PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Virus

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Virus » November 6th, 2010, 12:23 pm

sanjeev1990 wrote:i goin wit the mid tower....which mobo wud be better?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813128444

OR

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813186199

Go with the GIGABYTE its alot better in terms of over head

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 6th, 2010, 2:51 pm

i never even heard of Foxconn :shock:

Virus

Postby Virus » November 6th, 2010, 2:52 pm

gracen wrote:i never even heard of Foxconn :shock:

You cant be serious?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 6th, 2010, 2:59 pm

lol i serious

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 6th, 2010, 3:10 pm

Fellaz i looking for a battery for My UPS. It has 28W on the 12V Rail and it looks something like this. Anyone knows where i can get one locally?

Virus

Postby Virus » November 6th, 2010, 3:52 pm

Informatics Engineering
179 Caroni Savannah Road
Charlieville
Chaguanas,
(868) 672-4272

The battery your looking for is a 12-7 hit them a call the are APC dealers, Also you can try The Wizz

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 6th, 2010, 3:59 pm

thanks man

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » November 6th, 2010, 6:23 pm

gracen wrote:i never even heard of Foxconn :shock:

doh wry only heard bout this brand bout a month ago reading some review mobo seem quite unstable

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » November 6th, 2010, 6:23 pm

but some are really good btw

xaira

Postby xaira » November 6th, 2010, 7:56 pm

foxconn is the largest supplier of boards/sockets in the world, most oems buy from them, they have a very comfortable market position so they rarely put great effort into design, biostar/ecs/jetway are some good bargain brands

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » November 7th, 2010, 2:09 pm

well guess i'll start ordering them and start my build...wiil keep u guys posted :)

Postby M_2NR » November 7th, 2010, 3:31 pm

Postby bushwakka » November 7th, 2010, 3:39 pm

HCCA wrote:
bushwakka wrote:go for a full twr.....u wud not regret it.....having all that space and all that coolability

Not necessarily eh.

I've owned both the CM 690 and HAF 922 cases already and they are big enough to hold the longest video cards as well as they have exceptional cooling capabilities.

The best use for a full tower is if you want to install a large number of hard drives, optical drives or liquid cooling equipment in the case.. Else a mid tower should be suitable for everything else.

i still disagree, the full tower is easier to work with and most IMO provide better flow of air......as i cannot quantitatively prove this, i will just agree to disagree with you on this

gracen wrote:you should get an ATI card since it's an AMD Motherboard just in case you decide to do Crossfire in the future

he shudda just get ah X58 board then he cudda crossfire or sli
but i remember when i was buying my board, i had grand plans to sli one day so i spent the money future proofing it......but truth is, even if i were to sli now, my board is now so old, that the benefit may seem little

so the best advice to him wud be either buy a single card that he likes right now and is fully compatible with his board (be it nvidia or ati)

or

spend the money upfront and get 2 cards straight away.....no use waiting for the board to get old then xfire

my 2c

Virus

Postby Virus » November 7th, 2010, 4:03 pm

Nvidia does it again but that gpu is no secret just waiting to see how good it is nice vid M_2NR

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 7th, 2010, 4:14 pm

M_2NR wrote:

Good find man

can't wait for this thing to come out to see its specifications

i wonder if its better than the 5970 :shock: :shock: :shock:

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » November 7th, 2010, 7:38 pm

Postby M_2NR » November 7th, 2010, 7:44 pm

um that's the gf100 line.. aka the 4xx

not the 460 though... that's gf104.

I figure the new "580" might be a hardcore gf104 or a new series...

and sanjeev... i dont really trust the zotac.. but the giga got better reviews

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125333&cm_re=460GTX_1GB-_-14-125-333-_-Product

what happened to the 68xx ATI plan?

Postby bushwakka » November 7th, 2010, 9:57 pm

^x2 abt the zotac.....

btw M_2NR......i seemed to have delayed the demise of my 9800 gtx+ by turning up the fan speed a bit using the Precision utility.....haven't gotten any more errors yet, so i assume the probs were caused by overheating

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » November 7th, 2010, 10:09 pm

M_2NR wrote:um that's the gf100 line.. aka the 4xx

not the 460 though... that's gf104.

I figure the new "580" might be a hardcore gf104 or a new series...

and sanjeev... i dont really trust the zotac.. but the giga got better reviews

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125333&cm_re=460GTX_1GB-_-14-125-333-_-Product

what happened to the 68xx ATI plan?

aye thanks alot same price for the card was goin ati but didnt bother well i'm gonna start ordering i shud run my parts by u guys one last time....

