Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby 3stagevtec » December 15th, 2010, 2:10 pm

droppa wrote:hold ah vid of the warn

nice! i should have lined up the vitara more squarely to allow for a more even wrapping of the cable.. pulling with the snatch block worked even better..

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » December 15th, 2010, 8:52 pm

Good video but next time guys we need to be more careful when 3stage is winching.
Remember if that cable were to have burst it could be fatal.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 15th, 2010, 9:10 pm

Good advice on safety when winching...

On another note: how he reach off the trail?? Hahahha

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 16th, 2010, 7:44 am

X3 was wondering why the camera man was so close to the cable while it was under tension.

...on a related note:
Droppa, it looks like you wouldn't be able to deliver fry chicken in remote areas if yuh getting stick so easy :!:

droppa

Postby droppa » December 16th, 2010, 9:07 am

^^i dont use the van to work smarty pants,

and i ended up there cause i tried to go over the rut, if i have to do it over i keeping to the side like the others.......ah try ah ting, and it was good......mih boi get to try his winch, and he knows what its capable of........i was surprised at how the Vit eh budge....

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 16th, 2010, 10:06 am

I know... was just making fun. A police friend of mine was watching the van and wondering if the KFC delivers chicken in the bush.

(BTW: check your PM)

venum

Postby venum » December 16th, 2010, 11:10 am

fellas, as a senior member of the Diesel Boyz, I like what I am seeing here

a couple of eager-beaver newbies took the initiative to do something and did it well

LH let it all hang out - 3 weeks old and virginity lost . . . I ain't doing that fuh nutten, which is why I respect you

LH stop bashing the Dunlop's if they are the Grandtrek AT20

AT20 is an "all terrain" tyre with 20% off-road and 80% street application by design

what you guys did was far surpassing the 20% that it was designed for

if it works like crap on the paved streets, then bash it

Postby 3stagevtec » December 16th, 2010, 11:56 am

venum wrote:fellas, as a senior member of the Diesel Boyz, I like what I am seeing here

a couple of eager-beaver newbies took the initiative to do something and did it well

LH let it all hang out - 3 weeks old and virginity lost . . . I ain't doing that fuh nutten, which is why I respect you

LH stop bashing the Dunlop's if they are the Grandtrek AT20

AT20 is an "all terrain" tyre with 20% off-road and 80% street application by design

what you guys did was far surpassing the 20% that it was designed for

if it works like crap on the paved streets, then bash it

Where did you get that info? I now seeing on Tirerack that the AT20 is a..

'The Grandtrek AT20 is Dunlop's Highway All-Season light truck tire that was developed for the drivers of pickups and sport utility vehicles. The Grandtrek AT20 was designed to deliver low noise, a comfortable ride, and year-round traction, even in light snow.'

So it's not an AT tyre at all and the 'AT20' is just a model number and has no relation to an All Terrain rating.. There is even an AR21 and AT23..

The only true AT tyre made by Dunlop is the ROVER RVXT.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 16th, 2010, 2:55 pm

Venum - true, the tires designed for something specific, and they do ride quite smoothly on pavement. I'm surprised as well at how they did on the clay/mud.

I'd really like to see how the Nav's power could be harnessed with some proper AT's or some MT's.

I thinkin just to get a set of steel rims and a set of MT's, use dat for runs only - only problem is the nav's lug's are spaced differently than every other truck's and it's difficult to get steelies.

It have quite a few eager noobies on the forum who itching to go on runs, it's good to organize them properly as is normally done on tuner - safety first, proper communication, teamwork and support from experienced members (plus rescue supplies).

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 16th, 2010, 3:23 pm

lighthammer wrote:Venum - true, the tires designed for something specific, and they do ride quite smoothly on pavement. I'm surprised as well at how they did on the clay/mud.

I'd really like to see how the Nav's power could be harnessed with some proper AT's or some MT's.

I thinkin just to get a set of steel rims and a set of MT's, use dat for runs only - only problem is the nav's lug's are spaced differently than every other truck's and it's difficult to get steelies.

It have quite a few eager noobies on the forum who itching to go on runs, it's good to organize them properly as is normally done on tuner - safety first, proper communication, teamwork and support from experienced members (plus rescue supplies).

Best idea yuh have right there :!:

You paid good money for that truck, so you should make the most of the tires you got with it. Even if you trade it in, you wouldn't get much value in return for a used tire....even if they are kinda new.

It is obvious, that you enjoy the off-roading (as much as most of the crazies in here) so getting a set of steelies (or some used alloys) with MT rubber is a great solution.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 16th, 2010, 6:10 pm

Cooper wrote:
lighthammer wrote:Venum - true, the tires designed for something specific, and they do ride quite smoothly on pavement. I'm surprised as well at how they did on the clay/mud.

c

Best idea yuh have right there :!:

You paid good money for that truck, so you should make the most of the tires you got with it. Even if you trade it in, you wouldn't get much value in return for a used tire....even if they are kinda new.

