Narco Trafficking in Trinidad

Bezman

Re: Narco Trafficking in Trinidad

Postby Bezman » December 13th, 2010, 6:46 pm

ask a stupid question, get a stupid answer :P
i know ya cant answer that one baii!! roll on..

Postby zoom rader » December 13th, 2010, 7:28 pm

DarkKnight wrote:good post! to bad our P.M and National Security Minister believes to solve crime is to

1:Don't Bring in border defense boats
2:Stop SAUTT
3:Tell the criminals we listening to you and know what you up to!

Total Rubbish my PNM cult members .
1. Border Boats is a waste of money
2. SAUTT had tobe stop, it was of no use in the fight on PNM gang crime
3. How does President Max Richards end up being a criminal by SIA

Postby zoom rader » December 13th, 2010, 9:19 pm

DarkKnight wrote:good post! to bad our P.M and National Security Minister believes to solve crime is to

Total Rubbish my PNM cult members .
2. SAUTT had tobe stop, it was of no use in the fight on PNM gang crime
3. How does President Max Richards end up being a criminal by SIA

And ur point is?

Postby RASC » December 14th, 2010, 1:45 am

Well yes...

Picasso

Postby Picasso » December 14th, 2010, 11:06 am

After reading a few posts I assume zoom rader is a kant

As you were

Humes

Postby Humes » December 18th, 2010, 6:50 pm

The scariest thing I getting from this book is how much of the economy is tied up in drugs. It makes me wonder if things might not actually get worse if the sector is significantly affected.

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » January 29th, 2011, 12:24 pm

ok well i went and got my copies of the following:

A Society Under Siege: A Study of Political Confusion and Legal Mysticism by Professor Ramesh Deosaran Ph.D Criminology. $143

Jihad in Trinidad and Tobago, July 27, 1990. Darius Figueira $163

Cocaine and Heroin Trafficking in the Caribbean The case of Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica and Guyana. Darius Figueira Volumes 1 & 2. $182 and $140 respectively

the above books were obtained from UWI Bookshop and the following are available in same according to an advertisement in the TnT Mirror.

looking to buy on monday

Psychonomics and Poverty. Professor Ramesh Deosaran Ph.D Criminology

Crime, Delinquency and Justice. Professor Ramesh Deosaran Ph.D Criminology

What i was told by my friend's father who holds a degree(UWI Jamaica) and masters(UWI St. Augustine) in history and is a former librarian at NALIS PoS is that he would not trust too much the books by Darius Figueira as they have a lot of allegations but little proof. The author claims to be a researcher but most of his "facts" are allegations and he(friend's father) would like to know how much of it he can prove. This is what i was told.

He also said that the books by Professor Ramesh Deosaran are very good. I guess he is right as in Society Under Siege there is a foreword by Theodore L. Becker, (LL.B., Ph.D.), Professor and former Head of Department of Political Science, Auburn University, USA. There is also an introduction by Robert Cohen (Ph.D.), Professor, Graduate School of Sociology, University of Warwick, England. They have both critiqued the book A Society Under Siege by Professor Deosaran and marvel that every citizen of T&T should read it.

Darius Figueira's books are not endorsed by anyone so i don't know what to make of it (vs what my friend's father has told me) but i have purchased them already and will read on.

crusty

Postby crusty » January 30th, 2011, 7:46 am

thats it he get a comission

crusty

Postby crusty » January 30th, 2011, 7:49 am

pioneer is a undercover police or wat? perhaps a maco?

noobie

Postby noobie » January 31st, 2011, 9:39 pm

If the book does not contain references which can be reviewed by others, then it isn't researched. It is just one man's opinion, not this entirely factual and historical volume as you're making it out to be.

Also, I doubt the book does not contain anything that Trinidadians have not speculated on, or 'know' the way we always 'know' everything. Worse yet if it refers to a report that no one else has seen.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 31st, 2011, 11:36 pm

call ian alleyene, he wants to know where the drugs are and who running the scenes.....

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » February 1st, 2011, 4:18 am

Look at the chain of islands in the caribbean from jamaica...barbados...trinidad...they all have something in common - big powerful families controlling most if not ALL major conglomerates eg. Neal & Massy

Ever wonder why bernie maddoff makin jail for something like what duprey got away with?...cuz noone dare touch him down here...

