The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Nighttroll

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Nighttroll » November 25th, 2010, 11:02 am

They still need to give us a fully untethered JB for ipad and 3gs new boot rom.

Postby M_2NR » November 25th, 2010, 1:10 pm

Sunday=Funday
1we
8)

Aaron 2NR wrote:tried the Dev's team jailbreak for 4.2....there seems to be a glitch somehow....ure seeing the screen jumping etc.....

ddint get chance to reload the ios and try again...im getting my 3gs today which ios should i load on it???

why u on 4.2 bai?

4.1 is the best bet for the 3G leave it deh.

If you get a 3GS. Dont flash the latest f/w. If it comes with 4.0.x use a custom f/w and restore to 4.1. You can use redsn0w 0.96b2 to put it into the pwned DFU mode, etc. This is so that u can be unlocked now. If its on 4.1 well... leave it.
Links to custom f/w are a few pages back. Glad to hear u got a 3GS man :)

___

Night... have some patience. For all i care, they can wait til 4.3 in december /if/ there is 4.3 cuz 4.2 aint bring anything nice but headaches since we now req'd to do a BB update in order to complete an update.

___

SRASC question, you try out the findmyiphone yet? does it work for trinidad devices? ty :)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2010, 7:36 pm

Apple has just posted their Black Friday deals for the United States and it looks like everything must go! iMacs, MacBook Pros, and MacBook Airs are $101 off, iPod nanos are $11 off and new iPod touches are discounted by $21. And the product that most people will be digging, the iPad, is $41 off starting at $459 for the 16 GB WiFi model.

Apple is also discounting most of their homemade Mac, iPod and iPad accessories:

iPad Case – $34 ($5 off)
iPad Camera Kit – $24 ($5 off)
iPad Dock – $24 ($5 off)
iPad Keyboard Dock – $58 ($11 off)
Apple Wireless Keyboard – $64 ($5 off)
Magic Trackpad – $64 ($5 off)
Magic Mouse – $64 ($5 off)
Apple In-Ear Headphones – $74 ($5 off)
AirPort Express – $88 ($11 off)
AirPort Extreme – $168 ($11 off)
Time Capsule 1TB – $278 ($21)
Time Capsule 1TB – $448 ($51)

------

MacConnection has the AppleTV for $80 right now. That’s $20 off of retail and likely to be around the best we’ll see tomorrow.

I'm getting me one of those for sure...

Postby M_2NR » November 25th, 2010, 9:16 pm

oui..

how to get the new cydia...
read this:
http://www.twitlonger.com/show/75h29d

i tired it and it works.

and no that's not a skin the color now lighter...

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » November 26th, 2010, 7:29 am

i want back an iphone!!!!!!! dammit!

Postby M_2NR » November 26th, 2010, 3:38 pm

u went android? or locked?

hot blue

Postby hot blue » November 26th, 2010, 4:32 pm

has anyone ever had a problem with iTunes 9 or later?
I updated to 10(to activate my iphone 4) and it refused to open. it installs fine, but when I try to open it the processor seems to be doing something but nothing happens. I did the usual uninstall/reinstall and did not work. I then uninstalled 10 and installed 8 which worked. Went up to 9.2(earliest version for iphone4) and did not work either.

Any clues?

hot blue

Postby hot blue » November 26th, 2010, 11:21 pm

has anyone ever used the fishbone.ge source in cydia before? The caller ID fix for 4.1 is there and iSpazio is still down. Is that source safe? Never used it before!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 27th, 2010, 1:47 am

While AirPrint and AirPlay integration, and Find in Page are the big user-facing features new to iOS 4.2 Safari, MobileXWeb points out that Apple also snuck in a few improvements under the hood:
    Accelerometer & Gyroscope support through the DeviceOrientation API
    WebSockets API from HTML5
    Updated HTML 5 Form Support
    Partial XHR-2 Support
    New JavaScript data types
    New DOM events
    Enhanced SVG and Canvas support
If you’re not a developer that might look like mumbo jumbo to you but rest assured it means more better web applications could be coming your way soon, and since Apple uses Safari’s WebKit to render everything from iTunes to App Store or iAd to Apple.com, and Google uses it Gmail and pretty much all their sites, there’s potential for a lot more, lot better content coming our way.

------

I haven't upgraded to 4.2.1 as yet but zcrugby has and says it does

------

Sweet

Postby M_2NR » November 28th, 2010, 7:14 pm

unlock out but it is... a bit... different :(
using an iPad baseband... >_>

If i were you, I'd get this file NAOW!
http://appldnld.apple.com/iPad/061-8801.20100811.CvfR5/iPad1,1_3.2.2_7B500_Restore.ipsw

Postby M_2NR » November 28th, 2010, 11:53 pm

and its done... with redsn0w latest version.

