3ne2nr fishermen

ryan99tt

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » February 28th, 2011, 11:41 pm

by d way, how do u get ur jig from being carried away by the strong current?

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » February 28th, 2011, 11:48 pm

check out some action from over in tobago

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 1st, 2011, 7:37 am

ryan99tt wrote:by d way, how do u get ur jig from being carried away by the strong current?

http://www.seastriker.com/lures/lures_files/jigfish.htm
Last edited by Sabot on July 1st, 2014, 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » March 1st, 2011, 9:03 am

Just thought I would share this with you guys
dolly.JPG
now thats a big fish

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 1st, 2011, 9:03 am

kool...check these out...i know tackle shop have...

http://www.williamsonlures.com/products/jigs.php

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 1st, 2011, 9:05 am

saltydog, thats last mango charters of florida...i actually know the guy and he gives me sum great info...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 1st, 2011, 9:07 am

Postby X_Factor » March 1st, 2011, 10:07 am

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 1st, 2011, 12:21 pm

i think it looks good.....is 2 oz the max lure weight?.....i guess it depends on your intended usage....i normally casy a 4 oz sinker with my 12 ft surf rod. its a daiwa beef stick amd it kinda bulky ....but i make good distance with it.

wall

Postby wall » March 1st, 2011, 2:41 pm

saltydog wrote:Just thought I would share this with you guys

that is a monster dolphin.mutant size fucka

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » March 1st, 2011, 3:36 pm

WTF hands down the biggest dolphin i've ever seen

fellas btw braid is supposed to be better for jigging since there is no stretch in the line which gives the lure more action on the retrieve

Sabot........ u probably kill yourself cranking from 120ft with the amount of stretch u get from mono????? i know bro i've tried which is why i got the braid, it makes ALLLLL the difference in terms of the amount of energy u exert with this method.....

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 1st, 2011, 4:26 pm

reeLpACE wrote:WTF hands down the biggest dolphin i've ever seen

fellas btw braid is supposed to be better for jigging since there is no stretch in the line which gives the lure more action on the retrieve

Sabot........ u probably kill yourself cranking from 120ft with the amount of stretch u get from mono????? i know bro i've tried which is why i got the braid, it makes ALLLLL the difference in terms of the amount of energy u exert with this method.....

Yes it does require some effort but its not bad with the Shimano reel I use.

See here: http://fish.shimano.com/publish/content/global_fish/en/us/index/products/reels/conventional/speedmaster_iv.html

Postby meccalli » March 1st, 2011, 5:01 pm

Hey guys, we got any good surf areas for sharking ?? i'm always amazed how you catch monsters right off shore in Fl and thereabout..anybody have experience ..I'm your student lol.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 1st, 2011, 6:56 pm

sharks are really scarce in trinidad because we does eat dem...in florida ppl does release dem up there...but u cud try but u have to set line for them with sum big piece of bonito or sumthing really bloody...biggest i ever seen caught by my cuz was around 60lb...

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2011, 7:16 pm

there are places towards patos where its shallow and sometimes you can catch as many sharks as you want, around 3-4ft long

Postby meccalli » March 2nd, 2011, 7:03 am

Yeah thats one thing i have alot of respect for, conservation of endangered species,,i mean i love a shark and bake,,but the fact that our fishermen dont know that shark is not a sustainable fishery because of how they reproduce, everytime we bank a big female hammerhead thats it there for a precious litter of more monsters in our waters. For us hobby fishers , one or 2 sharks aint gnna deplete the world but when your doin it big time >.>

Here's some stuff i caught recently, im a sea by nature but.this river fishing thing with my grandfather can catch on LOL..i dont believe in landing tarps but my grandparents love curry grand'ecaille and peas rell bad...:P

Tarp by meccalli, on Flickr

Hoplias Malabaricus by meccalli, on Flickr

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 2nd, 2011, 8:11 am

meccalli wrote:Yeah thats one thing i have alot of respect for, conservation of endangered species,,i mean i love a shark and bake,,but the fact that our fishermen dont know that shark is not a sustainable fishery because of how they reproduce, everytime we bank a big female hammerhead thats it there for a precious litter of more monsters in our waters. For us hobby fishers , one or 2 sharks aint gnna deplete the world but when your doin it big time >.>

Here's some stuff i caught recently, im a sea by nature but.this river fishing thing with my grandfather can catch on LOL..i dont believe in landing tarps but my grandparents love curry grand'ecaille and peas rell bad...:P

Nice guabin (wabeen), excellent condition too :lol:

No coscorob??

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 2nd, 2011, 8:50 am

last sunday, it had plenty tarpon beating like dat size and it had some monsters around too but dey wasnt taking bait at all...any suggestions?

