Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby SR » January 14th, 2011, 9:07 am

will try it out this weekend

on another note

anyone looking for a good deal on a enw gas grill
abc distributers has an add in today's papers and they have the charbroil stainless steel grill for $2995

this will probably cost around 2600 if you buy it away and bring it in yourself so their price is quite good for being hassle free

charbroil replacment parts are available at wallmart and online

suspect it may be this model but someone can go check it out
http://www.charbroil.com/ProductInfo/4- ... urner.aspx

Postby X_Factor » January 14th, 2011, 10:22 am

^
bleh

make ur own!

btw baggs have the coal starter chimney for 80$
well worth it ppl!

Postby SR » January 14th, 2011, 10:25 am

make my own gas grill

nah i think not

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2011, 10:57 am

I looking to do some gas burner experimenting soon
fairly straight forward, just need the right size drill for the jets and venturi design
and good quality steel pipe

demogorgon15

Postby demogorgon15 » January 14th, 2011, 4:28 pm

Kingsford charcoals with Mesquite is to die for! it gives whatever you bbq a delicious smokey / slightly salty flavor

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2011, 9:15 pm

Finish adding a gas assist to my charcoal smoker, heating up to 300f in no time at all
depending on how much gas it uses might be easier to just light 1/2 less coals/wood for the taste and finish on gas
stomach test tomorrow

Postby X_Factor » January 14th, 2011, 10:57 pm

u even needed that dread?
that grill used to get really hot on charcoal alone

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 15th, 2011, 12:43 am

not overly a fan of gas pits.....

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2011, 5:29 am

I'm not a big fan of gas either but one needs to look at practicality when it comes to certain issues
didn't really need it for this smoker but its part of a planning exercise

I have a big catering job for an all inclusive party(over 1000ppl) and gonna build a couple big cabinet smokers, so looking at options to keep the heat consistent over a day starting the night before.

just remember you saw these types of rigs here first :)

Postby SR » January 15th, 2011, 6:14 am

lamb and steak comes out best on the gas

chicken is always debatable due to the flavor howevr there are ways around it where u can tell the difference

i still like a lil ole coal pot every now and then but unless constant monitoring gas will always win for the temperature consistancy

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 15th, 2011, 11:44 am

the constant monitoring is the fun part.......keeps your glass on the side always filled....

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2011, 8:52 pm

pit working excellent with gas combo, gonna make a smaller charcoal basket
brined chicken for a few hours in 4 cups water, 1/4 cup noniodized salt

for those who don't think green seasoning is the only way to season chicken try these

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/ ... ken-239923
http://tvwbb.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/488 ... 9740028563

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 16th, 2011, 11:26 pm

nah boi I must have meh bhandhania and poudina.....

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2011, 11:30 pm

well your tastebuds must be very easy to satisfy, lol

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 16th, 2011, 11:59 pm

I would think it were the other way around.......ppl who can't get those seasonings have to settle for all the other rubs etc.....

BUT I agree, that there are the applications where simplicity yields the tastiest results....where bhandhania/poudina should not be mated with a particular type of meat/cooking style.

Postby X_Factor » January 17th, 2011, 6:27 am

^ u should try it properly done bbq
u might not want ne thing else after

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 18th, 2011, 4:48 pm

demogorgon15 wrote:Kingsford charcoals with Mesquite is to die for! it gives whatever you bbq a delicious smokey / slightly salty flavor

I tried it & was ok. Its too expensive to buy now so I'm back to the local coals however I normally light a small chunk of gauva wood & it gives the meat a really nice flavor.

Doing some burgers tonight , may post pics when finished.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 18th, 2011, 5:32 pm

X_Factor wrote:^ u should try it properly done bbq
u might not want ne thing else after

yes I agree......man simple thing like a lil black pepper on some fish steamed down and that does taste awesome, so I eh doubting what the guy said about the other seasonings/rubs etc.....I KNOW they go lash nice......

sorry, was the indian in me that wanted he bhandhania and poudina....lol

Postby X_Factor » January 18th, 2011, 6:29 pm

if we were still in grande together i woulda bring some samples
tooo bad!

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 18th, 2011, 7:03 pm

Ok here goes:

Meat was bought @ Hi Lo.

Tasted excellent !!....Grillman aint want nuttin with me :lol:

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2011, 7:14 pm

excellent, thanks for not emptying the entire bottle of ketchup
nice grates. what kind of grill is that ?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 18th, 2011, 7:32 pm

Thanks pugboy, its a brand called Fire Magic. I bought it in Canada.

I really wish I had the skill , equipment & knowledge like you to make my own smoker

hold this for some knowledge

http://weldingweb.com/showthread.php?t=29544

Oh BTW the best part................

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 18th, 2011, 10:57 pm

^^^^dais wah we talkin 'bout.......nicely done there man Chemical!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 18th, 2011, 10:59 pm

X_Factor wrote:if we were still in grande together i woulda bring some samples
tooo bad!

for real......I miss there, but not that drive.

Jon Gill

Postby Jon Gill » January 19th, 2011, 1:55 pm

That looks great Chemical, you have my mouth watering.

On a serious note Chemical, if its not Porterhouse its Ribeye to Beef Ribs and now burgers, man you wanna die before 50 with cholestrol and cancer coupled with the booze :drinking:

You better take it easy on the red meat now man :|

Postby pugboy » January 19th, 2011, 5:12 pm

how you know the man eating that everyday ?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 19th, 2011, 7:10 pm

Gill, I don't do it very often however thanks for your concern.

pugboy did you have a look @ the link.

I really wish I knew how to do fish properly.

Postby pugboy » January 19th, 2011, 8:29 pm

yeah, been there, done that :)

Postby SR » March 27th, 2011, 10:34 am

got my hands on some jack danials wood chips yesterday in sears

actually we bought all out :)

gonna fire up the grill today and try them out

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » March 27th, 2011, 1:22 pm

SR wrote:got my hands on some jack danials wood chips yesterday in sears

actually we bought all out :)

gonna fire up the grill today and try them out

ba$tard... :evil:

:D

I'm still working the charcoal grill, but having fun experimenting with different rubs on beef and marinades for chicken & pork.

I'm finished with pre-steaming meat, never again. Just need the right seasoning, correct heat,proper monitoring and it's great!

Never done seafood or lamb (not a big fan of either) but will have to try eventually to be able to satisfy everyone.