It was very easy. Just take your time and dont interrupt anything...

:)

Good luck to Aaron, sls and the others who gonna try this.

I updated to 4.2.1 virgin first and then used this redsn0w

make sure to tick Install Cydia and Flash iPad Baseband (other functions if u want verbose and multitasking etc also if u want). and yuh orn!

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 29th, 2010, 8:00 am

getting back in the country tonight....id update the 3g first...once all goes well, id do the 3gs lol

you used windows right?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 29th, 2010, 8:07 am

M_2NR did you upgrade the 3G by chance?
If so, you notice any performance improvements?

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » November 29th, 2010, 8:47 am

i had to sell mine...... strapped for cash... :(

Postby M_2NR » November 29th, 2010, 10:44 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:getting back in the country tonight....id update the 3g first...once all goes well, id do the 3gs lol

you used windows right?

don't update the 3GS right up to 4.2(.1) eh, if it's on 4.1, leave it deh to ensure an untethered jailbreak.
The 3G you can send str8 to 4.2.1. and yup windows 7, redsn0w ftw. Try to do it soon too.. because it pulling the iPad BB from apple servers and we dont know how long that gonna last.

and yes idlemind, the 3GS i have was unlocked n the 3G was the one waiting. And yea im seeing improvements over 4.1 and much over 4.0.x But i have no apps on it yet. Will know soon how much has changed. The new cydia is awesome too...faster on the 3G.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 29th, 2010, 10:55 am

i have no idea what os the 3gs has on it...didnt even power it up yet lol....

so who has the walk thru to update to 4.1 without baseband...lol

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 29th, 2010, 11:05 am

nicecally M_2NR....i will let my bro take a crackshot at it.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 29th, 2010, 1:14 pm

If you go to espn.com right now you’ll see a pretty incredible web ad:

Also showing pitchfork.com and nfl.com as well.

------

A new survey by German market research firm GfK Group indicates that most smartphone users feel little loyalty to their device outside of Apple's iPhone, which commands more than twice the fidelity of Android devices or smartphones in general.

According to a report by Reuters, only 25 percent of smartphone buyers as a whole planned to stick with the operating system of their current phone, compared to 59 percent of iPhone users.

Even among users of RIM's BlackBerry, once dubbed the "crackberry" in an allusion to its addictive experience as a messaging device, only 35 percent said they planned to stick with RIM in the future.

Android, which fuels a variety of heavily promoted iPhone-alternatives on America's Verizon and Sprint networks, only managed to retain a 28 percent loyalty figure from buyers, while the globally-leading Symbian OS used by Nokia slipped below the overall industry average, maintaining just 24 percent of its users base as loyal future buyers.

Microsoft brought up the rear in smartphone loyalty ratings, with only 21 percent saying they would buy another device running the same software in the future.

The survey was conducted across 2,653 users of mobile phones in China, Brazil, Britain Germany, Spain, and the United States. Sales of smartphones continue to rapidly outpace the growth of simpler mobile phones; 37 percent of those surveyed saying they planned to upgrade to a smartphone at their next purchase.

Users contemplating a smartphone purchase see little significant hardware differentiation, the report noted, saying "with features such as WiFi, GPS and high-resolution cameras now commonplace, owners of Internet-enabled phones are increasingly concerned with the ease of accessing attractive services to enhance their devices, often through app stores."

Ryan Garner, the lead analyst in the survey, added that "if a phone doesn't do what it says it will do or what the owner hopes it will do, the maker will lose loyalty."

:)

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 29th, 2010, 9:31 pm

Fellas I skeptical to upgrade to 06.XX.XX BB, Im seeing that theres no way to rollback.

I feel i will give it sometime again. M_2NR what you think?

Postby M_2NR » November 29th, 2010, 11:14 pm

if you want me forward u an email about what to do.... i just made one cuz i was sorry for a tuner who PM'd me...

My noob point of view on this:
I find its a double edged sword. You dont know if apple will fcuk guys up with it after a while (but they have already in a way because BB update is a MUST to complete the update successfully with a virgin ipsw from 4.2.1 and upwards).

BUT:
This is the great part. Unknown users /wont/ be able to ever update to a virgin IPSW again... ever... unless apple removes this restriction because once u have this 06.15 BB you can never update unless you using a cooked/custom IPSW. So you are /technically/ unlocked for life. As it /should/ fail when u try to update. (I didnt test it yet but according to the devteam post, the only way u can update is via cooked ipsw from now on)

The only thing is, as i said we dont know if apple will block this or do anything crazy... and if you somehow GOD KNOWS HOW it fails by some retarded means.. you can brick your iphone and you cannot take it back to apple if you under warranty cuz that will void your warranty.

Right now everything is up in the air and its apple turn to hit back...

I'll tell you though, i have a 3G with it right now and its working and thats important.