Postby bushwakka » November 7th, 2010, 11:08 pm

why the adata ram tho? even tho it carries a lifetime warranty, u wud have to spend money RMAing if something untoward happens....also from what i read its budget ram

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » November 7th, 2010, 11:17 pm

bushwakka wrote:why the adata ram tho? even tho it carries a lifetime warranty, u wud have to spend money RMAing if something untoward happens....also from what i read its budget ram

hmmm any recommendations?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » November 8th, 2010, 5:42 am

sanjeev1990 wrote:i goin wit the mid tower....which mobo wud be better?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813128444

OR

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813186199

Between those 2, the foxconn has better specs IF you are planning to use crossfire. However I not seeing any great reviews on it, nor any USB 3.0 support either.

The gigabyte one might be better for using a single graphics card.

Graphics cards: if your choices are only between the HD5770 and GTX 460, the 460 (768MB) beats the 5770 in most games and was cheaper, but since amd revised their pricing, they are around the same price. The HD 6850 is faster than both but cost more.

Cpu: Some games utilize the L3 cache which the Athlon series do not come with. You might want to check out some of the Phenom II

Case: You could check out the NZXT Lexa S and Tempest Evo

Ram: you could check out the G.Skill Ripjaws/Trident, Mushkin Blackline, Kingston HyperX, Patriot Gamer/Viper series, which are better than the budget RAM which these same manufacturers also have. There are also even higher performance models eg. G.Skill Flare/Pi series, Mushkin Radioactive etc. but they are more expensive. And I think most (if not all) manufacturers give lifetime warranty.

Power Supply: The one you posted (CM 600M) has 40A on the 12V rail. There is also a CoolerMaster 650GX power supply which has 52A on the 12V rail and it is the same price but non-modular.

Hard drive: The hard drive you posted is sata 3.0 and not 6.0 and it is re-certified. I not saying you HAVE to get a sata 6.0 drive, but a brand new 3.0 drive is not much more $$$ than the one you posted

Virus

Postby Virus » November 8th, 2010, 5:47 am

sanjeev1990 i dont agree with some of those parts here's my recommendation subjected to correction /an or budget

You had Asus DVD-RW (ermmm no eh go supertech get yourself a Samsung its about $175)
heres how it looks for reference
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827151175

Am ok with your case since its basically about your preference

Your HD come on who thinks about being green get yourself a Black WD better performance just for a few bucks more
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136533

Mobo Win!!!!! i have no suggestions unless you wanted the ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 which has more overhead

GPU ermmm no eh EVGA has a better line up and not forgetting the lifetime warranty with 24/7 tech support plus look at resale you can even go with the 465

PSU thats fine by me any single 12v rail will make any system stand up to the test

Your ram again no eh go with the XMS3 again more head room
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145251

Now your cpu is the only thing not adding up i would have definitely gone for some sorta black edition like the 940 i think FCTT and supertech still has them for around $1525 again its up to your budget and performance needs so i will just agree to disagree for now

So you take your pick bro enjoy your build

xaira

Postby xaira » November 8th, 2010, 7:22 am

gtx 580 is just a gtx 480 with all the stream processors unlocked, so u getting 512 stream processors this rounds,latest news says the 6970 will have 1536 stream processors so we should be seeing a 30-50% performance increase over the 6870, more texture units also, but it looks like they sticking with 32 ROPS,i was really hoping for 64 this time :(

@sanjeev, you might want to go caviar black instead of caviar green

and although you seem to really like adata ram, u might be more comfortable with crucial or kingston

Postby bushwakka » November 8th, 2010, 10:38 am

sanjeev1990 wrote:
bushwakka wrote:why the adata ram tho? even tho it carries a lifetime warranty, u wud have to spend money RMAing if something untoward happens....also from what i read its budget ram

hmmm any recommendations?

stick to brands like Corsair, G.Skill, Crucial & patriot and some others

i bought Corsair Ram cuz it is widely pushed by amazon (i like buying from there)

i wudnt even go kingston cuz they tend to push a lot of budget ram which makes me think otherwise abt them

virus has some good recommendations for u......
i wud stick with the evga 460 gtx.....

Postby M_2NR » November 8th, 2010, 5:34 pm

just make sure at the end of the day YOU CHECK the compatibility list for that motherboard wrt to RAM k?

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » November 8th, 2010, 6:00 pm

HCCA

Postby HCCA » November 8th, 2010, 6:21 pm

The ram bess for the price, i think the Tri core will be better if ur gaming cuz of the L3 cache, the quad good for gaming as well but best for other tasks such as video encoding and stuff.

Why an IDE dvdrw drive though? Best to get ah sata one locally. Supertech have them for $130 each eh.