheit, I not covering up for nobody.

I am still a COP supporter regardless, but if more sheit take place that cud change.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 26th, 2010, 11:43 am

I'm fedup of all this sheit with CLICO.....the gov't has no right in using taxpayer money to bail out this PRIVATE enterprise. All the persons who invested in CLICO when you signed any agreement I'm sure it was between you and CLICO or CL Financial NOT the GORTT. The govt should pull out of this business and tell the Clico shareholders/policy holders to take up the matter with Clico/CL Financial.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 26th, 2010, 12:06 pm

ek4ever wrote:I'm fedup of all this sheit with CLICO.....the gov't has no right in using taxpayer money to bail out this PRIVATE enterprise. All the persons who invested in CLICO when you signed any agreement I'm sure it was between you and CLICO or CL Financial NOT the GORTT. The govt should pull out of this business and tell the Clico shareholders/policy holders to take up the matter with Clico/CL Financial.

DAMN RIGHT!- why i must help pay for other peoples investment?

STEUPS!

Postby sMASH » October 26th, 2010, 12:15 pm

take back out my tax, and allyuh go and sell de palm plant and light bulbs or what ever floats ur selfish,clueless,ungrateful emo little boats.

in nigeria, the gov't did not bail out the bank, they jailed the directors and let the bank fall.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 26th, 2010, 12:20 pm

^^ yup but ent the biggest former director of clico say hes currently unwell and undergoing emergency medical attention so leave he the hell out of it?

so who yuh wanna bring down Buck tooth Kar Nu Te????

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 26th, 2010, 12:39 pm

bushwakka wrote:

exactly, when the shiet hit the fan with the CL financial fiasco, Methanol, Ammonia & Urea prices were at an all time low, so low that it caused the M5000 plant to go on shutdown. At todays prices, these commodities have more than tripled in price......the profits generated by the new AUM complex, AX and MX plants will go a long way to paying off depositors......not this firesale sheit our backside PM was talkin abt

djaggs wrote:Why is it that whenever a govt doing sheit and the affected people complain about it they does say is politically motivated ? De PNM used to do the same nonsense.

Clico energy is not part of the "company" that the government has acquired. When the PNM initially bailed out clico, Clico energy was not part of it and infact clico energy was sold to proman and man ferrostal.....the government has shares in these companies which were independent of clico energy's shares......

N200 and CNC are the only plants under the "clico energy" umbrella which was paid off already....

Postby Country_Bookie » October 26th, 2010, 2:22 pm

The point that u missing here is that it doh only have EFPA holders to pay off. U have regular life insurance policy holders, the registered annuity holders (EFPAs were unregistered, see my earlier posts), and everyone who had their pensions with CLICO. Then u have the creditors of CLICO, i.e. people who lent money to CLICO by way of bonds. The assets that CLICO owns cannot pay off all these people, plus all the EFPAs. The shortfall is approx. $12 Billion. If the gov’t has to pay everyone 100% of their investment then we have to find another $12B from a budget of $49B. How exactly do u propose the govt find this additional $12B, which represents 25% of our national budget?

On the matter of court action, if u take the matter to court, the creditors will get paid first, since the legal documents dictate that they have first lien on the assets which were pledged as security for the bonds. The EFPA was an unsecured deposit, so EFPA policy holders would likely be last in line to receive payments. So ya’ll can go to court if u don’t like the gov’t offer, but ur unlikely to get anything better than the $75K & 20 year bonds being offered. Remember there’s a $12Bn shortfall, and ur at the end of the line of a long list of ppl that are owed money.

ninjamage

Postby ninjamage » October 26th, 2010, 3:15 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:

The point that u missing here is that it doh only have EFPA holders to pay off. U have regular life insurance policy holders, the registered annuity holders (EFPAs were unregistered, see my earlier posts), and everyone who had their pensions with CLICO. Then u have the creditors of CLICO, i.e. people who lent money to CLICO by way of bonds. The assets that CLICO owns cannot pay off all these people, plus all the EFPAs. The shortfall is approx. $12 Billion. If the gov’t has to pay everyone 100% of their investment then we have to find another $12B from a budget of $49B. How exactly do u propose the govt find this additional $12B, which represents 25% of our national budget?

