Oleander

Re: *:::*CHRISTMAS MEGA THREAD 2010*:::*

Postby Oleander » November 8th, 2010, 6:35 pm

gundelero

Postby gundelero » November 8th, 2010, 7:41 pm

oooooooh yeeeaaaaa.... the most wonderful time of the year.
Thanks for starting the Christmas thread Oleander

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 8th, 2010, 8:02 pm

Origins of Eggnog
Eggnog. The drink that stirs up memories for most people, either you love it or hate it. Either way you feel, you must admit it has become embedded in our holiday traditions. If you have tried it and found it to be distasteful maybe you just haven’t had GOOD eggnog.

The word itself does not have much appeal, the guttural sound and the thought of drinking egg doesn’t sound very appetizing to most. There are differing opinions as to the origin of the name for this famous drink. One version says that *** derives from an Old English word for strong beer, hence “noggin”. Another version attributes the name to Colonial America where colonists referred to thick drinks as “grog” and eggnog as “egg-and-grog”. Either way, we know it today as Eggnog.

Europe:
It is believed that the eggnog tradition began in Europe as an adaptation of the various milk and wine punches often served at social gatherings. In the 17th century, eggnog was used as a toast to one’s health and was consumed by the well-to-do of society as milk and eggs were scarce commodities in Europe.

The New World:
When the brew was brought to the “New World,” colonists added a new twist, rum. The rum Americans could get from the Caribbean was considerably less expensive than the other liquors shipped from England. And so, along with the readily available supply of milk and eggs in the colonies, the rum version quickly became a popular drink for people of all classes.

Variations:
As a rich, spicy and (oh yes) alcoholic drink, eggnog soon became a familiar item during the holiday season across the growing nation. Each region would adapt the drink to their personal tastes. Even George Washington devised his own version of the brew which only the most courageous would partake using rye whiskey, rum and sherry.
In the south, Southern taste replaced rum with bourbon. And when the brew reached Latin America even more adaptations were made; in Puerto Rico coconut juice or milk was added, in Mexico eggnog became a harder liqueur to be sipped with the addition of Mexican cinnamon and rum or grain alcohol, and in Peru it was made with the Peruvian pomace brandy called pisco.

Noggin' Now:
The basic recipe for eggnog has not changed over the years (eggs beaten with sugar, milk, cream and some kind of spirit) and remains a favorite for holiday parties. Whatever the variation of the popular holiday drink, it is sure to be a winner with most of your holiday guests. However, for those who wish to go “nogless,” there are other warm spirited drinks that are sure to be a hit as well and lift everyone’s holiday spirits.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 8th, 2010, 11:56 pm

No need for all the gifts...

Wish i coulda see my moms for the Christmas :cry: .
Nice thread Ole...

Postby Cjruckus » November 9th, 2010, 12:49 am

I love this poster:

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 9th, 2010, 2:01 pm

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 9th, 2010, 6:40 pm

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 9th, 2010, 6:56 pm

Christmas in Trinidad and Tobago

According to historical records Christmas was first observed in Trinidad in 1569. The festival was celebrated by six priests of the order of Observantines headed by Fr. Miguel Diosdados (Reyes). They visited several villages and were treated to local cuisine.

Christmas in Trinidad and Tobago is a very joyous occasion. Families commemorate the birth of Jesus Christ by going to church. For many this means an annual pilgrimage to church on Christmas Eve to celebrate Midnight Mass. Christmas is also a memorable event that is celebrated by large gatherings of families and friends. Sumptuous meals are prepared, and visitors are invited to partake of the feast. These visitors include not only friends and family, but also those groups of people who go from house to house serenading the members of the home with indigeneous Spanish carols, known as Parang.

These groups, similar to European and American carollers, are called Paranderos, and they sing traditional Parang songs. They trek through neighbourhoods, evoking the spirit of the season with joyful melodies and infectious rhythms. The cuatro, bass box, mandolin, ‘chac-chac’ (maracas), flutes, tambourines, guitar and other instruments are all used to accompany the Paranderos. The vibrant rhythms of Parang music encourage one and all to sing along. The Paranderos are rewarded for their performances with Christmas food & drink offered by the host of the house.

Traditional food served at Christmas time consists of generous helpings of ham, turkey, pastelles, fruit cake, sweet breads, and other selected delicacies, along with traditional drinks such as sorrel, ginger beer, and ponche de crème.

Christmas is a very important time in Trinidad &Tobago. It is the fusion of the end of year excitement while ushering the imminent carnival season. It is a time when loved ones gather to reminisce on the past year while celebrating the presence of each other. It is a time of food and drink, music and celebration, and peace and love, as the birth of Christ is honoured and celebrated.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 9th, 2010, 7:18 pm

Tobago’s Christmas differs from Trinidad’s
By Janelle De Souza, Newsday News, Sunday, December 16th 2007

“There are only one or two differences between Christmas in Trinidad and Christmas in Tobago,” said Tobagonian Lorna Douglas, fondly known as Miss Lorna. However, upon further discussion with Miss Lorna, I came to realise that the few differences involved were major ones.

For instance, parang is not yet popular in Tobago.

“We’re now getting into parang because the Tobago House of Assembly is bringing over parang bands as free entertainment for villagers on weekends,” said Lorna. No parang? No. No ‘chac-chac’, tambourines and no badly pronounced Spanish lyrics.

Tobago’s Christmas is not bereft of seasonal music however. From the week before Christmas, groups of musicians go from house to house playing the bottle and spoon, cuatro and guitar. singing old Christmas calypsos and hoping to be fed ham and other seasonal treats — just like paranderos. Village and church choirs also go from door to door singing traditional Christmas carols and collecting donations for various church groups and charities.

