reel & rod fishing thing of the past

Papajohn

reel & rod fishing thing of the past

Postby Papajohn » April 26th, 2011, 7:30 pm

the dude in the pic told me he's determine to catch a carite with a line & cork lolzz,took the pic at vacation last weekend.has anyone ever tried this?
IMG_2528.JPG

Re: reel & rod fishing thing of the past

Postby brams112 » April 26th, 2011, 8:12 pm

that is the coast east side orr what?was on that side yesterday,,

Rickstar#1

Postby Rickstar#1 » April 26th, 2011, 8:13 pm

if it's TOCO , then he'll deff catch something , anywere else he'll catch his ass.

Papajohn

Postby Papajohn » April 26th, 2011, 8:22 pm

yes its up toco

Postby brams112 » April 26th, 2011, 8:27 pm

ended up by shark river yesterday,them people living a life that most people here will hate,good place to rest oui,road for smaller vehicle if you don't have average,,,

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 26th, 2011, 8:27 pm

like da man have rel patience ...

Rickstar#1

Postby Rickstar#1 » April 26th, 2011, 8:28 pm

Thought so judging from the rocks and wave formation.........Toco waters at high tide brings in alot of deep sea fish eg Carite , King Fish , Grantaki , Gouper , Cavali....etc they spawn in and around the rocks in the low water and feed frequently around the rocks best place to view is on the Light house rock . When you look out in the shallows you'll see these large fish feeding in D shallows . As for the type of rod.....Well that my friend is another question for it will snap like a twig under pressure .

Postby meccalli » April 26th, 2011, 8:40 pm

Doh be dissin the handline, i have friends who caught a 124lb tarpon on an old line wrap up on a clorax bottle..thing is nobody catch anything that night and he had to beg for a lil dead herring to boot....

Postby Gladiator » April 26th, 2011, 9:02 pm

Rod and Reel is for meows.... Hand line FTW

Rickstar#1

Postby Rickstar#1 » April 26th, 2011, 9:07 pm

Gladiator wrote:Rod and Reel is for meows.... Hand line FTW

You know the thing all too well Gladiator..........Only babies and lil kids does use rods

Postby rollingstock » April 26th, 2011, 9:27 pm

Casters ftl

I love my rod and reel, Penn is da sex :)

Postby cinco » April 26th, 2011, 9:49 pm

rollingstock wrote:Casters ftl

teller is jealous

Postby rollingstock » April 26th, 2011, 10:19 pm

cinco wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Casters ftl

teller is jealous

He cyah tork :?

Postby Bizzare » April 26th, 2011, 10:32 pm

Ahhh Was on that exact same spot last week I believe if my memory serves me well. :) Was digging "pacro" off the base of the rocks. :?
Caught a fish using a hand line as the one in the photo above. I know nothing about fishing. My uncle who is a fisherman said it was a parrot fish. We were all out by where the biggest rock is there.
Toco is like a regular run for us. We stay in Matelot village by the school there most times and well shark river get boring for us. Camped out there a lot when I was younger.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 30th, 2012, 1:21 pm

guys i am gonna buy two fishing rods to use for fishing at chaguaramas....I an not too familiar with brand size etc.....so i would appreciate if u guys could recommend some rods for me or at least point me in the right direction....

thanks.!!

Postby rollingstock » July 30th, 2012, 1:29 pm

Southern Wholesale Store marabella, some nice shakespeare rod and reel.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 30th, 2012, 1:56 pm

shakespear brand....kool will look for that.....anywhere in central perhaps stock?

Postby rollingstock » July 30th, 2012, 2:03 pm

Not that i know of, i still learning central, i'm a tong/southie.
Can't remember if Bhagwansigh's had, maybe someone else can confirm.

Postby RBphoto » July 30th, 2012, 3:16 pm

Peaks have fishing equipment. I knows nothing about rod or reel.... Sein for it!!...when all of my fathers brothers were living in the same house, every weekend was a cedros or losiros. Could not go to a facking beach without pulling out at least a hand casting net like a bunch of hillbillies and coming home in a car smelling fo fish :(

Yodins

Postby Yodins » July 30th, 2012, 3:23 pm

i never catch a fish bigger than my index finger 1shame

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 30th, 2012, 3:32 pm

yeh casters are the rel thing like a frigging zuki compares to a full size suv.....

