A CAR FOR MY PASTOR

Postby uncle sam » January 7th, 2011, 8:41 am

A CAR FOR MY PASTOR
Woman's prayer comes true; wins Audi A4 but wants to give it away

By Kim Boodram
Story Created: Jan 6, 2011 at 11:47 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jan 6, 2011 at 11:47 PM ECT
When Kathlyn Daniel Alleyne found out she had won a new Audi A4 sedan from Digicel, she could not wait to give it away—to her pastor.
But the pastor yesterday humbly declined the offer, deciding instead that it was Alleyne's blessing to be enjoyed.
Alleyne, of La Brea, had for some time been praying for a "big ride" not only for herself but also for her preacher, Pastor Dennis Collins of the Bethlehem Spiritual Baptist Church in Cape-de-Ville, Point Fortin.
Collins does not own a vehicle while Alleyne drives a Toyota Cressida.
Alleyne received a call from cellular provider Digicel on Wednesday, informing her that she had won the vehicle, which carries an on-the-road value of $375,000.
She immediately got down on her knees to thank God.
A member of the congregation of a "small church", Alleyne said she believed the vehicle to be a blessing from God in response to her prayers.
She kept the prize a secret from most of her family, only informing her husband of her intended donation while the couple was being photographed in the vehicle at distributor, Southern Sales Ltd, on Tragarete Road, Port of Spain, yesterday.
"My husband loves cars and of course he was very excited about the Audi but he understood my promise to God and he supported me," Alleyne said in a telephone interview yesterday.
Alleyne, a nursing assistant at the Point Fortin General Hospital, said she has never been selfish in her prayers and always asks for the opportunity to help others.
"Nothing is too great for me to give," she said.
"People don't realise that, they don't realise that it is not about you, it is about others and that is when your faith works for you. I have always won things and had things given to me because I don't always want these things for myself.
"I like 'big rides', like a Hilux. I was praying for two Hilux trucks, one for me and one for my pastor. But I had also pledged to God that I would give the first vehicle I get to my pastor. So when I found out that I had won this car, I could not go back on my word. I had to give it to him (the pastor) to clear the way for me to receive that Hilux!"
Alleyne said it occurred to her, on Tuesday, that she might have been guilty of gambling by taking part in the competition.
In the 2010 Top-up To Live It Up Christmas promotion, the telephone numbers of anyone who topped up at least $50 on their cellular accounts were automatically entered into the draw, which Alleyne later realised did not qualify as "a gamble".
"It so happened that the next day I received the call telling me I had won," Alleyne said.
Alleyne said her family supported her decision to give the prize away when they found out about the car.
"One of my two sons said to me, 'A car is a car'," she recalled.
"They are both car lovers like my husband but they knew this was something I had to do and that God would bless me again when the time was right."
When Alleyne visited Pastor Collins at his home in Cap-de-Ville yesterday evening, to surprise him with news of the intended gift, he was pleased with the gesture but chose to decline.
"I feel that this was God's gift to her," Collins later told the Express.
"If God wants to give me a vehicle, it will happen."
Alleyne said she is a frequent winner of such promotions and she owes it not only to her "strong faith" but also to her willingness to give to others.
Alleyne also won a BlackBerry cellular telephone and an ornate living room "hutch" from a promotion by Courts, where she made several purchases during the holiday season.
She believes she will still be given a Hilux.
"God knows what is in my heart," she said.
"He will bless me again."

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/A_CAR_FOR_MY_PASTOR-113052169.html

Ah feel the pastor touching the cookie.. :P

Re: A CAR FOR MY PASTOR

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 7th, 2011, 8:47 am

he already collecting tithes.

If she wanted to give that badly, she should sell it and give the cash to various charities.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 7th, 2011, 8:49 am

Ah feel the pastor touching the cookie..

^^That would seem to be the case :?
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on January 7th, 2011, 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

kevcam

Postby kevcam » January 7th, 2011, 8:50 am

Yuh know if that was Pastor Stewart, he was not going to let that slide. :lol:

Postby gt4tified » January 7th, 2011, 9:10 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:he already collecting tithes.

If she wanted to give that badly, she should sell it and give the cash to various charities.

Errr, no. She said that she made a promise to God that she would give the first 'big ride' she got to her Pastor. Maybe she was just returning the favour?

Postby Greypatch » January 7th, 2011, 9:21 am

She is better than most of us.

Big Respect

Postby Country_Bookie » January 7th, 2011, 9:22 am

it's a good thing Pastor Cuff-he is not she pastor. He woulda take the Audi and say, "So wham to the Blackberry and living room hutch?"

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » January 7th, 2011, 9:31 am

Greypatch wrote:She is better than most of us.

Big Respect

Respect? That stupid cow deserves a slap ... You want to give to charity fine! sell and donate to the many needy organizations. The only agenda she fulfiling by giving to the pastor is her personal one.

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » January 7th, 2011, 10:00 am

Greypatch wrote:She is better than most of us.

Big Respect

not really ......she prob jus cya afford d maintenance

Bareback

Postby Bareback » January 7th, 2011, 10:08 am

By 'Big Ride' she means a car, right?????????

