3ne2nr fishermen

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » April 5th, 2011, 11:58 am

Ah was wondering when you was gonna post them pics EvolvedDET!!....
Nice Catch.... Talk to champion nah lewwe go get some fish!!!!

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » April 5th, 2011, 12:00 pm

BTW deadfish.... Yuh give some nice info there man... Juss now i go hadda be calling you for tip instead!....

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 5th, 2011, 12:36 pm

EvolvedDET, nice...daz wat i talkin bout...i wanna ketch one of dem...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 5th, 2011, 5:46 pm

yea peeps, i looking to buy ah penn international this weekend but i dunno if to go wit the VSX or VSW....any thoughts?

Postby X_Factor » April 5th, 2011, 6:09 pm

http://www.diverswarehouse.com/store/p/ ... oints.html

lookin for some of these to buy locally
any one seen them in any tackle shop?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 5th, 2011, 6:55 pm

i see this in some tackle shop recently but i cant remember at the moment...goin saturday, i will let u know if i see any...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 5th, 2011, 11:08 pm

ryan99tt wrote:yea peeps, i looking to buy ah penn international this weekend but i dunno if to go wit the VSX or VSW....any thoughts?

no info???

07baracuda

Postby 07baracuda » April 5th, 2011, 11:11 pm

Hey fellas ,i got this blink tv some nice action on the outdoor channel and on versus can`t stop watching they hunting and fishing channels on 310 & 311.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 6th, 2011, 12:07 am

lol...learned alot from that...i love BIG WATER ADVENTURES....

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 6th, 2011, 1:33 am

X_Factor wrote:http://www.diverswarehouse.com/store/p/749-JBL-Trident-Point-Non-Rotating-Speargun-Tip-865-Speargun-Tips-Points.html

u check aphzals? u cud also check glen in chaguanas ....he brings in diving gear regularly from miami. got my fins and boots from him.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 6th, 2011, 2:02 am

ryan99tt wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:yea peeps, i looking to buy ah penn international this weekend but i dunno if to go wit the VSX or VSW....any thoughts?

no info???

yo ryan wha's de difference? i dunno much bout conventional reels....

Postby X_Factor » April 6th, 2011, 6:21 am

Smeed wrote:
X_Factor wrote:http://www.diverswarehouse.com/store/p/749-JBL-Trident-Point-Non-Rotating-Speargun-Tip-865-Speargun-Tips-Points.html

u check aphzals? u cud also check glen in chaguanas ....he brings in diving gear regularly from miami. got my fins and boots from him.

aphzal had some but it finished and doesnt know if/when they will get in the future

radical14

Postby radical14 » April 6th, 2011, 8:56 am

I remember seeing those in sports and games in westmorning a couple of weeks ago not sure if they still have.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » April 6th, 2011, 9:33 am

deadfish13 wrote:Had some more fun early yesterday morning with 2 more nice jacks , also plenty zelwans and catfishes. Only kept the jacks and one catfish. i am missing the Pompanos , has anyone been catching these at manzanilla ?
It was another good day at Mazanilla , only thing that pissed me off was the dead turtle. About a hundred yards from where i was fishing was a dead turtle , head and flippers missing. Why the hell people so senseless ???!!!! To add insult to injury , a guy who was walking the beach told me it was the FIFTH one he saw !!! F**K
Would love to have the reels you guys are talking about , but can only afford the lower models ( explain cost to wife :oops: ) .

Daiwa Sealine sha30 very solid reel , was a pain to learn to cast but i think i have a fairly educated thumb now . It is spooled with 100 yrds of 20lbs Big Game and 150 yrds of 50lbs Power pro underneath for when (if ever ) a monster fish decide to take some line. Absolutely love this reel, Saltist and Saltiga i imagine would be awesome reels. Then there is the Penn Squall , spooled with braid on top and mono underneath . First time i am casting braid on my conventional reels . So far the magnetic cast control is amasing , but still waiting on that bird nest :lol: That Torque looks just sexy . Not really a Penn fan but damn it looks good.

tight line guys .

thats the exact penn reel i want where u getting that locall to buy?

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » April 6th, 2011, 10:26 am

saw that in CORSA a while ago... pm pimptacular, he might kno if they have

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 6th, 2011, 10:30 am

Smeed wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:

no info???

yo ryan wha's de difference? i dunno much bout conventional reels....

i dont know, dats y i'm asking...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 6th, 2011, 11:06 pm

ryan99tt wrote:

no info???

EvolvedDET

Postby EvolvedDET » April 7th, 2011, 11:24 am

the majour difference between the VSX and the VSW is the line capacity the VSW having a greater capacity the VS series has the option of single or two speed whereas the VSX is only two speed.
the entire line of the penn international series are monsters. my advice to you would be to buy online the prices are a bit high in trini but if you are buying locally get a registered fisherman to buy it you dont pay vat plus u get a discount. the 3O and 5O are great in both cases but if ur getting the VS get the wide bodies 3O VSW and 50 VSW the 7O and 8O are very heavy and unless u are rigged with a fighting chair they are killers in stand up gear even the 5OVSW in stand up gear with a fight of over 30mins will have you begging for the line to pop. Tackel shop has the best prices for Penn and are a registered dealer i think. Check out the Avet line of reels they are really good as well but you can only get these in the US

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 7th, 2011, 12:52 pm

EvolvedDET, finally....thanks...i think i will get the 2 speed 50VSX....

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 8th, 2011, 12:47 am

like all dem tuner fishermen have exams now?...who heading out weekend? wat ulyuh holdin?

