3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » April 3rd, 2011, 6:59 am

REAL sexy..but umm,, this is for a jiggin or trollin setup with that 80lb braid? If not just make sure you can handle any knots for light casting. BUT aha i want a saltiga real bad tho....and a stradic for that matter lol...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 3rd, 2011, 8:48 am

meccalli wrote:REAL sexy..but umm,, this is for a jiggin or trollin setup with that 80lb braid? If not just make sure you can handle any knots for light casting. BUT aha i want a saltiga real bad tho....and a stradic for that matter lol...

wha u mean bout de knots?? reading de reviews dese good for live baiting too.....i actually wanna buy it to fish from meh kayak

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » April 3rd, 2011, 8:51 am

Smeed u checkin some real sexy reels there in tru
ive been lookin for a conventional reel recently too and have read some reviews on some of those.
the trinidad a is really the pick of the bunch but at $490 US i cah justify it to myself, accurate also has the BX Boss E-Series reels which are in the same price bracket and one that i may choose even over the trinidad a....a friend has one, and in one word....BUTTER!!
smooth like dat...
one reel i found tho that seemed perfect for what i want to do, ie, jigging/trolling is the avet mxj. There are 2 speed models optional, come in a range of colors, lever drag and are alot cheaper....the only drawback is the drag, it doesn't have as much as the higher end models that u listed......let us know which u chose, u cah go too wrong with dem picks

Postby X_Factor » April 3rd, 2011, 9:05 am

headin ft lauderdale most likely friday
depending on the prices a couple of us wanna go on those fishing charters!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 3rd, 2011, 9:10 am

de ting is good gear is expensive!! i have a small 4000 size shimano thunnus that i paid like $150 for a while back, buh de ting reaaal good. absolutely no issues, and maintenence has been minimal. on the other hand i also have a fin nor 8000 size that cost around $120, but i've had to open her up a coupla times to remove a lil salt and grease up and ting.

once u take care of dem dey does last reaaaal long. met an old fella in new jersey who had some peen trolling reels for more than 20 years!!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 3rd, 2011, 11:13 am

really noce reels...was checking them out too...i really like d saltiga and penn but i hearing the new trinidad real gd too...daz ah real hard decision...lol

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » April 3rd, 2011, 11:26 am

^^ thats ah line up ah some expensive reels!!

the shimano torium and the Penn GTO like what i works really well!

Investing in a shimano Triton wit level wind...i cant handle that thumb thing anymore

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » April 3rd, 2011, 1:33 pm

^^ yuh location , i go find yuh soon :)

Postby Razkal » April 3rd, 2011, 2:00 pm

^men with the smallest engine always hot and sweaty eh? :lol:

Postby meccalli » April 3rd, 2011, 5:14 pm

Oh, smeed, I was talking about how braid knots like a mofo on a baitcaster if you not used to casting with one, spinning reels are generally easier to cast braid with. If you just trolling or jigging tho, you'd have no worries tho...but you seem like you know your stuff judging from your taste :P

wall

Postby wall » April 3rd, 2011, 6:36 pm

the trinidad is a good reel but we use them for trolling. if you dont no what ur doing n u try casting it all ur gona end up doin is forming a nice big bird nest and waste time cutting line.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 3rd, 2011, 8:38 pm

the term is whiplash...any conventional reel will get this if the line is released too quick...

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » April 3rd, 2011, 9:33 pm

Hey i have another question for you guys, im new to the whole fishing thing but its always something i wanted to try and this post giving me real inspiration. So can anyone help me out on how to get started eg. where is the best place to go by rods reels etc, and what should i get since im now starting off i saw some rods in sports and games are they any good? all help will be appreciated :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 3rd, 2011, 9:48 pm

ahhhhhhh birdsnesting!! i hear yah bout dat one.....dats good advice. i think shimano has developed some new guides for their newer rods that help with casting distance and prevention of tangles and birds nests.....buh like with any tackle i figure i hadda try it and see for mehself. if i fack it up den i will know what not to do in the future. :P

even if i can only use if in a trolling application then soooo be it.....i go just hadda invest in a boat :P

i real loving dat trinidad eh....wid a flame red 7 1/2 ft shimano terez rod......i dream it last nite oui

wall

Postby wall » April 3rd, 2011, 10:03 pm

the trinidad is no doubt my favorite reel iv ever used. good pulling power , very light, cheap (compared to the big penn n other big shimano reels) did i mention very light light. we held shiteloads of big wahoo n tarpon and evrything inbtween on them without any problems or struggle.only thing its beat on is the line capacity so its good for just about any n evry kina fish we have down here except the big blues.iv never tried casting one although i wouldnt see my self having a prob once im using lighter line prob not the 30lb but 20lb. but smeed buy it n try it casting, if it dosent work out let me no n il buy it from u.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 3rd, 2011, 11:11 pm

wall wrote:the trinidad is no doubt my favorite reel iv ever used. good pulling power , very light, cheap (compared to the big penn n other big shimano reels) did i mention very light light. we held shiteloads of big wahoo n tarpon and evrything inbtween on them without any problems or struggle.only thing its beat on is the line capacity so its good for just about any n evry kina fish we have down here except the big blues.iv never tried casting one although i wouldnt see my self having a prob once im using lighter line prob not the 30lb but 20lb. but smeed buy it n try it casting, if it dosent work out let me no n il buy it from u.

so wall u a blue marlin hunter as well?? i know u had post stuff bout de wahoo's....sounds like u do the fishing i only read and dream about! i agree wid de trinidad a....it looks like da sex!!

i'm not in a real rush for it buh i like researching stuff prior to spending meh hard earned dinero. i remember when i first toyed with the idea of using braid for my surfishing gear. real men laff at me....asking me why i fishing with thread!! but i stuck with it...and boy do those same fellas now eat their words!

only now do they realise the benefit of the braid for its abrasion resistance....while their mono gets rippend up on the rocks....my braid survives...dey was amazed during our last toco run.

so yea i hear yah i will buy it and give feedback!