Jason45

Postby Jason45 » January 7th, 2011, 10:15 am

I know d pastor personally,i am not a member of his church but he is a very humble person and is not attracted to vanity and is very helpful to anyone he used to ride to work on a bike for over 25 years,and he never owned a car.Lucky ting is not cuffie she dealin wit.U woulda end up seein da audi in one ah he daughter music videos.

rossi

Postby rossi » January 7th, 2011, 10:16 am

I agree with her selling the car and giving the $$$ to charity.

As for her giving the car to the pastor, NAHHHHH DREAAAAD!!!!!
I wish I could have seen her husbands face when she told him her decision.

Postby foss » January 7th, 2011, 10:21 am

wonder if she bullin?

baby needs a new pair of shoes

Postby rollingstock » January 7th, 2011, 10:29 am

foss wrote:wonder if she bullin?

baby needs a new pair of shoes

I would rather hump the audi :?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » January 7th, 2011, 10:41 am

Hmmm decisions decisions.. * ponders opening church using the baleno as a front to get a new car *

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2011, 11:07 am

CULT !

Postby turbosingh » January 7th, 2011, 11:43 am

At least she cud sell the car an help the church by renovation or a needy child!

Postby A172 » January 7th, 2011, 12:11 pm

oh boy....another delusional blackbird tha go siddong in traffic with all de windows down, sun blazin' and dey stifling....so dey cud be "seen" :roll:
Last edited by A172 on January 7th, 2011, 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » January 7th, 2011, 12:12 pm

wooooooogoooooooooooodddddd

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » January 7th, 2011, 12:14 pm

ROFL!! Trinis again...praying for a Hilux!

Postby TRAE » January 7th, 2011, 1:29 pm

1 damn chupid trini dere

MasterShake

Postby MasterShake » January 7th, 2011, 1:55 pm

sell it and give the $$$ to charity. i dont see how giving it to the pastor really contributing much to society

Infamous

Postby Infamous » January 7th, 2011, 2:39 pm

MasterShake wrote:sell it and give the $$$ to charity. i dont see how giving it to the pastor really contributing much to society

I was praying for two Hilux trucks, one for me and one for my pastor. But I had also pledged to God that I would give the first vehicle I get to my pastor. So when I found out that I had won this car, I could not go back on my word. I had to give it to him (the pastor) to clear the way for me to receive that Hilux!

Her giving the car to her pastor had nothing to do with her being charitable.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » January 7th, 2011, 3:01 pm

Ride for ride...

Postby K74T » January 7th, 2011, 3:13 pm

Jason45 wrote:I know d pastor personally,i am not a member of his church but he is a very humble person and is not attracted to vanity and is very helpful to anyone he used to ride to work on a bike for over 25 years,and he never owned a car.Lucky ting is not cuffie she dealin wit.U woulda end up seein da audi in one ah he daughter music videos.

Well he could still keep he bike.

More exercise

Postby Hook » January 7th, 2011, 3:19 pm

CAR FOR MY PASTA

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2011, 3:25 pm

such is the power of being able to speak and brainwash people

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » January 7th, 2011, 3:27 pm

This reminds me of a joke i heard sometime ago about a guy who fell in a river and could not swim but while he was in the river a boat passed and offered assistance he said no "my god will save me" a helicopter passed offered to save him he declined " no my god will save me" eventually he died and went to heaven, when he met god he asked, god why did you not save me? god replied " i sent donkey, a boat and a helicopter what more yuh wanted? lol..... This is like her yuh prayed for a hilux and yuh win an audi

audi = $375000
Hilux = $275000

Sell audi = $375000 cash = Hilux fully loaded with change. ent they say "if god cant come he will send ah man"

She should be the star of two stupid dogs. Some ppl unbelievable yes.
Last edited by eekipoo on January 7th, 2011, 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 7th, 2011, 3:29 pm

eekipoo wrote:This reminds me of a joke i heard sometime ago about a guy who fell in a river and could not swim but while he was in the river a boat passed and offered assistance he said no "my god will save me" a helicopter passed offered to save him he declined " no my god will save me" eventually he died and went to heaven, when he met got he asked god why you did not save me? god replied " i sent donkey, a boat and a helicopter what more yuh wanted? lol..... This is like her yuh prayed for a hilux and yuh win an audi

audi = $375000
Hilux = $275000

Sell audi = $375000 cash = Hilux fully loaded with change. ent they say "if god cant come he will send ah man"

^^ QFT. Well said indeed.

Woman got her prayers answered yes.

But notice, she prayed for TWO....not one.

Hell, she could have sold the audi, and bought two base model Hiluxes (for a lil extra), and that way satisfy her "plan".

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » January 7th, 2011, 3:33 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:
eekipoo wrote:This reminds me of a joke i heard sometime ago about a guy who fell in a river and could not swim but while he was in the river a boat passed and offered assistance he said no "my god will save me" a helicopter passed offered to save him he declined " no my god will save me" eventually he died and went to heaven, when he met got he asked god why you did not save me? god replied " i sent donkey, a boat and a helicopter what more yuh wanted? lol..... This is like her yuh prayed for a hilux and yuh win an audi

audi = $375000
Hilux = $275000

^^ QFT. Well said indeed.

Woman got her prayers answered yes.

But notice, she prayed for TWO....not one.

Hell, she could have sold the audi, and bought two base model Hiluxes (for a lil extra), and that way satisfy her "plan".

I hear you there but apparently, she believes she going to the both Hilux at the same time or what? ent this is an opportunity to get at least one?