you are guilty of exactly the same thing thenturbohead wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ "the heavens and the earth were joined together, before We clove them asunder" proves big bang theory?
in any case the earth was not around during the big bang.
typical trini.... before yuh view the broader picture yuh quick to make out. is the concept of God existing we rappin about here, what about all the other statements they have no right also? Duane yuh is a rell bachannalist ah feel mg man hack yuh porfile.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you are guilty of exactly the same thing thenturbohead wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ "the heavens and the earth were joined together, before We clove them asunder" proves big bang theory?
in any case the earth was not around during the big bang.
typical trini.... before yuh view the broader picture yuh quick to make out. is the concept of God existing we rappin about here, what about all the other statements they have no right also? Duane yuh is a rell bachannalist ah feel mg man hack yuh porfile.
you read one post I make and brand me a bachannalist
In the video Zakir Naik say the Qu'ran has proof of the Big Bang Theory 1400 years before the scientists and then goes on to quote a sentence. I also quoted the sentence and asked how does this prove the big bang. But just because I don't agree with Zakir Naik and you and I question the thing makes me a bachannalist - should I just accept it as the truth and stay quiet?
and before you go all jihad on me, i am not questioning the Qu'ran; I am questioning Zakir Naik's logic and your willingness to believe what he is saying.
sMASH wrote:hoss man, the the evidence 'scientists' have gathered may not be 100% conclusive, in all cases, but they have a lot more than the creationists, whose only evidence is a perceived lack of evidence on the scientists side.
such nonsense!!!!! the same evidence that the scientists have are the same
available to the creationist,, they are both scientists, do not attempt to put a wedge between them.....
really ... this is not the issue here ,I am speaking about the ones who are not scientist,
but taking the scientist's word in faith (because it is clear that they don't even have access to the tests done by the scientists,most of what they know comes thru books or word of mouth)and calling it facts although it is not proven,all in the end to use it to trump religion
which is based entirely on faith........
that pic of the dinosaur u touting as proof as man co-existing with dinosaur, you all actually believe that? if so, then the same thing u accuse the evolutionists about, u all doin.
I really have NO clue what you speak of
but i tell u, if one of u all want to drink poison, like chlorine or cyanide, not no jokey gramoxone, or if one of u want to go the extra mile and perform a self inflicted decapitation, and resurrect yourself back to life from that, i would be there to document it,, scientifically.
better yet, brian lara promenade.
as proof in the from of scientifically documented procedure of performing acts in ur bible.
yuh mean yuh want me to be stupid like those who blew themselves up in the name of a deity?
understand this....... the bible is a faith thing
the people who subscribes to the bible learns that without faith It is impossible to please God..so you can have all the proof you want, in the end,the God of the bible is looking for child like faith
the Christians believe that, God so love the world that he gave his only begotten son so whosoever believes in Him shall not perish but have everlasting life,
it never says whosoever gets proof...its about faith
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Do you know the definition of the word?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ since when creationists are scientists?
tell me who cannot be a scientist and
what disqualifies a person from being a scientist?
because in context I was speaking about the creationist who are scientist..
no one is taking the scientists word in faith - the scientists provide empirical evidence.
Otherwise it would not be science!
right !! but it is unscientific to use your conclusions based on the evidence available as fact .......even when they are not proven
There is a ton of real, hard evidence - Evolution at various scales, bones, fossils, photos of planets, carbon dating.
Far more than I've seen presented by you!
LOL... how much have you seen of the scientists?
last time i checked, you haven't presented any evidence either,you are acting on faith in the scientists
you can say that you have your evidence to date, but you can't speculate on whether you have taken all possible evidence.(especially when you disregard any thing spiritual) you cannot say that evidence for evolution is complete or wholly correct,you need to continue to test it any way you can. But scientific proof is not the same as a complete proof - scientific proof is about the balance of available data, as we know in science that nothing is proved beyond doubt.
A couple hundred years ago if a scientist calculated and announced an upcoming a lunar eclipse they would burn him in the town square as a warlock when it really happened. Now you want to say creationists are scientists? Do you know the definition of the word? What utter fundamentalist nonsense. you are Just as the religious fundamentalists who tend to totally discount, deny, and argue against the value and worth of the sciences,is that your argument LOL.....are you now saying there are no christian scientists?
smash wrote:mega, u accuse the evolutionists of not having sufficient substantial evidence to support their claims, but then u show a shadow of a silhouette on a stone and then tout that as an manufactured image of men living side by side with dinosaurs.
you agree then that we cannot write about what we don't know?sMASH wrote:it would have been nice to have a reference to dinosaurs. this is worth more than considering, it is worth an investigation. then there are the things which are present but are not known, like the under surface of the moons of the outer planets, or the other earth like planets in other systems. these things are here but not directly mentioned.
it is only useless if no scientific process is applied to it. The study of the past in biology, geology etc help tremendously in our advancement today.sMASH wrote:coming from this latest set of talks, i have two peeves developing. the small one is an examination of the scriptures to detect, if at all, there are any more specific references to dinosaurs and the other bigger one, is to determine the nature of the stuff that is mentioned, i.e. are they all or majority of them have an association with the advancement of humans, or are there a lot of mentions of stuff which really are useless for any thing more than knowledge of the past, like dinosaurs.
which was the same thing I was saying of Zakir Naik's "proof" that the big bang was mentioned in the qu'ran.sMASH wrote:mega, u accuse the evolutionists of not having sufficient substantial evidence to support their claims, but then u show a shadow of a silhouette on a stone and then tout that as an manufactured image of men living side by side with dinosaurs.
you are truly delusionalmegadoc1 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ since when creationists are scientists?
tell me who cannot be a scientist and
what disqualifies a person from being a scientist?
because in context I was speaking about the creationist who are scientist..
no one is taking the scientists word in faith - the scientists provide empirical evidence.
Otherwise it would not be science!
right !! but it is unscientific to use your conclusions based on the evidence available as fact .......even when they are not proven
There is a ton of real, hard evidence - Evolution at various scales, bones, fossils, photos of planets, carbon dating.
Far more than I've seen presented by you!
LOL... how much have you seen of the scientists?
last time i checked, you haven't presented any evidence either,you are acting on faith in the scientists
you can say that you have your evidence to date, but you can't speculate on whether you have taken all possible evidence.(especially when you disregard any thing spiritual) you cannot say that evidence for evolution is complete or wholly correct,you need to continue to test it any way you can. But scientific proof is not the same as a complete proof - scientific proof is about the balance of available data, as we know in science that nothing is proved beyond doubt.
A couple hundred years ago if a scientist calculated and announced an upcoming a lunar eclipse they would burn him in the town square as a warlock when it really happened. Now you want to say creationists are scientists? Do you know the definition of the word? What utter fundamentalist nonsense. you are Just as the religious fundamentalists who tend to totally discount, deny, and argue against the value and worth of the sciences,is that your argument LOL.....are you now saying there are no christian scientists?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:you are truly delusional
ha ha ..thats it???
you yourself said that there is no levels of Christianity - it's all or none. To be a true Christian you must believe the entire scripture whole heartedly.
yes but I cannot see what this have to do with anything that we are speaking about, are you saying that a spiritual person cannot be a scientist???
The bible shows that the earth was created ~6000 years ago - no proper scientist is going to subscribe to that. Calling yourself a scientist does not make you one!
define a "proper" scientist??
then see if you can discredit these Creationists holding science doctorates
Agard, E. Theo
Allan, James
Anderson, Kevin
Armstrong, Harold
Arndt, Alexander
Austin, Steven
Barnes, Thomas
Batten, Don
Baumgardner, John
Bergman, Jerry
Boudreaux, Edward
Byl, John
Catchpoole, David
Chadwick, Arthur
Chaffin, Eugene
Chittick, Donald
Cimbala, John
Clausen, Ben
Cole, Sid
Cook, Melvin
Cumming, Ken
Cuozzo, Jack
Darrall, Nancy
Dewitt, David
DeYoung, Donald
Downes, Geoff
Eckel, Robert
Faulkner, Danny
Ford, Dwain
Frair, Wayne
Gentry, Robert
Giem, Paul
Gillen, Alan
Gish, Duane
Gitt, Werner
Gower, D.B.
Grebe, John
Grocott, Stephen
Harrub, Brad
Hawke, George
Hollowell, Kelly
Holroyd, Edmond
Hosken, Bob
Howe, George
Humphreys, D. Russell
Javor, George
Jones, Arthur
Kaufmann, David
Kennedy, Elaine
Klotz, John
Koop, C. Everett
Korochkin, Leonid
Kramer, John
Lammerts, Walter
Lester, Lane
Livingston, David
Lopez, Raul
Marcus, John
Marsh, Frank
Mastropaolo, Joseph
McCombs, Charles
McIntosh, Andrew
McMullen, Tom
Meyer, Angela
Meyer, John
Mitchell, Colin
Morris, Henry
Morris, John
Mumma, Stanley
Parker, Gary
Peet, J. H. John
Rankin, John
Rosevear, David
Roth, Ariel
Rusch, Wilbert
Sarfati, Jonathan
Snelling, Andrew
Standish, Timothy
Taylor, Stephen
Thaxton, Charles
Thompson, Bert
Thomson, Ker
Vardiman, Larry
Veith, Walter
Walter, Jeremy
Wanser, Keith
Whitcomb, John
White, A.J.(Monty)
Wilder-Smith, Arthur Ernest
Wile, Jay
Williams, Emmett
Wise, Kurt
Wolfrom, Glen
Zuill, Henry
PLEASE go and read up on the scientific process before posting a reply.