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 30th, 2012, 9:20 pm

All the so called fisher-folk against rod and reel , I ask have you ever seen someone's fingers smoke when a fish takes the line ? Have you ever seen serrated fingers as a big one has taken the line ? My guess is no ,so beat your chest but when it happens to you please boast of your experiences.

Up Toco there are many fishing areas but I would not advise venturing into the water in certain areas: sharks and barracudas , big ones are plenty full at different times in the year.

I have been out in the Gulf and the north as well and when a Small Marlin , large whaoo or TARPON takes that line , none of you caster peps can hold those fish. Look at real local and international fishing boast and see what they use, why? because they want what is on the end of the line.

You cannot judge what is going to be on the end of your line , in shallow areas you may believe that with a certain sized hook would get a certain sized fish , but what if that certain sized fish is dinner for another larger fish ?

Postby rollingstock » July 30th, 2012, 9:28 pm

Had a stingray take my line, snapped a 12" graphite rod like it was a twig, glad i wasn't using a caster.
Still have a scar on my right index finger using a caster, mean arse Lippy took my line, line cut almost to the bone.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 30th, 2012, 9:32 pm

Thank you Rollingsock , fishing line cuts fast and deep and if you're using any one of those braided lines it may as well be a serrated knife.

Postby rfari » July 30th, 2012, 11:44 pm

cornfused wrote:All the so called fisher-folk against rod and reel , I ask have you ever seen someone's fingers smoke when a fish takes the line ? Have you ever seen serrated fingers as a big one has taken the line ? My guess is no ,so beat your chest but when it happens to you please boast of your experiences.

Up Toco there are many fishing areas but I would not advise venturing into the water in certain areas: sharks and barracudas , big ones are plenty full at different times in the year.

I have been out in the Gulf and the north as well and when a Small Marlin , large whaoo or TARPON takes that line , none of you caster peps can hold those fish. Look at real local and international fishing boast and see what they use, why? because they want what is on the end of the line.

You cannot judge what is going to be on the end of your line , in shallow areas you may believe that with a certain sized hook would get a certain sized fish , but what if that certain sized fish is dinner for another larger fish ?

Well said. Men tryna make rod and reel taboo yes.

@nigson, there's also a place in woodbrook that has a wide variety of fishing gear. f*q. I forgot the name but its located on luis street, blue building. Check the fisherman ched for the name

Postby rfari » July 30th, 2012, 11:49 pm

rollingstock wrote:Had a stingray take my line, snapped a 12" graphite rod like it was a twig, glad i wasn't using a caster.
Still have a scar on my right index finger using a caster, mean arse Lippy took my line, line cut almost to the bone.

Fished ddi late last year and a brethren tort he hooked a big redfish but it was really a stingray. With the kinda antics that animal did, I don't think its possible for a caster fisherman to have a sustained yet successful battle unless he really really good.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » July 31st, 2012, 12:06 am

wey have some bess seaside spot for me to go ?

Postby rfari » July 31st, 2012, 12:27 am

Yodins wrote:wey have some bess seaside spot for me to go ?

Easy fishing is ddi especially 5 islands. Other 2nrs can confirm or suggest better. Lvl grunt and redfish during my last trip.
Yeah, grunt is pothound fish buh well seasoned with lime, shadon beni, salt and pepper all wrapped up in foil paper over a coal pot and the meat sliding off the spine like dat. Eh have any kfc ddi dan

sykomekanik

Postby sykomekanik » July 31st, 2012, 12:37 am

rfari wrote:

Easy fishing is ddi especially 5 islands. Other 2nrs can confirm or suggest better. Lvl grunt and redfish during my last trip.
Yeah, grunt is pothound fish buh well seasoned with lime, shadon beni, salt and pepper all wrapped up in foil paper over a coal pot and the meat sliding off the spine like dat. Eh have any kfc ddi dan

daz d ting self!!! 8-)

Postby nervewrecker » July 31st, 2012, 12:47 am

sykomekanik wrote:
rfari wrote:

daz d ting self!!! 8-)

Dat rasta know good food!