While I usually agree with most of your posts I feel the need to both comment and also be educated,

educated- if you had said Ansa Mcal I would've had no questions but which big powerful family controlling Neal and Massy ?

comment - madoff making jail because there is a better legal system with financial laws and systematic prosecution neither of which Trinidad has... Look calder hart cant even get charge yet, Piarco rainbow feels like a decade ago and steve and ish STILL eh get tried on it.. panday 10 million, ent they could trace the wire, how come no charges? trinidad cant even persecute murders who caught with the gun in their hand how they going to unravel financial complexities??

plus Madoff confessed and his son has proof.. Duprey can hide behind the company and its accountants/auditors a bit more than Madoff can

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » February 1st, 2011, 4:31 am

Comment 2 : As has been said in both UN drug and IMF financial reports the drug trade is so potent that it currently indirectly runs the world economy, if it were to come to a halt the global economy would crash. Further to that the US economy has extended it credit with other countries so far that it seems that they will only ever be able to repay it by establishing new lines of credit making the whole US economy essentially its own Ponzi scheme - Plus drugs are the number one US non energy import hundreds of BILLIONS of dollars that the IRS makes very difficult to leave the country by their strict anti "money laundering" policies so barons just end up buying their goods there and done after all the money is for luxuries most of which the US makes...they cant afford to lose that drug baron GDP prop..

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » February 1st, 2011, 1:46 pm

noobie wrote:If the book does not contain references which can be reviewed by others, then it isn't researched. It is just one man's opinion, not this entirely factual and historical volume as you're making it out to be.

Also, I doubt the book does not contain anything that Trinidadians have not speculated on, or 'know' the way we always 'know' everything. Worse yet if it refers to a report that no one else has seen.

You read the book?

If? :lol:

a book that has been peer reviewed it is considered more credible than one which has not been peer reviewed. i believe this is what is being alluded to. Darius Figueira's books are not peer reviewed therefore they are not as credible as other books which have been peer reviewed but i don't think there are any books comparable to these books concerning the drug trade in the English speaking caribbean but where there are many books on the cou i will compare those books i.e. darius v prof deosaran etc

U.S. State Department Re: Caribbean Drug Trafficking Concern

Postby RASC » March 6th, 2011, 2:16 pm

http://www.caribbean360.com/index.php/news/268099.html

WASHINGTON, United States, Friday March 4, 2011 - Caribbean countries are still struggling to beat drug traffickers, according to the US State Department's latest narcotics report, and drug-related crime rates are increasing as more of the illegal substances remain in the region.

The 2011 International Narcotics Control Strategy Report (INCSR), released yesterday, also highlighted that there has been more local consumption of drugs in the region.

According to the report, Jamaica remains the largest Caribbean supplier of marijuana to the United States and is a transit point for cocaine trafficked from Central and South America to North America.

"Drug production and trafficking in Jamaica are both enabled and accompanied by organized crime, domestic and international gang activity, and endemic police corruption. The gun trade for illicit drugs exacerbates the problem as undocumented handguns flow freely into the country. Recent assessments by the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) indicate that a significant quantity of illegal firearms entering Jamaica originated in the United States," it said.

"Over the last three years, Jamaica’s seizures of narcotics have generally decreased along with marijuana eradication efforts," it continued, adding that this trend is largely the result of financial constraints on the JCF and the Jamaica Defense Force (JDF) in addition to a shift in focus and resources toward responding to natural disasters, combating gang activity, and addressing Jamaica’s high murder rate.

In its report on Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, which includes Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines, the US State Department said that the region continues to harbor abundant transshipment points for illicit narcotics primarily from Venezuela destined for North American, European and domestic Caribbean markets.

It said that, in general, the Eastern Caribbean suffers from a dramatic increase in crime rates as more narcotics remain on the streets for local consumption while organized gangs are forming to control distribution in the lucrative drug trade.

"Compounding the problem is the lack of comprehensive and timely vetting of all officers serving in sensitive positions, which contributes to the vulnerability of narcotics corruption," the report states.

Although noting that, as a matter of policy, the governments of the Eastern Caribbean do not encourage or facilitate the illicit production or distribution of narcotic or psychotropic drugs or other controlled substances, or the laundering of proceeds from illegal drug transactions, the report said US government analysts believe drug trafficking organizations continue to elude law enforcement agencies through bribery, influence or coercion.

The US has encouraged the Eastern Caribbean countries to effectively implement recent initiatives supporting counter-narcotics efforts and proactive participation in the Caribbean Basin Security Initiative (CBSI) - an agreement with the US which aims to substantially reduce illicit trafficking, advance public safety and security, and promote social justice.

In addition, it said, allowing the Regional Security System (RSS) to take a leading role in establishing strategic and operational priorities regarding law enforcement and counter-narcotics programme needs will provide an efficient and effective means to accomplish Eastern Caribbean goals under CBSI.

Trinidad affects regional drug fight

Trinidad and Tobago was also featured in the report which suggested that actions by the new government elected in May last year may hurt the regional drug fight.

