offshore ppl ........your views.

geodude

Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby geodude » October 28th, 2010, 12:55 am

Animal Pak wrote:personally i fine offshore on a platform is prison.....

yea d food bess 'at times'

d money nice and they wash ur clothes

buh how much direc tv yuh could watch? how much cards yuh could play

and how much bs yuh could talk with the same ppl over and over again

very different view here we are so different dude
i guess you used to work on the same rig constantly,

i jump from rig to rig some times during one hitch i may visit about 3 rigs, because there is always a problem which the office says they need my expertise on.
Since i have been in Brazil its only ultra deep water projects i have been on all in excess of 2000m water depths and trust me these new drill ships in the game yo.
A few wells i have done are even in waters over 3500m deep, its a whole different ball came when operating with these water depths,

and like i said i am loner so apart form the times where its necessary to speak to the driller of give answers to someone, i usually don't speak to anyone.
I am the only senior person i know that works night shift, the reason, well i prefer to look over the reports of the Junior persons before i submit them so i won't have to answer questions about their mistakes, and most importantly, night shift requires very little human interaction, i have gone weeks without having more than 2 minute conversations with ppl,
Finish work at 6, give hand over, eat and i sleeping by 6:30 yo, get up at 5:30 bathe and work again, this is the best part, for me life is simple out here, we are hare to work, everyone has their job to do and then you go home, life and work are extremely isolated and shouldn't mix,

noobie

Postby noobie » October 28th, 2010, 3:51 am

mindxlabz wrote:
noobie wrote:
mindxlabz wrote:and money isnt everything. you would envy other people who have families.

noobie, please define YOUR version of being a looser or loser however you want to call it, or what loosing means in your book?

Thank you.

I was being facetious.
Did you look at the movie clip btw?

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 28th, 2010, 6:47 am

geodude at the end of the day you have to make the decision and you have to live with it so you have to decide which aspect of your life takes priority.
If your woman used to work offshore and you staying on land, more than a week would pass before your mind start to stray and you looking to brush outside ting? Now imagine six weeks and how a wife would feel.

Ask yourself, are you working to live or living to work? and you should find some clarity.

Personally though I used to be miserable offshore as I didn't have any rotation it was on a per job basis so some years I spent as much as 9months+ offshore in total.
Now though I miss the excitement of travelling to these dangerous countries, but daiz just me.

noobie

Postby noobie » October 28th, 2010, 9:00 am

Skanky wrote:geodude at the end of the day you have to make the decision and you have to live with it so you have to decide which aspect of your life takes priority.
If your woman used to work offshore and you staying on land, more than a week would pass before your mind start to stray and you looking to brush outside ting? Now imagine six weeks and how a wife would feel.

What A$$$NESS is this!!??

A week or 6 weeks and you looking to sleep around??
WTF kinda relationships people have in Trinidad boy?

You ever hear about your husband or your wife having to go abroad to complete a course? Or away on Business?
Jesus christ! If your wife ever get ill she have to chain you to the bed to keep you from f***ing the neighbour??

LOL LOL!!

If after 6 weeks you looking to horn your wife, then you gots issues.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » October 28th, 2010, 9:16 am

are you saying Skanky is skanky...

Postby janfar » October 28th, 2010, 9:21 am

noobie... sadly that is how almost all Trini's (inexperienced to the life) thinks. And its why most ppl tend to not like the job... their inability to live without a enclosed social circle deters them from jobs like this... which is better for the guys that can handle it... Then most want to know why they have a white man/ expat working for them and getting big house and car, not to mention families accomocation and schooling paid for. Its because they made their sacrifice early...

Once i go to a country and I can get internet and a good gym im good. When im home i do everything i can when i can because i can...

geodude

Postby geodude » October 28th, 2010, 5:46 pm

janfar wrote:noobie... sadly that is how almost all Trini's (inexperienced to the life) thinks. And its why most ppl tend to not like the job... their inability to live without a enclosed social circle deters them from jobs like this... which is better for the guys that can handle it... Then most want to know why they have a white man/ expat working for them and getting big house and car, not to mention families accomocation and schooling paid for. Its because they made their sacrifice early...

