Maxi Shutdown

glennj

Maxi Shutdown

Postby glennj » January 5th, 2011, 6:57 am

how is it affecting the traveling public?

Captainzaak

Re: Maxi Shutdown

Postby Captainzaak » January 5th, 2011, 7:30 am

Bus route empty this morning, saw one Maxi on it while on my way to work.
I stop by 6th ave lights and ask people who want a drop to POS, d car get full in about 15seconds. :|
Last edited by Captainzaak on January 5th, 2011, 7:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Odessy

Postby Odessy » January 5th, 2011, 7:30 am

ah have to tell meh boss, pick me up in his benz yes :lol: :lol:

not 1 f...ing maxi and ppl standing up and waiting :P :D

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2011, 7:32 am

The Maxi shurdown appears tobe another PNM failed propaganda stunt.Maxi Men get the rights for H maxi from the Goverment for free . then inturn they sell these rights for over Hundred thousand of dollars while making a hugh profit. Does the people benfit from this? I agree with Jack Open the H rights and let everyone share in making a living. The public has taken yrs of abuse from the maxis

Postby tr1ad » January 5th, 2011, 7:32 am

why???

strike?

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2011, 7:36 am

tr1ad wrote:why???

strike?

for Money dude, In trini we have an evil business trade that is not for the benefit of the people, Maybe Villa does benefit us

Postby nervewrecker » January 5th, 2011, 7:55 am

dosent bother me, I take the bus right through. :mrgreen:

Postby tr1ad » January 5th, 2011, 7:57 am

they striking for money?

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » January 5th, 2011, 8:00 am

zoom rader wrote:.Maxi Men get the rights for H maxi from the Goverment for free

The last rights that were ever given out were back in the 80's, rights have been sold for a price since that time therefore the majority of maxi owners you see today have themselves bought rights from someone. Only the very old owners you see today may have gotten theirs free in the beginning.

zoom rader wrote:. then inturn they sell these rights for over Hundred thousand of dollars while making a hugh profit.

You can see from what i said above why this doesn't make sense, both you and Jack are implying that maxi operators walk in to MOWT, acquire rights to operate, and come outside like a scalper in a fete and sell rights for an exorbitant price.
Market price of rights is determined by how desirable and profitable a route is, its the reason why red-band rights are around 100k and other bands are 60 and 40k in some cases.

zoom rader wrote:. I agree with Jack Open the H rights and let everyone share in making a living.

I agree to an extent since there have been no new 'bands' since the 80's, but you and i both know that due to the shady nature of some MOWT departments that the normal 'man on the street' will still not enjoy this right.
It is the same maxi men who are so deep-rooted in the system already that will enjoy this concession.
Also, where will all these maxis fit? on the eastern main road? will new passes be issued for the PBR?

It is not as easy as you think my friend
Last edited by bigchief3679 on January 5th, 2011, 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby S_2NR » January 5th, 2011, 8:01 am

Captainzaak wrote:Bus route empty this morning, saw one Maxi on it while on my way to work.
I stop by 6th ave lights and ask people who want a drop to POS, d car get full in about 15seconds. :|

but u brave..with the high level of crime in this country u doin this.. :?

Postby SUPAstarr » January 5th, 2011, 8:02 am

they strikin against legalization of PH

Postby Trini Hookah » January 5th, 2011, 8:05 am

Just btw guys, the bus route open to the public from 4am to 12 midnight, for vehicles with 3 passengers or more, including the driver.

thanks for the correction uncle sam :oops:
Last edited by Trini Hookah on January 5th, 2011, 8:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » January 5th, 2011, 8:06 am

oho well i agree with them

Postby pete » January 5th, 2011, 8:06 am

REAAAAALLLLLLLL people stranded in curepe.. seems all the buses they added for the day are filling up before they even reach curepe. Sister in law was waiting there from 6am and hadn't gotten any transport at 7am.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 5th, 2011, 8:10 am

I say do away with all maxi taxis,
the are a burden, they do not pay taxes (PAYE), they do not pay VAT although they make more than $200k annually, whatever they make the country do not get any benefits from it, thats why they are a burden.
They are like parasites, only leeching without any returns.
They drive reckless most if not all the time.
They cause most of the traffic jams with their careless stopping and pulling into moving traffic
I could go on and on
Oh and yeah I dont give a $hit about them, I have never needed their services and highly doubt i will ever

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 5th, 2011, 8:11 am

vrampersad14 wrote:Just btw guys, the bus route open to the public from 4am to 12 midnight, for vehicles with 3 passengers or more, including the driver.

fixed!

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » January 5th, 2011, 8:13 am

redman10 wrote:
Captainzaak wrote:Bus route empty this morning, saw one Maxi on it while on my way to work.

Them people brave too..how them so sure he aint a bandit?