On the matter of court action, if u take the matter to court, the creditors will get paid first, since the legal documents dictate that they have first lien on the assets which were pledged as security for the bonds. The EFPA was an unsecured deposit, so EFPA policy holders would likely be last in line to receive payments. So ya’ll can go to court if u don’t like the gov’t offer, but ur unlikely to get anything better than the $75K & 20 year bonds being offered. Remember there’s a $12Bn shortfall, and ur at the end of the line of a long list of ppl that are owed money.

Actually, if it goes to court, all POLICYHOLDERS falling under the Ins. Act's section on Stat. Funds, INCLUDING EFPAs, will be paid first. Other creditors then line up. Read the Act nuh.

ninjamage

Postby ninjamage » October 26th, 2010, 4:12 pm

Wrt the constant questioning that EFPAs were covered by the Statutory Funds, please see the report here: http://www.ccmf-uwi.org/files/publicati ... Update.pdf

The Govt has stated in the 2011 Budget in Parliament on 08SEP2010 that there are "long term traditional" policies and EFPAs. The Govt also stated that the former amounts to $6B TT and the latter $12B TT. BUT the Govt has lumped together in that $12B EFPAs and CSIs etc., when ONLY the EFPAs were covered in the Stat. Fund, hence the total of approx $18B.

The Statutory Fund as at end 2008 (see link) has a value of $11.627B TT, the liability to "Long term policyholders TT" is $16.740B TT, which is a deficit of $5.113B TT. Please note that "Long term policyholders TT" include EFPAs. The CBTT declared that all policies are essentially guaranteed and allowed Clico to continue selling EFPAs! Yes, I mean after Jan. 2009.

If the EFPAs are not covered by the Statutory Fund, then there was no deficit! The fund has been in surplus all along!

Postby toyolink » October 26th, 2010, 7:44 pm

This is a real mess and after the debacle of the late 70's-80's when people lost life savings and heart-attacks ,strokes and suicides were the order of the day i prayed we would have learnt.A key lesson from that time which will happen is that people cannot get when there is none to give.Conversations,discussions and negotiations will yield results which will be determined by what in tangible terms is in the states kitty.History unfortunately has seemed to teach us very little.
Who is the gov't of the day really does not matter when an economy is about to enter convulsions since we have nothiny else to replace the spectacular down-turn of our energy fortunes.
I sincerely hope somethiny happens to quickly to change our revenue fortunes or its going to be a real mess again.The pain of people trapped in the clico net is difficult to witness-'I KEEP HEARING THE SAYING THAT IF SOMETHING IS TO GOOD TO BE TRUE IT NORMALLY ENT'.

Postby bushwakka » October 29th, 2010, 11:10 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
bushwakka wrote:

Clico energy is not part of the "company" that the government has acquired. When the PNM initially bailed out clico, Clico energy was not part of it and infact clico energy was sold to proman and man ferrostal.....the government has shares in these companies which were independent of clico energy's shares......

N200 and CNC are the only plants under the "clico energy" umbrella which was paid off already....

yea, well u know what confusing meh.....this

http://guardian.co.tt/business/business ... liquidated" target="_blank

read the last 2 paragraphs in the article if nothing else.......

according to this, proman and MAN do not own MHTL....Clico still does :?

Postby Country_Bookie » October 29th, 2010, 11:47 pm

Clico annuities illegal’
By Andre Bagoo Friday, October 29 2010

CLICO’s controversial annuity product, the executive flexible premium annuity (EFPA), was “illegal” and designed to give Clico a competitive advantage by avoiding the deposit of reserve requirements of the Central Bank, a lawyer this week argued.

In a legal opinion prepared pro bono publico, commercial attorney IW Harracksingh argues that while the EFPA was billed as an annuity, it was in fact a fixed deposit. As such, purported policyholders of this Clico product would not be able to enforce payment in court against the state, according to the attorney, as the courts will not enforce illegal contracts.

The EFPAs account for about 24,000 out of 250,000 policyholders now in talks with the State for payment. Alone, the EFPA holders account for $12 billion in outstanding sums. Non-EFPA policy holders account for about half that amount.

“Bearing in mind that it is trite law that the law looks at the substance and not the form, this alleged ‘annuity’ is in effect a disguised fixed deposit/certificate of deposit for which, financial institutions are statutorily required to deposit a reserve with the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago,” Harracksingh, an attorney of almost forty years’ standing, argues in an opinion dated October 27.

“Thus, Clico was able to compete with the other Financial Institutions on an uneven playing field which (by offering higher interest rates) doubtlessly resulted in attracting more deposits than the other institutions (who were complying with the law),” he says in the three-page document disclosed to Newsday.

