Skanky

Re: Anyone else tired and fed up of Mispronunciations

Postby Skanky » April 27th, 2011, 5:10 am

sMASH wrote:
Skanky wrote:
Skanky wrote:DVD's or CD's ----makes no sense gramatically

Oh goarrr sMASH, leave out the '

sMASH wrote:ay, juss now is just usb ting, an my peeps still refer to dvd's as flim.

how else to type it...

sMASH the plural of car isn't car's now is it? The plural of house isn't house's is it?
The plural of dvd is dvds.
The plural of cd is cds.

Postby Sky » April 27th, 2011, 8:34 am

You use the 's when the acronym has punctuation in it, like Ph.D's in selling DVDs.
Doh ask. English again.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » April 27th, 2011, 8:54 am

Gloves-Globs

partsman

Postby partsman » April 27th, 2011, 10:45 am

the other day a customer came asking for "frog lamps' . Once a lady told me she couldn't "phantom" what someone was talking about . I have a friend who is a gold mine of such slips, the best one being the time he told me about a woman's "estrangled" husband . Moments to be cherished .

Postby Hook » April 27th, 2011, 10:47 am

wana-B-racer wrote:Gloves-Globs

:lol: you in friggin Mexico awha?

DAMN YOU LETTER V!!!!!!!

Postby Bizzare » April 27th, 2011, 10:53 am

partsman wrote: a woman's "estrangled" husband .

Postby shogun » April 27th, 2011, 4:32 pm

Have to admit, i haven't heard this one.

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » April 27th, 2011, 10:17 pm

Ever heard an american pronounce Harry- Hairy

Reminds me of d white girl joke tho
White girl walks in front car at price plaza
Man in car yells "u come here to die"
White girl "no I came yes-to-die".

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » April 27th, 2011, 10:22 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:I made a 10 year old cry last night for correcting his speech and pronounciation.
I didn't care though because while my speech may not be perfect Queen's English, I'm not the one writing SEA examinations next year. And I am a firm believer in "How you speak is how you write" when it comes to kids.

You will never hear my child saying things like "Ah de gi'im de ting when he was dey!" "Di'iy Aidan, ah was to check on de ting dey."

My mom used to look at me hard whenever I spoke broken english...and be like what did you say? Now I find myself doing it with my Brit friends cos dear God for people who live in the country of supposedly perfect english...they can't speak it, tired of hearing people say "me mum", "me work", "me everything"

& speaking of names :S everyone gets mine wrong :\ I've stopped correcting them/just give them the shorter version
Last edited by Sumana.00 on April 27th, 2011, 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 27th, 2011, 10:23 pm

mitsuboi wrote:Ever heard an american pronounce Harry- Hairy

wtf u serious !? ..... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby rollingstock » April 27th, 2011, 10:27 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:
mitsuboi wrote:Ever heard an american pronounce Harry- Hairy

wtf u serious !? ..... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

:rofl: should be in the stale joke thread :lol:

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » April 27th, 2011, 10:39 pm

^^It is...well I tink das wey I heard it

But she walk lil further into Price plaza an saw tgif.....so she was like "TGIF, TGIF, TGIF!!!
A man yelled out "sheit!!!!!
She said "no, tgif- thank goodness its Friday"
Man said "SHIT- sorry honey its Thursday"

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » April 27th, 2011, 10:40 pm

Oops can't say Sh!t on tuner

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2011, 10:56 pm

supposed to be an aussie girl.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » April 27th, 2011, 11:40 pm

Breds, yall talking about reporters??

Wha bout Samuel MAc Knight, whose name is actually Samuel McKnight.

When a man cah pronounce he own forking name yuh cah expect him to master anything else

Postby shogun » April 28th, 2011, 12:17 am

Not really a mispronunciation really, but...WTF, is a coverlet? ... i've heard grown men say that sh!t...always funny as hell.

Postby Hook » April 28th, 2011, 3:16 am

shogun wrote:Not really a mispronunciation really, but...WTF, is a coverlet? ... i've heard grown men say that sh!t...always funny as hell.

ppl who say dat does "heng" up dey shirt...go figure

Postby Mark! » April 28th, 2011, 4:43 am

ay that avetar rel crips dan :|

remember sometime 96.7 had a segment sponsored by Supligen. man used to call in and say supligent :lol:

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 28th, 2011, 6:51 am

ROFL @ coverlet. Yep I've heard that a lot..

