need help figuring out this CK2 Issue

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

-sMoKe-

need help figuring out this CK2 Issue

Postby -sMoKe- » December 18th, 2010, 5:49 pm

on a morning sometimes when i start up the 4g15sohc..let it warm for a couple mins, and i go to pull off, the RPM drops and then after mashing almost straight down ..then the rpm picks up...if i dont mash the x excessively the rpm would drop and the car would stall....
in some instances i would have to mash both x and breaks to pull off .

i have had almost half dozen mechanics look at this problem and my throttle body RPM setting has been tweaked countless times sometimes making the car idle extremely high on initial start up.

The car has been computer diagnosed. i think i will need to get a second opinion on this one though.

the last mechanic tweaked the Throttle body so that the car doesnt cut off on pull off...the rpm still drops but not so low that it stalls.
the side effect is that the car idles like whoaaaaa on a cold start....

the car also vibrates considerably while on a stand still and on "DRIVE", with the AC on. If the Ac is off the car does not vibrate.
Last edited by -sMoKe- on December 18th, 2010, 7:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Parvin

Re: need help figuring out this CK2 Issue

Postby Parvin » December 18th, 2010, 7:35 pm

sounds like the same issue I am having with my 4g92 local. I was told that the idle sensor/step up unit was defective and needed replacing but due to the length of time it was ad I had to replace the brain as well. Got the replacement parts and it STILL doesn't work.

Throttle body was serviced and like you, tried alot of different mechanics. Idle adjustment is a temporary fix.

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » December 18th, 2010, 7:51 pm

yup also when im in stop and go traffic, and i mash the x and suddenly mash the breaks the rev stays up longer than it should pushing the car forward even though my foot has been on the breaks like 2 seconds..

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 18th, 2010, 7:57 pm

I rel frustrated with it now.

I even get rob with non working parts and men duckin me and hanging up on me and sheit. Problem still persists.

I was wondering if the regular ( non local ) 4g92 throttle body or sensors could work with my cars brain MR 507191. I willing to cut the jacks and rewire it to try

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » December 18th, 2010, 8:15 pm

the last mechanic i went to said to change the entire throttle body ... but i am hesitant as i keep spending lots of cash and the issue is not getting fixed.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 18th, 2010, 8:19 pm

You talkin bout spendin cash ... I went through bout 4 throttle bodies for the sensors and then a brain ( that i get rob with as it not working ) and still i looking for the solution.

But it seems like your idle sensor going. does the rpm drop when you turn on the ac or turn the steering ?

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » December 18th, 2010, 8:29 pm

yes..y?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 18th, 2010, 8:32 pm

then it seems like the idle sensor is faulty. at least that was the same info i was given with my problem. only difference is that my problem was there for a couple of years.

I posted in your thread in the classifieds with regards to trying a replacement sensor.

Maybe that will be your solution

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » December 18th, 2010, 8:38 pm

maybe...i think i will get a second opinion on the diagnostics...see if the first fella was a qwack...

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 18th, 2010, 8:47 pm

kool scene.

i ain't no professional on this ... just sharing the info i got as my problem is the same.

By the way, I had 3 diagnostics run on the car, from 3 different mechs, and nothing showed up :S

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » December 18th, 2010, 8:52 pm

u changed you IAC sensor?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 18th, 2010, 8:55 pm

changed bout 4 different ones but i was told due to the length of time the sensor was bad it may have blown that particular component of the brain as everything else works fine.

Have to get a working brain and sensor to test to confirm.

but with mine being the local 4g92 ... finding these parts have been a pain in the @ss.

i might have better luck winning the lotto for xmas instead

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » December 19th, 2010, 5:14 pm

bumpp

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » December 20th, 2010, 11:17 am

bumpp

soo

Postby soo » December 20th, 2010, 2:53 pm

i get this issue too.
if i let the car idle drop for itself on a morning it doesn't give any trouble at all. it's like an old fashioned warm up on a carbuerated car. takes about 30 seconds for the rpm to drop.
same thing i have to do at lunch time which is about 4 hours of not driving. i need to let the rpms drop before i pull off. I know it sounds strange but it works for me. I have a feeling its the same idle air control valve problem but it is not an issue for me if i give it that time to "warm up" on starting the car. otherwise its a whole set of drama with the RPMs dipping real low and then tripping off.
i have a 4g92 local ck4.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 20th, 2010, 4:30 pm

soo wrote:i get this issue too.
if i let the car idle drop for itself on a morning it doesn't give any trouble at all. it's like an old fashioned warm up on a carbuerated car. takes about 30 seconds for the rpm to drop.
same thing i have to do at lunch time which is about 4 hours of not driving. i need to let the rpms drop before i pull off. I know it sounds strange but it works for me. I have a feeling its the same idle air control valve problem but it is not an issue for me if i give it that time to "warm up" on starting the car. otherwise its a whole set of drama with the RPMs dipping real low and then tripping off.
i have a 4g92 local ck4.

Same thing I have.

Do you know where i can get a throttle body ?

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » December 21st, 2010, 11:46 am

bump....

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » December 22nd, 2010, 8:40 am

went by another mechanic..he said the throttle body need cleaning ..the IAC valve in particular...will give an update tom evening...i hope this works..

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 22nd, 2010, 3:16 pm

you got through hoss ?

By chance. do you have pics of the throttle body if it was taken apart ?

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » December 22nd, 2010, 11:55 pm

naw i dont have pics..i dropped the car this evening...will get it back tom..

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » December 24th, 2010, 8:40 am

ok..the diagnostics read that all my sensors were in order!..wats new rite...so the dude serviced throttle body(PROPERLY) apparantly the top was clean(from last "service") but the IAC valve was dirty like shizznittt...so he took off the TB and serviced it properly...apparantly the valve was so dirty that on cold starts it was almost like sticking at certain points..thus causing the irregular high rev when in stop and go traffic...this morning there was almost no issue with the car cutting off..the dude brought back my car to manufacturer spec idle and reset everything to manufacturer spec...the car no longer idles high when i start it everrr...my throttle responce is like wow!!! apparantly the car has been out of spec for so long that i never thought my car could idle so low..i had to keep watchin the tach on my way home cause i thought the car had cut off..the vibration is because of bad engine mounts..i will post up another blog tomorrow after i drive the car today...also the car has lots more power..i felt like a evo on de road last night...lol...
Last edited by -sMoKe- on December 24th, 2010, 2:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 24th, 2010, 1:21 pm

Where that guy from? I may have him check mine

Return to “MITSUBISHI”