While pastelle is staple in Trinidad’s Christmas, it is not so in Tobago. You can probably find them if you look hard enough but these delicious meat-filled cornmeal delicacies are rare in the sister isle. Instead, Tobagonians enjoy paime (or paimee, paimie — however you wish to spell it). This is similar to pastelles but without the meat filling.

Lorna explained that long ago, fresh corn would be grated to make this tasty dish but this is no longer the case. Ingredients include cornmeal, coconut milk, spices (nutmeg, clove powder and cinnamon), sugar, raisins and pumpkin (grated or steamed and mashed) to “make the paime tight.” It is then flattened and wrapped in leaves Tobagonians call “paime bush” which was described to me as resembling the balisier leaf but more round in shape.

As is the case in Trinidad, everyone in the village prepares for Christmas by cleaning up, painting their homes, baking black cake and coconut sweet bread and making sorrel, ponche de creme and ginger beer. However, as Lorna explained, they use creole ginger which is smaller than the ginger used in Trinidad and much spicier. She said creole ginger more closely resembles the ginger found in Toco.

Another Tobago tradition is homemade “heavy bread.” Yeast and flour are mixed together to form a batter called leaven. This is left to rise. Separately, flour, salt, sugar, butter and shortening are mixed and a hole is made in the middle of this “dough”. The leaven is placed in the hole and the two mixtures are kneaded together with coconut milk. It is important not to put too much pressure when kneading.

Flour the surface of the dough and leave it to rise for approximately half an hour. Cut the dough into pieces, roll each in flour and leave to rise again. Bake in a dirt oven on a banana leaf and cover with another leaf. For those of us without a dirt oven, Lorna’s instruction is that you grease a baking pan, place the leaves on the pan and continue “but make sure to put a leaf on top too”.

“It’s a tradition to bake in a dirt oven,” Lorna explained. “If you didn’t have one, you’d pack everything up in a bucket and go by a neighbour or nearby family member to use theirs. I’m from Roxborough and in the country we do things differently from the folks in the city.

“They’re more commercialised. It’s just that the smoke from the wood and the bush has an odour that gives the bread and cakes a different taste.”

Lorna also told Newsday that on Christmas Eve, a pork soup is made while putting the final touches to the Christmas decorations and preparations. Also, in Tobago most people rear goats, sheep, chickens, pigs or cows. At Christmas, villagers would slaughter a cow or goat and share the meat among family and close friends.

“In this way everyone will have a portion of beef, pork and mutton. But most of the time, after Christmas, everyone will get tired of meat and eat fish,” she laughed.

While there are “a few” differences between Trinidad’s and Tobago’s Christmases, one thing remains the same — Christmas is about family, friends, love, joy . . . and food.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 15th, 2010, 1:34 pm

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » November 15th, 2010, 3:01 pm

Chemical

Xmas gifts for wife / gf ?

Postby Chemical » November 18th, 2010, 1:35 pm

This time once again :?

What U guys getting for ( possibly / maybe ) your better half .

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Re: Xmas gifts for wife / gf ?

Postby RapToR » November 18th, 2010, 1:36 pm

XBOX 360 + Kinect

Wii + Wii Fit

PS3 + PS Move

Postby ronsin1 » November 18th, 2010, 1:37 pm

perfect present right here

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=343496

Postby Hook » November 18th, 2010, 1:44 pm

Good thing this is just a macco "wha yuh gettin yuh wife?" thread...cuz if anyone has to post here to get ideas for their wife's Christmas present...they should get her a divorce.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 18th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Nothing.

My excuse?

"baby why you so cheap for?"

"Im not cheap babe, Im just embarrassed to be seen with you.

Postby noshownogo » November 18th, 2010, 1:54 pm

RapToR wrote:XBOX 360 + Kinect

Wii + Wii Fit

PS3 + PS Move

:lol: wha you really trying to say here...Christmas morning will play out with wife being excited about Wii then i say "wait there's more!", she opens Wii Fit and then through the most complex chain of events in her brain she shouts "you saying i fat?!"

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 18th, 2010, 1:59 pm

noshownogo wrote:
RapToR wrote:XBOX 360 + Kinect

Wii + Wii Fit

PS3 + PS Move

:lol: wha you really trying to say here...Christmas morning will play out with wife being excited about Wii then i say "wait there's more!", she opens Wii Fit and then through the most complex chain of events in her brain she shouts "you saying i fat?!"

No babe, thats for me and you to spend more time together so we can both play with your wii....

Chemical

Postby Chemical » November 18th, 2010, 2:03 pm

^^Need to get at least one gift MODERATE PRICE as I bought my son his first 8-) Ferrari F430 12V car for US$ 600.00 ! I still have to pay to get it to T'dad.

Last edited by Chemical on November 18th, 2010, 2:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » November 18th, 2010, 2:09 pm

devrat

Postby devrat » November 18th, 2010, 2:14 pm

Chemical make her happy and get her a dildo

Postby SMc » November 18th, 2010, 2:14 pm

webcam/mic combo so she could skype using her own computer.
i forget wha else, hadda write these things down

Chemical

Postby Chemical » November 18th, 2010, 2:25 pm

SMc wrote:webcam/mic combo so she could skype using her own computer.
i forget wha else, hadda write these things down

Its a good idea, but you don't know these women now a days, next thing she cyber skinning for dev
Last edited by Chemical on November 18th, 2010, 2:46 pm, edited 2 times in total.

devrat

Postby devrat » November 18th, 2010, 2:30 pm

Dude...was serious, buying a dildo for your wife does not make you less of a man, quite the opposite, toys take the experience to a new level....she will love you for it.