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 3rd, 2011, 11:31 pm

X_Factor wrote:headin ft lauderdale most likely friday
depending on the prices a couple of us wanna go on those fishing charters!

dats the shitz rite there!! one of my uncles did a couple charters a while back, he have stories up till dis day!!.....snook and tarpon like wow!! i believe he did his in the keys tho....a one day trip hopping spots in the shallows on bay boats and then a full day in the blue water for larger species. i think they managed a few sailfish before the weather got bad and then they hit some grouper and snapper while in shelter....he was working on a cruise liner at the time so when they docked in maimi he took advantage before he came home.

u looking at buying any gear as u up dere....i tink spring sales starting...might get some good deals!!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 3rd, 2011, 11:34 pm

wall, yuh ever hold marlin? last time i was in the wholsale market in POS i see dey had ah marlin but it was caught in net...never knew they passed so close to trinidad though...once i also saw a few sailfish in the port area while heading out on the spirit to tobago...i only dream of catching those fish at the moment...lol

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » April 4th, 2011, 10:54 am

guys let we link up and charter a boat for them marlin and them, just saw some pics of some marlin caught in Tobago Tournament last week,and it looking real tempting.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 4th, 2011, 3:11 pm

daz ah gd lil change u looking at to go out for marlin yuh know...i ent reach dat high yet, still checking off fish species i caught on my list...first is wahoo>tuna>sail>marlin...lol

Postby X_Factor » April 4th, 2011, 3:40 pm

^ climbing up the ladder...lol

might get some gears but we dont fish as much as before so dont have the zeal to buy stuff
i bought some last artificials last year and only got to test 2 of them out out last month.....

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 4th, 2011, 4:06 pm

^ yup...well it always gd to have artificials bcuz dey cud stay how long without ah problem but if u really not using dem, sell ah few....

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » April 4th, 2011, 6:24 pm

Had some more fun early yesterday morning with 2 more nice jacks , also plenty zelwans and catfishes. Only kept the jacks and one catfish. i am missing the Pompanos , has anyone been catching these at manzanilla ?
It was another good day at Mazanilla , only thing that pissed me off was the dead turtle. About a hundred yards from where i was fishing was a dead turtle , head and flippers missing. Why the hell people so senseless ???!!!! To add insult to injury , a guy who was walking the beach told me it was the FIFTH one he saw !!! F**K
Would love to have the reels you guys are talking about , but can only afford the lower models ( explain cost to wife :oops: ) .

Daiwa Sealine sha30 very solid reel , was a pain to learn to cast but i think i have a fairly educated thumb now . It is spooled with 100 yrds of 20lbs Big Game and 150 yrds of 50lbs Power pro underneath for when (if ever ) a monster fish decide to take some line. Absolutely love this reel, Saltist and Saltiga i imagine would be awesome reels. Then there is the Penn Squall , spooled with braid on top and mono underneath . First time i am casting braid on my conventional reels . So far the magnetic cast control is amasing , but still waiting on that bird nest :lol: That Torque looks just sexy . Not really a Penn fan but damn it looks good.

tight line guys .
Last edited by deadfish13 on April 4th, 2011, 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 4th, 2011, 6:28 pm

deadfish13, where manzanilla u does be holding dem fish? i does be up dat side wit little success...

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » April 4th, 2011, 6:57 pm

Ryan i dont think spot really matters , Proton17 would say differently because i like one spot, but that is just me being lazy. i think stucture, water conditions and timing is everything.

Structure - dont just cast out ...look for the cuts in the sand bar , fish the edges of the bar . just find where the fish biting, even if it is catfish , and keep the baits there. Also distance is not always required . i have caught nice pomps in the 1st gut.

Water - Clear and Cold, well what my legs tell is me cold, never measured it. if the water dirty and warm forget it , i have only caught catfish when it is dirty.

Timing - Moon Rise and Set . i like to fish 3 hrs around these times . New and full moon brings the spring tides so even better yet ! during the major moon phases the moon rise and set are closer to sun rise and set , i just like to fish in the morning, so if the moon is going to rise or set at 7am , i try to fish from 6 - to 9 am . if the water conditions are good i usually hold something. And i am out of manzanilla by 10am and dont have to deal with idiot people , thankfully

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 4th, 2011, 7:02 pm

cuts in the sand bar? wat exactly u look for?

wall

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby wall » April 4th, 2011, 7:25 pm

Last edited by wall on April 4th, 2011, 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » April 4th, 2011, 7:25 pm

Research Rip Currents and Reading the water. might give you an idea of what to look for , better than i might explain .
when the wave crests on the sand bar there will be a spot where it wont break as much . might not be easy to see at first but if you look long enough you eventually see a spot. that is the break in the sand bar . here's a link from my favorite fishing site http://www.stripersonline.com/surftalk/showthread.php?t=537410&highlight=reading+water
hope this helps

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 4th, 2011, 7:54 pm

kool...they really had ah marlin down in d wholesale market bout 100lb, not ah big one...i hope i lucky enough to catch ah wahoo next trip...

EvolvedDET

Postby EvolvedDET » April 5th, 2011, 11:13 am

Wahoooo
IMG00008-20091226-11h46.jpg