3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Chiney

Re: Photographers..whey allyuh? (Share yuh shots here!)

Postby Chiney » April 11th, 2011, 12:05 am

^^ EPICCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » April 11th, 2011, 8:50 am

I just like this shot

tonyone5

Postby tonyone5 » April 12th, 2011, 10:36 pm

Lighthammer cool links.
Had some free time so i tried out the hdr tutorial. this was the result...

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » April 12th, 2011, 11:04 pm

Just trying to get the word out. Please assist if you can.
Thanks much
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=367630

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 13th, 2011, 12:49 am

tonyone - not bad, is that ur first try? The thing about HDR, esp GOOD hdr, is to get it looking natural without anyone thinking it was altered. But if you going to push the colours and contrast, the better HDR's are done more on the subtle side, i.e. less is more.

zodiaque - hard luck about that Canon and Panasonic camera boy. Hope you get it back... or at least Karma pays you back and you get something even better.

tonyone5

Postby tonyone5 » April 13th, 2011, 5:30 am

Yup that was my first try. Will try another one when i get some time.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » April 13th, 2011, 5:31 am

^^ A demo, still did not read manual as yet. This was taken with my Cannon G7 which is a very high end Non-SLR & packed with tons of features for the semi-professional (which I bought back on 2007 for almost TT $ 6,000.00 !!) & do not want to carry around a bulky SLR like the Nikon which I just bought !

Now for the Nikon...just look @ the crystal clear images especially fine detail (Cannon G7)

I'm really impressed with this SLR !

BTW thanx Lighthammer.

tonyone5

Postby tonyone5 » April 13th, 2011, 7:55 pm

My second attempt at an hdr image

Postby ismithx » April 14th, 2011, 7:06 pm

emm i can' help comment but you all men overdoing the hdr there. I use a software called picturenaut. It is free and just for HDR processing alone. Now when you are processing an HDR image you need to -
first of all, the source scene must have enough variety in color to look good in HDR. Not everything looks good in HDR

- second, don't push the HDR output settings to far. you all have some of the colors turning negative there because the HDR is too much tweaked.

For example - see one of my shots below.
https://picasaweb.google.com/ismith.use ... 4586568722

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 14th, 2011, 7:13 pm

well for a fact i try not to edit pics..
just crop, add names, or ad a lil light to under exposed shots..

Postby ismithx » April 14th, 2011, 9:26 pm

naaa boy you see editing photos have a science to it, no sense learning one aspect of photography without the other... curves and levels etc... complicated and lovely stuff that can turn an ordinary shot into a thing of beauty. photography is an art AND science, editing is not cheating it is simply creating beauty

tonyone5

Postby tonyone5 » April 14th, 2011, 10:11 pm

points noted, will try again when i get some more free time.

Fuzz Master

Postby Fuzz Master » April 15th, 2011, 1:00 am

Postby X_Factor » April 15th, 2011, 7:48 am

My new point and shoot...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 15th, 2011, 8:35 am

ismithx wrote:naaa boy you see editing photos have a science to it, no sense learning one aspect of photography without the other... curves and levels etc... complicated and lovely stuff that can turn an ordinary shot into a thing of beauty. photography is an art AND science, editing is not cheating it is simply creating beauty

listen lil boy.....photographers have their OWN way of doing things ok. u have a lil point and shoot and u edit to hype up where a slr wud be needed. that i understand..

heres a picture i took and did NO editing and waz pointing towards the sun, with a lens thats slightly cracked too, this here is total aperture priority ... take note and go pee and sleep

Postby RBphoto » April 15th, 2011, 9:04 am

All this beat up over pitchas :?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 15th, 2011, 9:14 am

^^ is not that.. that lil boy have issues.. he always feel his methods are the true and only one..

Postby RBphoto » April 15th, 2011, 9:20 am

Chiney wrote:^^ is not that.. that lil boy have issues.. he always feel his methods are the true and only one..

That is OK. Should not get under your skin though... the final image is all that matters... and that is a matter of taste anyway.

Postby X_Factor » April 15th, 2011, 9:21 am

soo allyuh eh find my pics bess?....lol

Postby ismithx » April 15th, 2011, 10:42 am

Chiney wrote:^^ is not that.. that lil boy have issues.. he always feel his methods are the true and only one..

well ok yea boy enuff bashing, but i looking at things from my point of view, i do not have a professional camera, so i have to survive by my editing skills, besides, what's the harm in bringing out a little more beauty in your shot by editing?

Postby RBphoto » April 15th, 2011, 10:55 am

ismithx wrote:

well ok yea boy enuff bashing, but i looking at things from my point of view, i do not have a professional camera, so i have to survive by my editing skills, besides, what's the harm in bringing out a little more beauty in your shot by editing?

