Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 3rd, 2010, 11:48 am

never got any clutch problems on mine

ravist

Postby ravist » October 15th, 2010, 9:20 am

Ah flecking pink Nissan Diesel truck hit meh bumper by tobago ferry....The cyat say he had load so he could not stop... :x :x :x
Last edited by ravist on January 7th, 2015, 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 15th, 2010, 11:41 am

!!!!
how bad the damage is, thaz a hard luck there boy ravist

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 16th, 2010, 1:48 am

Ah flecking pink Nissan Diesel truck mash the back of my van by the tobago ferry intersection on tuesday this week....The cyat say he had load so he could not stop... :x :x :x

Still no excuse that he couldn't stop.
Any driver of a goods laden vehicle should drive at an appropriate speed so that should an emergency stop be required, he has enough room to stop the vehicle without hitting the car/vehicle in front of him. Same goes for behind, he shouldn't be driving and then suddenly braking too abruptly for cars behind him to have enough room to stop.

He's still at fault - he shouldn't have been tailgating, or at least he should have driven slowly enough so he could have stopped in time, no matter if he was laden or unladen.

Did you make a report to the police? You should file a claim with your insurance company - you'd be in the right in this kind of situation.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 16th, 2010, 3:17 am

For those who want the complete specification on our local D40 Navara LE, here's a page with some a comprehensive list of information:

This is for the 2.5 Dci, 4x4 Manual Nissan Navara LE (same as what we get at N&M)

http://www.um.co.za/specifications/nissan_navara_2_5dci_4x4_d_cab_le_%282009%29.aspx

NISSAN NAVARA 2.5dCI 4x4 D/CAB LE
nissan navara 2.5dci 4x4 d/cab le specifications
nissan navara 2.5dci 4x4 d/cab le
Make nissan
Model navara
Variant 2.5dci 4x4 d/cab le

4x4 / All Wheel Drive Specific

Altimeter no
Approach Angle 29
Compass no
Compass Detail no
Departure Angle 22
Descent Control no
Diff Lock yes
Diff Lock Position rear

Gradient (Incline) 39
Low Range yes
Rollover Angle (Slant) 49.8
Ramp Angle (Break Over) 162
Ride Height Control no
Self Leveling Suspension no
Wading Depth 450
Full Time 4x4 no
Sliding Rear Window (LDV) no
Incline Meter no
Dimensions and Weight
Boot Capacity 0
Load 933
Length 5220
Ground Clearance 235
Gross Laden Mass 2805
Height 1887
Licencing Mass 1962
Width 1850

Engine and Gearbox
Engine Layout transverse inline 4
Cylinders 4
Aspiration turbocharged
Valves dohc 4 valves per cylinder
Bore / Stroke 89.0x100.0
Capacity 2488
Compression Ratio 16.5:1
Ignition Type compression
Gearbox Details 6-speed manual
Hybrid / Clutchless no
Number of Gears 6
Manual / Automatic manual

Maintenance and Warranty
Maintenance / Service Plan service
Maintenance / Service Exclusions
Maintenance / Service Distance 100000
Maintenance / Service Plan Time 36
Oil Change Intervals 15000
Service Intervals 15000

Service Indicator no
Warranty Distance (Km) 100000
Warranty Period (Months) 36
Warranty 3 year / 100000 km, 3 year anti-corrosion, 3 year / 100000 km service plan

Performance
Fuel Capacity 80
Fuel Consumpsion - Highway 0
Fuel Consumpsion - Urban 0
Consumption Annual Average 7.8
Fuel Type diesel
Fuel Supply common rail direct injection
Acceleration 0-100 Final 0
100 to 0 Seconds 0
Quarter Mile Sprint 0
Top Speed Final 0
Power Output 128kw@4000
Torque 403nm@2000
Auto Traction Control no
Limited Slip Diff no
Towing Capacity (KG) 2000
Turning Circle (Meters) 13.4
Turns Lock to Lock 3.1