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 8th, 2011, 4:25 am

oye ryan u buy de reel??

also i was thinking we could make a list of the stores where everyone buys their tackle and stuff. i know some of u guys buy gear online, but i still like to physically handle anything before i buy.....get a good loooong macco at it!! i'll start and u guys add to the list (store name, location and what good stuff dey have)

1. Tackle Shop - Carenage - lotsa good stuff
2. Southern Whole Sale Stores - Marabella - rods and reels (crappy customer service)
3. Peakes - Cocorite - not a lot of variety, but u can take your time and peruse (considering buying a kayak from them)
4. General Store - San Fernando Wharf (reaaaal cheap... i never really see much rods / reels, but sinkers, hooks, cast nets, some lures.....good good prices
5. M. Hosein - Montrose, Chaguanas - not a lot of variety, but i grab hooks and sinkers when i'm in a bind cause he opens late
6. Aphzals - El Socorro - i haven't been there in a while, but last time i visited, the guy there told us to just look thru all the stuff they had and he go give us a price!! got some sweet prices on some fins, found some parts for an almost antique jbl spear gun....they had mounds of stuff just piled up in a shed.
7. Monarch - Tunapuna - i never been here, someone had posted a while ago that they had good prices.....
8. ??

so where else? i assume up grande side probably have a coupla places? and what about in chaguaramas??

and what about websites? where u guys get good deals and new stuff?

i have used amazon, tackledirect.com and anglerscenter.com

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 8th, 2011, 8:49 am

yea smeed, i goin ah few stores on saturday to check out and buy d reel...u got all d stores i does check locally...online i does check basspro and amazon...

radical14

Postby radical14 » April 8th, 2011, 8:58 am

guys where is Aphzals in El Socorro i know of the rest but never been to aphzals

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 8th, 2011, 9:00 am

if i remember correctly is just before the Mosque on the left hand side.... its a hardware so u might pass it straight at first.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » April 8th, 2011, 9:14 am

Reel Tackle in Cocorite too, Econo Car lot

radical14

Postby radical14 » April 8th, 2011, 9:22 am

thanks there is also
[b]ramsingh sports world[/b] in couva the prices use to be very good but have not been there in a very long time service sucks.
There is also soogrims in couva not a wide variety but you get the basic lead hooks, line and a small variety of rods, tackle
both are on couva main road

todd61

Postby todd61 » April 8th, 2011, 1:18 pm

ryan99tt wrote:like all dem tuner fishermen have exams now?...who heading out weekend? wat ulyuh holdin?

Well we boat down,right now we taking apart de engine to see what broke inside.

Postby meccalli » April 8th, 2011, 6:20 pm

Hey, has any of you guys caught snook along the manzan /mayaro stretch? I was doing some reading and they said you should fish horizontal, along the shore since the fish are usually no more than 5 foot from shore O.o..kind of a shocker to me.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 9th, 2011, 6:38 am

yea, u shud use ah line wit the lead above the bait wit ah small whole herring if u cud ge dem and dont throw too far from shore...look for deeper pockets close to the coastline....ive caught snook on mayaro beach wen no one was catching any fish at all...lol...well fellaz i heading out to buy my international today, hopefully i will get to test it out soon...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 9th, 2011, 7:58 am

i only ever caught 2 snook up in marianne river in blanchi - 1 was pretty small and the other was maybe 3 lbs. i was using a 12 ft daiwa surf rod, fin nor fs 80 spinning reel with 30 lb yellow braid, attached to a 4 ft 20/30 lb clear fluoro leader attached to the main line wid a small ball bearing swivel.

the leader was then tied to a worm hook (which i got with a package of (sebile soft magic swimmer lures). For bait i used Berkley Gulp! soft jerk shad - i believe the first one was caught with the rootbeer colour and the bigger one with a kinda bluish / green. Both baits were the ones with the glitter on them.

anyhow, the wind was pretty stiff blowing from the sea....so i decided to cast the lure/hook without any weight and let the current jus blow it up the river.....and it actually worked!!

i saw movement in the water approx 20 -30 ft from where we were standing, so i closed the bail and just tugged the line lil bit wid meh finger and den boom!!....i felt weight on the line. anyhow dis was the smaller fish so he came in pretty easy....made a small jump jus as i cud see him in the water.

any how after losing de worm hook after a lil while, i switched to a setup like what ryan described abover....same main line and leader, but a 1 oz egg sinker before the swivel. i used a normal 2/0 j hook and another gulp bait - de bluish green one with with the glitter. anyhow, with the added weight i managed a much further cast, again it ended up pretty close to the bank and i set de rod down in a holder.

to be honest i didn't really pay much attention dis time cause we were getting ready to go....until i told meh lil cuzin to reel in the big rod so we cud pack up.....only to realise after bout 3 cranks of the handle that he was either tangled or had hooked something. just as i grabbed the rod, i saw the fish jump.....wasn't sure what it was......it dragged off a lil line and then after a coupla minutes i got it basically to the edge where we cud see it......and de friking leader broke....i guess it got nicked on someting beforehand.

anyhow it was mad fun and that demonstrated to me that regardless what other people may say....experimentation and being willing to keep on trying will always yield results.

those gulp baits are pretty decent eh....i cut up one into small small pieces and tried it out in meh fish tank....de angels and silver dollars all attacked it....the silver dollars were more interested when the bait was moved a lil bit....buh de angels didn't care (this was after i fed them for de nite eh, so they were not hungry).

so dais my snook story....i know it long and boring buh maybe someone might find it interesting.

ohho... de sky was a bit overcast dat day and we fished de river from 4:30 to 6:00 pm.... i will post pics when i get home....(in 2 weeks time)....peace!!