Idmax vs RE SE (finally...)

carfreak1024

Re: Idmax vs RE SE (finally...)

Postby carfreak1024 » January 25th, 2011, 8:53 pm

roger wrote:i finally got to run these two subwoofers in a head to head comparison test. both are 12" D4 models. idmax is rated 1000w rms while the SE is 600. had both in a 1.5 cu.ft sealed enclosure. both were powered with an interfire ifh 2120, ie ~800w

i was suprised with the SE. i could tell the difference immediately when i switched from the MAx to the SE. imho the SE had the edge in output

the two subs do sound different. while the MAX has a dry natural sound, i thought the SE sounded better.. it is alot more musical and seemed to blend in better with the tops i have installed in the car at the moment.

the MAX was hands down better in terms of transient response. it is quicker in kickbass notes and synthesiszed bass response.

lowend response goes to the SE. I ran some Dietrick Haddon tracks with the highpass completely shut off and the SE outperformed the MAX.

i have made the switch. i now run RE SE

After much use of these two subwoofers i think that i can honestly say that the IDMAX has the edge in output over the RE SE in lowend subsonic response from my own testing. From experimenting with a few boxes the RE SE does play lowbass really well, and is a beast in a big box but it gives no where near the amount of lows we can get from the IDMAX, i think in your initial testing it would have been better to go with a ported box and use some heavy midbass upfront to compromise for the "high bass" or midbass notes like a kickdrum, etc. I do get what you are saying about the IDMAX though, it is not a peaky sub at all, it is a dry natural sounding bassline, in songs like jeezy's put on, the bass sounds equal in output at all the different notes while the SE sounds louder in at the middle note than the high and low note. Maybe power was also a factor.

We should try this again using the new Image Dynamics IDMAX V3, and the RE Audio SEX12.

Re:

Postby nervewrecker » January 25th, 2011, 9:06 pm

try this track quoted here & get back to us.

Brian Steele wrote:
Soundstream_626 wrote:u want low ?... they`re edited but who gives a crap

u remember jeff saying he used a rob dougan track ?... i gave him the version he used here it is try it out

http://www.mediafire.com/file/mwqznznrn ... s_test.mp3

Oof - that certainly isn't the version off the Matrix CD.

CoolEdit's telling me that it actually drops to 2.5 Hz (yes, that's 2.5 Hz, not 25 Hz) around 20 seconds into the song. Not sure what's the point of including such a low frequency in the track (no chance of ever hearing that), but it sure looked impressive when my subs tried to reproduce it.

Definitely not stuff for vented subs, unless you've got a rumble-filter engaged.

Disclaimer in effect: I accept no responsibility for damage to your sub.........

blame soundstream_626

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » January 27th, 2011, 8:17 am

boi the file saying invalid or deleted boi, whats the name is it the rob dugand track.

Postby nervewrecker » January 27th, 2011, 10:21 am

I will upload it & pm you the link later.

btw, RIP ID max :drinking:

shotcaller

Postby shotcaller » January 27th, 2011, 10:38 am

slacker_jack pm me it too pleaseeeeeeeee.....lemme put the RE SE in T-line to the test :twisted:

Postby nervewrecker » January 27th, 2011, 11:35 am

shotcaller wrote:slacker_jack pm me it too pleaseeeeeeeee.....lemme put the RE SE in T-line to Rest :twisted:

no problem, will pm you it too :lol:

RIP RE SE :mrgreen:

Postby nervewrecker » January 27th, 2011, 8:16 pm

http://www.4shared.com/audio/aFzzMDFs/R ... _test.html

you guys were warned. pause the track, crank the volume all the way up & let it rip. the first few seconds will give you a nice surprise :mrgreen:

gallery men need not download this track.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » January 27th, 2011, 9:25 pm

I hope nobody comes n posts " so ... amm ... yeah where dis bass allyuh was talking abt now?" cus if you`re tuned above 33 hz , you`re gonna be missing half the notes in the track

shotcaller

Postby shotcaller » January 28th, 2011, 1:12 pm

R.I.P RE SE :lol:

My sub just ate that songggggggggg!!!! :twisted:

Postby nervewrecker » January 28th, 2011, 1:20 pm

Vid or it didnt happen.....

what frequency your ssf set to? my ssf switched off.

shotcaller

Postby shotcaller » January 28th, 2011, 1:48 pm

ssf??? :oops:

Postby nervewrecker » January 28th, 2011, 1:51 pm

sub sonic filter aka high pass filter.

shotcaller

Postby shotcaller » January 28th, 2011, 2:00 pm

Dont gots all that stuff dood....I running my SE in my room of a 32A powersupply, usa 400 and laptop...lol

Postby nervewrecker » January 28th, 2011, 2:18 pm

southside connections

Postby southside connections » January 28th, 2011, 4:55 pm

the sub and box can take down to 12hz without any problems

yep, ssc designed lol

Postby Ted_v2 » January 28th, 2011, 5:15 pm

southside connections wrote:the sub and box can take down to 12hz without any problems

yep, ssc designed lol

oh gaddd ouii 12hz :shock:

shotcaller

Postby shotcaller » January 28th, 2011, 5:48 pm

I find it nuh sounding as deep in my room as it used to sound in my van ...Who hav a wagon wt a mono around 1600rms?
Lewwe throw it in and show the power of the t-line :D

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 29th, 2011, 12:45 pm

shotcaller wrote:ssf??? :oops:

badman doh use SSF 0X

doublestenns

Postby doublestenns » January 29th, 2011, 5:38 pm

:shock: i say that is one of the best bass song eva :D

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » January 29th, 2011, 7:00 pm

alright gonna try it tomorrow on the IDMAX when i go to work, but i am going to try it now in my car on my SPLish sub, oh damn oh hope it survives, tuned to 22hz kinda, lol.

doublestenns

Postby doublestenns » January 30th, 2011, 2:09 am

i ran dis song on me head phones and i was :shock: :shock: :o :o 8-) it picked up most of the low notes like a champ

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 30th, 2011, 3:32 am

doublestenns wrote:i ran dis song on me head phones and i was :shock: :shock: :o :o 8-) it picked up most of the low notes like a champ

Wha headphones is that bai?

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » January 30th, 2011, 5:38 pm

tried it in my car and WOW, my sub handled it well dropped amazingly low on that song, the sunroof rubber actually came loose, thats how much roof flex i was getting. Guess thats the best example to show you don't need much to get lows, my sub has an fs of ~38hz, and only being powered with 500RMS from my JBL Crown.

doublestenns

Postby doublestenns » January 30th, 2011, 8:31 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Wha headphones is that bai?

is called "iluv" head phones
to me they are the best sounding ear buds eva

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » January 31st, 2011, 7:55 pm

i have a few headphones dred, i have some pioneer DJ headphones with a ported enclosure and thing, and they don't sound that BASSY. I find the best set of headphones i have ever had were my Denon's they were so awesome, awesome bass, awesome highs, and excellent midrange. They did cost 350US though, but were worth it until i lent them to my sister and have yet to see them since. Just to give you an idea, i also have a pair of BOSE over ear noise cancelling headphones and they can;t touch the Denon's. Another good pair of headphones but the over the ear version for more home listening is the Altec Lansings. THOSE WERE LOUD AS HELL. Literally used to play those headphones off of my Pyramid DJ Amp and they were unbelievably loud and clear, loudest bass i have ever heard from a pair of headphones hands down.