Once i go to a country and I can get internet and a good gym im good. When im home i do everything i can when i can because i can...

this is so true, because of the time we spend working when we get home we cherish and maximize all the time we have, i know its not possible to make up for the lost time, but it really puts things into perspective, when time is limited you live life to the fullest.
One of my friends recently spent 3 months in Siberia and she said returning to her home was like being reborn she saw everything so differently,

kimerly

Postby kimerly » November 25th, 2010, 7:50 pm

hey ppl you guys know anybody that hiring......just finish my Bosiet training an looking to get some experience...holler at me

Postby tr1ad » November 25th, 2010, 7:55 pm

this is your second post about work yet no details
eg what field you looking to get into, what experience you already have, what are your qualifications

kimerly

Postby kimerly » November 25th, 2010, 8:09 pm

Hey I really not sure what field I looking to go into.. I just know thats what I want to do. I did the Pre Sea course from UTT and the Bosiet from Falck Nutec...and now I'm going to do the Maritime Training from Ensafe.. I just want to get into the door.get some experience,really like the Maritime field so willing to work from the bottom up.

Postby Bizzare » November 25th, 2010, 8:25 pm

Whats the average salary like. I'm hearing how offshore pays well....... Wanna see some figures if y'all don't mind

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 26th, 2010, 3:41 am

tfm34 wrote:i think that most men have questioned there presence offshore at some point in time. for me finding the right person to share life with has enhanced the rewards of working a rotation. it took me a while to get there and cost me in terms of relationships but it was worth it. i feel that if you were to get into a regular rotation with equal time you would fell more comfortable. the job is only a means to provide for the family. the family is the focus not the job. in this type of job you need to carefull evaluate ppl and look for those that have the same focus, values and goals that you do. and time is what will eventually expose peoples hearts to you. one makes a living by what one gets, one makes a life by what one gives.

well said. i echo these sentiments

important to find a job with equal work/leave schedule. i am a family man (early 30s) with a young daughter (Standard 1). it is difficult but not impossible to find balance between work and life. it also requires you to have a lot more faith in your spouse's ability to handle the day-to-day routines that most men do for themselves.

my wife does not work, but is doing her Masters part time. so she has enough time to partially fill the void in my daughter's life when i am not around. i utilize Skype and other VOiP devices to maintain regular contact with them. sometimes my cellphone bill comes up way high when there are emergency situations. but the lines of communication are always open.

it can work....benn doing it for as long as the OP has....

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 26th, 2010, 3:47 am

janfar wrote:Lol 35days... picnic on the beach... it have men whose rotation are 9/2 and myself that does 3 weeks home followed by unknown time out (not in TT) Right now im on day 40 and will be out till just before christmas...

call a fackin ni@@a nah beyotch :twisted:

Postby janfar » November 26th, 2010, 4:00 am

In on the 21st bro... where we rottiserizing the piglet???

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 26th, 2010, 4:03 am

idk, but there will be swine involved somehow :P

buzz me when yuh jump een

Postby janfar » November 26th, 2010, 4:05 am

somehow yuh say inno... like yuh aint sure...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 26th, 2010, 4:07 am

sure i'm sure

even if i hadda run it dong myself :lol:

Postby janfar » November 26th, 2010, 4:09 am

Greasy pig yuh talking bout there??? Muds will supply the alco... do a role call!!!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 26th, 2010, 4:13 am

:lol: lewwe halt the imminent thread hijack :lol:

homeboy

Postby homeboy » November 26th, 2010, 4:17 am

Can I has ah piece ah hog for d Christmas?

Postby janfar » November 26th, 2010, 4:26 am

lol... over the the Flyingblue thread!!!

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » November 26th, 2010, 4:41 am

kimerly wrote:Hey I really not sure what field I looking to go into.. I just know thats what I want to do. I did the Pre Sea course from UTT and the Bosiet from Falck Nutec...and now I'm going to do the Maritime Training from Ensafe.. I just want to get into the door.get some experience,really like the Maritime field so willing to work from the bottom up.

unless you want to be a Ballast control officer....there is no work for Maritime engineers on the oil rig......

