The guitar string (thread)

Re: The guitar string (thread)

Postby MG Man » October 8th, 2010, 3:33 am

Racers Edge wrote:MG... tried to link with u today...wasup?

dunno dude
sometimes this phone randomly drops signal................try sending a text and I'll shout back

Racers Edge

Postby Racers Edge » October 14th, 2010, 10:19 am

right so hear this... I got a chord chart for Stairway to Heaven by Zepplin and I would want to believe I am learning the song, its complicated but I am making progress. If there were some other like minded people maybe we could really get a jam session going...

MG co-ordinate somting nah...

Postby buzz » October 14th, 2010, 11:29 am

see ? my recorder could really come in handy for that flutish part in teh stairway to z heavens :|

Racers Edge

Postby Racers Edge » October 14th, 2010, 4:41 pm

but how.... leh we get organized

Postby Sky » January 3rd, 2011, 10:24 pm

So I didn't see this thread in a while. Decided to contribute.
I haven't been playing for months and I forgot a lot. The neck on my '85 Jap Strat is busted. The fret wires raised and I lost a good few notes. Today I ordered one of these..

I don't have an amp, just the Fender and a Squier I lent out ( and don't care to play).
Hopefully this will start me back, and I won't need an amp since it'll be loud enough while keeping the electric size and feel. Reviews said the action was hella high, but I say bring it on. I'm rusty and that will drill me back in check.

I'm also considering this..

Has a guitar input, a line out jack for headphones/pc speakers and a line in for an mp3 player or something. They claim the tone is of a real AC30. I don't believe this, but it should be decent enough to hold up until I get more gear. I'm just waiting until the Christmas dust clears to see if I can afford it.

Anyone have anything to add to their arsenal after Christmas?

Postby shogun » January 3rd, 2011, 10:57 pm

Pretty sweet man.

Someone stole my fender amp last year...so i've only been playing my acoustic since. Might look into getting one of these though, untill i get a proper amp....i'll have to do a bit more research.

Postby MG Man » January 3rd, 2011, 11:25 pm

Sky wrote:

picked up this for the bass at Sam Ash in Mia for US$30.00
very practical, including backpack-style straps

Postby gt4tified » January 4th, 2011, 12:27 am

The wife got a MIM Strat...in pretty excellent shape too. From plugging the serial number in online it seems to have been manufactured in 2000/2001. I'd give it a 9/10 for condition. No scratches, no dings, just the anticipated tarnishing of the bridge and tuning keys.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 4th, 2011, 2:44 am

i went away recently and bought a schecter 7 elite....emg 81/85 combo quite a good guitar

Postby gt4tified » January 4th, 2011, 11:11 am

evokiller wrote:i went away recently and bought a schecter 7 elite....emg 81/85 combo quite a good guitar

Daz a boss of an axe dere!

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2011, 11:29 am

do-it-yourself straplocks :-)

cheap and effective

Postby Sky » January 4th, 2011, 7:13 pm

^^BESS!!.
But I'm gonna test and see if I can order stuff from musiciansfriend.com. Trying with small buys like picks and stuff.
You want a proper pair? :lol:

aidan

Postby aidan » January 4th, 2011, 7:15 pm

Sky wrote:
I'm also considering this..

Has a guitar input, a line out jack for headphones/pc speakers and a line in for an mp3 player or something. They claim the tone is of a real AC30. I don't believe this, but it should be decent enough to hold up until I get more gear. I'm just waiting until the Christmas dust clears to see if I can afford it.

I highly recommend it, i have the VoxAMplug metal as well and the sound is great. Does not sound 'digital' at all. For the price its awesome!

Anyone know of any basses for sale, looking for one. Don't need to be fancy or a high end thing, but whatever it is must be in good condition!

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2011, 7:41 pm

Sky wrote:^^BESS!!.
But I'm gonna test and see if I can order stuff from musiciansfriend.com. Trying with small buys like picks and stuff.
You want a proper pair? :lol:

lol nah
I like these
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

ibanez

Postby ibanez » January 4th, 2011, 7:58 pm

here are my weapons of mass destruction!
Kramer Vanguard.JPG
Kramer Vanguard
Ibanez RX20.JPG
first axe with SD Invader pup in the bridge

ibanez

Postby ibanez » January 4th, 2011, 8:11 pm

Latest addition BC Rich Stealth 7
Stealth7.JPG

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2011, 9:16 pm

noice

Postby shogun » January 4th, 2011, 10:35 pm

I hate you ibanez, i really do. :evil:

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2011, 10:42 pm

I fightin up wid four, dis man rockin SEVEN

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 5th, 2011, 1:11 pm

i jsut bought ah rollins from radio shak and a boss distortion i got from a guy on tuner......jsut to make noise play the fool.....

Postby Sky » January 5th, 2011, 10:18 pm

MG Man wrote:I fightin up wid four, dis man rockin SEVEN

Worse yet, they have something against bassists.
Ever notice the bass in Korn songs? The bassman plays these trebly notes like a jazz bass solo (like the seinfield theme song)

With 2 7 strings rockin hard on the low B they don't need more bass. It's a conspiracy. Watch your back!

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2011, 10:58 pm

I blame prince and 'when doves cry'

Rickstar#1

Postby Rickstar#1 » January 5th, 2011, 11:01 pm

How everyone showing off their sexi guitar so , got to take a few picts of my Les Paul Gibson and post .

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2011, 11:06 pm

lol I was only showin off mih sexy strap locks
my bass pretty basic
actually I bought it off tuner via tuner classifieds years ago for $800

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 5th, 2011, 11:51 pm

gt4tified wrote:
evokiller wrote:i went away recently and bought a schecter 7 elite....emg 81/85 combo quite a good guitar

Daz a boss of an axe dere!

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2011, 11:58 pm

sigh
bess I build ah box bass and play parang

Racers Edge

Postby Racers Edge » January 6th, 2011, 12:54 pm

cyah cyah....dumbass

so somebody recommend a good electric guitar for me nah.... I play rythm on my Palmer Acoustic..but I wanna learn lead..

ibanez

Postby ibanez » January 6th, 2011, 4:06 pm

Ibanez guitars are cheap and good for beginners, shitty pickups though but good fretboard.

if you're above beginner I recommend you spend money on a good guitar (U$500+ range) you wouldn't regret it. They sound much better and give you incentive to play more often, the better you sound the more you'll play because you'll hear your sound getting better and better.

All brands have both budget and high end guitars.

I strongly recommend that you stay away from those budget packs.

ibanez

Postby ibanez » January 6th, 2011, 4:11 pm

^^ to Sky

Korn guitarists can't play sheit much less use a 7-string, anyone can play barre chords!

check out Jeff Loomis from Nevermore, Pat O'Brien from Cannibal Corpse and the guitarists from Portal to hear how versatile a 7 string is and how much more you can do on one.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 6th, 2011, 4:29 pm

check out tosin abasi also....he plays an 8string...where i wanna end up by summer this yr

umm good guitar to start with racers edge....really stay away from those packages with guitar and amp.....whats yr budget like?