Anyone else tired and fed up of Mispronunciations

Postby Kenjo » April 24th, 2011, 2:44 pm

rossi

Re: Anyone else tired and fed up of Mispronunciations

Postby rossi » April 24th, 2011, 6:22 pm

I tired of hearing ppl say KURMA like this >>> KOO-MA.

Postby cinco » April 24th, 2011, 8:01 pm

iz koo mar dan
and i fed up of Mr pronunciation

d spike

Postby d spike » April 24th, 2011, 8:05 pm

I can't stand to hear the following pronounced as:
cha-RAC-teristic, instead of CHA-racteristic;
PREE-sentation, instead of PREH-sentation;
REEL-ly, instead of REH-lly (really).

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 24th, 2011, 8:13 pm

It's called "GHEE-ROW", or "GEE-ROW"..not "Jai-Row"

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 24th, 2011, 10:30 pm

^^^ dat i didnt know, but den again burgers does do me fine.

Postby shogun » April 24th, 2011, 11:06 pm

What about "expecially" ...that sh!t does annoy me.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 25th, 2011, 6:50 am

Armbrella
Grocetree
Strimps
Tsunami is pronounced too-nami.The oceanographic,hydrographic,marine community knows this...the rest of the world is yet to catch on.
If Blanchisseuse is blanchi-shears then masseuse should be ma-shears. :|
Daygo Martin
Sah Wah
Moe-ay....the word is Mo-et...pronounce the t

Paullct

Postby Paullct » April 25th, 2011, 7:39 am

Skanky wrote:Armbrella
Grocetree
Strimps
Tsunami is pronounced too-nami.The oceanographic,hydrographic,marine community knows this...the rest of the world is yet to catch on.
If Blanchisseuse is blanchi-shears then masseuse should be ma-shears. :|
Daygo Martin
Sah Wah
Moe-ay....the word is Mo-et...pronounce the t

haha very true!! :lol: i work for a shipping company and most of my colleagues refer to the port in japan as "yokahoma" as opposed to "yokohama" and that really ticks me off :evil:

rossi

Postby rossi » April 25th, 2011, 9:15 am

Maracas > Maah-Raah-Kaas
Carapichaima > Cappy-chima
allyuh going for burgers on the cross or wha? > alyuh goin feh buur-gaas on de coss owuh

Postby tr1ad » April 25th, 2011, 9:20 am

gee dem fyahs

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » April 25th, 2011, 9:25 am

Rainman instead of Mexican...

Postby mero » April 25th, 2011, 10:15 am

Skanky wrote:Tsunami is pronounced too-nami.The oceanographic,hydrographic,marine community knows this...the rest of the world is yet to catch on.

eh?

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » April 25th, 2011, 11:00 am

Pit-yea instead of picture

Flim instead of film

Studients instead of students (absolutely hate that one)

urabus

Postby urabus » April 25th, 2011, 11:40 am

many say....affiDAVID..and that gets to me!

Postby Sky » April 25th, 2011, 12:34 pm

All those trini words give me a headache. I does take some metsin for it tho, so I good.

Postby shogun » April 25th, 2011, 12:56 pm

Skanky wrote:Tsunami is pronounced too-nami.The oceanographic,hydrographic,marine community knows this...the rest of the world is yet to catch on.

This might be wrong, only because the word's origin is not out of the oceanographic community, but is an actual japanese word.
http://www.howjsay.com/index.php?word=tsunami

rossi

Postby rossi » April 25th, 2011, 2:36 pm

^^ Great link........I should have lowered the volume.

A tsunami (plural: tsunamis or tsunami; [1] English pronunciation: /suːˈnɑːmiː/ soo-NAH-mee or /tsuːˈnɑːmiː/ tsoo-NAH-mee[2])

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 25th, 2011, 9:31 pm

shogun wrote:

This might be wrong, only because the word's origin is not out of the oceanographic community, but is an actual japanese word.
http://www.howjsay.com/index.php?word=tsunami

I can't provide the evidence to prove it is not what the world says it is, but over the past decade it has been brought to my attention from a few authoritative figures on the subject, from different regions of the world, that the pronunciation is indeed toonami as opposed to tsunami.
All I can say is a large number of the people who have made careers studying these and other such phenomena now refer to them as toonami.
I may indeed be wrong.

Postby nervewrecker » April 25th, 2011, 9:44 pm

cutlash
scorpian
cee-jink
cyat
lanca

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » April 25th, 2011, 10:38 pm

you don't aks questions, you ASK questions!

also, its ironic how the word pronunciation is pronounced wrongly as pronounciation

inDUStry instead of INdustry
mudda/fadda/bredda
goverment instead of government
Kamala.... the woman's name is Kamla

I also thought the T was silent in Tsunami!
Last edited by GTcruzer on April 25th, 2011, 11:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » April 25th, 2011, 10:40 pm

umbrulance

and when the term 'is because' is used to show the later actions in a story, when the actual words 'is because' should be used for the former actions in the story. e.g. when de gyul geh bonx dong, is because the maxi done gone ahready.
i my mind never really accepted that manner of speech.

isn't the 't' silent for tsunami?

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 26th, 2011, 6:41 am

bad lucky <---- what the arse is that!?
wearing on clothes...as opposed to wearing the clothes off?
rising up
falling down
personally I,I personally--personally already implies I doesn't it?
waking, as in..I waking since 5 this morning :|
fishening...who in the fcuk came up with this one
mitsubUshi
subEru
DVD's or CD's ----makes no sense gramatically
correck
projeck

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 26th, 2011, 7:13 am

One of the observations I have made is that those who actually do pronounce their words correctly make a big effort of emphasizing a lot of the errors noted above, myself included. It becomes somewhat of a game or an attempt to make fun of the less educated. What results is that others hear it an think this person is an idiot.

Altenatively, they find themselves having to explain their faux pas to their children or others who have no clue what you are referring to :) :)

So when you hear, at the risk of insulting, 'Lesser Educated' folk use these terms it is because they know and believe the pronunciation is the way they grew up hearing it. It is the folk who make an attempt at making fun of these incorrect pronunciations that are irksome.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 26th, 2011, 7:15 am

HOME-mee-cides is how our past minister of security used to pronounce the word, sounded like a complete retard!

rossi

Postby rossi » April 26th, 2011, 7:56 am

Bareback wrote:One of the observations I have made is that those who actually do pronounce their words correctly make a big effort of emphasizing a lot of the errors noted above, myself included. It becomes somewhat of a game or an attempt to make fun of the less educated. What results is that others hear it an think this person is an idiot.

Altenatively, they find themselves having to explain their faux pas to their children or others who have no clue what you are referring to :) :)

So when you hear, at the risk of insulting, 'Lesser Educated' folk use these terms it is because they know and believe the pronunciation is the way they grew up hearing it. It is the folk who make an attempt at making fun of these incorrect pronunciations that are irksome.

A lot of ppl who are corrected often feel insulted more so if the person correcting them is being a dummy about it. I say, just let them know the right word/pronunciation when the scenario is right. 8-) I nearly collect ah bottle to my face because of this exact thing.
We speak in a dialect anyhow so we're not supposed to be entirely correct.
Furthermore, the "less educated" don't always make mistakes eh, I've heard "supposedly educated" ppl speak in ways that have you laughing behind their backs! :lol:

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 26th, 2011, 8:35 am

So true:

Breakfastes and Home-eee-sides :)

Postby nervewrecker » April 26th, 2011, 8:50 am

dwanye - duane

trinituyna - trinituner