I think you are the one who needs to do this because you think that a scientist cannot have a religious worldview
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: A couple hundred years ago if a scientist calculated and announced an upcoming a lunar eclipse they would burn him in the town square as a warlock when it really happened. Now you want to say creationists are scientists? Do you know the definition of the word?
"We can have the academic freedom to have all kinds of ideas and philosophies but, lo and behold, even mention intelligent design and there are people that want to run you out of town on a rail,"
An Arlington lawmaker has filed a bill aimed at protecting Texas college professors and students from discrimination because they question evolution.
The measure from Republican state Rep. Bill Zedler would block higher education institutions from discriminating against or penalizing teachers or students based on their research into intelligent design or other theories that disagree with evolution.
Zedler said he filed the bill because of cases in which colleges had been hostile to those who believe that certain features of life-forms are so complex that they must have originated from a higher power.
"We can have the academic freedom to have all kinds of ideas and philosophies but, lo and behold, even mention intelligent design and there are people that want to run you out of town on a rail," Zedler said.
Zedler said fear of workplace discrimination is preventing evolution critics in colleges from speaking their minds.
"I do believe there are people that want to say something but ... they're afraid to because there are people around the country that have been discriminated against," Zedler said.
Kathy Miller, president of the Texas Freedom Network, a watchdog group that opposes religious influence in public education, described the bill as an effort to push an ideological agenda into colleges by suggesting that intelligent design theorists are subject to persecution.
"It's kind of a broad and cynical strategy to undermine sound science at a time when our state and nation's economy depends on science to thrive," Miller said.
In January, the University of Kentucky paid $125,000 to settle a discrimination lawsuit with Martin Gaskell, an astronomy professor who claimed that he was passed over for an observatory director job in part because of statements he made that were perceived as critical of evolution.
Gaskell, who recently worked in the University of Texas at Austin's astronomy program, wrote in an e-mail Thursday that he is now an astrophysics professor at Valparaiso University in Chile. Although he doesn't study intelligent design, he said those who do deserve to be protected.
"I think that it is important that the state of Texas stands firmly behind academic freedom," Gaskell said.
I can't see the direct relationsMASH wrote:about zakir's reference, where the heavens and the earth were joined together, and then separated by being cloven asunder,,,, god help me, but i see that as contemporary big bang..
the blinders not on my eyes, it in my mind,,, to me, the image from those words i get is that the heavens and the earth, all that we could know about in this reality, is in one finite form, and then separated at a point in time in a great action.... and to me that is big bang, with out the einstien maths and the hubble projections, but in a form that simple people could remember and imagine.
megadoc1 wrote:I think you are the one who needs to do this because you think that a scientist cannot have a religious worldview
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ if that kinda thing swoons you then you should watch Religulous with Bill Maher to give some balance
actually I did, when you first mentioned it in blufete's ched..but we are dealing with science here now and the
"politics" behind it. every body already knows about what goes on in religion but few knows that science is struggling with a similar issuemegadoc1 wrote:I think you are the one who needs to do this because you think that a scientist cannot have a religious worldview
your list is nice - can you list it again with their field next to it.
http://www.christiananswers.net/creation/people/home.html
click that link, it will take you the the fields of each one of them
when you click on their names
but tell me what happens to this religious "scientist" when he is doing his research and finds that the earth is billions of years old and not what their holy book tells them?
lol.. you have a few problems here.....you put scientist in quotation marks because you cant seem to grasp that there are such people....plus you failed to realize that through research no one ever finds that the earth is billions of years old ..it is an estimate(yet to be proven) and
last you are comparing it to a holy book which is based on faith.................
however many scientists once had a religious world view but turned atheists
after studying evolution,I cannot disagree with them because it is almost a requirement
to become an atheist,just to study evolution in its present dangerous state and
to be a somebody in the scientific community ....a perfect example of this is your reluctance to accept that there are scientists with religious world views..
fundamentalist??