Most of the barge engineers and BCOs worked boats all their lives and then graduated to semi subs and drill ships.

By the way...how can you study Pre Sea and do Boiset if you not sure where you wanna go in life?

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » November 26th, 2010, 4:43 am

Triniclub.com wrote:Whats the average salary like. I'm hearing how offshore pays well....... Wanna see some figures if y'all don't mind

I've seen big men cry to go home after three days....hence you shouldn't take in consideration salary.......its the ability to stay 2 weeks to 5 weeks on a rig.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » November 26th, 2010, 4:46 am

geodude wrote:
Animal Pak wrote:personally i fine offshore on a platform is prison.....

yea d food bess 'at times'

d money nice and they wash ur clothes

buh how much direc tv yuh could watch? how much cards yuh could play

and how much bs yuh could talk with the same ppl over and over again

very different view here we are so different dude
i guess you used to work on the same rig constantly,

i jump from rig to rig some times during one hitch i may visit about 3 rigs, because there is always a problem which the office says they need my expertise on.
Since i have been in Brazil its only ultra deep water projects i have been on all in excess of 2000m water depths and trust me these new drill ships in the game yo.
A few wells i have done are even in waters over 3500m deep, its a whole different ball came when operating with these water depths,

and like i said i am loner so apart form the times where its necessary to speak to the driller of give answers to someone, i usually don't speak to anyone.
I am the only senior person i know that works night shift, the reason, well i prefer to look over the reports of the Junior persons before i submit them so i won't have to answer questions about their mistakes, and most importantly, night shift requires very little human interaction, i have gone weeks without having more than 2 minute conversations with ppl,
Finish work at 6, give hand over, eat and i sleeping by 6:30 yo, get up at 5:30 bathe and work again, this is the best part, for me life is simple out here, we are hare to work, everyone has their job to do and then you go home, life and work are extremely isolated and shouldn't mix,

You a mud logger or data engineer?

Postby crazybalhead » November 26th, 2010, 7:19 am

Most likely a mud logger, unless sample catchers writing reports now.

geodude

Postby geodude » November 26th, 2010, 10:43 am

you are correct am in Mudlogging, i is ah Data eng

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » November 26th, 2010, 12:34 pm

I just stumble onto this chred and wonder how come I misssed this! geodude International logging or GeoCircus? Anyways - time for you to look to jump out ah mud logging and do mud or MWD or DD or something. Then you could have a more regular rotation and not have to force yourself with a 6 x 2 rotation to make ah paper. CBH, Mudboy - tell him nah.
I spent 6 yrs running M/LWD - and did not have a life. I could not plan when I would be home, and I missed out on ALOT of holidays, Christmas, events and activities. It was fricking frustrating. That was between ages 20-26. But yuh know what - I was able to branch into an Operator job, marrid, build meh house cyash - and then eventually work Drilling Supervisor for a while too.

I can relate to your situation. Look at leaving mud logging and do another service line. You can make a lil more paper, and have a better rotation -so you should have more time home. But wait - just as I always say - mud loggers know sh!t about drilling and barely know what a drill bit look like. And you said you are a loner on the rig? That's exactly the reason. Get your fo*king ass outside (after shift) and learn about drilling! Interact with people. Learn about the rig and equipment. You can only move up, but not if you spend all your time between the unit and the quarters.

shaun04

Postby shaun04 » November 26th, 2010, 1:44 pm

jus saw this thread and was wondering wat's d average salary for an offshore worker a month

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » November 26th, 2010, 2:25 pm

shaun04 wrote:jus saw this thread and was wondering wat's d average salary for an offshore worker a month

I would guess it ranges between 10-12k to 50-60k per month. That's for Trini's working in Trini.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » November 27th, 2010, 12:27 am

geodude wrote:you are correct am in Mudlogging, i is ah Data eng

Then your life is easy and there should be no pressures on the rig. As tired accord said, go mingle with the common folk as most loggers feel they are Gods and can't get dirty.

Thats the impression I got on meeting CBH on the rig... :lol:

by the way...offshore work sucks...so doh even think of it