Re: Help identifying a snake

Postby joker » April 24th, 2011, 12:11 am

and dey ask me if you still in school lol

Rickstar#1

Postby Rickstar#1 » April 24th, 2011, 12:17 am

Hey I know this snake , had 1 bout 4 months ago . It's called a Cascabel Dormillon or a Cooks tree Boa . It's found mostly in the Caroni Swamp , thats where i got mines from .

Postby joker » April 24th, 2011, 12:24 am

i told my pals it was a cascabel ..... but doubted myself after saw a pic of one in boos' book.

Rickstar#1

Postby Rickstar#1 » April 24th, 2011, 12:32 am

joker wrote:i told my pals it was a cascabel ..... but doubted myself after saw a pic of one in boos' book.

Yes it is , not a dangerous snake but makes a nice pet . Sorry i gave away mines , it was probally just 2 weeks old when i got it , however this snake does get huge very quickly .

Postby joker » April 24th, 2011, 12:39 am

well it was 6 ft

d spike

Postby d spike » April 24th, 2011, 7:45 am

pioneer wrote:well it's a cascabel or a cooks trea boa :roll:

Quite right.

joker wrote:well it was 6 ft

It can get up to 2m.

joker wrote:i told my pals it was a cascabel ..... but doubted myself after saw a pic of one in boos' book.

A pity you didn't read the caption under the only picture of a cascabel in that book (fig.13, p.60). It said: "...immature patterned colour phase. This pattern will fade at maturity."

Personally, I wish he had included more pictures, but as was pointed out at the book's 'launching' (I really wish they could call it something else - it is a heavy book :lol: ) there wasn't enough funding to cover that aspect.

Rickstar#1 wrote:Yes it is , not a dangerous snake but makes a nice pet .

Go brave, boyo. The cascabel is well known in the bush for its bad temper "being extremely aggressive and defensive when disturbed" (Boos' notes).

Rickstar#1 wrote:Hey I know this snake , had 1 bout 4 months ago . It's called a Cascabel Dormillon or a Cooks tree Boa . It's found mostly in the Caroni Swamp , thats where i got mines from .

While it is commonly seen in the swamp, it isn't "found mostly" there. It is also found sleeping in tree branches often near rivers and any large body of water. However, it is not restricted in any way to water-courses - it is a commonly spotted fellah on the North coast.

Postby meccalli » April 27th, 2011, 6:48 am

just take a stick and pick 'im up and put im in a tree..if you not comfortable, it have plenty boas's in trinidad , one big wood to head and it done...

Postby rfari » April 27th, 2011, 8:10 am

pios, daz a different one from the first one you post hoss. i tell you dat dey colonising but noooooo. you doh wha believe. say wha.
snake1_low.jpg
snake1_low.jpg (27.17 KiB) Viewed 5233 times

Postby meccalli » April 27th, 2011, 7:27 pm

same species..boa..you could keep im around..he'll rid you of rats and blackbirds.

d spike

Postby d spike » April 27th, 2011, 9:46 pm

pioneer wrote:Image

I can't say if this is the very same snake, but it definitely is the same type: an annulated night snake, or cat-eyed snake. It is not a boa. It is a member of the Leptodeira family.

Pios, I hate to rattle your cage, but Shevshenko's warning might be apt. :lol: There has been a recorded instance in 1958, where another member of the Leptodeira family (a female) laid fertile eggs in captivity "over a period of five years, though there was no mating - indicating the retention of viable sperm over this period" (Duellman's notes)

Rickstar#1

Postby Rickstar#1 » April 27th, 2011, 10:25 pm

It's a typical young Boa Constrictor.where you living boy , I have to come by you and catch some of these snakes ..........Their very Valuable ....You could make some paper .lol

d spike

Postby d spike » April 27th, 2011, 10:39 pm

Rickstar#1 wrote:It's a typical young Boa Constrictor.where you living boy , I have to come by you and catch some of these snakes ..........Their very Valuable ....You could make some paper .lol

meccalli wrote:same species..boa..you could keep im around..he'll rid you of rats and blackbirds.

What "boa" do you possibly think this is? "Boa Constrictor"? as in "Macajuel"?
You guys can't be serious.

Rickstar#1

Postby Rickstar#1 » April 27th, 2011, 10:46 pm

d spike wrote:
Rickstar#1 wrote:It's a typical young Boa Constrictor.where you living boy , I have to come by you and catch some of these snakes ..........Their very Valuable ....You could make some paper .lol

meccalli wrote:same species..boa..you could keep im around..he'll rid you of rats and blackbirds.

What "boa" do you possibly think this is? "Boa Constrictor"? as in "Macajuel"?
You guys can't be serious.
Image[/quMarkings on the back are different in the pict above unlike the Boa it has a deeper shade with more Markings......Had 2 before............ A young chicken a month works just fine for them ....

d spike

Postby d spike » April 27th, 2011, 10:48 pm

Rickstar#1 wrote:It's a typical young Boa Constrictor

This is what a typical young Boa constrictor constrictor looks like:

devrat

Postby devrat » April 27th, 2011, 10:51 pm

Spike is this also a "Macajuel"?