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 2nd, 2011, 9:01 am

ryan99tt wrote:last sunday, it had plenty tarpon beating like dat size and it had some monsters around too but dey wasnt taking bait at all...any suggestions?

What kind of bait were you using?

venomz

Postby venomz » March 2nd, 2011, 9:20 am

artifical with 2oz- check link for actual lure
2inch spoon
and artifical squid...

not ah bite...dey just wanted to show off on us....

http://s4.hubimg.com/u/3870303_f520.jpg

Postby meccalli » March 2nd, 2011, 10:16 am

Well any tarpon fisherman would know tarpon are real flaunters, one day they'll be attacking any damn thing you throw in the water..next day ..run circles around you. umm we fished teh day after full moon so i knew we would get a bit of mid day play..my suggestion fish live bait, dead bait and lures...we got strikes on all but we only got lucky with the live bait.

Incidentally, i'm going toco saturday by the light house, never fished toco in all my life but i see people say its teh bomb. what i wanted to know is i've recently bought this mirrolure 77m http://www.mirrolure.com/classics/65m_77m.html
ive never fished a sinking lure like this cept a spoon but ..thats different..how should i fish this in a place like toco..and how do you fish when you go there(lures, running sinker lines, dead bait on floor?)...sorry if i'm so inquisitive i'm really looking to enhance by current fishing skills to all terrain :P

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 2nd, 2011, 10:45 am

topwater stuff, anything that sink dey guh hook up on rocks...u shud try lures, like spoons, poppers etc...walk wit ah long gharf or someone willing to climb down d side to collect d fish...lol

Postby SUPAstarr » March 2nd, 2011, 11:13 am

of interest to you guys

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » March 2nd, 2011, 2:33 pm

meccalli wrote:Yeah thats one thing i have alot of respect for, conservation of endangered species,,i mean i love a shark and bake,,but the fact that our fishermen dont know that shark is not a sustainable fishery because of how they reproduce, everytime we bank a big female hammerhead thats it there for a precious litter of more monsters in our waters. For us hobby fishers , one or 2 sharks aint gnna deplete the world but when your doin it big time >.>

nice lil tarpon man
where u held it?

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » March 2nd, 2011, 2:39 pm

venomz wrote:artifical with 2oz- check link for actual lure
2inch spoon
and artifical squid...

not ah bite...dey just wanted to show off on us....

http://s4.hubimg.com/u/3870303_f520.jpg

where was this?
casting........trolling?

venomz

Postby venomz » March 2nd, 2011, 2:45 pm

dem small tarpon doh be nice to eat...to much bones/picka

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » March 2nd, 2011, 2:53 pm

meccalli wrote:Well any tarpon fisherman would know tarpon are real flaunters, one day they'll be attacking any damn thing you throw in the water..next day ..run circles around you. umm we fished teh day after full moon so i knew we would get a bit of mid day play..my suggestion fish live bait, dead bait and lures...we got strikes on all but we only got lucky with the live bait.

Incidentally, i'm going toco saturday by the light house, never fished toco in all my life but i see people say its teh bomb. what i wanted to know is i've recently bought this mirrolure 77m http://www.mirrolure.com/classics/65m_77m.html
ive never fished a sinking lure like this cept a spoon but ..thats different..how should i fish this in a place like toco..and how do you fish when you go there(lures, running sinker lines, dead bait on floor?)...sorry if i'm so inquisitive i'm really looking to enhance by current fishing skills to all terrain :P

Observed some guys fishing at the Light house in June 2009. Did not have my gearsto do fishing that day :cry:

They were using spoons; throw and retrieve.

Be prepared to hit the water if you catch some thing big.

Reposting some pics which I posted previously

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 2nd, 2011, 4:09 pm

dat was on the north, 3rd bocas...u cud eat dem tarpon but it have ah way to clean them to get rid of d bone and fine picka...

Postby meccalli » March 2nd, 2011, 5:50 pm

Oh lovely, this certainly gnna do good for my morale...didnt know tarpon roamed toco O.o
But yeah you can eat tarpon, i tried the only way i could to get rid of that *river fish taste* was to scrape teh meat off the bones, season with salt, pepper, paprika,fresh herbs grate potatoes as in making a hash combine with egg,,dust and fry...only way i would ever eat tarpon anyway to taking the savour out of it and BLEH....so i have a caster with a good 175 yards of 50lb trilene and a spoon with a spring wire leader..I should consider myself set :P

Postby X_Factor » March 2nd, 2011, 7:10 pm

Sufix line vs Stren line vs Trilene line

which gets the nod for you?