Peripherals and Accessories
Air conditioner yes
Automatic Air conditioner no
Climate Control no
Auto Headlamps no
Fog Lamps - Front yes
Fog Lamps - Rear no
Xenon Headlamps no
Remote Side Mirrors yes
Auto Dip Mirrors no
Remote Electric Mirror Memory no
Remote Side Mirrors Electric electric
Electric Windows yes
Electric Window Detail front + rear
Electric Window One-Touch driver
Tinted Side Windows yes
Tinted Windscreen yes
Rear Screen Demister yes
Sliding Roof no
Number of Sliding Roofs 0
Wipers yes
Auto Windscreen Wipers no
Rear Screen Wiper no
Heated Seats no
Electric Seat Adj Detail no
Electric Seat Memory
Electric Seat Adjustment no
Rear Seat Split 60:40 split folding
Headrests - Front yes
Headrests - Rear 3 height adjustable
Hands-Free Phone no
Hands-Free Phone Pre-Wiring yes
Radio And / Or Tape yes
Radio yes
Tape no
CD Player yes
CD Shuttle yes
Multi Function Steering Wheel cruise control
Rev Counter yes
Central Locking remote
Code Start no
On Board Computer no
Cruise Control yes
Cup Holders front + rear
Keyless Entry yes
Park Distance Control - Back no
Park Distance Control - Front no
Satelite Navigation no
Remote Boot Opener no
Remote Fuel Cap Release no

Security and Safety
Security System yes
Alarm no
Immobiliser yes
Impact Tensioning Seat Belts yes
Air Bag - Number 2
Air Bag - Driver yes
Air Bag - Passenger yes
Air Bag - Side no
Air Bag - Detail driver + front passenger
Gearlock no
Hi Level Brake Light yes
Power Steering yes
Roadside Assistance Time 0
Side Impact Protection yes

Styling and Look
Body Style double cab
Body Coloured Bumpers painted
Body Coloured Mirrors chrome
Metallic Paint option
Leather no
Rear Spoiler no
Uncategorized
Class m
Doors 4
Seats 5
Stability no
Type light delivery
Options Group nisnav018

Wheels, Brakes and Steering
ABS yes
Front Brakes 296mm ventilated discs
Rear Brakes 295mm drums
Brake Hydrolics 2 circuits, power assisted, abs, ebd, bas
Handbreak Position between front seats
Alloy Wheels yes
Rim Size - Front 7jj
Rim Size - Rear 7jj
Drive Wheels all
Front Track 1570
Rear Track 1570
Wheel Base 3200
Number of Wheels Driven 4
Tyre Size - Front 255/65 r17
Tyre Size - Rear 255/65 r17
Front Suspension independent, double wishbone, coil over strut
Rear Suspension rigid axle, leaf springs
Steering Type rack and pinion power assisted
Steering Column Reach Adjust no
Steering Column Height / Rake Adjust yes

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2010, 8:58 am

i see it have snorkels for 30 USD for the d40 navara up here yes.

shipping cost is murder though lol

grock

Postby grock » October 17th, 2010, 9:25 pm

my reverse sensors installed by neal and massy malfunctions and never works if my van is wet.....???

Peong

Postby Peong » October 18th, 2010, 8:37 am

Security System yes
Alarm no
Immobiliser yes

lighthammer, can you (or anyone else) explain the difference in the above 3 items? I purchased an alarm system with my Navara because I was told it didn't have one, but in reading the manual, it sounded like the Security System was in fact an alarm system, or at least achieves the same result.

also, the sales rep told me that I have to hold on to the immobilizer remote, because the immobilizer alarm (which is different from the alarm system alarm) "may" occasionally sound off, and the alarm remote won't be able to turn it off. Can anyone explain that to me?