It is obvious, that you enjoy the off-roading (as much as most of the crazies in here) so getting a set of steelies (or some used alloys) with MT rubber is a great solution.

Man... Mud tyros don't solve noobishness... Hehehe

Yuh ain't see the man stall the van in the vid?

Lol...

Cooper

Postby Cooper » December 16th, 2010, 7:37 pm

^^^ I was trying to be nice....

...but I did laugh when he bounce the starter :lol:

venum

Postby venum » December 16th, 2010, 9:57 pm

3stagevtec wrote:Where did you get that info? I now seeing on Tirerack that the AT20 is a..

'The Grandtrek AT20 is Dunlop's Highway All-Season light truck tire that was developed for the drivers of pickups and sport utility vehicles. The Grandtrek AT20 was designed to deliver low noise, a comfortable ride, and year-round traction, even in light snow.'

So it's not an AT tyre at all and the 'AT20' is just a model number and has no relation to an All Terrain rating.. There is even an AR21 and AT23..

The only true AT tyre made by Dunlop is the ROVER RVXT.

Tyre men told me that definition of AT20 as they were decribing the Michelin Latitude Cross AT that Sweeky bought

so I assumed that the AT20 on teh Dunlops' were the type of tyre, now I realize (from what you posted) that it is a model code\name not a rating, thus the AT20 definition that I gave above doesn't apply to teh Dunlop AT20

Postby 3stagevtec » December 17th, 2010, 1:49 pm

Tyre men eh.. I never trust them.. lol

Hey guys, it turns out that my 4WD switch, located on the transfer case is faulty and got stuck in the 'on' position.. That is why my 4WD was engaged all the time..

Now onto replacing that damaged hub..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 18th, 2010, 7:08 am

Man... Mud tyros don't solve noobishness... Hehehe

Yuh ain't see the man stall the van in the vid?

Lol...

I did NOT stall... I simply thought this seemed like a good place to park.
Then jhonnie blue tell me to back up a bit, so I started and reversed backwards... see?

ITR

Postby ITR » December 18th, 2010, 7:11 pm

droppa wrote:i experienced some trouble with my 4wd but got tru with the help of 3stage and his miss, btw 3stage yuh have a great woman drd, i wish mine would come with me and get dirty like that....she win when i she she start pulling cable out the winch, oho
3stage that Warn Winch Wukking hoss, thanks for the pull up........

Thank you, thank you... I enjoyed the day with you guys. I was impressed by the way you all as 'newbies' handled the situations that arised and were not afraid of tackling the challenging stuff. For that, I can go on any run with you guys and not be bored, lol.

Thanks again and i am looking forward to the next run you all plan... Of course Rene will keep me informed :wink:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 19th, 2010, 4:59 am

Next run = Carmelita falls??

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 19th, 2010, 10:28 am

where that be yo?
nex run is TOBAGOO! :D

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » December 19th, 2010, 9:44 pm

lighthammer wrote:Next run = Carmelita falls??

first run fuh nex yr??

Postby 3stagevtec » December 19th, 2010, 10:42 pm

Carmelita Falls, Central Trinidad

^ That's as much as I know about that waterfall..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 19th, 2010, 11:00 pm

^^ i wanna go.
Anyone else wanna go?

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » December 19th, 2010, 11:10 pm

3stagevtec wrote:Carmelita Falls, Central Trinidad

^ That's as much as I know about that waterfall..

Tortuga to be exact....roughly 45 mins frm my hometown Marabella

VERY easy run, unlike allyuh "Mini" Diesel Run recently :lol:

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » December 19th, 2010, 11:15 pm

lighthammer wrote:^^ i wanna go.
Anyone else wanna go?

its a rel easy run, who say Boxing Day cool down :wink:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 19th, 2010, 11:19 pm

i working on BD :( :( :( :(

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » December 19th, 2010, 11:43 pm

^^^ah kno evry1 hv plans.....first ting next yr den ;)

Postby 3stagevtec » December 20th, 2010, 12:43 am

MrCuddles wrote:^^^ah kno evry1 hv plans.....first ting next yr den ;)

count me in..

droppa

Postby droppa » December 20th, 2010, 7:41 am

i have no idea where camelita falss is, so i eeeen....

nex year ting for sure......

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » December 20th, 2010, 8:37 am

Have no idea where it is either... so I IN as welll..

droppa

Postby droppa » December 20th, 2010, 9:16 am

how does sunday 30th january, 2011 sound..........

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 20th, 2010, 1:36 pm

sounding good.... now where is carmelita falls??

Someone mentioned it earlier in a next thread - or maybe thos thread self. So who knows where it is?

Return to “Off Road Runs”