S.I.A Shocker

Re: S.I.A Shocker

Postby Cjruckus » January 25th, 2011, 12:42 am

eliteauto wrote:I feel it for Ms Ramnarine, because she got caught up in the mire that is politics, where does this leave her? Any appointment she gets in a State capacity will reek of political nepotism, her identity is compromised and her value to the intelligence community is severely lessened. She can become a 9 day wonder or she can be constantly looked at for political milage by the Opposition in the future .

If there is any merit in the allegations of her political links and her "whistle-blower" status, she should have used the gratitude of a Gov't to seek her own interest in a low key manner, thus she could have enjoyed the benefits of what she did, unfortunately she's now a pariah and politicians are quick to abandon those

I wish her the best

UNC Politics at its best.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 25th, 2011, 12:42 am

fkn PP mudascnt.....shame shame shame!!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 25th, 2011, 12:45 am

and which fkn hole panday crawl out ah to make comments....steups what a blasted crybaby....go back in yuh (oma) hole.....fkn has been want to come and criticize....leave that to the noble opposition....

I really dislike that fella......

Postby Cjruckus » January 25th, 2011, 12:51 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:and which fkn hole panday crawl out ah to make comments....steups what a blasted crybaby....go back in yuh (oma) hole.....fkn has been want to come and criticize....leave that to the noble opposition....

I really dislike that fella......

Funny. After this showing in office, Panday just proved that he is the UNC. These jokers in government are the Taiwanese replacement.

Cmon Government, Sue me.

Postby eliteauto » January 25th, 2011, 12:57 am

It's now possible the Opposition may refer some Ministers to the Privileges Committee for misleading the House?

Postby zoom rader » January 25th, 2011, 7:56 am

eliteauto wrote:It's now possible the Opposition may refer some Ministers to the Privileges Committee for misleading the House?

So u would agree that we have a working opposition once again.
Last edited by zoom rader on January 25th, 2011, 7:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2011, 7:57 am

that degree sounding like its from one of those other
places that advertise degrees on the cover of TSTT directory

pioneer wrote:LOL is there even a BSc Information Technology being offered by UWI? :lol:

Postby 16 cycles » January 25th, 2011, 8:24 am

GRAND LIES
Govt calls UWI after stating Reshmi had degree; finds out she's no graduate
By Denyse Renne denyse.renne@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 24, 2011 at 11:45 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 24, 2011 at 11:45 PM ECT

THE Government only made a request to the University of the West Indies (UWI) for all academic documentation related to Reshmi Usha Ramnarine the day after it announced she was a graduate of the university.

It was also the day she tendered her resignation as Director of the Strategic Services Agency (SSA).

It is still unclear whether she was appointed to the SIA or SSA, with the Government saying it was SSA and the Office of the President stating it was the Security Intelligence Agency (SIA).

Sources say the request to UWI came on Saturday, following question marks over Ramnarine's academic qualifications for the top-level highly sensitive security post raised in an exclusive Express report.

A reliable UWI source has said that Ramnarine is not a graduate of the university with a BSc in Information Technology (IT).

On Friday in Parliament, National Security Minister John Sandy, Foreign Affairs Minister Suruj Rambachan and Legal Affairs Minister Prakash Ramadhar said Ramnarine was qualified for the position of SSA Director

Sandy, during his contribution in Parliament, said a meeting held with the National Security Council to consider a recommendation from the Deputy Director of the SSA resulted in Ramnarine being the suitable candidate to head the agency.

Sandy said Ramnarine had nine years, experience in the organisation and "is a graduate of the University of the West Indies."

Rambachan told Parliament that Ramnarine has a BSc in IT and is a second-year student at UWI, where she is completing a BA in Psychology. Rambachan also said Ramnarine has international experience and has been at the agency for nine years.

On Saturday, one week after being given the instrument of appointment to head the SSA, Ramnarine tendered her resignation, stating she feared for her personnel safety.

A press release from the Ministry of National Security's Communication Unit said Ramnarine's resignation was accepted by Sandy.

When contacted on the matter of Ramnarine's record as a graduate yesterday, UWI principal Prof Clement Sankat said: "Those matters are quite confidential and I will not be commenting on personal student matters. I gave all relevant information to the Ministry of Science ,Technology and Tertiary Education."

When the Express contacted Fazal Karim, Minister of Science, Technology and Tertiary Education and line minister for UWI, he said he made no such request.

"I did not request anything, why should I?"

Asked whether someone in his ministry may have made the request, Karim said: "If they did, I have no idea."

Following the ministers' unwavering support for Ramnarine and the assurance that she is indeed qualified, the Express managed to obtain a copy of Ramnarine's resume which she sent to various media houses.

The resume showed that, prior to 2007, Ramnarine did not have any degrees. Some of her qualifications included a Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (MCSE) in April 4, 2005-May 12, 2008, from UWI and a certificate from BorderCom International.