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 18th, 2010, 9:23 am

^^ sometime the horn goes off on its own (siren for the security system)
The key is a coded key, meaning you cannot start the vehicle without it. If you install a remote start system, it won't work unless the key is in the ignition. (immobilizer)

When they mean alarm in the manual, i think they are talking about a system that would arm itself and have a shock sensor etc...

ravist

Postby ravist » October 18th, 2010, 11:35 am

btw, when will n&m start bringing the v6 model????
Last edited by ravist on January 7th, 2015, 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 18th, 2010, 11:42 am

^^ this is how I understand it..

"Alarm - no" - this means the truck doesn't have an alarm in the sense of an AUDIBLE warning system that goes of in case of an unauthorized intrusion or if there is trauma to the vehcile, setting off the shock sensors.

"Immobilizer - yes": this is the default security system incorporated into the truck's ignition/starting system. Usually it's just a coded key with a chip that has to be recognized by the ignition module, before the truck can be started. Even if there is a copy of the key, if the module isn't included then the ignition will not recognize the key and the engine will not tumble.

More often than not, modern vehicles will have a remote entry system aka "keyless entry system" incorporated into the immobilizer, hence you'll be able to unlock the car with a remote. This can also be included with an alarm.

I think that the higher-end Navara's all come with Immobilizer and remote entry keyfob. There's no audible alarm system built in, so if someone breaks into the truck or roughs it up, there won't be the usual "chirp-chirp-chirp" that you'd associate with an alarm.

You can install an aftermarket alarm system if you wish, but IMO it's redundant - unless you want the audible warnings.

Peong

Postby Peong » October 18th, 2010, 4:22 pm

Ok, Thanks. That's what I was thinking. So I wanted the audible warning so that's why I went with the alarm. Now I understand that the Security system does not have a shock sensor, but from the manual, it sounds like it does have an audible alarm.

The manual talks about 2 systems (what I think are the same two that your specs listed).

1. Theft Warning System
2. NISSAN Anti-Theft System (NATS)

The NATS is the immobilizer that you are talking about. i.e. the engine will not start without the registered key.

This is what the manual has to say about the Theft Warning system:
"The theft warning system provides visual and audio alarm signals if parts of the vehicle are disturbed."

" The warning system will give the following alarm:
- The hazard indicator blinks and the horn sounds intermittently for about 30 seconds."

"The alarm is activated by:
- Opening the door without using the remote controller or mechanical key
- Opening the hood"

Now if the vehicle comes with NATS only. Then I'm ok but if it comes with both, then it seems like i paid too much for a shock sensor and extra key fob. Which would really piss me off.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 28th, 2010, 7:30 am

guys, anyone ever got a black dirt build up on the upper support by the doors inside the van?
im getting that and im wondering if its from the ac
Dirt is building up on the roof and edge right above the seat belts and since the interior cream its noticeable, im going to clean it this weekend but anyone ever get that in theirs?
im wondering if the ac filter is functioning, where could i check this to see in the navara?

Postby Greypatch » October 28th, 2010, 2:57 pm

lighthammer wrote:Mine goes "rrrrrrr" everytime I'm locking the wheel left - right.

Got it checked out at N&M, this was their official report on the invoice:

"Steering wheel makes shuddering noise when locking left to right.
Steering rack greased. Pump Checked.
Normal Operation."

Cost - $300.00

The power steering still makes the noise.

*sigh*. Damned stealership.

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » October 28th, 2010, 8:12 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:guys, anyone ever got a black dirt build up on the upper support by the doors inside the van?
im getting that and im wondering if its from the ac
Dirt is building up on the roof and edge right above the seat belts and since the interior cream its noticeable, im going to clean it this weekend but anyone ever get that in theirs?
im wondering if the ac filter is functioning, where could i check this to see in the navara?

yes i have the same thing but i think its because i drive with my windows down allot and the interior is beige

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 29th, 2010, 12:32 am

I don't want a cream interior.
Specifically requested a grey interior :)

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 29th, 2010, 11:17 am

so u buying one then lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 29th, 2010, 2:05 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:so u buying one then lol

Hehehehehehe
:D :D :D :D
Last edited by lighthammer on October 29th, 2010, 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 29th, 2010, 2:17 pm

Right...