“The State may therefore successfully argue that those so called ‘annuities’ were issued to circumvent the statutory reserve requirement for fixed deposits and therefore ‘illegal’ and as we are all aware of the legal maxim ex turpi causa non oritur actio – ie from a foul cause, no action arises, the Court will not therefore enforce illegal contracts.”

“Therefore, the EFPA holder would not qualify for state relief as they are not bona fide insurance policy contracts within the law,” he concludes. The lawyers’s findings will deepen concern over the failure of the State to properly regulate Clico and to police the products offered by Clico to the general public, notwithstanding the provisions of the Insurance Act.

Harracksingh details how the EFPA products are structured, noting that:

a) The “annuitant” makes an up front payment of a capital sum eg $100,000.

b) Clico agrees to repay the sum after three – five years with interest at 12 percent per annum payable monthly.

c) This means that the annuitant will now receive a monthly income of $1,000 for the next three – five years and at the end of such period, he will be repaid the capital sum of $100,000. (In the event of death, the estate of the annuitant will receive these benefits).

The Cabinet is today due to deliberate on proposals made by the Clico Policyholders Group in relation to outstanding policies. The Group has given the State a deadline of one week to made an offer after proposing the payment of an initial lump sum of 40 percent. It has threatened legal action, prompting the State to this month consider draft legislation which could shield it from legal action.

But Harracksingh, in his opinion, argues that Clico should not be shielded by the State against legal action, as this would be against public policy.

“It may also be successfully argued that for the State to indemnify Clico would be contrary to public policy,” he notes, pointing out that the State would have a defence of illegality in relation to attempts to enforce a contract.

“Notwithstanding the recent proposed legislation to bar legal action by policy holders (which has not been pursued), the State will still have these options (however unpopular) to exploit,” he said.

The attorney noted that policyholders would be able to pursue actions directly against the management of Clico in relation to their policies.

“At the end of it all, the State/policy holders will still have recourse against the management of Clico for fraud and/or misrepresentation and also under the provisions of the companies Act Ch 81:01 ss. 436 & 447 – liability of Officers for knowingly trading while insolvent,” he said.

The EFPAs–which date to the early 2000s — have raised eyebrows in legal and financial circles, with some questioning the role of the Central Bank as the product picked-up popularity over the years.

Section 24 of the Insurance Act notes that, “Every company registered under this Act to carry on any class of insurance business shall, at least one month prior to the date of the issue of a new form of policy...furnish the Central Bank with a copy of the standard form of policy or of the standard form of endorsement or of the form of application.”

http://www.newsday.co.tt/business/0,129951.html

Postby sMASH » October 30th, 2010, 1:36 am

when govt had was to bail out clico, they needed to bail out clico investments and the insurance part. the energy was profitable, even in the recession, though not as profitable as before.
the pnm made a deal to bail out the parts that needed bailing out, except the energy. they took over the energy, until dupre could buy it back at the price they paid him for it.

the reason for taking over the energy was to get the mhtl. while the gov't was delivering the news to the public, that patos finally acquired his long pined for methanol, mhtl was secretly sold off to the germans.

proman had significant share before, and they bought the other significant shares after. they may still be housed in clico energy, but controlling share is held by proman

so after all the swindling of the public tax money, which should have been going to a hospital so i could get better when i get sick, but i dont get that sick, so tantie could get better when she get sick, he still did not get his methanol. and to boot he lost the gov't.

pnm do real sheit wit dis country, from the people to the culture, to the mindset, to the economy, to the security, to the medical system, to the environment. the highest aspiration of the majority pnm voter base is to live off of a gov't handout.

how to spoil a country.... put the house slaves to run the house. if we had held off independence until now, may be now we would have been mature and selfless enough to govern our selves as citizens, and then we would have seen that independence would hinder our progress.
eric, damn arse.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 30th, 2010, 8:29 am

^^ thank you....

john public isnt aware of the proman deal......so many hidden facts about that "bail out" the pnm did....

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » October 30th, 2010, 9:26 am

Get you facts straight after the bailout Clico acquired all of shares in Republic Bank & MHTL that CL owned.

Duprey tried to sell off Clico Energy (i.e. IPSL) to Proman.