When the Express visited UWI's St Augustine campus yesterday, records provided showed Ramnarine was not among the graduating class of 2007, 2008, 2009 or even 2010.

Records further showed that UWI only started a BSc degree in IT last year and the only other computer-related programme offered during the years was a BSc in Computer Science.

This in itself is contradictory to what Ramadhar and Rambachan stated in Parliament—that Ramnarine has a BSc in IT because the programme only started last year.

SIA employment records, which the Express obtained, confirmed Ramnarine has four years' experience as a junior communications technician, a position she held until her elevation one week ago to Director of the SSA.

The records also showed that certain aspects of Ramnarine's qualifications mirrored those of a Deputy Director at the SIA.

The Deputy Director in question has nine years experience, is a graduate of the UWI and also has international experience participating in workshops and seminars in Canada, United Kingdom and the United States of America.

It was only last year the Deputy Director returned from a seminar in New York, sources say.

Sources further added that though Ramnarine may have been recommended to the post, it was the duty of the National Security Council to ask pertinent questions and even interview Ramnarine, especially since the unit is a sensitive one which deals with intelligence gathering and matters of national security.

Efforts to contact Sandy, Rambachan and Ramadhar were unsuccessful yesterday.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/GRA ... 26524.html

douglaking

Postby douglaking » January 25th, 2011, 8:54 am

Where are the sheep?

Postby Hook » January 25th, 2011, 9:30 am

pioneer wrote:...when she compromised our national security...

pioneer wrote:...broke the oath of secrecy...

pioneer wrote:...more or less committed treason against the state...

Fill us in on when and how this happened please. Some of us might not have been paying attention like you apparently have.

Postby K74T » January 25th, 2011, 9:31 am

Jokers gotta do what jokers gotta do!

Postby Greypatch » January 25th, 2011, 9:41 am

Now a Responsible administration will take responsibility of this obscene appointment.

Damage control MUST be done. people MUST be held accountable.

The person who recommended her to the post.

The people who approved her for the position.

The people who defended the appointment and Lied to the public (Ministers)

They should all be fired. !!!!

They took the public for fools !!!

Show some spine resign...

If they have no spine FIRE THEM MADAM PM...FIRE THEM

Postby AllTrac » January 25th, 2011, 9:45 am

Kamla fire Suruj?? :lol:

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » January 25th, 2011, 9:46 am

douglaking wrote:Where are the sheep?

^^ So what u saying is PP supporters= sheep and PNM supporters = donkeys ???

Sounds fair to me :mrgreen:

I feel like greypatch have some sort ah gun complex yes..all this talk about firing and whatnot lol

But it seems as tho these ministers did lie and mislead the citizenship and on that grounds they should resign. PP show some initiative..PNM ministers lied and decieved the population and didn't have the integrity to resign.

PP set the precedent and discipline these dissident ministers before further harm to T&T's image is done!

PNM was the Mugabe regime of the caribbean and if we thought it couldn't get worse the PP looking to convince us that it can?...Kamla don't solidify your legacy in government as one equal to or lesser than the PNM...show some fortitude and shape up NOW...otherwise GTFO.
Last edited by jadakiss on January 25th, 2011, 9:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Greypatch » January 25th, 2011, 9:52 am

jadakiss wrote:

Let us be fair there are blind supporters on both sides.

This must change if we are to develop as a society

douglaking

Postby douglaking » January 25th, 2011, 9:53 am

Greypatch wrote:
jadakiss wrote:

Let us be fair there are blind supporters on both sides.

This must change if we are to develop as a society

Agreed, both sides have their sheep.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 25th, 2011, 10:01 am

Greypatch wrote:Now a Responsible administration will take responsibility of this obscene appointment.

Same thought i had after reading todays article.

Lies.....Lies.......Lies.......

Suruj should Resign

Sandy should Resign

Kamla should Resign.....yes i said Kamla!!!!!

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » January 25th, 2011, 10:07 am

Alot of PP supporters prolly wishing that the government was as shrewd as the PNM in masking the ills and wrongs commited...but what mentality is that really encouraging? Acts of subterfuge can never be condoned. This is what i'm seeing from this new government and its really disheartening.

I wonder if there is any hope for Trinidad beyond the PNM and PP.....according to Fixin T&T's kirk waithe, abuse of power and manipulation of people while in office is considered corruption...Nizam fiasco for e.g. Citizens have to realize that just cuz they voted a party to office you can't blindly let them do what they want under the pretext that u supported the party and not a particular minister, so whatever the minister does is not ur concern.