Do what works for you dan. No amount of photoshop can help a shiddy pictcha. The light, the composition, the moment captured in time cannot be changed. Only saturation and exposure can be piddled with in photoshop. Many people miss this point. To change the lighting, the picture has to be painted over pixel by pixel. The final export from photoshop will only look good if the original picture looked good.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 15th, 2011, 11:55 am

^^^ exactly.. so take a good pic! if u cant..try and try again

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 16th, 2011, 1:02 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
ismithx wrote:
Chiney wrote: No amount of photoshop can help a shiddy pictcha. The light, the composition, the moment captured in time cannot be changed. Only saturation and exposure can be piddled with in photoshop.

I beg to differ...

Before

(.... lots of layers, B&W conversion, masking, burning, dodging later....)

After

Art is subjective, and photography can be an extension of Art. It depends on the photographer's intended image and how they'd want it to be expressed.

There are basic rules like Composition, Foreground/Subject/Background, lighting, etc. - but even since the older days when guys shot in Film media, they did some levels of modification to images in the Darkroom.
Eg. letting the film sit in the developer a little while longer than needed in order to darken the final print, or taking it out early to have it under developed and thus a little lighter.... etc. etc.

So everyone is free to express themselves, and if they find some way to do so, then good for them. If they decide to remain close-minded and accept that way as the only way, then too bad for them. If they choose to open their horizons to other forms of expression, or simply to accept the opinion's and expression of other folks - then more power to them.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 16th, 2011, 1:18 pm

dude.. i DID not say that
how that quote end up under my name???
u need to check your quotation...

Postby sMASH » April 16th, 2011, 4:43 pm

mathematically speaking, photography is a subset of art, so photographically speaking, u need to have great composition to have good photos. but art is wider than that, taking what u have and doing all sorts of things with them.

Postby RBphoto » April 16th, 2011, 5:19 pm

lighthammer wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:
ismithx wrote:
Chiney wrote: No amount of photoshop can help a shiddy pictcha. The light, the composition, the moment captured in time cannot be changed. Only saturation and exposure can be piddled with in photoshop.

I beg to differ...

Before

(.... lots of layers, B&W conversion, masking, burning, dodging later....)

After

Art is subjective, and photography can be an extension of Art. It depends on the photographer's intended image and how they'd want it to be expressed.

There are basic rules like Composition, Foreground/Subject/Background, lighting, etc. - but even since the older days when guys shot in Film media, they did some levels of modification to images in the Darkroom.
Eg. letting the film sit in the developer a little while longer than needed in order to darken the final print, or taking it out early to have it under developed and thus a little lighter.... etc. etc.

So everyone is free to express themselves, and if they find some way to do so, then good for them. If they decide to remain close-minded and accept that way as the only way, then too bad for them. If they choose to open their horizons to other forms of expression, or simply to accept the opinion's and expression of other folks - then more power to them.

I see you only read parts of people post, so I won't bother to reply to this......

:x DOH!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 16th, 2011, 8:44 pm

^^ heheh... whoopsie.

Sorry Chiney and crossdrilled.. my bad. Wash in a rush and posted that in a hurry, didn't mean to mix up the quotations - so my apologies for the brainfart moment :( :(.

I still stand by what I said though, art and its expression is within the eye of both the beholder and the expressionist. I don't want to get all theological here, but it's such a broad topic that it can't be covered in a single post - at least I can't do it. Yes, photography can be both technical as well as aesthetic, one can stick to the rules and also break them - in the end we'll all have slightly different interpretations of the same image. This is why people go to art school and study for degrees in art.

Anyway - you guys have your own interpretation of what a good picture is, I have mine, and so does any of the other guys on this thread. Most of the time, our opinions agree, sometimes they don't. As far as manipulation of a photograph goes, that's just as wide a scope as is interpreting what it's supposed to mean to a viewer's eyes.

Postby foss » April 16th, 2011, 9:19 pm

Chiney wrote:dude.. i DID not say that
how that quote end up under my name???
u need to check your quotation...

what you selling? :|

Postby M_2NR » April 16th, 2011, 10:20 pm

crossdrilled wrote:All this beat up over pitchas :?

why the emotions?

lighthammer, epic post u made on the previous page ;)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 17th, 2011, 1:39 am

Anyway - you guys have your own interpretation of what a good picture is, I have mine, and so does any of the other guys on this thread. Most of the time, our opinions agree, sometimes they don't. As far as manipulation of a photograph goes, that's just as wide a scope as is interpreting what it's supposed to mean to a viewer's eyes.

now this i can live with... all in all..i respect anyone with a camera that knows how to actually USE it

btw lighthammer.....ur pics rock