Postby bushwakka » October 30th, 2010, 9:57 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:^^ thank you....

john public isnt aware of the proman deal......so many hidden facts about that "bail out" the pnm did....

any response to this Aaron? i read an article that confirmed what u were saying abt Proman and MAN having majority in the plants before.....but the below link seems to contradict that

http://guardian.co.tt/business/business ... liquidated

ninjamage

Postby ninjamage » November 1st, 2010, 12:49 am

I had undertood that CBTT went to court to stop/void that deal, since the shareholding had already been pledged to the GORTT and Duprey no longer had the authority to sell when he signed off with proman. It is still officially CL's.

Postby sMASH » November 1st, 2010, 9:01 am

one of the other messes that came out at that time. allyuh tink iz joke bobbol went orn dere!!!!

the gov't stepping in to bail out a private institution is improper at best, and after that, is if manning's ink dry faster than proman's

the only reason why this is no laughing matter like some con-artists trying to con con-artists while being conned themselves in the guardian's odd spot, is because of the amount of money and the number of person's financial futures being affected

look at them as ah set ah ole tief and it makes more sense

Postby pugboy » November 3rd, 2010, 4:32 pm

So Uncle Ewart comes out and admits today that they did find CL in fish business years ago but they(regulators) could not do anything and they had meetings with CL about this.

why did he then take out his money ?
why did Karen take out hers ?

Postby bushwakka » November 3rd, 2010, 5:52 pm

^doesn't matter....no one high up will be held accountable in this banana republic....

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » November 3rd, 2010, 10:26 pm

The fact that the pp who is currently the GORTT, tried to introduce legislation to prevent a citizen the constitutional right to seek redress against any present or future GORTT after the Minister made the statements in the budget presentation, tells me that if this thing reaches litigation, an example will be made of the GORTT.

Another option to the policyholders, may be to give them the equivalent in shares in the assets that CLICO holds. It is unlawful for the GORTT to take control of the assets without also accepting the liabilities as well.

Postby sMASH » November 3rd, 2010, 10:52 pm

bushwakka wrote:^doesn't matter....no one high up will be held accountable in this banana republic....

part of the reason i tried or hoped so much to get at least some COP in the gov't was to force some sorta criminal investigation into the clico fiasco. when economies nice and have a high amount of 'disposability' like our before the turn down, every thing nice. but systems set up based on that premise cannot sustain them selves and as soon as a situation arises where they need to sustain them selves, like they turn down, they fail.

we need to have systems set up with most of the fat trimmed, operating at most efficient in good and bad economic times, with surplus in the good economic times being just that, surplus.
for all u bible readers, 7 years of plenty and 7 years of famine.

Postby sMASH » November 3rd, 2010, 11:00 pm

what would have happened if the gov't did not step in?

the on paper, official intention for stepping in was just not to let the company fall, as many financial entities' interests are vested in clico. the liabilities that u speak about, may not apply. they did not take it over to make a profit from it, just simply to inject some liquidity to keep it afloat until things settle out.

i simply cannot see the justification for my tax dollars not going towards some hospital, orphanage, social well fare program, and going towards paying back some investors who demand their investments after what they have invested in went belly up, from a body which really had no obligation to step in any way.

ninjamage

Postby ninjamage » November 25th, 2010, 8:34 am

FYI: http://www.darkgiggle.com/wp-content/up ... e-EFPA.pdf

A report that EVERYONE with an insurance policy (Clico or any other Co.) should read. I suspect if the Govt had not stepped in, CBTT SHOULD have made an application to the courts for judicial management leading to liquidation, and the policyholders (ALL of them including EFPAs) would have been paid FIRST (regardless of encumbrances) and anything left then paid to other creditors as the court sees just. The court has no discretion with regard to policyholders being paid first. ALL of the laws and regulations governing this situation are based on PROTECTING the policyholder. A liquidation application would not be tied up in court the way another application would. EVERY OTHER Caribbean Govt understood the DUTY to protect the policyholder and moved immediately to do so, despite their financial circumstances. The new TT Govt, chose to vilify the victims and accept no responsibility, ducking their DUTY to protect the people.

I agree with Garrett Inside, should it go to court, an example would be made of this Govt.

The end result would be in quick time and the follow-on effects would dissolve the CLF group. 25% of GDP? GONE.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 25th, 2010, 8:44 am

I agree, it should go to Court.

Remember too, it was depositors money, not tax payers that created that extra 25% GDP.
Last edited by djaggs on November 25th, 2010, 8:47 am, edited 1 time in total.