I hadda sell it soon too... dad doesnt want it anymore :(

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 30th, 2010, 2:18 am

just jailbreaked and unlocked my 3g...damn its zooming!!

who wanna give me a link for the best os for my 3gs....

Postby M_2NR » November 30th, 2010, 2:44 am

What it on right now?

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 30th, 2010, 3:01 am

havent a clue..brand new in box....not jailbroken or anything

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 30th, 2010, 4:30 am

ok just checked it with tiny umbrella...the phone has 4.0.2 with baseband 05.13.04-6.4_M3S2

how do i jailbreak....im running windows

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 30th, 2010, 7:45 am

M_2NR wrote:if you want me forward u an email about what to do.... i just made one cuz i was sorry for a tuner who PM'd me...

My noob point of view on this:
I find its a double edged sword. You dont know if apple will fcuk guys up with it after a while (but they have already in a way because BB update is a MUST to complete the update successfully with a virgin ipsw from 4.2.1 and upwards).

BUT:
This is the great part. Unknown users /wont/ be able to ever update to a virgin IPSW again... ever... unless apple removes this restriction because once u have this 06.15 BB you can never update unless you using a cooked/custom IPSW. So you are /technically/ unlocked for life. As it /should/ fail when u try to update. (I didnt test it yet but according to the devteam post, the only way u can update is via cooked ipsw from now on)

The only thing is, as i said we dont know if apple will block this or do anything crazy... and if you somehow GOD KNOWS HOW it fails by some retarded means.. you can brick your iphone and you cannot take it back to apple if you under warranty cuz that will void your warranty.

Right now everything is up in the air and its apple turn to hit back...

I'll tell you though, i have a 3G with it right now and its working and thats important.

I hadda sell it soon too... dad doesnt want it anymore :(

*in Butters voice* OOhh Hamburgers!!!

Well Il wait out the week and see if anything develops
Thanks for the advice though...warranty doesnt matter anymore, but i cant afford to brick...

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 30th, 2010, 9:50 am

ok so i had an At&T sim car while i was up in the US so i put it in the iphone and its working...is there any way to add cydia to the iphone now?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 30th, 2010, 11:39 am

Lets put this simply. Macs are better than PCs. What? You want actual proof, rather than a simple expression of opinion? PC World has it, with its latest survey showing the company ‘smoked’ the competition in PC World’s 20101 reliability survey.

------

ModMyi has put together a list of improvements found in the new version of Cydia.

Commenting on the release Saurik said, "some of my long term performance plans are 'hitting pay dirt', and Cydia is much faster than it was before; that said, it isn't done yet: there's one more thing that I think is going to make a huge difference that isn't even in there yet but should be for the final release."

What's New:
● reduced loading changes time
● section remapping optimizations
● faster reloading data
● faster, native search
● uses public SDK classes whenever possible
● rewritten, faster web views with zooming support
● changes badge works again
● more stable webviews (no crashes when queueing)
● redesigned settings page
● redesigned stashing page
● faster scrolling of table views
● bug fixes
● ads no longer break the package views until restart
● much better queueing UI
● stabler refreshing bar

iPad improvements:
● landscape
● popovesr
● modal views that cover only a portion of the screen
● less annoying errors with bad internet connections downloading packages
● updated section mappings, less typo'd sections

This version of Cydia is included in the latest release of RedSn0w and can also be downloaded directly from here.

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » November 30th, 2010, 11:45 am

^you would need to jailbreak it use the redsn0w it works good. i updated to 4.1 and only after realized it changes the bb to 05.14.02 i have since used the ipad ipsw and redsnow to jailbrak and unlock my phone i find it sticks some time

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 30th, 2010, 1:13 pm

bit the bullet after chatting with a few iphone sellers on the forum...

ios 4.2.1...the tethered boot is annoying but got my phone running lol

Postby M_2NR » November 30th, 2010, 4:18 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:ok just checked it with tiny umbrella...the phone has 4.0.2 with baseband 05.13.04-6.4_M3S2

how do i jailbreak....im running windows

Aaron 2NR wrote:bit the bullet after chatting with a few iphone sellers on the forum...

ios 4.2.1...the tethered boot is annoying but got my phone running lol

NOOOOOOOO :(

>_> you could have just left it on 4.0.2 and jailbreak it (not sure but i think limera1n could have done <4.1 as well but not GP) and kept a nice BB :| you didnt have to go to iPad BB bai and then you could have waited til @comex made a 4.2.1 untethered and then used PT and custom firmware it thereby preserving that baseband. ok i somehow feel i lost u... hope i didnt.

__

wrt to the ipad bb, im reading that it has some side effects, as in not responding as it should, i dont use the 3G much but everytime i call it randomly it works and its getting txts so not sure about that part. What u can do to solve the battery drain issue is use push doctor.