Postby nervewrecker » April 27th, 2011, 10:51 pm

come to think of it, I caught one of dem lil cyat eyed snake a time & handed him over to some youth's in the trace here as they were frightened & I wanted to show them not to fear the poor animal. I never saw them again :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » April 27th, 2011, 11:10 pm

Rickstar#1 wrote:Markings on the back are different in the pict above unlike the Boa it has a deeper shade with more Markings......Had 2 before............ A young chicken a month works just fine for them ....

If you have indeed handled these snakes before, then you certainly can't confuse them.
The macajuel's markings (though the colour/hue may vary considerably) are very distinct - a variety of light gray to cinnamon brown or light brown oblong spots along the back, separated by dark crossbars, often with distinct white flashes on the dorsolateral (area between back and sides) areas of these crossbars. The tail colours are dramatically different from the body pattern, and are red-brown patterning outlined with dirty white to yellow areas.
The cat-eyed snake is a light brown snake with a series of 29 - 51 darker spots/blotches on the back.

Some snakes' patterns change or fade as they mature... but that is definitely not the case in either of these species.
Ask yourself which snake of these two is depicted in Pios' picture...
Last edited by d spike on April 28th, 2011, 1:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

d spike

Postby d spike » April 27th, 2011, 11:14 pm

devrat wrote:Spike is this also a "Macajuel"?

Definitely not, as it is employing two hands to hold the fish. Macajuels don't have hands.

nervewrecker wrote:come to think of it, I caught one of dem lil cyat eyed snake a time & handed him over to some youth's in the trace here as they were frightened & I wanted to show them not to fear the poor animal. I never saw them again :lol:

The youths? or the snakes? Can't blame either... :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » April 27th, 2011, 11:15 pm

d spike, yuh izza borse yunno. good info here, thanks man.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » April 29th, 2011, 11:36 am

Know this is snake thread, just wanted to ask if anyone ever saw a foot long beetle like this in their area.....

The photo was taken recently in Rio Claro.

Postby nervewrecker » April 29th, 2011, 11:44 am

thats 4" pvc I seeing ther? if so feel fre to pm pioneer the picture...

Postby crazybalhead » April 29th, 2011, 11:44 am

AH rio Claro, a land well known for it's creatures.

d spike

Postby d spike » April 29th, 2011, 12:05 pm

shaneelal wrote:Image

That's a Harlequin beetle. It's a cuspid (or is it caspid?), a horrible little bugger if you own cocoa (or cacao, for any old fogeys present) trees, or pigeon pea plants. Those fellahs chew off a ring of bark around a branch to get to the sap, causing the loss of that branch and whatever fruit the tree intended to grow from it. As the picture shows, the Harlequin gets up to a grand size. The other cuspid beetles are grey, and when you annoy them, they make a rasping sound with their mandibles. I assume they can deliver a nasty bite (considering what they do to branches) but I have never heard of such an accident.

Postby rfari » April 29th, 2011, 1:06 pm

d spike wrote:
pioneer wrote:Image

I can't say if this is the very same snake, but it definitely is the same type: an annulated night snake, or cat-eyed snake. It is not a boa. It is a member of the Leptodeira family.

Pios, I hate to rattle your cage, but Shevshenko's warning might be apt. :lol: There has been a recorded instance in 1958, where another member of the Leptodeira family (a female) laid fertile eggs in captivity "over a period of five years, though there was no mating - indicating the retention of viable sperm over this period" (Duellman's notes)

after running some biometric analysis in mspaint, i got the following results.
The first distinct marking below the head, y is compared to the length of the head, x. as shown in the first photo (snake posted by pios on the 21.04.11), the y:x ratio is approximately 1. however, the second photo (snake posted by pios on the 27.04.11), the y:x ratio is approximately 0.6. hence, we can conclude that we are dealing with more than one serpent. :twisted:
snake analysis results.JPG
snake analysis results.JPG (9.65 KiB) Viewed 5125 times

Postby dougla_boy » April 29th, 2011, 1:33 pm

i doh fraid snake..bleh....but spiders....is a different story! can't stand them....once i was cleaning the backyard and lifted a piece of galvanize and just saw the grass part and this HUGE spider ran up on d wall....i ran inside screaming, took off all my clothes and called my mother on the phone...then run in the shower...

Postby SUPAstarr » April 29th, 2011, 1:33 pm

i saw on yesterday, jus limin on my wall at home, they doh harass me so i dont bother them

Postby rfari » April 29th, 2011, 1:45 pm

lewwe get an official creepy crawly ched nah?

Postby rollingstock » April 29th, 2011, 4:10 pm

shevshenko wrote:lewwe get an official creepy crawly ched nah?

We not allowed to post pics of feuners, for some reason it gets mumford.

Postby crazybalhead » April 29th, 2011, 4:13 pm

shevshenko wrote:lewwe get an official creepy crawly ched nah?

We not allowed to post pics of feuners, for some reason it gets mumford.

They should do one with TUNERS then. Them even more grimy. :drinking: :drinking:

Postby rollingstock » April 29th, 2011, 4:24 pm

Yuh lie Saood rell pwetty :oops: