3%

Total votes: 277

Re: OVERCOMING HINDRANCES TO IMPLEMENTATION OF DEATH PENALTY

Postby noshownogo » January 17th, 2011, 9:55 am

pioneer wrote:hanging doesn't deter crime

we should rehab criminals and give them another chance

:lol: you wasn't one of those on the KABTFABT train. You have family in Golden Grove or wha?

Bareback

Postby Bareback » January 17th, 2011, 10:41 am

Send the bastards into Afganistan without training or ammunition, that wat we can say we didn't kill them and we didn't pay to keep they wotless bamsee alive in jail!

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » January 17th, 2011, 11:04 am

Hanging is not suppose to be a deterrent....Its a punishment for a crime.

If you could kill someone cold heartedly then you should not mind paying back with your life.
But all them so called gangsters does cry for their mommy when they get sentenced to death and bawl and cry like cats for mercy. In the words of The Punisher, "its not revenge, it's punishment".

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » January 17th, 2011, 4:10 pm

Other countries have no problem with capital punishment. example China

swift justice
North korea

Indonesia

evo-STI-k

Re: HANGings (YAY or NEY)

Postby evo-STI-k » January 18th, 2011, 12:22 pm

the young fellah that in prison now for the Murder/raping of the 2 innocent housewives and baby in west moorings, should be the FIRST to hang,
he was too young at the time to hang, now is his time!

BUSS he stinking throat!

Postby UML » January 18th, 2011, 12:24 pm

chuck attin.....i think he got life imprisonment now

Postby foss » January 18th, 2011, 12:30 pm

i tink once you reach in jail.. because you: raped or murdered, you should be hung.

petty offences: jail
Last edited by foss on January 18th, 2011, 12:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » January 18th, 2011, 12:38 pm

Hanging is one of those twilight zone things to me. How would u punish someone for killing someone by killing them. Who makes u the judge jury and executioner?
What makes this right or justified?
What makes u better than that person who killed in the first place? Beacuse u have the law on your side it becomes right to take another persons life?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » January 18th, 2011, 2:59 pm

UML wrote:chuck attin.....i think he got life imprisonment now

that exact same MURDERER, RAPIST should never be allowed to live a day without PAIN!

Bareback

Postby Bareback » January 18th, 2011, 3:06 pm

If they not going to hang then at least let us be part of the firing squad, ah fella need some target practice every so often!!

Or better yet, give we ah truck load ah bricks, first man to knock him out win!

d spike

Postby d spike » January 18th, 2011, 4:28 pm

crash dummy wrote:Hanging is one of those twilight zone things to me. How would u punish someone for killing someone by killing them. Who makes u the judge jury and executioner?
What makes this right or justified?
What makes u better than that person who killed in the first place? Beacuse u have the law on your side it becomes right to take another persons life?

Certainly, you must be aware of that concept called "fair-play" or "fairness"...
If someone's untimely death is 'okay' to the guntah (who, in willingly performing the deed, clearly shows his opinion in this matter) then he shouldn't have a problem with his own untimely death at the hands of another...
By killing someone without sufficient cause, you demonstrate your stance on the value of human life. Why is it not fair to treat you in the same fashion you believe others should be treated? don't you believe in respecting the beliefs of others?

If you have a problem with it as 'punishment', think of it as 'fair treatment'... "The law" doesn't make it "right" to take "another person's life"; the law makes us able to rid society of a threat that cannot be dealt with in another way... and to do so in a manner acceptable to the person on whom the sentence is being carried out.

UML wrote:chuck attin.....i think he got life imprisonment now

Are you sure? I got the impression that he was to be released...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 18th, 2011, 4:34 pm

"eye for an eye" business....

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » January 20th, 2011, 3:54 am

Look at the kind of money that must be spent to transport these criminals

'$1m a month to shuttle prisoners'

By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 19, 2011 at 10:48 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 19, 2011 at 10:48 PM ECT

TAXPAYERS have been spending $1 million a month to have prisoners transported to and from this country's prisons, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan said in the Parliament yesterday.

He made the comment as he presented a bill to have the time frame for prisoners brought to the court increased from eight days to 28 days.

Ramlogan said under the Summary Courts Act Chapter and the Indictable Offence Preliminary Enquiries Act, a "magistrate is empowered to remand an accused person without his consent for a maximum period of eight and ten days respectively".

"In other words, when the case comes up the magistrate remands the person in custody and they must be brought back to court every eight or ten days. The magistrate cannot allow them to remain in prison for a longer period of time. They must be brought back," Ramlogan said.

"Over the years it has become evident that this time frame is woefully insufficient because the prosecution cannot be ready in eight or ten days for a case to try it. But what you have is a system whereby prisoners have to be brought and they would be brought out to the length and breath of Trinidad and Tobago to all the courts at great cost to taxpayers," he said.

Ramlogan said close to $100 million was paid to Amalgamated Security Services Limited since 2002-2009 to have prisoners transported. He said the Government's proposal to have the time frame for remanded prisoners increased would provide "monetary savings" in the tune of $12 million a year.

He said he was of the view that "prisoners should not have to leave to prison" when incarcerated and plans are afoot to have "video conference technology" included to ensure that prisoners could have their matters heard without being transported to the court. This would cut down on the "excursions and adventures" prisoners were allowed, Ramlogan said.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » January 20th, 2011, 7:41 am

for every prisioner in jail , WE pay for them to live, just hang they arses and do away with them, less drain on the economy and just an all round better thing todo.

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » January 20th, 2011, 8:04 am

"tooth for a tooth"

d spike

Postby d spike » February 2nd, 2011, 11:13 pm

So...
because hanging isn’t a proven deterrent against crime, it should not be done?
That’s their argument?
What a heap of codswallop.

For decades we have been locking up people for stealing and raping... yet it is still done...
Does that mean we shouldn’t lock up thieves and rapists?
Police give tickets to drivers who park illegally and break red lights, yet this continues to take place... Scrap the ticket/fine system then...
Bullcaca...

Hanging has nothing to do with being a deterrent. It is a punishment... and punishment should be fitting. If you don’t consider the life of another person as being too important to not bring to an untimely end for your own selfish interests, then you yourself shouldn’t have any problem with someone else feeling the same way about you – isn’t that equality?

We live in a society where one must earn one’s keep... society where the individual is seen as important, and as having rights and responsibilities.
A burglar or con-man can be incarcerated where he can learn the value of hard work, acquire experience and skills that would enable him to earn a legitimate living, while at the same time, he is cut off from the society in which he preyed on others (making it safe for them)... a punishment that allows him time to reconsider the use of his future time – in which he could better serve society, rather than be a parasite – all this is reparation to society, and by extension, to those whom he abused.
While some of these points can be applied to a murderer, the major ones (the main point of incarceration as justice) do not. If the victim is dead, to whom, then, is the reparation directed? If a man steals your belongings, is a fine (sent to the state’s coffers) going to replace them? Where is the compensation in that?
If your kidnapper loses his freedom for the better part of his life, you will consider that fair. How does a murderer’s repentance of his crime make you feel? How does his victim feel? How is a specific period of incarceration fair? His victim will not walk the earth in 25 years’ time – why should he?

Hang the sodding thugs who murder folks in order to take their victims’ hard-earned belongings. We don’t want critters like these in our society.

And while I am on the topic of earning one’s keep... I say, bring back the chain-gang. Let criminals be seen to perform atonement for their errors on the side of the road... breaking stone to make crush to put in potholes and retaining walls... cutting bush on the side of the road (and not with “wackers” either, but short swiper eh)...

I could hear the angry murmurings... dat is CEPEP and URP wuk... oh really?
When did this become sacrosanct? Who was made king that proclaimed cutting bush on roadside was the labour of the otherwise unemployable? Why should my tax-dollars be handed to you for doing something that criminals could be better used for? I have a better suggestion...
Let CEPEP and URP raise crops/livestock... (yuh unemployed? Yuh want wuk? Why drain society? The same society yuh wants ah hand-out from? Help feed the nation... (yuh want tuh eat ah food? Help get it...) [/rant]

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » February 2nd, 2011, 11:23 pm

This country have too many corrupt individual in high positions who I believe are responsible in part for some of the crimes we have here for me to say YAY, the person who did the crime will get punished but there will be no significant reduction in crime. Just my opinion.

memphis78644

Postby memphis78644 » February 3rd, 2011, 8:13 am

ok ppl st rose talking thou shall not kill so no hanging but i hope she read in the time of noah wen god cause the rain to fall for 40 day an nite killing many ppl, i want to know if god did a wrong

Postby Chimera » February 3rd, 2011, 9:48 am

steups...
apparently the way verna want it is,

when a murderer is caught, you say "AYE DOH DO THAT AGAIN NA MAN! STEUPSSSS"
and let him go.

d spike

Postby d spike » February 3rd, 2011, 10:01 am

memphis78644 wrote:ok ppl st rose talking thou shall not kill so no hanging but i hope she read in the time of noah wen god cause the rain to fall for 40 day an nite killing many ppl, i want to know if god did a wrong

Don't worry about that "religious" argument of theirs, lad - it doesn't hold water.
First of all, that same God/Book states that execution is okay for specific "sins", and secondly, it has been shown that the proper/original translation of that specific commandment is not "Thou shalt not kill", but "Thou shalt not murder". This choice of wording is not semantics. There is a clear difference between the slaying of a person for gain, pleasure or robbery, and the putting down of a dangerous and proven threat.

d spike

Postby d spike » February 3rd, 2011, 10:18 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:steups...
apparently the way verna want it is,

when a murderer is caught, you say "AYE DOH DO THAT AGAIN NA MAN! STEUPSSSS"
and let him go.

It seems that all she is concerned about is the children of the victim!
As long as the children of the victim are cared for, then all is well? So, what if the murdered person is childless? It was okay to kill him?

Nah, man. Some of her statements make sense, but she is mixing them up in one big soup with the 'bleeding hearts' gab, thus creating a heap of inedible muck.

Not all murders were carried out by poor and starving, frustrated folks.
That girl, De Leon (I think it was), who waited with her pal on the shore for the taxi driver to swim ashore (they had stabbed him and thrown him into the sea)... then they made sure he was dead the second time they threw him in... That is an example of a frustrated person? They did that to get funds to go to a fete!!!

The "good", little boy who shot Michael Hercules... he got what he wanted, then shot the man! Hercules was dying when he did his last good deed and erased the punk.

Frustrated? Poor? Most of them wearing shoes that I can't even afford!!!

Postby Chimera » February 3rd, 2011, 10:26 am

daz because u insist on making yuh shoes from grass and mud ^^ but that's another story

d spike

Postby d spike » February 3rd, 2011, 10:37 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:daz because u insist on making yuh shoes from grass and mud ^^ but that's another story

:evil: :evil: :evil:
Yuh see you? You need a kick in the backside... yuh lucky ah cyah deliver it, cause dat would mash up mih shoes... :lol: :lol:

But back to Verna's arguments...
I say, put all her plans into practice... all the support systems to aid the poor and frustrated...
BUT LEAVE THE DEATH PENALTY IN PLACE. That way, any dolt who, despite all the "support" he was given (or had access to) still goes and commits a murder, then he has every right to stretch a rope.

memphis78644

Postby memphis78644 » February 3rd, 2011, 12:07 pm

as they say now call for desperate measure if was 5 or 6 murder for the month she plan go work but is 47 murders for the month.we need 200lbs of rope an ah mango tree

Postby foss » February 3rd, 2011, 12:16 pm

d spike, some valid points!

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2012, 3:56 pm

memphis78644 wrote:ok ppl st rose talking thou shall not kill so no hanging but i hope she read in the time of noah wen god cause the rain to fall for 40 day an nite killing many ppl, i want to know if god did a wrong

god cud do what HE want- he ees boss! :mrgreen:

Postby redmanjp » February 2nd, 2012, 3:58 pm

Sign the petition!!

afishermanscry.com

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » February 2nd, 2012, 4:05 pm

an eye 4 an eye! who do the murders/rape, get to visit hell sooner :D

Postby Spitfir3 » February 2nd, 2012, 10:25 pm

yay only after sured evidence doh i say this because rate things goin dey might hang first then ask questios later..readin most the comments here you could tell nobody on tuner dez get quote on papers :D all the feedback on d newspaper people saying nooo dont hang dem treat dem nice give dem house and land and mind dem forever unless is oprah dey interviewin right threw

Postby X_Factor » February 2nd, 2012, 10:47 pm

in addition to hangings, i think they should re-introduce the good ole "cat 0 nine" or the "birch" in sentencing so jail wont just be seen as "goin inside".....the more violent the crime, the more blows you will have to take...even those in line to be hanged should also have to get it just incase the personhas have no value for their life