90's was really the pinnacle of Dancehall...

Keyser Soze

Re: 90's was really the pinnacle of Dancehall...

Postby Keyser Soze » August 11th, 2010, 7:24 am

No Terror Fabulous, no care....

Postby RASC » August 17th, 2010, 7:44 pm

Dirty Money :shock:

The Lexxus on this was badddd

"Mih catch ah gyal inna de act
How she wha tief mih Startac"

...and of course the Capleton :twisted:

Postby RASC » August 17th, 2010, 7:50 pm

Wait nah when you think about it...Lexxus only had skettle tune.

Every tune this man had, was for pure flex out time :lol:

Postby A172 » August 17th, 2010, 8:19 pm

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 21st, 2011, 10:15 pm

bump for kicks yes:

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » March 22nd, 2011, 5:41 am

Big styles man, school days when them big maxis used to bang.

TobagoAK

Postby TobagoAK » March 22nd, 2011, 6:57 am

yes, yes it was. Overall the 90s were fcuckin GREAT!

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » March 22nd, 2011, 8:05 am

Taranchyla riddim was HARD!!

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » March 22nd, 2011, 11:54 am

pretty sure this is 90s
and yeah, it is dancehall :D

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » March 22nd, 2011, 11:56 am

Cutty Ranks has always been one of my favorites:

I don't know about you, but I believe he would have cut of your limbs.

and to me, this has to be one of the best dancehall's of all times!:

I have been thinking about something, back in the nineties, I went through a "loud music" phase where both my brother and I put two amps and four bazookars in my father's 120y 310 wagon. The dancehall back then was better for nice clean bassline, i personally find that nowadays dancehall base loud and noisy, not clean. Could be that I am bias to what I grow up with.
We found out that one group that delivers the base is UB40.

rish1108

Postby rish1108 » March 22nd, 2011, 5:39 pm

joyride riddim was one of the biggest in the late 90's

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 22nd, 2011, 6:28 pm

I have been thinking about something, back in the nineties, I went through a "loud music" phase where both my brother and I put two amps and four bazookars in my father's 120y 310 wagon. The dancehall back then was better for nice clean bassline, i personally find that nowadays dancehall base loud and noisy, not clean. Could be that I am bias to what I grow up with.
We found out that one group that delivers the base is UB40.

in those days, dancehall was actually made to sound good on PA systems, which delivered a maximum punch at 50-100hz..car audio around the early to mid 90's used to sound similar, the emphasis wasn't so much on 30hz basslines...

bass used to sound like..well..bass..punchy and nice. the songs were produced to sound that way...nowadays, it seems like which song have the lowest bassline the better it is..the same goes for car music now yes...

Postby brams112 » March 22nd, 2011, 7:20 pm

somebody hack the op acount orr what?everybody agreeing with he this once?lol watch how you flex eh

Postby rollingstock » March 22nd, 2011, 7:37 pm

brams112 wrote:somebody hack the op acount orr what?everybody agreeing with he this once?lol watch how you flex eh

It's the truth, gotta give the guy his dues.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 22nd, 2011, 10:47 pm

was actually watching this clip on utube and came across on tuner and saw this thread for the first time.........

New Breed

Postby New Breed » March 22nd, 2011, 11:59 pm

xVJx

Postby xVJx » April 7th, 2011, 12:52 pm

na ppl!!!! as trinis u all let me down.... not 1 person here mention Kiskadee Karavan!!

Supa Chile - Ambush
General Grant - Shot Call
Sista Ron - i cah rememba d name lol
Edu Rankin - Hand in d air
Yard Fowl Crew - Dan it up
Home Front - free yuhself

i cah remember the rest at the top of my head but DEM WAZ HARD TUNESSS!!!!!!!!!!!!