So I was able to confirm a couple things with the navara after doing some reading:

- The D40 Navara's clutch problems (early clutch wear due to a weak dual-mass flywheel) and timing chain issues that are prevalent with the UK and Australian models don't apply to our Thailand-made Navara's. Also, these issues are limited to the 2005-2008 models, navaras made after 2008 don't have these problems.

- The D40 navara comes with a "traclok" dana diff, which is in fact a Limited Slip Differential. However it's not as robust as the older D22 model's though, and is more suited to regaining traction on a slippery road than getting yourself unstuck in a muddy rut on a trail. It's also more difficult to "shim" in order to get to lock earlier, closer to a "locking diff" due to the unusual external arrangement of the Spider Gears.

Our automatic 4x4 navara's come with this mechanica diff, which is also augmented by electronic control of the braking system. By applying brakes to the loose wheel, the differential transfers torque to the stuck wheel or the wheel with available traction and thus helps with forward traction in off-road conditions.
The manual 4x4 doesn't have the electronic braking simulation/augmentation of an LSD, and just has the normal mechanical diff.

Despite this, I still say the Navara is an awesome beast of a machine. :D :D :D

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 2nd, 2010, 7:40 am

Squeaking Noises from suspension....

So the squeaking returned a couple days after servicing the truck at N&M...
so decided to get the suspension checked, outside of the firm. Carried it by tone in marabella...apparently the mounts linking the chassis to the cab, were out of alignment and had no grease/ lubricant. Mounts were reset, suspension tightened and aligned. No noise....

Took it for a drive up to chag last night on the old road and back to san fernando and no noise....

ravist

Postby ravist » November 2nd, 2010, 9:06 am

Well i am happy to say that my van is repaired (got it yesterday) and everything looks okay :lol: ..... i have also heard a bad squeak even before the accident but could not pin point the culprit. Aaron, where is tone in marabella, i think i may have the same problem..

i have a technical question;
why are the automatic navaras so noisy compared to the toyotas and is there anything i can do to quiet it down????

jhonnie, i have grey int and thus far have no build-ups after 21,000kms..a/c on 99% of the time!!!!!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 4th, 2010, 12:52 am

^^ Congrats Ravist, glad to hear ur Nav is back on its feet.
squeak might be a loose bolt on the tray/ladderframe, or could be a suspension component that would need greasing. Try using locktite on your screws & bolts to keep them tight.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 4th, 2010, 12:54 am

In case anyone wants to know, I found the stud pattern for the bolts on the wheels of both the D22 Frontier & D40 Navara:

stud patern sizes
D40 6x4.5" = 6x 114.3mm
D22 6x 5.5" =6x 139.7mm

Thanks to www.nissan-navara.net

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 4th, 2010, 9:11 am

all my noise is gone...finally

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 4th, 2010, 9:44 am

time to clean up the ole gurl tonight and give her a good polish, 20k tune up due
running flawlessly though the gas mileage has dropped off a tad bit
think the air filter may be dirty
she need and underwash badly though
prob this weeeknd

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 10th, 2010, 8:01 am

btw aaron u hav a contact no for tone?

the dreaded squeaking has begun...started this mornin on the backroad to point lisas

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 10th, 2010, 8:49 am

6584000 i believe

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » November 10th, 2010, 9:17 am

thanks man
will check him
guys ull polish often?

im finding myself doin it a lot cause of benfield solution (EDTA) coming from the plants onto the car

its killing wipers real fast and ive notice spot marks on the hood towards the back that doesnt want to come out,
any good liquid polish that last long?
tigh now im using turtle wax ice

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 10th, 2010, 9:24 am

^^^ im taking it you work on an ammonia plant? lol...

benfield is mostly used on n2000 and cnc :P

anyways i try to polish once a mth.

mothers clay bar and liquid polish

originalbling

Postby originalbling » November 10th, 2010, 10:10 am

Would products like the Ziebart paint protection help with this?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”