It said that even though counter-narcotics efforts remain a priority for the Kamla Persad-Bissessar administration, "the new government has de-emphasized regional efforts and assistance programs, including some security-related projects that would impact counter-narcotics efforts, in order to focus greater attention on domestic issues."

Locally, the report pointed out that the government struggles to effectively coordinate and implement its drug-control assets, and maintenance issues, corruption, and gaps in the legislative framework remain challenges.

"While Trinidad and Tobago has dedicated resources and political will to drug control efforts, overall, there does not appear to be a marked change in its drug-control performance in 2010. Some initiatives, including demand reduction programs for school children and at-risk youth, may take years to show results. Other strategies, like the deployment of new fast patrol vessels and helicopters, and improved recruitment and training of law enforcement personnel, could yield positive changes more quickly," the document stated.

It suggested that border control could be improved through better surveillance coordination and increased marine interdictions. Increasing border patrols on the western side of Trinidad would make trafficking more difficult for smugglers arriving from Venezuela, it added. Furthermore, it noted, improving the level of passenger and cargo screening at the air and sea ports, including better targeting, profiling and automation of inspections, could increase seizure rates and act as a greater deterrent.

The US said that effective use of technology could also improve Trinidad and Tobago’s narcotics control efforts, noting that the use of communications tracking tools yielded direct results in 2010.

"Automated processing systems would allow for better tracking of shipments through the air and sea ports, people entering and leaving the country, and of prisoners entering and moving through the penal system. Better handling and wider acceptance of forensic evidence could speed court proceedings and improve conviction rates. Improved information coordination would better optimize the use of radar and other surveillance technology in order to stem the flow of drugs into the country," it said.

In Guyana, according to the report, while the ability to detect drug shipments has received some recent investment, a lack of focused interdiction operations and the capacity to monitor and control its expansive borders hinder enforcement of anti-trafficking laws.

The country has been advised to effectively implement recent legislation and regulations supporting counter-narcotics efforts.

The US said it looked forward to collaborating with Guyanese law enforcement to test the amended extradition law and emphasize the need for vigorous enforcement of laws against money laundering and financial crimes.

Kiro_lee

Re: U.S. State Department Re: Caribbean Drug Trafficking Con

Postby Kiro_lee » March 6th, 2011, 5:16 pm

RASC wrote:

"While Trinidad and Tobago has dedicated resources and political will to drug control efforts, overall, there does not appear to be a marked change in its drug-control performance in 2010. Some initiatives, including demand reduction programs for school children and at-risk youth, may take years to show results. Other strategies, like the deployment of new fast patrol vessels and helicopters, and improved recruitment and training of law enforcement personnel, could yield positive changes more quickly," the document stated.

It suggested that border control could be improved through better surveillance coordination and increased marine interdictions. Increasing border patrols on the western side of Trinidad would make trafficking more difficult for smugglers arriving from Venezuela, it added. Furthermore, it noted, improving the level of passenger and cargo screening at the air and sea ports, including better targeting, profiling and automation of inspections, could increase seizure rates and act as a greater deterrent.

The US said that effective use of technology could also improve Trinidad and Tobago’s narcotics control efforts, noting that the use of communications tracking tools yielded direct results in 2010.

wham to dem, Kamla say de crime plan was a "holey-istic" one. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/KAM ... 97554.html

Postby RASC » March 7th, 2011, 7:58 am

Watch this SLOWLYYYYY sink to page two.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/New ... 99368.html

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 7th, 2011, 8:13 am

Lulz, they all wining low, you need to bump this to keep it to the top but you know the usual idiot squad will come and try to turn it into a PNM bashing thread

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2011, 10:12 am

Americas Drug problem is their problem and not ours. They started the drug problem and expects the caribbean to clean it up. Why should the caribbean slove americas drug problem. Why must tax payers money be use to protect the US? If the US really cares about their drug problem then they should clean it up. Just remember it was the CIA that flooded heroin to Afro american population in order to pacify them in the height of the black power movement.

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2011, 10:55 am

pioneer wrote:Cuz pal "america's drug problem" directly affects our crime, it facilitates the easy access criminals have to guns, same guns that can kill you and your family by the same criminals.

Read up on Haiti and understand the role the drug trade played in arming their militias and now their society is highly unstable.

Why should we be the victims of americas drug problem? The US has a right to clean it up they started this problem or is it a CIA ploy to always keep caribbean nations down. Criminals ,guns and drugs are all CIA doings. How come the caribbean never had this problem when they were british?

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2011, 11:23 am

pioneer wrote:Oh boy, so yeah we have a crime problem so let's blame America.

What are WE doing to secure our borders?...nothing

Now we understand why the OPV's were cancelled, kamala had to please her financiers.