Postby S_2NR » January 5th, 2011, 8:14 am

uncle sam wrote:
vrampersad14 wrote:Just btw guys, the bus route open to the public from 4am to 12 midnight, for vehicles with 3 passengers or more, including the driver.

fixed!

was nw goin to do dat..if it was 3 or less..everybody on d PBR! :|

Postby sharkman121 » January 5th, 2011, 8:15 am

InsanityReigns wrote:
redman10 wrote:

fuh real eh.. desperate times..desperate measures

Postby S_2NR » January 5th, 2011, 8:16 am

InsanityReigns wrote:
redman10 wrote:

n then when somethin happn they family on TV cryin and surprised..
trinis does really amaze me sometimes :|

Postby wagonrunner » January 5th, 2011, 8:18 am

vrampersad14 wrote:Just btw guys, the bus route open to the public from 4am to 12 midnight, for vehicles with 3 passengers or less, including the driver.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/beta/news/201 ... s-tomorrow
• restrictions on the Priority Bus Route to be waived to allow for vehicles with three people, including the driver, to access it from 4 am to 12 midnight unlimited;
to me that reads a minimum of 3 persons in the vehicle.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 5th, 2011, 8:23 am

was corrected by uncle sam WR, but thanks as well.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » January 5th, 2011, 8:23 am

sharkman121 wrote:
InsanityReigns wrote:
redman10 wrote:

fuh real eh.. desperate times..desperate measures

Do unto others as you would have others do unto you

Twas their choice to enter the vehicle or not, if i had gotten robbed, i know damn sure i look for it :lol:

Postby Kenjo » January 5th, 2011, 8:26 am

redman10 wrote:
uncle sam wrote:

fixed!

is the 12 midnight because of the strike today?I know the bus route is open from 4am to 6am and then 830am to 3pm.you guys sure you not some traffic police trying to chain mn up to earn yourselves money from tickets.its 3 or more persons in the car inclusive of the driver also

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2011, 8:28 am

I always thought it was do unto others before they get chance to do unto you.

Postby Kenjo » January 5th, 2011, 8:29 am

Bus Route Scheme Extended by Six (6) Months Printable Version

PRESS RELEASE

BUS ROUTE SCHEME EXTENDED BY 6 MONTHS

The Ministry of Works and Transport wishes to advise the public that the opening of the Priority Bus Route (PBR) trial has been extended for a further six (6) months, commencing Saturday January 1, 2011, to Thursday June 30, 2011.

The extension was approved today by the Honourable Jack Warner, Minister of Works and Transport.

A three-month trial started on July 1, 2010 and was due to expire on September 30, 2010. But Minister Warner sought another three-month extension which expires December 31st 2010.

This six-month extension would allow all private registered motor vehicles, carrying a minimum of three (3) persons (including the driver) to have access to the PBR between the hours of 4.00 a.m. to 6.00 a.m. and 8.30 a.m. to 3.00 p.m. (originally 2:30 p.m.) Monday to Friday.

No commercial/goods vehicles will be allowed access to the PBR during these times. Also, no private vehicles will be allowed to conduct taxi services on the PBR at any given time.

Minister Warner said he was pleased with the first six months of the trial. He said the original plan was to provide strategies for the alleviation of traffic congestion and the improvement of mobility within Trinidad and Tobago.

Minister Warner said the operation of the PBR was proposed with the intent of maximizing the route in taking congestion off the other main transportation arteries. The Minister, after consultation with the appropriate Technical Officers of the Ministry of Works and Transport, and representatives of the Maxi Taxi Association, decided that a plan to expand upon the current usage of the PBR should be explored via a pilot scheme in the first instance.

Minister Warner added, “From all reports which I have received, the first six-month trial was a resounding success. From what I have been told, there has been less traffic on mornings coming into Port-of-Spain. Therefore, we must extend this trial, giving the travelling public choices. I am really pleased with what I saw, and I feel another extension is necessary.

For further information please contact the Corporate Communications Unit: (868) 625-1225 x 2275 or (868) 625-3091

http://www.mowt.gov.tt/general/subcateg ... goryID=127

here you go.so bookmark it on your phones so if you are on the bus route and following the instructions you can show the occifer it

DECEMBER 30, 2010

Postby S_2NR » January 5th, 2011, 8:29 am

Kenjo wrote:
redman10 wrote:
uncle sam wrote:

fixed!

is the 12 midnight because of the strike today?I know the bus route is open from 4am to 6am and then 830am to 3pm.you guys sure you not some traffic police trying to chain mn up to earn yourselves money from tickets.its 3 or more persons in the car inclusive of the driver also

hw i suppose to kno all d details hoss..my name is nuh jack warner...neither do i travel..

Bareback

Postby Bareback » January 5th, 2011, 8:32 am

SUPAstarr wrote:they strikin against legalization of PH

The underlying premiss of their strike is that they want to maintain the current monoply they have as they see that legitimization of PH as a significant threat to their profits. If they had offered to convert all PH to H their response would be the same - STRIKE!

Basically they eh wha dey jack get heng!

Postby nervewrecker » January 5th, 2011, 8:34 am

once the port of spain - siparia bus run later as usual, I cool.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » January 5th, 2011, 8:44 am

I dunno bout allyuh but I will travel anyday(once it's possible/feasible) as opposed to driving.I'm not one of those trinis who need to park in,on or beside the place I am going to.I don't mind parking a few minutes walk away from my destination and footing it.Usually travel to POS and walk all over and travel back....bothers me not.

Travelling is a beautiful thing;I pay $5 and never have I been asked to change oil,belts,tyres,fuel up etc a maxi plus(most times) I get to sit back,relax and not get worked up over some jackass bad driving me.

Saves me time,money and peace of mind..it's a win win for me.