I also heard jooking(sp) board - scrubbing board.
Or "careful yuh jook yuh eye out!)

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 28th, 2011, 6:55 am

Hook wrote:^^^ ummm...where you does be to hear people talk so?

yuh CERTAIN is Valsayn yuh say yuh livin', right?

Actually I hear it at work and with my bf's family.
And the perpetrators are ALL from South Trinidad. That was a big discussion at my workplace two days ago. Folks from South Trinidad, Penal, Barrackpore, Debe, Princes Town, Siparia just to name a few.. speak so poorly you can barely understand them. But then I would think it's poor speech because I'm from the North. *shrug*

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2011, 8:05 am

Hook wrote:
shogun wrote:Not really a mispronunciation really, but...WTF, is a coverlet? ... i've heard grown men say that sh!t...always funny as hell.

ppl who say dat does "heng" up dey shirt...go figure

but why was something hung and someone hanged?
and why is morrow, not used any more?

and another, presently, this is used to mean the conditions or the situation now. when that is wrong and should be used to indicate a time in the near future, like shortly or "juss now".

wrong - presently it is sunny.
correct- it is late in the night, and the sun will rise. it would be day presently.

wham, allyuh doh watch 'blood and sand' ?

rossi

Postby rossi » April 28th, 2011, 8:46 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
Hook wrote:^^^ ummm...where you does be to hear people talk so?

yuh CERTAIN is Valsayn yuh say yuh livin', right?

Actually I hear it at work and with my bf's family.
And the perpetrators are ALL from South Trinidad. That was a big discussion at my workplace two days ago. Folks from South Trinidad, Penal, Barrackpore, Debe, Princes Town, Siparia just to name a few.. speak so poorly you can barely understand them. But then I would think it's poor speech because I'm from the North. *shrug*

I beg to differ here. Exactly how poor was the speech recognition? I'm from Siparia and yes, I kinda dig ah tiny bit ah horrors. :lol:

Postby cinco » April 28th, 2011, 8:56 am

BODOW is pronounced BOH DOH WUH
not BOO DOO
or BOO DOWUH

rossi

Postby rossi » April 28th, 2011, 9:01 am

^^ Boh-Dough

Postby crazybalhead » April 28th, 2011, 9:02 am

partsman wrote:the other day a customer came asking for "frog lamps' . Once a lady told me she couldn't "phantom" what someone was talking about . I have a friend who is a gold mine of such slips, the best one being the time he told me about a woman's "estrangled" husband . Moments to be cherished .

Sooooo, how much for the frog lamps???

Postby wagonrunner » April 28th, 2011, 9:17 am

Postby Trini Hookah » April 28th, 2011, 9:36 am

Hook wrote:

:lol: you in friggin Mexico awha?

DAMN YOU LETTER V!!!!!!!

mattu

Postby mattu » April 28th, 2011, 11:03 am

the "shottas" up in the club that buy MOET and pronouncing it mo-aye, trying to sound all pretty and french. Well the word is pronounced in dutch not french so it really is supposed to sound like " mo wet"

rossi

Postby rossi » April 28th, 2011, 11:21 am

mattu wrote:the "shottas" up in the club that buy MOET and pronouncing it mo-aye, trying to sound all pretty and french. Well the word is pronounced in dutch not french so it really is supposed to sound like " mo wet"

Buying a bottle of champagne at a club is a waste of time anyway.

southagain

Postby southagain » April 28th, 2011, 11:41 am

Paullct wrote:
Hook wrote:
Paullct wrote:
southagain wrote:How do i get to d "Li-cen-sing" office again?

great we are!

It's not licensing office? :oops:

I would LOVE to know the proper pronunciation of the word "licensing" as well.
Is it the way THIS GUY did it?

*awaits enlightenment from southagain*

unless he seriously forget and he asking how to get there? :roll:

lol! Dont take my word, just listen the radio ad for the carnival fete. And dat website with the pronounciation speaks like a trini because the computer generated voice breaks up the word as well. Good observation!

its "licen-ing" silent "s" .....i know we like to break up words and jump into song when we speak but please.

It was brought to my attention when a visitor for carnival heard the radio advert ask me what is "li-cen-sin fete"

Go ask an english teacher and educate me as well please if i am wrong!