Trinidad is the central hub for narco-trafficking into the USA and the UK, yet our government can't/doesn't want to understand that. Which makes you wonder, why?

Instead they appoint a 30 year old cukk-suckin lapdog to be in charge of our national security.

As said before, they don't make guns in laventille.

Stop spreading Lies and propaganda. Where are your facts to prove that our PM Stopped the OPVs to please here financiers?
Trinidad is the not the central hub for drugs to the US. Mexico is central Hub for drugs, they have tunnels, submarines ,cars and airplanes for that purpose.
The UK is not a coke/crak nation, there main drug is heroin that comes from Asia and not Trinidad.A tiny speck of drugs is transported to the UK from the caribbean.
Not confuse facts because you dont like a PP goverment.

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2011, 11:30 am

pioneer wrote::lol: :lol: :lol:

So where does columbian cocaine go?...to mars? :lol:

Probably Washington..........

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2011, 11:46 am

The US consumes more coke that any other nation and the main hub is Mexico for shipping. Just remember that the US number one cash crop is ganja which is 30 Billion US a year that helps keeps the US afloat.If they were to free the weed how would the US survive? The US need drugs because it helps their economy ,why do u think they not helping in fighting drugs? From time to time the US puts on a show that they are fighting drugs which is all propaganda.
In euro, coke is not the perfered drugs , heroin and hashis is, which is much easy to get from Asia and north Africa.Just remember that is was the british that introduce Heroin to asia in order to get control of china and indian trade.

devrat

Postby devrat » March 7th, 2011, 11:56 am

Hmmmmm.....There has been a marked increase in UFO sightings over the last year whereas before they were more discrete.....I feel the Martians flying whilst high on coke. :|

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » March 7th, 2011, 11:57 am

So where does south american cocaine go?...to mars? :lol:

fixed

rmlmv

Postby rmlmv » March 7th, 2011, 4:57 pm

Well my take on this is the rich boys, who T&T didn't buy the OPVs from, went and cry to some other rich boys in the US, and the best that those other rich boys could do is try to make the TT govt. look bad, so the previous govt. party would return and buy the OPVs again.

Caribbean countries are still struggling to beat drug traffickers?
So wait... is the US doing so with ease?

OPVs were a £150 million contract... equal to $1,500,000,000 TT. That's our (taxpayers) money. PP govt. save a sheit load of money for our economy, upsetting the richboys... well we will see even more of their wrath in the future, I'm sure. Then again, what this govt. save there, they wasting elsewhere. :?

The drug trade is here to stay. The monkeys we have here in TT can't put those OPVs to good use. I'm sure they would have instead be used to actually transport the drugs or for human trafficking... on our $1,500,000,000 boats.

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2011, 7:15 pm

The US consumes more coke that any other nation and the main hub is Mexico for shipping. Just remember that the US number one cash crop is ganja which is 30 Billion US a year that helps keeps the US afloat.If they were to free the weed how would the US survive? The US need drugs because it helps their economy ,why do u think they not helping in fighting drugs? From time to time the US puts on a show that they are fighting drugs which is all propaganda.
In euro, coke is not the perfered drugs , heroin and hashis is, which is much easy to get from Asia and north Africa.Just remember that is was the british that introduce Heroin to asia in order to get control of china and indian trade.

*sigh*

So WHERE does South American/Columbian cocaine go? Who buys n consumes it? Trindadians???

Mexican and South American cartels are very separate from each other and constantly at war with each other.

Both go to the US via Mexico,only a small portion is via the caribbean dont u watch National geographic? they did a series on the drug trade from the farmers to the end users. Trinidad was never mention in this series.

geodude

Postby geodude » March 8th, 2011, 7:02 am

ze i can haz cocaine too?

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » March 9th, 2011, 11:10 am

zoom rader wrote:Americas Drug problem is their problem and not ours. They started the drug problem and expects the caribbean to clean it up. Why should the caribbean slove americas drug problem. Why must tax payers money be use to protect the US? If the US really cares about their drug problem then they should clean it up. Just remember it was the CIA that flooded heroin to Afro american population in order to pacify them in the height of the black power movement.

Arsehole statement of the year

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2011, 11:41 am

5onDfloor wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Americas Drug problem is their problem and not ours. They started the drug problem and expects the caribbean to clean it up. Why should the caribbean slove americas drug problem. Why must tax payers money be use to protect the US? If the US really cares about their drug problem then they should clean it up. Just remember it was the CIA that flooded heroin to Afro american population in order to pacify them in the height of the black power movement.

Arsehole statement of the year

This just goes to show how much u know about the history of the drug trade. Try reading history or if u are unable to comprehend then watch some national geographic,History channel or Discovery channel.Try and learn where it was the CIA that brought the Drug trade to America.