The Dutch veteran announced this week he will hang up his gloves at the end of the season and the search is on for his replacement.
Ajax star Stekelenburg, 28, was believed to feature on a shortlist which also includes Manuel Neuer and David de Gea.
But Old Trafford coach Rene Meulensteen revealed the current Dutch No1 is their choice.
He said: "Stekelenburg is indeed the keeper who is at the top of our wanted list.
"We naturally talk a lot among ourselves about who should replace Van der Sar.
"Alex Ferguson has spoken about Stekelenburg with Edwin, and that does not seem strange to me at all."
Meanwhile, Fergie's No2 Mike Phelan says Sporting Lisbon's Rui Patricio is another keeper who could interest them.
United know all about the highly-rated 22-year-old but United are refusing to say whether a bid will be forthcoming.
Phelan said: "He's a young keeper with enormous potential. We've known Rui Patricio for a long time and we've also played against him a few times.
"The only thing I can confirm is that we haven't made any offer. He's a great goalkeeper who we know very well but there's nothing official.
"Manchester United have a way of acting in the market which is secret and we're not in the habit of talking about targets."
Fergie is determined not to make the same mistake he did when Peter Schmeichel left Old Trafford in 1999.
It took six years to find the man — Van der Sar — to adequately replace the Great Dane.
And Fergie said: "We made a mistake. I should have taken Van der Sar in that time but didn't do it.
"We tried several goalkeepers in the interim before I eventually got Edwin, but hopefully we'll be better prepared this time. We've learned from that."
Ferguson has confirmed he wants Paul Scholes to stay at Old Trafford for another year - but has left it upto the player to decide.
The 36-year-old admitted this week he was undecided over his future, even though his boss believes he has another 12 months in the tank.
Fergie said: "Paul not made up his mind. Hope he stays on for another year, think he can do that but will leave it to him."
tool-band wrote:i would love to see SAF sign Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain
The January transfer window closes tonight and Sir Alex Ferguson remains adamant he won’t be joining in the mid-season rush.
However, the Reds are still being linked with an 11th-hour swoop for either Southampton’s teenage whiz-kid Alex Chamberlain or Blackpool’s 25-year-old playmaker Charlie Adam.
The Reds boss has been able to make a close check on both in the last week with United having played against both players.
Adam, who is being touted as a potential successor to Paul Scholes, impressed at Bloomfield Road last Tuesday.
Liverpool are courting the Scot and have had a £4m bid turned down by the Seasiders.
If Fergie had hoped to steal Adam at a bargain price then he possibly shot himself in the foot after the Red’s win at Blackpool when he declared that Adams’ corners were worth £10m alone.
With a few more attributes than set-pieces, Tangerine boss Ian Holloway is likely to only start considering to sell at £10m now.
Southampton’s highly- regarded left winger, 17-year-old Chamberlain, would fit nicely into United’s stock of potential future stars but he didn’t send a ‘you must buy me’ message with his performance against United on Saturday.
Saints boss Nigel Adkins said: “There are loads of ways in which a deal could be structured.
“But he is a Southampton player, we don’t envisage selling him and we don’t want to sell him.
“I believe he would benefit most from playing at Southampton regularly, giving him the opportunity to develop his ability.”
Arsenal are in the box seat, however, when it comes to Chamberlain’s suitors.
Meanwhile, Ajax goalkeeper Maarten Stekelenburg is Manchester United’s top target to replace the retiring Edwin van der Sar, according to first-team coach Rene Meulensteen.
Racers Edge wrote:what yr did york join utd?
Mark! wrote:farewell a true loyal club player
pioneer wrote:wha de lol bout?
ent same side beat chelsea, pool and city?...wey dem team is?
we still ontop
Mark! wrote:pioneer wrote:wha de lol bout?
ent same side beat chelsea, pool and city?...wey dem team is?
we still ontop
if we used to lol so anytime chelsea lose a game the chelsea ched wouldda be a giant smiley