The PP is facing alot of obstacles...economy, public service, mismanagement clean ups from the prev administration..but the biggest obstacle is themself :- namely the lacklustre, questionable persons currently serving as ministers

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 25th, 2011, 10:08 am

16 cycles wrote:
GRAND LIES
Govt calls UWI after stating Reshmi had degree; finds out she's no graduate
By Denyse Renne denyse.renne@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 24, 2011 at 11:45 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 24, 2011 at 11:45 PM ECT

THE Government only made a request to the University of the West Indies (UWI) for all academic documentation related to Reshmi Usha Ramnarine the day after it announced she was a graduate of the university.

It was also the day she tendered her resignation as Director of the Strategic Services Agency (SSA).

It is still unclear whether she was appointed to the SIA or SSA, with the Government saying it was SSA and the Office of the President stating it was the Security Intelligence Agency (SIA).

Sources say the request to UWI came on Saturday, following question marks over Ramnarine's academic qualifications for the top-level highly sensitive security post raised in an exclusive Express report.

A reliable UWI source has said that Ramnarine is not a graduate of the university with a BSc in Information Technology (IT).

On Friday in Parliament, National Security Minister John Sandy, Foreign Affairs Minister Suruj Rambachan and Legal Affairs Minister Prakash Ramadhar said Ramnarine was qualified for the position of SSA Director

Sandy, during his contribution in Parliament, said a meeting held with the National Security Council to consider a recommendation from the Deputy Director of the SSA resulted in Ramnarine being the suitable candidate to head the agency.

Sandy said Ramnarine had nine years, experience in the organisation and "is a graduate of the University of the West Indies."

Rambachan told Parliament that Ramnarine has a BSc in IT and is a second-year student at UWI, where she is completing a BA in Psychology. Rambachan also said Ramnarine has international experience and has been at the agency for nine years.

On Saturday, one week after being given the instrument of appointment to head the SSA, Ramnarine tendered her resignation, stating she feared for her personnel safety.

A press release from the Ministry of National Security's Communication Unit said Ramnarine's resignation was accepted by Sandy.

When contacted on the matter of Ramnarine's record as a graduate yesterday, UWI principal Prof Clement Sankat said: "Those matters are quite confidential and I will not be commenting on personal student matters. I gave all relevant information to the Ministry of Science ,Technology and Tertiary Education."

When the Express contacted Fazal Karim, Minister of Science, Technology and Tertiary Education and line minister for UWI, he said he made no such request.

"I did not request anything, why should I?"

Asked whether someone in his ministry may have made the request, Karim said: "If they did, I have no idea."

Following the ministers' unwavering support for Ramnarine and the assurance that she is indeed qualified, the Express managed to obtain a copy of Ramnarine's resume which she sent to various media houses.

The resume showed that, prior to 2007, Ramnarine did not have any degrees. Some of her qualifications included a Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (MCSE) in April 4, 2005-May 12, 2008, from UWI and a certificate from BorderCom International.

When the Express visited UWI's St Augustine campus yesterday, records provided showed Ramnarine was not among the graduating class of 2007, 2008, 2009 or even 2010.

Records further showed that UWI only started a BSc degree in IT last year and the only other computer-related programme offered during the years was a BSc in Computer Science.

This in itself is contradictory to what Ramadhar and Rambachan stated in Parliament—that Ramnarine has a BSc in IT because the programme only started last year.

SIA employment records, which the Express obtained, confirmed Ramnarine has four years' experience as a junior communications technician, a position she held until her elevation one week ago to Director of the SSA.

The records also showed that certain aspects of Ramnarine's qualifications mirrored those of a Deputy Director at the SIA.

The Deputy Director in question has nine years experience, is a graduate of the UWI and also has international experience participating in workshops and seminars in Canada, United Kingdom and the United States of America.

It was only last year the Deputy Director returned from a seminar in New York, sources say.

Sources further added that though Ramnarine may have been recommended to the post, it was the duty of the National Security Council to ask pertinent questions and even interview Ramnarine, especially since the unit is a sensitive one which deals with intelligence gathering and matters of national security.

Efforts to contact Sandy, Rambachan and Ramadhar were unsuccessful yesterday.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/GRA ... 26524.html

wait wait wait.........She\they fabricated her resume?
isn't this fraud?

eyephone

Postby eyephone » January 25th, 2011, 10:20 am

hahahaha. online rumshop ftw.

Postby Greypatch » January 25th, 2011, 10:26 am

Someone should remind those in office the OATH of Allegiance the took.

Postby pete » January 25th, 2011, 10:31 am

Just one thing, because her resume did not indicate a BSc does not necessarily mean she doesn't have one. She was applying to be a journalist and I don't think a BSc is a requirement for that. I know some people only put the qualifications needed on their resumes to secure a job instead of looking overqualified and not getting it. Once inside the organisation then you can use your qualifications to possibly move up or transfer to another area. Just my 2c

Postby Greypatch » January 25th, 2011, 10:36 am

Pete yuh read the article she eh have no BSc.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 25th, 2011, 10:38 am

pete wrote:Just one thing, because her resume did not indicate a BSc does not necessarily mean she doesn't have one. She was applying to be a journalist and I don't think a BSc is a requirement for that. I know some people only put the qualifications needed on their resumes to secure a job instead of looking overqualified and not getting it. Once inside the organisation then you can use your qualifications to possibly move up or transfer to another area. Just my 2c

i hear yuh......but if you applied\selected for top notch job will u omit a degree?

Secondly they cant even find picture much less her name as an UWI graduate from 2005-Present so you tell me what BSc in IT she did in UWI

Furthermore only last year did UWI add a BSc in IT to their Cirriculum :?

Postby zoom rader » January 25th, 2011, 11:22 am

5onDfloor wrote:
Greypatch wrote:Now a Responsible administration will take responsibility of this obscene appointment.

Same thought i had after reading todays article.

Lies.....Lies.......Lies.......

Suruj should Resign

Sandy should Resign

Kamla should Resign.....yes i said Kamla!!!!!

so if they all resign, then who should we put into goverment? Do tell us

Postby 16 cycles » January 25th, 2011, 11:26 am

^ someone who could check on a candidate's credentials before accepting them for a sensitive security position????

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 25th, 2011, 11:29 am

Zoom rader, why dont you answer that question.

but dont believe for one minute that the PP is the best of the crop.

Postby zoom rader » January 25th, 2011, 11:33 am

5onDfloor wrote:Zoom rader, why dont you answer that question.

but dont believe for one minute that the PP is the best of the crop.

U said that they should all resign. Then do tell us in your words which party is fit to run this country?
So who is best crop? Do tell us.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 25th, 2011, 11:48 am

16 cycles wrote:^ someone who could check on a candidate's credentials before accepting them for a sensitive security position????

The reason why this wasn't done is because its all favoritism and nepotism.....and he want to come here and talk that the PNM was a racist party blah blah blah but his PP party barely 8mths in power has already shown their inepitude and acist behaviour.

You talk about PNM was practicing race and nepotism but now we have one minister (Gypsy) askin another minister(Mcleod) to fire PNM people from URP and Hire UNC supporters....and how is he Mc cleod was suppose to ascertain who was PNM supporter from UNC? not by race?

You talk PNM had no integrity but you fired a top Journalist because he held an opposing view to Kamla.....then mask it behind cost cutting but yet they are firing/reshuffling employees at CNMG and bringing over they folks from TV6 to fill positions all with the intent to change CNMG to be a Pro-PP\Government media station.....isnt this threatening our democracy?

You talk about Transparency but where is the transparency in hiring this 31yr old technician to run the SIA\SSA? who were the panel that interviewed her? Did they do any backgound checks on her? i will imagine such a top post would required extensive interviews and family backgound checks? was this done? why the grand haste? why? why?.....is it because she is best pal with the PM advisor Sasha Mohammed?.....can u zoom rader and yuh supporters defend this?

This is just a small summation of your Government performance in the last 8 months....what shud we expect in the remainin 4yrs and 4mths?

Postby zoom rader » January 25th, 2011, 12:04 pm

5onDfloor wrote:
16 cycles wrote:^ someone who could check on a candidate's credentials before accepting them for a sensitive security position????

The reason why this wasn't done is because its all favoritism and nepotism.....and he want to come here and talk that the PNM was a racist party blah blah blah but his PP party barely 8mths in power has already shown their inepitude and acist behaviour.

You talk about PNM was practicing race and nepotism but now we have one minister (Gypsy) askin another minister(Mcleod) to fire PNM people from URP and Hire UNC supporters....and how is he Mc cleod was suppose to ascertain who was PNM supporter from UNC? not by race?

You talk PNM had no integrity but you fired a top Journalist because he held an opposing view to Kamla.....then mask it behind cost cutting but yet they are firing/reshuffling employees at CNMG and bringing over they folks from TV6 to fill positions all with the intent to change CNMG to be a Pro-PP\Government media station.....isnt this threatening our democracy?

You talk about Transparency but where is the transparency in hiring this 31yr old technician to run the SIA\SSA? who were the panel that interviewed her? Did they do any backgound checks on her? i will imagine such a top post would required extensive interviews and family backgound checks? was this done? why the grand haste? why? why?.....is it because she is best pal with the PM advisor Sasha Mohammed?.....can u zoom rader and yuh supporters defend this?This is just a small summation of your Government performance in the last 8 months....what shud we expect in the remainin 4yrs and 4mths?

For the last time dude I am not a supporter of the PP. I am anti PNM.
And as my Former Prime Minster told reporters when he hired Howard Chin Lee as a Minster of security " All u need is a level head and common sence" Why did u not complaine then? Its is good that the oppostion spotted this and showed that they disaproved . We all learn from our mistakes and must move on.